General => Introductions => Topic started by: Jeepers Creepers on June 27, 2012, 10:13:01 AM

Title: G'day from the Fraser Coast
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 27, 2012, 10:13:01 AM
Hi everyone,

Getting back into camping again after 14 years. (we use to spend Xmas camping at Fraser about 5 or 6 years running)

Looking to get a camper trailer for use on Fraser, Inskip Point, Teewah Beach etc.
Bloody confused too, only want to spend about 6 grand and don't really know if we should go new from MDC or similiar or to get a decent 2nd hand unit. Happy to spend some $$$$ to outfir it with the right gear etc.

I know the MDC's are of lighter construction etc, but for what we are going to use it form i'm sort of thinking it might be OK.

I realise the questions and concerns have been raised a lot before, but any help offered would greatly accepted.

Anyway, we in our fifties (Just) and have an 04 Jeep Cherokee (hence the Jeepers Creepers name) and just looking to get back to nature again.

Cheers, J.C.

Title: Re: G'day from the Fraser Coast
Post by: rioflex on June 27, 2012, 10:49:49 AM
Welcome Jeepers Creepers,

I just purchased a Pinnacle but was close to 10k, but needed the size.
There are plenty of good 2nd hand campers, just a matter of keeping an eye out and working out what you want in it.

I am sure you will get plenty of info from this forum.

Good luck
Post by: D4D on June 27, 2012, 10:53:17 AM
Welcome to myswag, there have been a few 2nd hand Trackabouts for sale around your budget, keep an eye out in the forsale section.
Post by: BigJules on June 27, 2012, 11:12:23 AM

There are some terrific 2nd hand units available, though with your intended use it may be beneficial to look for an aluminium body camper. Whilst the Chinese manufactured units represent reasonable value the paint will be ordinary at best and I am certain you would see rust quite quickly.

Post by: Basa21 on June 27, 2012, 02:52:02 PM
Welcome abard Jeepers - only new here myself!  Keep an eye on the fraser coast chronicle - theres always good 2nd hand CT's advertised.
Post by: plugger6 on June 27, 2012, 03:28:43 PM
Hi,have you gone a had a look at austrack in Hervey Bay seems a good camper.
Post by: sol on June 27, 2012, 07:14:06 PM
G'day J.C. and welcome.
Good luck with the camper choice.
Heaps of great people here to help you mate  :cup:

Post by: jim-m-72 on June 27, 2012, 07:25:33 PM
Welcome jeepers good luck with looking, mdc also sell tents only along with many others and then buy a better trailer that suits what you want. just a thought.
Post by: Willow Girl on June 27, 2012, 07:29:18 PM
Hi Jeepers, another from the fraser coast! We are in Mbo. We have recently purchased a customline tent and the quality of the dynaproof one is heaps better than the imported ripstop.Have u got kids travelling with you? If you don't I would suggest a 9 foot instead of a 12 foot. They are much easier to set up.   Also have you checked out Johhnos in Mbo? they supply a quality trailer with aussie dynaproof canvas. Very good setup!
Post by: Andyb2030 on June 27, 2012, 08:24:29 PM
Hi Jeepers Kreepers,
Hope you find the right camper your looking for.
Post by: gibbo301 on June 28, 2012, 08:45:11 AM
Welcome to My Swag JC maybe you could hire a couple of trailers to give you a bit more of a idea what will suit you  :cheers:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 28, 2012, 03:24:57 PM
Thanks for the welcomes etc and advice.

Going to attend the Fraser Coast camping and Van show at Maryborough in August, climb in and out of everything there in a CT, get even more confused.

Post by: gibbo301 on June 28, 2012, 04:03:03 PM
Good idea  :cup: maybe i will see you there  :cheers:
Post by: Willow Girl on June 28, 2012, 05:06:41 PM
Yep, i'll definately be there also! :cheers:
Post by: Ricklanga on June 28, 2012, 09:16:25 PM
G'day J.C & welcome. I would advise to be very cautious about buying any of the cheap imported trailers. I had a good look at one a while back & was shocked by what I found. Hollow axle & illegal welds among other things and the paintwork was a shocker. Whatever you decide on in the end I wish you good luck.

