General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on July 27, 2012, 10:17:01 AM

Title: The Olympics
Post by: Bird on July 27, 2012, 10:17:01 AM
I feel good today, I found out Im not the only person at work that cannot stand the olympics!! I care less about them than watching a rain drop evaporating.

One bloke here at the lunchshop nearly blew a ferfer valve when explaining the diver in some TV ad stating that he had been training for 12yrs for his event - Daves argument, why had we paid for this bloke for 12 yrs... why didnt he get a job! LMAO!

Then you get all the sooking about
'why cant I sleep with my missus while on this all expenses paid holiday to London',
'if I dont carry some flag, Im taking my ascics and going home'...
'why do they go first class' - WHY ARE ANY OF THEM GOING FIRST CLASS?
' if a woman doesnt carry the flag, I'll hold my breath'...

Is it not more a bunch of spoilt brats? I thought the games were for amateurs??

Wonder how many 100's of millions it costs to send "competitors", and then the 10000's of hangers on that also MUST GO to the games....

anyway, its a great day :D
Title: Re: The Olympics
Post by: Bill on July 27, 2012, 10:32:53 AM
I have to agree.
In my opinion the Olympics are a huge waste of money...
PS
Morag does NOT share my opinion...
Post by: gibbo301 on July 27, 2012, 10:34:58 AM
Don't hold back Lost say what you think  ;D
Post by: austastar on July 27, 2012, 10:36:14 AM
   If all the footage was available on line I might check in on some of the events like kayak slalom, but the mainstream stuff that is on the TV is of little interest.
I've been recording some documentaries and the odd 'chick flick' for the Mrs. on the HD to watch over the next few weeks in case we decide to watch a bit of telly.
Post by: jeb1900 on July 27, 2012, 10:41:50 AM
IMO,  I would not be too concerned about the money the Australian Government is spending sending people to the Olympics.  I'm not saying that it's not a ridiculous amount, or that it would not blow anyone of us away.  However, there is much greater waste than that if you're wanting to see government spending minimised. 

I think that sport is a very important component of a strong community and for the most part is very healthy.  There are many links between being physically active and being mentally active. 

Australias participation in the Olympics is mainly controlled as I understand it by the Australian Institute of Sport.  The AIS spend tonnes of money every year preparing their athletes for these events.  If we want to be competitive, then that is what needs to be done for otherwise many great athletes, would not be able to train and prepare for the Olympics due to financial restraints.  Attending the Olympics, is a small portion of the cost of running the AIS. 

I think that the AIS does a great job, and is a good service that the government offers to the community.  It offers hope and it also gives national pride. 

I do not think that you could disagree with the motivations of the AIS, their objectives are: 

(1)  The objects of the establishment of the Commission are:
                     (a)  to provide leadership in the development of sport in Australia;
                     (b)  to encourage increased participation and improved performance by Australians in sport;
                     (c)  to provide resources, services and facilities to enable Australians to pursue and achieve excellence in sport while also furthering their educational and vocational skills and other aspects of their personal development;
                     (d)  to improve the sporting abilities of Australians generally through the improvement of the standard of sports coaches;
                     (e)  to foster co?operation in sport between Australia and other countries through the provision of access to resources, services and facilities related to sport; and
                      (f)  to encourage the private sector to contribute to the funding of sport to supplement assistance by the Commonwealth.

There are strong correlations between the success of an Australian team and participation in sport as a result of that.  I believe after the Socceroos did so well a few years ago there was a huge spike in young children playing soccer. 

Sport also brings people together that do not share any common interests.  I remember speaking to lots of people that I would never speak with otherwise about how well the Wallabies are going etc.

Post by: LJs GU on July 27, 2012, 10:49:58 AM

Yeah don't sugar coat it mate, dig in!

Anyway I've got to feign interest in it... 9y/o has just done a school project on it and 6y/o is about to... It's my job now to explain to them the rules of the events from when I competed in the olympics.  ;D ;D

"Yes son, Dad used to do synchronised swimming, but it was tougher back then, we used to do it in sand not water."
LJ
Post by: fuji on July 27, 2012, 10:51:07 AM
I watched a show on telly last night and it appears the Olympics is about the worlds largest Maccas and Adidas. Who freaking cares, i feel sorry for the poor unfortunate shop owners who have to cover up their signs because of these large multi nationals. Yes I have Adidas and sometimes eat Maccas. I have to agree with you Lost who freaking cares.
Wayne
Post by: Bird on July 27, 2012, 10:54:53 AM
Quote from: gibbo301

if it was last night when I had that bottle of Wolf Blass Port, it wouldnt have made it through the sensors.
Post by: Bird on July 27, 2012, 11:05:51 AM
Yeah don't sugar coat it mate, dig in!

Anyway I've got to feign interest in it... 9y/o has just done a school project on it and 6y/o is about to... It's my job now to explain to them the rules of the events from when I competed in the olympics.  ;D ;

this might help http://www.smh.com.au/olympics/news-london-2012/hijab-outlawed-saudi-judo-competitor-refused-permission-to-wear-head-scarf-20120727-22we3.html (http://www.smh.com.au/olympics/news-london-2012/hijab-outlawed-saudi-judo-competitor-refused-permission-to-wear-head-scarf-20120727-22we3.html)
and
(http://images.theage.com.au/2012/07/26/3493069/art-353-chinese2-300x0.jpg)
(http://images.theage.com.au/2012/07/26/3493078/port-cartoon-300x0.jpg)
Post by: McGirr on July 27, 2012, 11:55:58 AM

I take me hat off to the dedication of the athletes that have trained for years to compete at the top level.

