General => General Discussion => Topic started by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 01:12:19 PM

Title: Urgent mud help please!
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 01:12:19 PM
Please don't give us a bollocking...we've just learned a big lesson from a noob mistake. We're stuck in a bog that has caught us out. One wheel is in to the bottom of the hub, the others are in a little but it's really slippery mud. We've dug out mud and water from around the wheels, put branches as far under the wheels as we can, dug out under the hitch and behind, let down tyre pressures. What else can we do? No winch.

Lil :(

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?wrfltk (http://tapatalk.com/map.php?wrfltk)
Title: Re: Urgent mud help please!
Post by: Burnsy on May 15, 2012, 01:17:08 PM
Jack the car up to break the suction and then stuff branches etc in the wheel ruts.  Good luck
Post by: morcon on May 15, 2012, 01:29:34 PM
I know that this might seem really silly but check that 4WD is engaged / hubs are locked etc. just in case you've over looked something really basic. Also if 1 wheel is cocked up a bit it might be worth one of you standing on that part of the vehicle to get another wheel on a firm surface. Finally, maybe it's worth posting where abouts you are in case someone on here is near by or knows someone who is. Good luck.
Post by: Mace on May 15, 2012, 01:31:27 PM
All the above!

Last ditch effort, disconnect CT, get tug to dry ground.

Then pull CT out via chain (if you have one).

Good Luck,

Post by: jwb on May 15, 2012, 01:31:45 PM
do you have RACQ ( or your states equivelent) cover??
if so what grade of cover?
I know that with the higher coverage they (RACQ) pay $165 annually towards "specialty" towing

how far off the black stuff are you ??
Post by: KieranR on May 15, 2012, 01:32:14 PM
yep, try and break that suction by jacking it up, use whatever you have available to you, then try and fill in the whole and you'll be right.
Post by: GeeTee on May 15, 2012, 01:35:08 PM
I assume this is serious and that you are more than 10km from assistance... First, do you have infants or other at-risk people on board?
Do you have food and water on board?

Can you unhitch the trailer (I assume that, you said 'hitch') to lessen the load on the vehicle?

Post by: DannyG on May 15, 2012, 01:40:07 PM
Where are you? Obviously in mobile range, maybe another swagger is nearby they might be able to recover you?

Just dont stress or panic and think carefully about the recovery so no one gets hurt :) As far as self recovery goes, everyone else has got the right idea.
Post by: MDSimpson on May 15, 2012, 01:52:59 PM
By the looks of their Facebook page, they are near Yeppoon QLD. They were at Kepple Bay on Sunday arvo...
The iPhone map link does not seem to work....
Post by: Pipeliner on May 15, 2012, 02:06:14 PM
Jack the car up to break the suction and then stuff branches etc in the wheel ruts.  Good luck

Use the spare wheel to provide a wide base for the jack.
Post by: qlddsl on May 15, 2012, 02:11:54 PM
Hope a fellow swagger can help you out, will put the word out elsewhere if needed
Post by: MDSimpson on May 15, 2012, 02:16:27 PM
Lil, do you have a UHF radio? What Channel are you on?
Could be lucky, someone may be I the area listening...

Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 02:33:23 PM
We are not towing the CT
We have a local recovery guy coming out.
We are just outside the military base in byfield national park.
They said it was suitable gravel road for 2wd and then this one rut came out of nowhere and the centre diff is grounded.
The mud is about the length of the car and we are just so pissed of as it looked so simple. It looked nice and hard on top but it wasn't.
Anyway lesson learned. ;)

Sent from my brain using my fingers.
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 02:35:19 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/3aa3afaa-dced-fb19.jpg) Not exactly what what you call hardcore but stuck all the same lol

Post by: MDSimpson on May 15, 2012, 02:38:31 PM
Whew, you have got some help.

Good news..

I can see a set of MaxxTrax in your future...

Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 02:48:50 PM
We've also found the 1002 use for the reusable shopping bags. Found a creek crossing up the road with rocks and gravel. Been carting bagfuls back to try to give some traction.
We have plenty of food, though I only brought 4l water. The kids are with us and we're ok. Some serious showering and washing of clothes required ;)
We're on old army road in the byfield national park.

