General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jason B on July 11, 2012, 09:39:00 PM

Title: 4WD Action - 100 series article WTF.
Post by: Jason B on July 11, 2012, 09:39:00 PM
I was just reading the latest 4wd Action 183 (Yeah yeah I know) and on page 71 is a nice looking V8 100 series cruiser (Number plates UPROAR) It gets the nod and full praise from the mag, but seriously how can this cruiser possibly be road legal in the form that it is shown in the mag. 

The mods (No GVM upgrade mentioned).

ARB Bar, lights, winch, bush bars, steps and rear bar.
Spare on rear bar with Jerry can
Roof rack, awning, jack, roof top bag and associated gear
260lt of fuel in tanks
155lt of water.

Inside
back seat storage box, 3 x jerrys (2 full of fuel)
Honda EU20i Generator
Tools parts and camping gear
Rear storage draws
2 x engel fridges 1 x 40lt and 1 x 60lt
Kitchen on tailgate
+ whatever is in the draws.
Solar panels etc etc etc.

HTF can this thing be anywhere near legal to tour around the country in as presented in the magazine. Worse how can these numb nuts pass this off as an awesome tourer that we all should aspire to.

How many people are going to read this and think that 40lt of fuel on the back seat is a great idea.

Please. 4WD action you have lost the plot.

Rant over.

Title: Re: 4WD Action - 100 series article WTF.
Post by: dazzler on July 11, 2012, 10:05:51 PM

Please. 4WD action you have lost the plot.

Lost it - they never had it.   ;D
Post by: ozbogwam on July 11, 2012, 10:07:05 PM
Do you know that it isn't legal? Who's to say it hasn't been engineered. Pretty big call to rant over it without knowing anything more than an article in a mag.
Post by: KevinD4D on July 11, 2012, 10:14:31 PM
I think the point was that if it had been 'engineered' it should have been mentioned in the article. As for fuel stored in the car...I wouldn't get in it...
Post by: noel_w on July 11, 2012, 10:25:47 PM
Just think about the liquids for example. Not sure if the standard fuel tank is included but:
~ 475 Kg in liquid on board! 1 Lt roughly equates to 1 Kg therefore with a legal carry weight of 580 Kg it doesn't leave much for any thing else. I wonder if it did have a GVM upgrade. Plus if you have the family on board as well....., Plus all the other stuff. WOW that would be some heavy mother.
Scary stuff and it makes me wonder how much my old GQ is overloaded some days, not that you notice any extra weight when driving it.
Post by: cruisindub on July 11, 2012, 10:32:10 PM
Certainly causing an 'Uproar'   ;D

Did they mention the fuel economy? >:D
Post by: Sixtys Guy on July 11, 2012, 10:35:54 PM
1 litre of petrol is about 700 grams I think......? It's not illegal to carry fuel inside a vehicle, not the smartest idea though!
Post by: chisel on July 11, 2012, 10:49:04 PM
Just about any big wagon with a couple of steel bars, drawers and a bit of other gear will be over GVM - especially with some weight on the tow ball.  Perhaps not if it is a 200 series with a GVM upgrade.  Well setup 100 series are almost all over GVM and there's not really any way to increase GVM.  I've heard mention on lcool of some 100 series being well over 4000kgs when touring (GVM is about 3300).

They couldn't realistically exclude all vehicles that are over GVM from their mag - they'd have nothing left!

Besides they are probably illegal in other ways (eg. >15mm OD increase on the tyres in QLD) :-)
Post by: Sixtys Guy on July 11, 2012, 10:50:27 PM
Or the mag would only feature Defender dual cab utes LOL!
Post by: cheif carlos on July 11, 2012, 10:56:27 PM
And that's why I don't buy it anymore!
Post by: KevinD4D on July 11, 2012, 11:11:03 PM
Doubt I'll be renewing mine when it's up...
Post by: Mr Ploppy on July 12, 2012, 03:48:22 AM

Now that would be a great read  :cup:
Post by: ozbogwam on July 12, 2012, 08:24:27 AM
I'd say there would be a huge amount of vehicles on this forum that would be illegal as well once loaded up for a trip
Post by: Big Nath on July 12, 2012, 09:32:12 AM
I'd say there would be a huge amount of vehicles on this forum that would be illegal as well once loaded up for a trip