Yes there are politics and drugs associated that does tarnish the Olympics but seeing some of the poorer countries send a handfull of Athletes to the games to compete when normally they would not have the opportunity is great. Watching the Ethiopian runners compete in bare feet because they are so poor and they win proves money cannot buy dedication. 

I will watch some programs. Some great memories have been watching Dean Lukin win the weigh lifting, our swim teams beating the USA etc

Post by: Jenko67 on July 27, 2012, 12:19:13 PM
Love the olympics... have 8 dedicated channels on Foxtel...just have to put the politics and everything that goes with it in the background...
Post by: Bird on July 27, 2012, 12:24:56 PM
Quote from: Jenko67
have 8 dedicated channels on Foxtel...
which i reckon is fair - 8 new channels.

So the other 120948203498203 channels should not mention 1 word about it for the rest of us.
Post by: Tassie devils on July 27, 2012, 02:23:54 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/6e8f7738-173e-8079.jpg)

Lost surely it's not that bad, must be worth getting up and cheering the Aussies on in women's beach volleyball.

Post by: Bird on July 27, 2012, 03:12:10 PM
Quote from: Tassie
(http://img.tapatalk.com/6e8f7738-173e-8079.jpg)
Lost surely it's not that bad, must be worth getting up and cheering the Aussies on in women's beach volleyball.

Hit google for "hot chicks in bikinis"... About 2,230,000 results
Post by: Garry H on July 27, 2012, 03:37:18 PM
I take me hat off to the dedication of the athletes that have trained for years to compete at the top level.

X2, I know two of the SA shooters, and they have put in the hard yards over ( lots of ) years to get where they now,
Post by: fuji on July 27, 2012, 04:05:30 PM
Hit google for "hot chicks in bikinis"... About 2,230,000 results

Reminds me of Homer J wearing speedos. LOL
Post by: becboo on July 27, 2012, 08:45:09 PM
It used to be a privilege and an honor to represent your country at the Olympics.

What happened??

Post by: austastar on July 27, 2012, 08:52:51 PM
What happened??

   $pon$or$hip and exce$$ive adverti$ing perhap$?

Post by: becboo on July 27, 2012, 09:48:36 PM

   $pon$or$hip and exce$$ive adverti$ing perhap$?

Oh  the mighty $

What a shame :(
Post by: DannyG on July 27, 2012, 10:01:04 PM
I like to see Aussies do well in the olympics, or any sport. I must be the minority :( I admire the dedication and commitent they show just to get there. But i am patriotic like that.
Post by: becboo on July 27, 2012, 10:06:07 PM
I like to see Aussies do well in the olympics, or any sport. I must be the minority :( I admire the dedication and commitent they show just to get there. But i am patriotic like that.

I am not saying that I am not patriotic.
And I am not saying they don't train hard.
But I am saying I am sick of them whinging !!

Please. Stop whinging or go get a job.

Post by: DannyG on July 27, 2012, 10:11:57 PM
And I am not saying they don't train hard.
But I am saying I am sick of them whinging !!

Please. Stop whinging or go get a job.

fair enough, i dont read news papers and rarely catch any news so i have missed that side of it at a guess
Post by: olddigger on July 27, 2012, 11:44:19 PM
Lost, all is not lost and you are not alone. I share your feelings about this sqandering of billions of dollars to feed the egos of a bunch of cosseted, overpaid, over-hyped, over-rated, drug-riddled professional whingers.
Australia's obsession with sport is one of the main reasons it will never be more than a third rate nation, albeit one with relatively clean streets.
Post by: Black Diamond on July 28, 2012, 05:46:56 AM
Let the games begin ..........
Post by: fuji on July 28, 2012, 06:11:21 AM
Let the games begin ..........

I'm going back to bed
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 28, 2012, 07:26:52 AM
It was almost like Xmas in the house this morning, the kids are really into it

Post by: D4D on July 28, 2012, 07:36:20 AM
When is the women's beach volleyball on?
Post by: Black Diamond on July 28, 2012, 07:38:44 AM
When is the women's beach volleyball on?
Lol I'm waiting for this ;D

http://vimeo.com/m/45784191 (http://vimeo.com/m/45784191)
Post by: krisandkev on July 28, 2012, 07:45:56 AM
I have not been taking a lot of notice of the news, but when I did have it on they were showing the torch relay and it seems the royals were the most important thing. Maybe they are competing? And the news report said they were able to pick their own two carriers. What the?  ???
I wonder what event the royals would be in?   ;D
Now don’t get me wrong.  I would hate to knock the modern day professional drug free Olympics or the young Royals who apparently are just like you and me.  Makes you feel good to know that hey.

I do agree, sport is extremely important and it is better to be spending our taxes on that then a lot of other programs.  Kevin
Post by: Crisp Image on July 28, 2012, 09:31:22 AM
The Olympics and Commonwealth games are good for Little Athletics. After each one of theses events more kids join the sport. They might only do it for a season but at least they are not sitting on their buts and are out there getting some exercise and gaining some skills.
Crisp Image
Post by: Tjupurula on July 28, 2012, 09:55:17 AM
Lets see, there must be some events that Swaggers can nominate which would suit, such as:-

elbow bending with amber fluid,                      (weight lifing-power lifiting)
    driving pegs into ground with rock,                  (training exercise)
    digging out of bogs,                                         (training exercise)
    squeezing big frame into camp chair,               (power lifting to get out of chair)
    fastest wheel change,                                      (speed and agility training)
    high jump to roof for camping equipment,        (track and field training)

Obviously there are quite a few others which swaggers can participate in to train for Olympics  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Forget the elbow bending, I think Speewa would win hands down.