Lil :)

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?3wi3hw (http://tapatalk.com/map.php?3wi3hw)
Post by: Swannie on May 15, 2012, 02:53:17 PM
We've also found the 1002 use for the reusable shopping bags. Found a creek crossing up the road with rocks and gravel. Been carting bagfuls back to try to give some traction.
We have plenty of food, though I only brought 4l water. The kids are with us and we're ok. Some serious showering and washing of clothes required ;)
We're on old army road in the byfield national park.

Take care... Good to see you are getting some help. Could be worse, you could be stuck behind a desk at work :)

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?3wi3hw (http://tapatalk.com/map.php?3wi3hw)
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 02:59:38 PM
...we have RACV  total care, but didn't think they covered np roads. Will find out more.

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?it0jd1 (http://tapatalk.com/map.php?it0jd1)
Post by: D4D on May 15, 2012, 03:08:04 PM
Let some more air out of your tyres...
Post by: becboo on May 15, 2012, 03:17:11 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/3aa3afaa-dced-fb19.jpg) Not exactly what what you call hardcore but stuck all the same lol

aaaahhhhh the joys of an adventure!!  Now That Is Living!!! 

Becboo
Post by: DannyG on May 15, 2012, 03:38:49 PM

Becboo

Couldn't agree more, it is what makes memories :)
Post by: Sicilianmama on May 15, 2012, 03:55:28 PM
Glad all is okay, hope you are out by now and all is still in one piece :)
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on May 15, 2012, 04:12:58 PM
I can see a set of MaxxTrax in your future...

I can see a winch in your future ...   ;D

Could be worse, you could be stuck behind a desk at work

I am ... stuck right up the windows ... any advise for me?

Becboo

x 3 LOL!

Post by: Bird on May 15, 2012, 04:33:19 PM
if you are going to venture out on ya own, invest in a winch or at least a good quality Tirfor.
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 05:13:08 PM
We are out after a winch from the rear.
We had bottomed out and no amount of digging would have helped.
The guy for yeppoon pulled it out no worries and didn't even charge us.
He said drop by and see us in the morning.
He said "you gotta have a go, it's what it's all about."

Good lad

Post by: wholehog on May 15, 2012, 05:17:32 PM
if you are going to venture out on ya own, invest in a winch or at least a good quality Tirfor.

Couldnt agree more...what looks so simple can turn to crap in seconds
(http://i947.photobucket.com/albums/ad312/wholehog62/photo2.jpg)
Was by myself and lucky i had a winch....And extension strap cause the first decent tree was heaps away
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 05:18:46 PM
Everyone has to venture out on their own.
We would be happy for you to come along if you want ?
There was nothing to winch from and the recovery guy said the same. Nothing but sticks out here.
We where not on a hardcore track just took the wrong rut through the only bad 2 Metre section.

We didn't go out with the intention of going mud bogging.
Just caught out.
We are out of it now and it wasn't to expensive. We are not complaining and the recovery guy got some money.
Shit loads cheaper than a winch. ;)

Post by: Bird on May 15, 2012, 05:21:32 PM
Quote from: lilstookie
There was nothing to winch from and the recovery guy said the same. Nothing but sticks out here.
You dig a hole, then bury your spare tyre :) Old skewl, but works.

**** loads cheaper than a winch. ;)
... until next time :)
The Bloke up Jamieson up near Mansfield charges $800 before he will leave his driveway.

Enjoy the trip.
Post by: dooguss on May 15, 2012, 05:24:34 PM
At the end of the day all are safe and well. Don't get caught in the same hole when you turn around and head for home. ;D
Post by: cm4x4nut on May 15, 2012, 05:32:55 PM
well done mate, don't stress about being caught out......we have all been there.

Our exercise was by ourselves as well, on a hill that was muddy, nearly too steep to get down safely, too steep to reverse back up, to narrow to turn around. Ruts took us into the side of a tree, albeit slowly. Blew a front tyre half way down, had to do the final 300m with a flat front and then when the ground levelled out change the tyre in the pouring rain with a jck that only just lifted the truck enough. Had to dig a bit to get the new one on.

Its called character building and as said before, we have all been there.  :cheers:
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 05:37:29 PM
The Bloke up Jamieson up near Mansfield charges $800 before he will leave his driveway.