They dont all boast about it or put it in a magazine...............
Post by: Beachman on July 12, 2012, 10:00:08 AM

I have to admit I would have been over my GMV on a couple of occasions as it’s so easy to go over especially when your carrying 4 adult passengers, then camping gear and trailers.
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2012, 10:08:22 AM
Im more surprised people still buy the rubbish!
Post by: Jason B on July 12, 2012, 10:23:42 AM
Do you know that it isn't legal? Who's to say it hasn't been engineered. Pretty big call to rant over it without knowing anything more than an article in a mag.

No mention of it being engineered in the mag. The fuel is sitting in a box urestrained where the back seat used to be. No cargo barrier either. I don't think it could be engineered to carry that much crap. My point is that the mag portrays the vehicle as an ultimate tourer. Its a nice looking 100 no boubt but I wouldn't put my family in it. Oh yeah I couldn't I forgot theres no back seat it full of fuel.  >:D

Post by: Jason B on July 12, 2012, 10:27:24 AM
Certainly causing an 'Uproar'   ;D

Did they mention the fuel economy? >:D

Fuel economy Quote, "I keep the revs under 2000rpm and understand that my 4WD isn't going to be chirping off at the lights, I can average 20L/100km"
Post by: schmik on July 12, 2012, 10:41:13 AM
It's just a magazine.
I agree that fuel in the car is not a good idea and i would avoid doing it.
Different strokes for different folks!

mike
Post by: 99disco on July 12, 2012, 10:54:36 AM
Gee some of you guys must have nothing better to do than complain. I can think of half a dozen gu wagons that have featured in the last year that would also be way over their GVM but no one carries on about that.

Shane
Post by: JCOJ on July 12, 2012, 10:58:13 AM

That will never happen as they are SO Toyota/Nissan biased it's not funny!!
Post by: whitey1 on July 12, 2012, 11:20:52 AM
Fuel economy Quote, "I keep the revs under 2000rpm and understand that my 4WD isn't going to be chirping off at the lights, I can average 20L/100km"
No wonder he needs all that fuel! I average 16l/100km loaded up and towing the camper. And thats not even trying to take it easy.
Post by: BLKWDW on July 12, 2012, 02:02:26 PM
Geez some ppl will winge bout anything. 99% of the cars featured in the mag would be illegal whether theyd be over there gvm or simply are running to big a tyre. If they all had to be engineered and withing legal rights thered be no magazine. That goes for every car scene. Geez most of the cars on here would be defectable foe one reason or another but dont hear u winge bout them either.
Post by: Jason B on July 12, 2012, 02:12:17 PM
Geez some ppl will winge bout anything. 99% of the cars featured in the mag would be illegal whether theyd be over there gvm or simply are running to big a tyre. If they all had to be engineered and withing legal rights thered be no magazine. That goes for every car scene. Geez most of the cars on here would be defectable foe one reason or another but dont hear u winge bout them either.

My rant mate, my opinion don't like so be it. BUT thanks for having a WINGE >:D
Post by: Teabag on July 12, 2012, 02:36:09 PM
Keep it civil please ........Respect differing views no matter what your view is....I hope I dont need to shut down another thread.......

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2
Post by: Jason B on July 12, 2012, 02:41:20 PM
And I thought i was being civil.  Maybe the missus is right LOL.
Post by: fuji on July 12, 2012, 03:06:09 PM
Are the plates Victorian? :police:
Post by: Jason B on July 12, 2012, 03:29:33 PM
Are the plates Victorian? :police:

They sure are.  :D
Post by: cruisindub on July 12, 2012, 04:03:00 PM
I didnt take Jas thread as being a whinge!

I thought it was quite funny.

Yeah, don't agree with it, no reason to slander. Have a laugh. Some people are a bit touchy feely, lighten up and see the brighter side.

Have a laugh, have some fun, learn from others expertise and experience and enjoy life, and enjoy the forum.

