General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Mace on August 02, 2012, 09:07:18 AM
Is there anyone out there who can top this record? I owned my VG Pacer Hardtop for 11 years!
And no, it wasnt "Dead Silent at any Speed".
MAN OWNED & DROVE THE SAME CAR FOR 82 YEARS
They certainly don't make them like that any more. This man Owned & Drove Same Car for 82 YEARS. Can you imagine having the same car for 82 years"How Long Have You Owned a Car
Mr. Allen Swift ( Springfield , MA.) received this 1928 Rolls-Royce Piccadilly-P1 Roadster from his father, brand new - as a graduation gift in 1928. He drove it up until his death last year at the age of 102 He was the oldest living owner of a car that was purchased new. Just thought you'd like to see it. It was donated to a Springfield museum after his death.
It has 1,070,000 miles on it, still runs like a Swiss watch, dead silent at any speed and is in perfect cosmetic condition. (82 years). That's approximately 13,048 miles per year (1087 per month
Hi Mace
I bought my Hilux new in 2000, and it is still running, just replaced some rear bearings, other than a good service twice a year, and it is still going strong. I have just bought a new workmate trayback witha few goodies, but I am giving the hilux to my youngest bloke, he just got his "P" plates at 22 (late starter).
Oops, only 4 years for me. :'(
1993 v8 fairmont with xr8 running gear fitted as orderd from ford drove it last nite looked at speedo its done
It's done 102 000km
I had my '93 80 series from 1993 until 2007; 14 years from new. Got to about 280,000km. For the last few years of ownership it was a "weekend" car and I had a normal car for everyday use.
Our 1983 VW van has been in the family since 1988. Was originally the car used to take my wife and her sisters to school, its now my wife's tourer.
We love our Matilda.!!
Done a genuine 170k kms.
Got to love the Rolls as a graduation present. Nice parents. That some great British engineering there
A million miles and still going strong.
1986 patrol, still driving it, now 26 years old.
Not me but I was watching Classic Restos - Truck Edition last night and there was a bloke showing a truck (Kenworth I think) that had been in the company that he worked for since they bought it new in 1969. Had done about 5 or 6 million km and probably had a few different engines and gearboxes.
Only 2-3 years for me. I enjoy building up cars so once all the mods are done I get bored and sell it to start a new project (usually at only a moderate loss thank god)....Current Prado I mostly paid top $ on parts and labour charges due to my own work commitments and lack of time so I plan to keep this one for a longgggg time lol
not a car, but I've had the BMW 750 R75/6 since November 1975, and it now has over 300,000km on the clock.
2004 Cruiser GXL bought in......2004 - almost run in with 115,000kms........I need to get out more :'(
My wife's grandfather has had the same car since the 70s he brought it new. Not sure what year it is, but it's a vw beetle. He is 92 and still drives it daily
My personal record is my Prado... 6 years now!
1989 GQ TD42 Wagon - 6th Dec 1996 at 196,000 klm
now @ 400400klm (ish)
I'm looking to upgrade soon!
Just can't decide on what?? :-\
I've never owned a new car, but I've had most of my cars for an average of 5 - 7 years before they: got written off by some loonie in a truck who couldn't remember how to give way on a roundabout; blew the head gasket; died of mechanical malfunctions from a mechanic who loved silicon ... not sure what the latest one might die of ... loved to death perhaps?
VB V8 commodore 350,000 ks owned it for 25yrs, 91 2.8 hilux 345,000ks owned it for 17yrs and still driving it. :o :o
I reckon the original VB was the sweetest handling vehicle ever. They went backward for a while after then, fiddled with sway bars & spring rates, etc. Mine was only a 2850 with wide tyres and a shortened gear lever (with a ferrari gear knob - made it go much quicker), but gee it flew. Had more fun in it than the VXSS. EDIT: That mite be of becoz of the handbrake who was sitting in the ejector seat beside me ;D
2001 GU ,355,000 km and still motoring along quite nicely. Nearly due for its second set of brake pads cheers Graham
I have just made 3 yrs for my car....but I have had my push bike for 15 yrs
Father in law gave me his HJ 253 4spd ute 12 years ago (still got it) he had it since new (1976)....