Enjoy the trip.
I'd like a better 4wd and a lift kit, big f**koff tyres, a winch kit, and enough gear to winch me to the moon.
But I don't have the cash.
We will be more careful where we go next time.

When up in wonnangatta we took the jack through some stupid stuff that made this rut seem like nothing.

Just trying to get out there rather than sit in a work hole, wondering how I get all the stuff I want.
We have $0 debt.
We are travelling and working to find the trip of a lifetime.
We are giving it a go.

I will give you a shout when we hit big red lol.

That's not happening till I have a monster truck.

Post by: Estelle on May 15, 2012, 06:19:25 PM
Are you off your high yet?

Sleep well  :D

Post by: Hoyks on May 15, 2012, 06:29:30 PM

Star picket ground anchor, much less digging ;D

(http://www.pioneeringmadeeasy.co.uk/getstarted/images/anch1.jpg)

Or a store bought option:

(http://www.lrseries.com/resources/user/a1dc450a7907e97a2b10d9b2a2fa5508647a8844/DB1314-BRITPART-PULLING-POWER-GROUND-ANCHOR-SET.jpg)
http://www.lrseries.com/shop/product/listing/16374/4312/7/DB1314-BRITPART-PULLING-POWER-GROUND-ANCHOR-SET.html (http://www.lrseries.com/shop/product/listing/16374/4312/7/DB1314-BRITPART-PULLING-POWER-GROUND-ANCHOR-SET.html)
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 06:49:19 PM
Hoyks , ?
KLR hoyks ?

Small world.

Stookie ;)

Post by: DannyG on May 15, 2012, 07:26:20 PM
I'd like a better 4wd and a lift kit, big f**koff tyres, a winch kit, and enough gear to winch me to the moon.
But I don't have the cash.
We will be more careful where we go next time.

When up in wonnangatta we took the jack through some stupid stuff that made this rut seem like nothing.

Just trying to get out there rather than sit in a work hole, wondering how I get all the stuff I want.
We have $0 debt.
We are travelling and working to find the trip of a lifetime.
We are giving it a go.

I will give you a shout when we hit big red lol.

That's not happening till I have a monster truck.

I'm hearing ya mate, half your luck being out there doing it.
I stalk you guys on Facebook I am envious :)
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 07:33:51 PM
If we get stuck we can get help. We are not in the Simpson.
Our car cost us 8g 4 years ago.
It's done more than we ever expected.
It wasn't a $60,000 car
And our trip so far is priceless
We just know our limitations a bit better now and it cost us $180 to get out.
No biggie we are off to grand keppel island tommorow, what's you guys doing !

Post by: lov2getaway on May 15, 2012, 07:36:15 PM
Glad to hear all is ok :) just a little hiccup in a great adventure! Where are you staying in Yepoon?
L2GA
Post by: Hoyks on May 15, 2012, 07:42:04 PM
How did you guess? ;D

I was wondering if it was the same Stookie too. Heading back to Cairns for long, or doing the big tour?

If playing alone, one of these might be a good idea :cheers:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Tirfor-T516d-Winch-/180876516918?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item2a1d149e36 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Tirfor-T516d-Winch-/180876516918?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item2a1d149e36)
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 08:04:28 PM
Glad to hear all is ok :) just a little hiccup in a great adventure! Where are you staying in Yepoon?
L2GA
We are at causeway lake. Cheap and better amenities than bush camping.
Beautiful spot round here. Lots to see that's cheap.

Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 08:09:36 PM
How did you guess? ;D

I was wondering if it was the same Stookie too. Heading back to Cairns for long, or doing the big tour?

If playing alone, one of these might be a good idea :cheers:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Tirfor-T516d-Winch-/180876516918?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item2a1d149e36 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Tirfor-T516d-Winch-/180876516918?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item2a1d149e36)

Hey mate, heading to cairns but not staying long. Going to do a bit of work and the go across the top maybe ! No fixed plans.
I have the DR650 with me all ready to go bush but nobody to go play with :(.
Probably do cape York and possibly the Simpson but not decided yet.
The CT feels the weight with the bike so might just sell it. Not used it much and it's better gone than wasting space and adding to the weight.
Where abouts are you in QLD.
I bet we just passed your joint.
Murphy's law

Post by: geordie4x4 on May 15, 2012, 08:47:53 PM
Hey lilstookie,
this has been an interesting read. Ilove your sense of adventure. I spent the best part of my youth travelling around in Shitty old cars and working as a diving instructor.