Post by: fuji on July 12, 2012, 04:09:11 PM
Well if I see him driving I'll get my mate from VicRoads to weigh him as he carries portable scales. Hee hee
Post by: noel_w on July 12, 2012, 04:18:16 PM
Well if I see him driving I'll get my mate from VicRoads to weigh him as he carries portable scales. Hee hee
Sounds like a good enough reason to sport a myswag sticker, wink wink, nudge nudge. Say no more.  :angel:
Post by: cruisindub on July 12, 2012, 04:21:26 PM
Sounds like a good enough reason to sport a myswag sticker, wink wink, nudge nudge. Say no more.  :angel:

If you get pulled over you can say that Donuts/WYNO said it was ok.
Always helps to know the right kind o people.
Post by: noel_w on July 12, 2012, 04:40:41 PM
If you get pulled over you can say that Donuts/WYNO said it was ok.
Always helps to know the right kind o people.
Like ya thinkin'
Post by: Jason B on July 12, 2012, 05:46:00 PM
I didnt take Jas thread as being a whinge!

I thought it was quite funny.

Yeah, don't agree with it, no reason to slander. Have a laugh. Some people are a bit touchy feely, lighten up and see the brighter side.

Have a laugh, have some fun, learn from others expertise and experience and enjoy life, and enjoy the forum.

I didn't really think I was wingeing either but anyway. Its a good looking 100, just gone a bit OTT I think. He just needs to put 1/2 of the stuff in a CT and heel be right.  ;D
Post by: BLKWDW on July 12, 2012, 09:55:00 PM
I wasnt whinging. Was just making a point sorry if it came across a bit harsh. I was just stating when why is something being said bout this one vehicle when there would be plenty of cars with big tyres and factory brakes id be more inclined to complain about in the mag etc. Most cruiser and patrols would be over gvm with not alot added to them.
Post by: Jason B on July 12, 2012, 10:01:29 PM
No worries mate.

I agree most would be over to some degree, this one just looks plain ludicrous when you see the photos. No room left in it at all except for the space for driver and passenger. Then 40lt of fuel behind the passengers seat, in front of the cargo barrier.

Each to there own.
Post by: JU5T1N on July 12, 2012, 11:03:24 PM
naawwww every one has kissed 'n' made up!  :cheers:

surely it would handle like worn out slinky....cant see that any fun....wonder how the spring mounts are looking?  :police:

Perhaps he gets himself in knots when towing a trailer...or cant afford the CT due to his fuel consumption....perhaps bright spark tried to lighten the load using a hole saw....starting with his fuel tank  ;D
Post by: Jason B on July 12, 2012, 11:16:26 PM
If he bought a CT he cpould join this forum and get all of our advice first hand!  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: ozbogwam on July 13, 2012, 04:32:11 PM

That is a horrible thought. Has happened in the past when people have used a mag article to target someone to the police.

I'd hazard a guess the mag has packed the vehicle to the rafters for the article and it may not be the norm.
Post by: JU5T1N on July 13, 2012, 05:34:46 PM
That is a horrible thought. Has happened in the past when people have used a mag article to target someone to the police.