Post by: gibbo301 on July 28, 2012, 05:47:29 PM
 I am not saying they don't train hard.
I am saying I am sick of them whinging !!

There you go Becboo fixed it now you can put it in the I Thread  ;D
Post by: Wuzgonna on July 28, 2012, 08:23:18 PM
go Aussies go, I do feel great when the green and gold do well and my young kids are very interested in the whole thing!
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on July 28, 2012, 08:41:04 PM
Its not a crime to embrace the olympic games, it encompasses more than the sport, just enjoy it.
Post by: GU Rich on July 28, 2012, 08:41:54 PM
I enjoy watching the Games, My cousin is currently in the Mens Road Cylcling Race. He just completed the Le Tour then backs up in the Olympics. He loves representing his country!

Post by: Foo on July 28, 2012, 09:24:21 PM
Tell me more GU! 8)

Be a shame if kids of today all sat around with no ambitions of what they could accomplish in sport rather than, sit on their arse in front of computers! ??? ::)

If you have not competed at the elite level of sport, then you have no idea of the sacrifices made and the will power needed to compete. ::)

I would rather see some of my taxes go to sporting facilities, than some drug using dole bludging a-wipe or money being sent to some corrupt Government that protects terrorists. >:(

I have nothing but admiration for any person, that can compete at the highest level of sport, no matter what sport! :cheers:

As far as I'm concerned, there should be more money put into sports at schools because the health benifits out way this cost. I was told after being hit by a truck, that if it wasn't for the fact, that I was very fit and young, I would have been a vegetable. :o

Post by: becboo on July 28, 2012, 10:46:02 PM

There you go Becboo fixed it now you can put it in the I Thread  ;D

Thanks Gibbo301 :)
Post by: Lori on July 29, 2012, 02:44:00 PM
We are a sporting family, we love sport, we love to be active and we enjoy supporting each other in competition as well as training.

I enjoy watching people and supporting people in their endevours. I cheered at the TV when the Australians womens 4x100m bought home gold!

Behind every successful athlete is years and years of training to get there. Years of dedication, years of hard work, years of not sitting on their butt. Not all of those years have been supported by the Australian Government.

My girls watch elite athletes and they aspire to be better, not just at sport but at life. They see what other people are acheiving by putting in the effort and they realise that effort now pays off later and now if the time to start reaching for their future, wether that is in sport or education.

I am a proud watcher of the games and a proud cheerer of Australians in sport.
Post by: brickiematt on July 29, 2012, 02:47:44 PM

I am a proud watcher of the games and a proud cheerer of Australians in sport.

x2  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on July 29, 2012, 08:22:14 PM
l spent the opening ceramony cleaning out the truck . This happens every 4 years or so , found an old news paper . Shame about the Tiatanic    :cheers:
Post by: Bird on July 29, 2012, 10:24:10 PM
l spent the opening ceramony cleaning out the truck . This happens every 4 years or so , found an old news paper . Shame about the Tiatanic    :cheers:
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: tonym on July 29, 2012, 10:42:51 PM
I wonder what event the royals would be in?   ;D

The Queens granddaughter, Zara Phillips is competing in the Equestrian and her mother, Princess Anne, is president of the British Olympic Committee and an IOC member as well as a former Olympian.

Tony.
Post by: Paul (SA) on July 29, 2012, 11:03:09 PM
After the first couple of days watching the Olympics I feel this insatiable urge to buy Swisse vitamins.....
Post by: HEM19X on July 30, 2012, 07:48:50 AM
The problem with the Olympics is that there are soo many professional sports people in them! The USA Dream Team for example makes more each year than many smaller countries GDP!!! Give us a break, return it to amateur sports people even if it does mean sync. swimming and pairs diving - WTF are they doing at the IOC.

The other problem is that the other TV stations run nothing but crappy repeats of rubbish shows, thinking that "why waste our time when another station has the Olympics". WAKE UP GUYS, if you put quality shows on, people will watch them rather than morning qualifying events with no Aussies even competing!!
Post by: speewa158 on July 30, 2012, 07:57:53 AM
New event  Relay Sleeping & Drinking   Come to a training camp Go for your own PB  :cheers:
Post by: xcvator on July 30, 2012, 10:16:28 AM
New event  Relay Sleeping & Drinking   Come to a training camp Go for your own PB  :cheers:
Where and when ?
Post by: LJs GU on July 30, 2012, 10:22:31 AM
After the first couple of days watching the Olympics I feel this insatiable urge to buy Swisse vitamins.....
I take it you didn't watch the Tour De France then Paul...  Swisse vit's and erection medication over and over and over again. 

They obviously knew their viewing audience... unhealthy middle aged men!

LJ
Post by: gibbo301 on July 30, 2012, 10:50:15 AM
I take it you didn't watch the Tour De France then Paul...  Swisse vit's and erection medication over and over and over again. 