Once had a customer want to take out a 25 year home loan for a new car..Explained that this was much too long for a car loan - stating turn over times & mostly the interest charged etc etc but he insisted as he had kept his last one for, yep, you guessed it 25 YEARS!
A friend of mine still has the EH wagon that he bought as a 17 year old. He is now 54.
My best was a new 1997 WRX that I drove for six years and did 288,000 k's in and the trade in guy laughed at me when I limped it in to the yard for a 3k trade.
My father in law still has his brand new sandman ute ...i think 75model............but highly modded.
Cheers Nomad. :cheers:
XD falcon with 351 Cleveland 4V owned since 1989. Just sold a Toyota 4runner we've had since 1997.
Benji
The Chevy has been in the family now for 13 years. Only has about 270,000 km on the clock with a new engine in it at 220,000km. Can't ever imagine getting rid of my Mojo!
Had my 2nd Pajero 3L for 13 years & a bit . Went around the block a few times , traded for SFA on a Pajero 3.5L & started again . Sweet ride :cheers:
My father in law still has his brand new sandman ute ...i think 75model............but highly modded.
Shane.
I have a friend who still has an XY GT that he bought new.
He bought it in Sydney with a mate who also bought one, the mate wrote his off when driving back to Brisbane and my mates is under lock and key.
I think he might get his money back if he ever sold it
Shane.
Ill see what I can find.
Oops, only 4 years for me. :'(
Ditto. Gotta Love company vehicles. This latest hilux I bought will become a family airloom however.
My record is my 60 series Cruiser. Had it 8 years now.
I've had my 1973 model HQ since 1988 so 24 yrs now, prior to that it was my grand parents car who brought it new so it's never left the family tree. I paid $800 for it in 88 and it had 78,000 ks on it, now around 260 odd. Still registered and gets driven occasionally
No more than 18 months, car whore, 31 vehicles/bikes in 24 years of motoring. I've had holidays that have lasted longer. ;D I used to be able to quote all the number plates, can still remember the first 3, but not the current one?
dic
For 16 years we owned a 1986 VL 3.0L Turbo Wagon ordered by the first owner as a SL wagon optioned to Calais specs.
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Ourworld/Cars/vl%201996.jpg)
Went like the wind.
The 80 we've owned since August 05.
The Cruiser turns 21 this December.
Note; The Harley is my little brothers, it's a 49 Pan, he has owned it for some 23 years.
I have owned my 1970 Torana now for 33 years. In the process of a full restor.
1988 Mazda 626, bought in 1998@160,000k's intended to keep a couple of years and sell,
guess what, still got it, now done 305,000
Rebuilt just about everything forward of the windscreen at 230,000
now doing stirling work in it's swansong with lessons for my 17y/o daughter
Got my Ford escort 2ltr ex rallye car in may 1984, its been through a few changes since then and morphed into a V6 powered RS2000 for about 8 years and is currently sitting on the drive way, awaiting its next incarnation.
It has another Escort as a stable mate that has been around for 18 years and morphed into a 4x4.
I've had my 1972 mini panelvan for 15 years now, but I still haven't got it on the road yet. I bought it when I was 15 and spent a lot of coin on it in my late teens, but now its sitting under cover in the back corner of the shed waiting for me to have a mid life crisis and finish it.
Wes
About 30 seconds,oh,s**t sorry, thought you said "owned a cat" >:D >:D >:D
My man bought his 1976 XB Falcon GS Panel van (Tango Orange) in 1980 (32 years ago). I met him about a couple of years later. He still has it sitting in the shed waiting for its resto. We then bought a 1954 FJ Holden Special Sedan on 26th Jan 1985(27 years) just after we were married, with the intention of full resto once the van was finished. Yep she sits in the shed beside the van still waiting for restos. But our recent ride our 2000 GU Nissan patrol we have had for 11 years this month, and still loving it. cheers Rellbell