I'd hazard a guess the mag has packed the vehicle to the rafters for the article and it may not be the norm.
I would be surprised it already has happened. All the competition scene had that happen, photos of the cars in the mag's while competing. It began to be obvious it was only the car photos with the number plate in photo that got a knock on the door. Years ago I was getting knocks, around 6 times in 4mths. I got a call from the Mrs once when not only had they entered my property, they didn't go to the door and announce themselves. They just started writing up a list and sticked the car. Best part was when I pulled into my driveway blocking the unmarked vehicle in. They were on my property yet they were the hostiles in the way the started on me. I asked for ID 3 times and none was given....handy when you have a few mates high up, I called 1 that only lived around the corner.....gee the tune changed when they realised what I'd done  ;D
Turned out defecting a car that was not only locked away on my property but was also on a trailer was a waist of time.
I asked the 2 young offices to show me the defective points. 1st thing he pointed to came in the car from the factory....crossed that 1 off.
Then he wanted to defect the flexy flares....crossed off
rear seat belts that held a tyre in back on floor....crossed off as there was no seat there only a tyre
leaf springs lift too high ....springs were dead flat (in fact they were standard leaves)
At this point I asked were this has come from......no answer was given
I asked if in their inspection had the looked at the Rego sticker....I got a yes, its rego'ed
I asked was there any other details they needed to check on there....I got a blank look
I said how about the conditions on the bottom?......to which it was rechecked
Ohhhh he says.....is this vehicle engineered????....yes I replied.
Where are the papers he asked.....well they were in the glove box high & dry but I see when you helped yourselves to my bonnet release you have placed them in the inch thick mud on my floor "GEE THANKS GUYS"
nope....there was no sorry.
after these guys kept hitting dead ends and were having major troubles reading the report the senior officer that I had called stepped in and read it to them.
in the end he said to them, "well I cant see why your here."
finally I got my apology & defect was cancelled.
unfortunately it didn't end there. Around 2wks later 2 RTA officers were knocking at my door asking to see the car. Wife passed them the phone, I gave them the address. 15minutes later they were in my sponsors work shop. They were there for around 3hrs. Car passed everything. My exhaust Db had gone down....lol mud I guess
They were pretty human after that, I told them of the goings on so they said they will fix my issue, had a coffee & a little social chat and left.
Yes my car was majorly modified. Wheels, tyres, Spring over (cops didn't even notice this), engine & steering. How ever every item passed engineers, EPA & RTA examinations. Car was to be a true street rego competitor yet they tossed me in against cars that would never ever pass in a pink fit!!!!
At least I knew mine was right & legal just cost me a lot of time being stuffed around by people not checking for things like Engineers cert's, EPA cert's or DECCW certs. I dont think I've ever owned a standard car & cant imagine I ever will. But I sure do know they get the right papers.....especially when I know my family will travel in it.
If your car is in an accident and found to be not legal you can find yourself uninsured!!!!!
Post by: Brett B on July 13, 2012, 05:43:30 PM

Hey WYNO
are you talking about the grey haired guy
Post by: fuji on July 14, 2012, 04:41:09 PM
Hey WYNO
are you talking about the grey haired guy

No I don't think he has grey hair yet.
Post by: fuji on July 14, 2012, 04:47:26 PM
I would be surprised it already has happened. All the competition scene had that happen, photos of the cars in the mag's while competing. It began to be obvious it was only the car photos with the number plate in photo that got a knock on the door. Years ago I was getting knocks, around 6 times in 4mths. I got a call from the Mrs once when not only had they entered my property, they didn't go to the door and announce themselves. They just started writing up a list and sticked the car. Best part was when I pulled into my driveway blocking the unmarked vehicle in. They were on my property yet they were the hostiles in the way the started on me. I asked for ID 3 times and none was given....handy when you have a few mates high up, I called 1 that only lived around the corner.....gee the tune changed when they realised what I'd done  ;D
Turned out defecting a car that was not only locked away on my property but was also on a trailer was a waist of time.
I asked the 2 young offices to show me the defective points. 1st thing he pointed to came in the car from the factory....crossed that 1 off.
Then he wanted to defect the flexy flares....crossed off
rear seat belts that held a tyre in back on floor....crossed off as there was no seat there only a tyre
leaf springs lift too high ....springs were dead flat (in fact they were standard leaves)
At this point I asked were this has come from......no answer was given
I asked if in their inspection had the looked at the Rego sticker....I got a yes, its rego'ed
I asked was there any other details they needed to check on there....I got a blank look
I said how about the conditions on the bottom?......to which it was rechecked
Ohhhh he says.....is this vehicle engineered????....yes I replied.
Where are the papers he asked.....well they were in the glove box high & dry but I see when you helped yourselves to my bonnet release you have placed them in the inch thick mud on my floor "GEE THANKS GUYS"
nope....there was no sorry.
after these guys kept hitting dead ends and were having major troubles reading the report the senior officer that I had called stepped in and read it to them.
in the end he said to them, "well I cant see why your here."
finally I got my apology & defect was cancelled.
unfortunately it didn't end there. Around 2wks later 2 RTA officers were knocking at my door asking to see the car. Wife passed them the phone, I gave them the address. 15minutes later they were in my sponsors work shop. They were there for around 3hrs. Car passed everything. My exhaust Db had gone down....lol mud I guess
They were pretty human after that, I told them of the goings on so they said they will fix my issue, had a coffee & a little social chat and left.
Yes my car was majorly modified. Wheels, tyres, Spring over (cops didn't even notice this), engine & steering. How ever every item passed engineers, EPA & RTA examinations. Car was to be a true street rego competitor yet they tossed me in against cars that would never ever pass in a pink fit!!!!
At least I knew mine was right & legal just cost me a lot of time being stuffed around by people not checking for things like Engineers cert's, EPA cert's or DECCW certs. I dont think I've ever owned a standard car & cant imagine I ever will. But I sure do know they get the right papers.....especially when I know my family will travel in it.
If your car is in an accident and found to be not legal you can find yourself uninsured!!!!!