LJ

Sounds like you watched it  ;D what color are them tablets again  ;) ;)
Post by: Snow on July 30, 2012, 11:43:12 AM

Yeah, apparently the lookout had been on a VB bender the night before. ;-))
Post by: Snow on July 30, 2012, 11:47:50 AM

LJ
Yep, the results of which will be healthy middle aged blokes getting around, fit, on their pushies, with lead in their pencils............ but with nothing to scribble on.  >:D
Post by: LJs GU on July 30, 2012, 12:23:47 PM

Sounds like you watched it  ;D what color are them tablets again  ;) ;)

Wouldn't know Gibbo... (always too dark to see when I take them) ;D
LJ
Post by: speewa158 on July 31, 2012, 03:14:38 AM
[ :cheers:e author=xcvator link=topic=23997.msg373599#msg373599 date=1343607388]
Where and when ?
[/quote]
Mitchels Crossing Catch up  if you missed it its gone . We will have to wait till Kelly Country for the next group sip  :cheers:
Post by: LJs GU on July 31, 2012, 11:50:59 AM
The spirit of the Olympics that I want to see...
(https://p.twimg.com/Ay9oObDCEAA0bJ3.jpg:large)
LJ
Post by: Bird on July 31, 2012, 12:35:16 PM
ahhh... one day closer to it finishing

then there will be the need for 50 "tickertape parades"... another waste of money
Post by: Mallory Black on July 31, 2012, 12:41:17 PM
oh yeah and what's coming after the Olympics have finished.......
Big Brother

oh brother.... more free to air channels does not mean we get better TV. 
Post by: Bird on July 31, 2012, 12:49:16 PM
oh yeah and what's coming after the Olympics have finished.......
Big Brother

oh brother.... more free to air channels does not mean we get better TV.
(http://www.aussiecampovenforum.com/yabbfiles/Attachments/backwardgImage1.jpg)
Post by: Black Diamond on July 31, 2012, 01:04:35 PM
(http://www.aussiecampovenforum.com/yabbfiles/Attachments/backwardgImage1.jpg)
:cup; x2
Post by: bussoboy on July 31, 2012, 02:29:11 PM
These are just my/our opinions and in no way am i saying they're right or wrong

my wife = 100% anti sport of any kind

me = only care about self sustaining sport (footy, cricket etc) - if it cant survive on its own then it has no place in govt funding - i also feel this way about anything anyone might call "the arts"

as for the Olympics themselves.........out dated concept since all the sports have their own world championships etc

now having said all of that I do know one of the young girls in the Hockeyroo's (Jade Close) and I do wish her all the best for the games and beyond, but her sport would fall into one of those that should makes its way under its own steam

....and unlike most of you i think womens beach volleyball belongs on the playboy channel and not the olympic channels
Post by: Bird on July 31, 2012, 02:47:01 PM
Quote from: bussoboy
me = only care about self sustaining sport (footy, cricket etc) - if it cant survive on its own then it has no place in govt funding -
i also feel this way about anything anyone might call "the arts"
I think I love you....
Post by: Tassie devils on July 31, 2012, 06:59:17 PM
Hi bussoboy
You really don't watch the Olympics,the beach volley ball players have been wearing long pants,scarves gloves and jackets it's been that cold and wet :-[
If you think the women's volleyball needs to be on the playboy channel,whatever you do don't google the women's grid iron lingerie  league, :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on July 31, 2012, 07:23:45 PM
Looks like the Aussies are suffering from nerves..... I hope thats their excuse anyway ???
Post by: Bird on July 31, 2012, 08:15:22 PM
I heard on SEN tonight, $500 million to send the athletes, and the millions of hangers-on-for-free-trip across for the games
it worked out to... - $100 million per "athlete"...

Surely they gest?
Post by: speewa158 on July 31, 2012, 08:46:37 PM
It could have been wasted on grog , couldnt it  :cheers:
Post by: Tjupurula on July 31, 2012, 08:49:55 PM
It could have been wasted on grog , couldnt it  :cheers:

Slightly underestimatimng your drinking ability there Speewa... >:D
Post by: kranky al on July 31, 2012, 08:53:48 PM

There are strong correlations between the success of an Australian team and participation in sport as a result of that.  I believe after the Socceroos did so well a few years ago there was a huge spike in young girls playing soccer. 

FTFY ;)
Post by: speewa158 on July 31, 2012, 09:02:24 PM
Slightly underestimatimng your drinking ability there Speewa... >:D
What 100 Mil are come on l could spill that much       :cheers:
Post by: Tjupurula on July 31, 2012, 09:09:23 PM
What 100 Mil are come on l could spill that much       :cheers:

Scary part is I believe you.... >:D
Post by: speewa158 on July 31, 2012, 09:28:01 PM
Scary part is I believe you.... >:D
Your taxs at work ,,,, What can l tell you ,,,,, :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on July 31, 2012, 09:33:51 PM
Your taxs at work ,,,, What can l tell you ,,,,, :cheers:
Vote #1 for prime minister  Speewa ;D
Post by: speewa158 on July 31, 2012, 09:41:05 PM
Vote #1 for prime minister  Speewa ;D
[/q
uote
lm no big arsed chick & 2ND fiddle to the real world                                   :cheers:
Post by: olddigger on July 31, 2012, 11:13:15 PM
Good Olympic result: the fat chick came fifth in her swim. Why was she there in the first place?
Post by: Bird on July 31, 2012, 11:16:47 PM
Good Olympic result: the fat chick came fifth in her swim. Why was she there in the first place?
cause shes friends with the bloke that beat his competitor to a pulp who is there and also did **** all.