--
Richard.
Post by: Heiny on June 30, 2012, 12:01:25 AM
Hi J.C. and welcome to My Swag

Post by: Smoko on June 30, 2012, 05:11:24 AM
welcome to Myswag

Smoko
Post by: lucky1 on June 30, 2012, 06:45:02 PM
Heading up your way tomorrow! I have a trackabout, would be a great 2nd hand option!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 01, 2012, 04:31:44 AM
Heading up your way tomorrow! I have a trackabout, would be a great 2nd hand option!
Could you please post some photo's etc and PM them to me? Price? Inclusions etc.

We going over to Inskip Point today, so suss out a few owners abou their likes and mainly dislikes of certain brands.
Have also stumbled upon a second hand alloy jobbie.
Post by: Black Diamond on July 01, 2012, 01:48:34 PM
Welcome aboard mate the more the merrier :cheers:

Post by: pigd4d on July 01, 2012, 06:54:54 PM
Welcome jeepers :cheers: good luck on your search
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 01, 2012, 07:03:23 PM

Welcome!

Where'd you get those sneakers?   ;D

You couldn't go past a second hand hard floor.

Title: G'day from the Fraser Coast
Post by: GG on July 02, 2012, 06:27:19 PM
Welcome JC!
Lots of great info and stories from seasoned campers here. Hoping to hear some of yours in the future! Cheers. GG
Post by: Nomad on July 02, 2012, 06:35:59 PM
Gday Jeepers,

See you on Teewah Beach sometime.

Nomad
Post by: tinkera on July 02, 2012, 09:39:45 PM
HI Jeepers I do alot of camping in the spots you intend to go my tip is get something that is light to tow and easy to move around the campsite, as you can not always put it where you want with the tug.As you probably know strike Teewah Beach after a long dry spell when the sand is real powdery you can have a real job getting off the beach in behind the dunes in some spots to camp.Heading up to Teewah Beach Wed week for 5 days might  see you around when you get your rig. Tinkera.
Post by: Tjupurula on July 11, 2012, 12:54:31 AM
Hi Jeepers Creepers
Nice bikes you and your wife have for sale.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 11, 2012, 07:06:29 AM
Hi Jeepers Creepers
Nice bikes you and your wife have for sale.

thanks, wanna buy one?  ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 11, 2012, 07:07:58 AM
HI Jeepers I do alot of camping in the spots you intend to go my tip is get something that is light to tow and easy to move around the campsite, as you can not always put it where you want with the tug.As you probably know strike Teewah Beach after a long dry spell when the sand is real powdery you can have a real job getting off the beach in behind the dunes in some spots to camp.Heading up to Teewah Beach Wed week for 5 days might  see you around when you get your rig. Tinkera.

I'm hoping we'll bump into a few of you here and there.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 19, 2014, 08:04:36 PM
Hi everyone,

Getting back into camping again after 14 years. (we use to spend Xmas camping at Fraser about 5 or 6 years running)

Looking to get a camper trailer for use on Fraser, Inskip Point, Teewah Beach etc.
Bloody confused too, only want to spend about 6 grand and don't really know if we should go new from MDC or similiar or to get a decent 2nd hand unit. Happy to spend some $$$$ to outfir it with the right gear etc.

I know the MDC's are of lighter construction etc, but for what we are going to use it form i'm sort of thinking it might be OK.

I realise the questions and concerns have been raised a lot before, but any help offered would greatly accepted.

Anyway, we in our fifties (Just) and have an 04 Jeep Cherokee (hence the Jeepers Creepers name) and just looking to get back to nature again.

Cheers, J.C.

Welcome to Myswag,

If you would like to meet lots of fellow MySwaggers, get ya backside to the 2015 Nat Meet at Rainbow Beach.
Check it out in the Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports section. Towards the top of the page.  :cheers:

Post by: sol on November 19, 2014, 08:08:08 PM
Welcome to Myswag,

If you would like to meet lots of fellow MySwaggers, get ya backside to the 2015 Nat Meet at Rainbow Beach.
Check it out in the Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports section. Towards the top of the page.  :cheers:

;D ;D  :cup:

Post by: oldmate on November 19, 2014, 08:30:48 PM
I wouldn't  be inviting that bloke lol
Title: !On ya GG
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 20, 2014, 05:34:51 AM
On Ya GG......  :D