Sydney coppers, are not Melbourne coppers thats for sure. I have an implied consent to enter your property, but when you tell me to get off the property thats what we do. Let alone touch your vehicle. Thats a big no no. We would ask you to present your car for inspection and if you didnt then you would get fined. Can't give you an unroadworthy if you're not there.  ;D
Post by: JU5T1N on July 14, 2012, 05:41:34 PM
Sydney coppers, are not Melbourne coppers thats for sure. I have an implied consent to enter your property, but when you tell me to get off the property thats what we do. Let alone touch your vehicle. Thats a big no no. We would ask you to present your car for inspection and if you didnt then you would get fined. Can't give you an unroadworthy if you're not there.  ;D
yeah Sydney is meant to be the same. These to boys were breaking the rules and I caught them out plus getting a senior there got them a talking to for their actions. Id say that's why they informed the RTA (unless it was coincidence & was some one else).
In the end it was all a big time waster. If only they had pulled up my car Rego details and seen it was certified by a reputable engineered and RTA have all my relevant paper work, it could of been time I stayed at work and the 2 RTA officers and 2 young cops could of been getting some of the wrecks of the road instead. Unfortunately it's a case of young guns with a lack of experience in my case. I've scene plenty of cars that competed that really should not be rego'ed and in no way could they be engineered I just hope their not on the road for everyones sake. The worst tended to be Qld cars due to the lack of annual inspections but I know its got hard for them now.
Theres been plenty of talk of having a national standard as far as engineered vehicles go, but who knows when that will happen. It must make it hard to spot what's legal when vehicles drive around engineered & fully rego'ed from another state (hence I still live in NSW & not Qld as my lift & tyres aren't legal up there (yet....fingers crossed).

Sent to outer space and back via Tapatalk....now need a lay down
Post by: JU5T1N on July 14, 2012, 09:39:19 PM
WYNO you may be able to shed some light on a Q I've just thought of. How is it that a New Zealander that moved to Oz can bring his car that was rego'ed in NZ with mods that don't pass anywhere in Oz but since it was rego'ed like that there they passed it here and its on his papers.
Yet NSW or Vic rego car with 35's or portals wont pass with these mods in Qld even if they were previously rego'ed by yourself in that state?
Post by: fuji on July 14, 2012, 09:47:59 PM
WYNO you may be able to shed some light on a Q I've just thought of. How is it that a New Zealander that moved to Oz can bring his car that was rego'ed in NZ with mods that don't pass anywhere in Oz but since it was rego'ed like that there they passed it here and its on his papers.
Yet NSW or Vic rego car with 35's or portals wont pass with these mods in Qld even if they were previously rego'ed by yourself in that state?

I would have thought that the vehiclle would have to go over the pits just like any other car being re-registered. I couldn't imagine a car with mods from overseas getting registered without engineer cert, in Melbourne anyway. Sydney much stricter.
Wayne
Post by: Brett B on July 15, 2012, 09:45:15 AM
My Brother in law is a Vic roads inspector and some of the things he tells me about that is out on the roads ????
Mainly trucks over loaded to the sh#t house bits hanging of them
Some of the storeys of 4x4 coming home from a day out with broken stuff
I know you have to get it home but is worth your life or some one else's
Post by: fuji on July 15, 2012, 11:28:23 AM
My Brother in law is a Vic roads inspector and some of the things he tells me about that is out on the roads ????
Mainly trucks over loaded to the sh#t house bits hanging of them
Some of the storeys of 4x4 coming home from a day out with broken stuff
I know you have to get it home but is worth your life or some one else's

Yep there are some sh1te heaps out there!!!