http://www.theage.com.au/olympics/off-the-field/street-artists-forced-to-play-by-the-rules-20120731-23ces.html (http://www.theage.com.au/olympics/off-the-field/street-artists-forced-to-play-by-the-rules-20120731-23ces.html)
Post by: speewa158 on August 01, 2012, 03:33:04 AM
It official  the competators are there & a few have wondered in to watch  but not enough to full the seats . Call in the army to watch the events , at least full the seats to make it look like somebody cares about it all . London is supposed to be spilling with huge crowds spending as fast as the 100M runners  but its not . Yet another expencive look at me event where only some did . At least the pubs arnt busy  :cheers:
Post by: Tassie devils on August 01, 2012, 09:44:44 AM
mate she was there because qualified fastest,to be called fat is just mindless,finishing 5th in the world is still bloody good,take a look at her credentials one of Australia's best swimmers.

ohttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:2008_Australian_Olympic_team_Leisel_Jones_-_Sarah_Ewart.jpg

Leisel Jones

Personal information
Full name   Leisel Marie Jones
Nickname(s)   Diesel
Nationality    Australia
Born    30 August 1985 (age 26)
Katherine, Northern Territory
Height   1.78 m (5 ft 10 in)
Sport
Sport   Swimming
Stroke(s)   Breaststroke
Club   Melbourne Vicentre
Medal record[hide]
Women's swimming
Competitor for  Australia
Olympic Games
Gold   2004 Athens   4×100 m medley
Gold   2008 Beijing   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2008 Beijing   4×100 m medley
Silver   2000 Sydney   100 m breaststroke
Silver   2000 Sydney   4×100 m medley
Silver   2004 Athens   200 m breaststroke
Silver   2008 Beijing   200 m breaststroke
Bronze   2004 Athens   100 m breaststroke
World Championships (LC)
Gold   2001 Fukuoka   4×100 m medley
Gold   2005 Montreal   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2005 Montreal   200 m breaststroke
Gold   2005 Montreal   4×100 m medley
Gold   2007 Melbourne   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2007 Melbourne   200 m breaststroke
Gold   2007 Melbourne   4×100 m medley
Silver   2001 Fukuoka   100 m breaststroke
Silver   2003 Barcelona   200 m breaststroke
Silver   2007 Melbourne   50 m breaststroke
Silver   2011 Shanghai   100 m breaststroke
Bronze   2003 Barcelona   100 m breaststroke
Bronze   2003 Barcelona   4×100 m medley
Bronze   2011 Shanghai   4×100 m medley
World Championships (SC)
Silver   2010 Dubai   100 m breaststroke
Bronze   2010 Dubai   4×100 m medley
Commonwealth Games
Gold   2002 Manchester   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2002 Manchester   200 m breaststroke
Gold   2002 Manchester   4 × 100 m medley
Gold   2006 Melbourne   50 m breaststroke
Gold   2006 Melbourne   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2006 Melbourne   200 m breaststroke
Gold   2006 Melbourne   4 × 100 m medley
Gold   2010 Delhi   100 m breaststroke
Gold   2010 Delhi   200 m breaststroke
Gold   2010 Delhi   4 × 100 m medley
Silver   2010 Delhi   50 m breaststroke
Pan Pacific Championships
Gold   2002 Yokohama   4 × 100 m medley
Silver   2002 Yokohama   200 m breaststroke
Silver   2010 Irvine   100 m breaststroke
Silver   2010 Irvine   200 m breaststroke
Silver   2010 Irvine   4×100 m medley
Bronze   2010 Irvine   50 m breaststroke

Post by: Black Diamond on August 01, 2012, 09:58:04 AM
Pretty impressive CV
Post by: kranky al on August 01, 2012, 12:20:12 PM
if you come last in an olympic swimming event it means that you are the 8th fastest in the world.

not too shabby coming in fifth - especially for a porker - like to see some of the fatties on here - myself included move 1/2 that fast ;)
Post by: GreenLeader on August 01, 2012, 12:36:48 PM

As a journalist of 50 years standing I would have expected more from you Tony.

We should open up more off topic discussions, it brings out more of the character of people and chance to see what colour they really bleed.

As a sport obsessed country it's great to see that top 5 in the world is just not good enough to be proud of. Bugger the CV for the past XX years. What has she done for us NOW. Pretty f_cked view in my opinion.

Glass houses would be well remembered. Lets go back and have a look at the photos from MySwag trips and get togethers, now there are some great examples of health right there.

It's all good though, I can just make a reference to having another drink and charging through another slab and then finished it off with some crap emoicon - another original quote coming right up...

Big Jules you can remove me from the member list. No need to be a member if the only posts you put up are like the above.

Later Days,

GL..

Post by: Marschy on August 01, 2012, 02:30:14 PM
GreenLeader, whilst I agree with your sentiment. The idea of a forum is where people can express their opinion, for better or worse. Surely you read other threads before joining and saw that trashing went on before you joined. Which begs the question, why did you join in the first place, and what made you get past the opening salvo that started trashing the Olympics on the first post?

???
Post by: GreenLeader on August 01, 2012, 02:55:02 PM
To be honest Marschy I'm not sure which part of my post you agree with.

Whilst I don't agree with most of the posts in the Olympic thread I can respect the opinion. The reply was to an individual statement NOT the Olympic thread.

Provide me links to where we trash people in such an open way. Correct me if I am worng but that what I thought members on this site liked the most - a friendly place.

And to answer your last question which has been done before, I joined because it provided great information and you needed to be a full memebr to access ALL forums.
Post by: Marschy on August 01, 2012, 03:11:52 PM
To be honest GreenLeader I wasn't expecting an answer.
Post by: Bird on August 01, 2012, 03:17:21 PM
Quote from: GreenLeader
. Correct me if I am worng but that what I thought members on this site liked the most - a friendly place.

If you dont think the people on this forum are friendly, or that this isn't a friendly forum.....
 your in the wrong place - by a long shot.

This is easily the most social easy going forum I've ever been part of.

YMMV.
Post by: achjimmy on August 01, 2012, 03:19:14 PM
For my 2c worth I don't think the personal attack is warranted. She is an elite athlete and probaly one of the Olympic athletes that are due some real respect, as for some of the others! the hipe around swimming has lead to this. They seem like whingers to me, what did Stephenie Rice expect if she was injured, maybe if she twitted less her shoulder would recover quicker.

I hate swimming and wish it would go back to the media oblivion it once came from and take most of the other Olympic sports with it.
Post by: Mace on August 01, 2012, 03:35:00 PM
I enjoy watching most of the "traditional" olympic sports, athletics, boxing, shooting, archery, maybe even swimming a bit.

I get really pithed of tho, with the influx of "professional" sports into the Olympic Family - tennis FFS, Golf i hear is also getting a run.  Basketball, ok, but it should be like the soccer, where only 3 persons  over 23 years of age should be allowed to compete in each team.   Have no interest in watching professional dudes named bryron and lee roy etc, strut their stuff.

The Equestrian Events are fantastic, I reckon there should be more animal related events.  I reckon fox terrier racing would be a winner, as would dog jumping!!
Post by: Marschy on August 01, 2012, 03:57:22 PM
I'm not a fan of the events that are judged, then a formula is applied to an aggregate score to arrive at a final score. I much prefer the sports where an outcome is determined by who came first, who got more goals, who ran the fastest, and where the outcome is not influenced by who is sitting on the judging panel
Post by: xcvator on August 01, 2012, 05:06:43 PM
FFS Because she's GOOD ENOUGH to QUALIFY od, and assuming you are an od, she will still be able to swim faster at your age than you can walk now  ???
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on August 01, 2012, 05:32:33 PM

Sorry, buts thats a pretty poor comment by anyones standards.

It does however give us a prime example of tall poppy syndrome, sandwiched in a fine layer of ignorance and buffoonery.

Keep up the good work ... but don't give up your day job.

Post by: Black Diamond on August 01, 2012, 06:41:22 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/7cb59f4a-ebc5-24c3.jpg)
Post by: olddigger on August 01, 2012, 08:16:41 PM
Gee, that little comment poked a stick into a hornet's nest!
I'd better not comment on more recent results, including the swimmer whose preoccupation with the vacuous pursuit of Twitter and Facebook seems to have cost her the gold medal she was so cockily confident of winning.
Or the other one with the shoulder problem and enough tears to fill the Olympic pool.
At the moment, that paragon of sporting excellence, Khazakstan, has three gold medals. Australia has one. We live in interesting times.
Post by: achjimmy on August 01, 2012, 08:21:36 PM
At the moment, that paragon of sporting excellence, Khazakstan, has three gold medals. Australia has one. We live in interesting times.

borat - kazakhstan national anthem (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pv5jLsLoYcE#)  :D
Post by: GU Rich on August 01, 2012, 08:44:39 PM
You sound like the kid that was always picked last at playtime at school for a game of footy.

EDIT, My cousin was also in the games this week.....No he isn't "fat"...but either is Leisel.
Post by: Tassie devils on August 01, 2012, 09:05:43 PM
You sound like the kid that was always picked last at playtime at school for a game of footy.

EDIT, My cousin was also in the games this week.....No he isn't "fat"...but either is Leisel.
Well said how did your cousin go?
Post by: rockman on August 01, 2012, 09:07:19 PM
I have only just started to follow the Olympics ... looked up running ... clicked the first thing that caught my eye Sexy Athlete Warmup Dance (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wKYcefiwBh0#ws)   ... one very bubbly / happy / excited young lady .. good on her ... and she won as well ...
Post by: GU Rich on August 01, 2012, 09:09:49 PM
Well said how did your cousin go?
Not bad TD, No doubt a bit fatigued after the Tour De France.

Post by: Lori on August 01, 2012, 10:15:38 PM
Now there is a girl to watch! Excited, happy and oozing good sportsmanship.

Like I tell my girls, sport without good sportsmanship is not worth attending or watching. Its okay to be dissapointed in your results or calls made by a ref, but always always exhibit good sportsmanship.

That quote regarding Leisel Jones is uncalled for and very dissrespectful to someone who earned her spot at this olympics based on her times in March this year, This is her fourth Olympics (and the only Australian swimmer, male or female to qualify for four olympics) and we dont expect her to have the same body shape she did 12 years ago when she was 15, but amazingly she has the same form and is still outswimming and outclassing her Australian competition.

Im proud of her efforts wether she wins a medal or not, she is the best our counrty has to offer. I do not equate someones ability to bring home a medal with their worth as a person and would never stoop to derogitory and personal attacks based on what you think you see.

Out of 48 swimmers who were skilled enough to qualify to swim the 100mtr Breastsroke at the Olympics Leisel came in as the 5th fastest (1.48secs outside the fastest time) I know if that was my daughter I would be very proud indeed and would not apreciate rude and uneducated remarks from someone who probably could not swim the stroke in the correct form yet alone make it 25mtrs in the 1min 6secs Leisel did 100mtrs in.

To say I am dissapointed in comments like this is an understatement, where is the pride in our country and all the people who go out there to positively represent it? Whether it be sporting, academic or other endevours - its not much to ask for that we give Aussies in all their positive flavours the general support of our nation for a job well done or an effort well tried.
Post by: Tjupurula on August 01, 2012, 10:35:48 PM
I enjoy watching most of the "traditional" olympic sports, athletics, boxing, shooting, archery, maybe even swimming a bit.

I get really pithed of tho, with the influx of "professional" sports into the Olympic Family - tennis FFS, Golf i hear is also getting a run.  Basketball, ok, but it should be like the soccer, where only 3 persons  over 23 years of age should be allowed to compete in each team.   Have no interest in watching professional dudes named bryron and lee roy etc, strut their stuff.

The Equestrian Events are fantastic, I reckon there should be more animal related events.  I reckon fox terrier racing would be a winner, as would dog jumping!!

I do not know how many people would enjoy watching athletes running around jumping over dogs... ;D
We don't watch tv (don't own one either), but I have seen some of the hgihlights on the internet.  I have no interest personally, but good on these young people for achieving the best that they can.
Post by: Tassie devils on August 01, 2012, 10:46:19 PM

To say I am dissapointed in comments like this is an understatement, where is the pride in our country and all the people who go out there to positively represent it? Whether it be sporting, academic or other endevours - its not much to ask for that we give Aussies in all their positive flavours the general support of our nation for a job well done or an effort well tried.
Hi Lori
I have lived in Australia for 15 years and have huge Australian pride and I am a Pom,having a beautiful Aussie wife and 3 Aussie daughters ,if my girls are ever lucky enough to represent their country it's Aussie Aussie Aussie all the way :cheers:
Post by: Mace on August 01, 2012, 11:06:03 PM
good on these young people for achieving the best that they can.

And that mate, is one of the most sensible comments in this thread.  It doesnt matter who does what or comes where there, as long as inspires some other kids to get of their bums and have a go. 

For ten years our cars averaged 50,000 km per year.  It was either athletics or soccer every second weekend, usually in Melb, a 400k round trip. We have got a well adjusted and worldly daughter out of it, in part.

Sport (and Arts) have a very important inspirational role in any  community and participation should be encouraged, not just in the $$$$ generating codes such as football and cricket.
Post by: Lloyd65 on August 01, 2012, 11:31:46 PM
[/quote]Well said this is the best post I have read :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Lori on August 02, 2012, 11:42:18 AM
Hi Lori
I have lived in Australia for 15 years and have huge Australian pride and I am a Pom,having a beautiful Aussie wife and 3 Aussie daughters ,if my girls are ever lucky enough to represent their country it's Aussie Aussie Aussie all the way :cheers:

Good to hear you have pride in your adopted counrty Tassie devil,  I am a pommy decendant, my mother and her family immigrated as 10 pound poms back in the 60s.
Post by: Crisp Image on August 02, 2012, 06:27:23 PM
If there was a camping Olympics one of the sports could be folding the en suite tent!!
A great degree of difficulty and high skills needed.
Crisp Image
Post by: brickiematt on August 02, 2012, 06:38:53 PM
If there was a camping Olympics one of the sports could be folding the en suite tent!!
A great degree of difficulty and high skills needed.
Crisp Image

Another event could be the burning off of the gas lamp mantel!! A steady hand and nerves of steel needed for that one ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on August 02, 2012, 10:04:52 PM
So how would you be in the Aussie  Badminton team . Missed the cut so,,, off to the Pub for a sip or 2 .
Then 3 teams are flung for tanking to get a better go at the medals . So your dragged out of the pubs of the Old Dart to perform . Bugger . This is not how it was planned  :-*
Post by: achjimmy on August 03, 2012, 09:29:36 AM
So how would you be in the Aussie  Badminton team . Missed the cut so,,, off to the Pub for a sip or 2 .
Then 3 teams are flung for tanking to get a better go at the medals . So your dragged out of the pubs of the Old Dart to perform . Bugger . This is not how it was planned  :-*

At least thats better than getting smashed because you lost and then going on a course of rampage.

http://m.abc.net.au/browse?page=11144&articleid=4173204&cat=Top (http://m.abc.net.au/browse?page=11144&articleid=4173204&cat=Top) Stories

The team better not pay for it, that clown has to himself nothing less.
Post by: xcvator on August 03, 2012, 11:51:30 AM
Did Russell Marks shoot himself in the foot?  :laugh:
Was he thinking about a different  "gun" and "shooting" at the wrong target?  :angel: 
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2012, 11:59:42 AM
The olympics, home of corruption since 776....BC ...
The Olympics - Destroying Honest sport since 776 BC...
http://www.theage.com.au/olympics/news-london-2012/ring-of-ire-judging-standards-under-attack-as-spotlight-falls-on-boxing-20120803-23j3h.html (http://www.theage.com.au/olympics/news-london-2012/ring-of-ire-judging-standards-under-attack-as-spotlight-falls-on-boxing-20120803-23j3h.html)
http://www.theage.com.au/olympics/cycling-london-2012/i-just-crashed-i-did-it-on-purpose-to-get-a-restart-controversy-mars-gb-sprint-gold-20120803-23jlx.html (http://www.theage.com.au/olympics/cycling-london-2012/i-just-crashed-i-did-it-on-purpose-to-get-a-restart-controversy-mars-gb-sprint-gold-20120803-23jlx.html)

(http://smithbeachwood.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/kim_yoo_suk.jpg)  :cup: :cup: :cup:

and why is it when an aussie loses, you never hear why the other person was better, or won fair and square? its always some excuse?

adn add to that getting the North and South Korean Flags wrong - Im suprised theres no war going on there...
Post by: cruisindub on August 03, 2012, 12:10:30 PM
Another embarrassment to the Australian team. Pissed,and smashing shop fronts.. and wearing the green and gold team colours.!!
Him and that swimmer D'Arcy and his knucklehead mate should be banned.

Whatever happened to being proud to represent your country. Wearing the team colours, the countries colours,with pride.!

My father in law is a gold medal Olympian, (paid for their own flight to LA in 1984.) These scum don't know the respect and admiration that cones from representing our country.

Lost faith in the Aussie team when they put winning medals above what's right and wrong.

Post by: Black Diamond on August 03, 2012, 12:48:33 PM
Another embarrassment to the Australian team. Pissed,and smashing shop fronts.. and wearing the green and gold team colours.!!
Him and that swimmer D'Arcy and his knucklehead mate should be banned.

Whatever happened to being proud to represent your country. Wearing the team colours, the countries colours,with pride.!

My father in law is a gold medal Olympian, (paid for their own flight to LA in 1984.) These scum don't know the respect and admiration that cones from representing our country.

Lost faith in the Aussie team when they put winning medals above what's right and wrong.
sounds like he has been hanging around with Brendan fevola :D
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2012, 01:04:03 PM
sounds like he has been hanging around with Brendan fevola :D
Nick Darcy... :P
Post by: ozbogwam on August 03, 2012, 05:32:44 PM
(http://editorial.designtaxi.com/news-olympicsformula0208/10.jpeg)
Post by: Marschy on August 04, 2012, 08:55:44 PM
Just had an idea. The IOC should combine events. They could have...

Pole vault x Archery
High Jump x Javlin

Now who wouldn't watch that!!!!!!
Post by: xcvator on August 04, 2012, 10:23:08 PM
Another event could be the burning off of the gas lamp mantel!! A steady hand and nerves of steel needed for that one ;D ;D
What about tent peg driving in the dark after 3 vb's
Post by: speewa158 on August 05, 2012, 05:42:07 AM
What about tent peg driving in the dark after 3 vb's
So you lost your torch too ;D
Post by: Hairs on August 06, 2012, 07:11:17 AM
Just watched the 100M mens final,
7 of them under 10 seconds.
9.64  That's quick
(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-scared007.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: Paul (SA) on August 06, 2012, 10:05:20 AM
I think we need to modernize some events. What relevance has shot put or hammer throw these days. And long jump. Too safe jumping into sand. Maybe jumping across a fire pit might get the crowds in. And throw a real bloody hammer.
Post by: Brutus on August 06, 2012, 07:03:59 PM
I got excited a few years ago when I heard of the hammer throw as I have been known to launch a spanner or shifter many meters down the paddock when I used to be a council plumber. When I found out what the hammer throw was I was a little disappinted. :'(
Post by: kranky al on August 07, 2012, 05:04:54 AM
'Bookish' Australians indifferent to Olympics success
06-08-12
AUSTRALIA’S woeful Olympics medal tally is due to its residents’ disdain for any activity that emphasises the physical over the mental, it has been claimed.

"Pray tell me sir, what is a 'tinny'?"
The nation’s lack of concern for putting one over on other countries, particularly Britain, is another key factor.

Internationalist Nikki Hollis said: “Most nations would be smarting with humiliation at their resoundingly abysmal record in these games but not the Australians, an enigmatic people dedicated to the life of the mind who rarely travel outside their own shores.

“Until 1996, ‘rough sports’, a category which included rugby, surfing and cricket, were specifically banned in the Australian constitution as it was feared that they may distract young people from their studies of vers libre, dodecaphonic composition and ethnological art.

“Under protest from their own citizens, the government partly repealed these laws but only to introduce Australian Rules Football, a watered down version of the game which, according to those who have played it is ‘more like a mixture of chess and expressive dance’.

“Given how much the average young Australian male would far prefer to engage you in a discussion on the finer points of Mallarmé or Euripides than bandy remarks on uncouth ball games, it is hardy astonishing that they have won such a pitiful number of medals.”

Australian ex-pat Bill McKay said: “Being a sports fan in Australia is incredibly lonely. There’s more to life than the intellect but try telling that to the average bloke in New South Wales.

“Take swimming. We could be good at it but it’s impossible to swim and read at the same time – you just end up going in circles. And you can’t get an Aussie to put their book down, even in the water.”

Joanna Kramer, a self-confessed ‘Australophile’, said: “I think we British could learn a lot from Australia. What is sport, they say, compared with the arts and the crafts, macrame, ceramics, flower arranging?

“To them, physical competition and noisy collective celebration are as insignificant as the number of medals they have won in these Olympic
Post by: Bird on June 25, 2016, 08:13:10 PM
They should scrap them now as nobody takes them serious anymore...

These Olympics will go down in history as the biggest farce every... LMAO!!! love it

http://www.theage.com.au/sport/olympics/rio-2016/rio-drugtesting-lab-suspended-by-wada-20160624-gprooo.html (http://www.theage.com.au/sport/olympics/rio-2016/rio-drugtesting-lab-suspended-by-wada-20160624-gprooo.html)