For a reasonably cheap traction aid instead of buying a winch and other crap (unless you get it cheap) have a look at Maxtracks or other similar things. I recently got a second hand set for $100 from the Trading post and they are bloody life savers to get you out of the stickyShit, deep sand or even snow. 
Post by: Jon on May 15, 2012, 08:54:53 PM
600mm wide strips of shade cloth as long as you can get. Bury the edges and drive on out. Good for mud and sand so I have heard.
Glad your out though. Good luck
Post by: xcvator on May 15, 2012, 08:58:23 PM
If you have the room a bag of lime works wonders on sticky/greasy ground
Post by: SteveandViv on May 15, 2012, 09:02:03 PM
well done mate, don't stress about being caught out......we have all been there.

Our exercise was by ourselves as well, on a hill that was muddy, nearly too steep to get down safely, too steep to reverse back up, to narrow to turn around. Ruts took us into the side of a tree, albeit slowly. Blew a front tyre half way down, had to do the final 300m with a flat front and then when the ground levelled out change the tyre in the pouring rain with a jck that only just lifted the truck enough. Had to dig a bit to get the new one on.

Its called character building and as said before, we have all been there.  :cheers:

What do you mean we've all been there, I've never been stuck  ;D

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/Bogged6.jpg)

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/PICT9839.jpg)

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/DSCF2579.jpg)

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/PICT0045.jpg)

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/PICT3923.jpg)
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 09:06:35 PM
I think MaxTraxx will be our first option. If we didn't need to replace the bullbar to be able to fit a winch it might have been different. We were going for a Monday drive to find some pretty spots away from the madding crowd and had passed through a couple of puddles no issues. This one we stopped, had a (not thorough enough) walk and felt that it was worth a shot. We had a shovel and gloves and a little bit of know how for what we believed was a slightly longer wet patch. Nothing we had driven through indicated any change in conditions we'd already been through. We had food and water. We felt we were taking a calculated risk...where would we be without a bit of risk taking ;)
We gave it a red hot go and failed....I just hope my next exam I don't bomb as badly lol! Both of us kept our cool, the kids were awesome as they obviously weren't picking up on any stress and don't people always have picnics in the middle of the road???
We had some good chats to people when they saw the state of us on our return so, while our day didn't turn out as planned, it was a win!! (A shame I was car sick on the way home though....)

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?oxb3mp (http://tapatalk.com/map.php?oxb3mp)
Post by: lilstookie on May 15, 2012, 09:12:49 PM
Hey lilstookie,
this has been an interesting read. Ilove your sense of adventure. I spent the best part of my youth travelling around in ****ty old cars and working as a diving instructor.

For a reasonably cheap traction aid instead of buying a winch and other crap (unless you get it cheap) have a look at Maxtracks or other similar things. I recently got a second hand set for $100 from the Trading post and they are bloody life savers to get you out of the sticky****, deep sand or even snow.
It's all good fun and the adventure never ends.
The kids had fun in the forest, the wife and I got a mud bath and my skins so silky smooth now and I've lost 10 years.
You can have all the gear and still get stuck. We are not going into the desert as we are not that stupid.
We are getting along just fine and finding our limits within spitting distance of civilization.

Had we been in the desert the we would deserve being told we are idiots without a $60,000 car, winch, strapon and all that la de da   
 Lol ????

Stookie

Post by: TroyE on May 15, 2012, 09:23:12 PM

me neither ;D
(http://i1017.photobucket.com/albums/af294/TroyAE/DSC_0179.jpg)

(http://i1017.photobucket.com/albums/af294/TroyAE/DSC_0176.jpg)

(http://i1017.photobucket.com/albums/af294/TroyAE/DSCF3243.jpg)

just challenged ;D
troy :cheers:
Post by: cruza driver on May 15, 2012, 09:33:55 PM
And just think you have a new avatar  8) Good to hear yourdoing what some people dream about
Post by: lilstookie on May 16, 2012, 07:22:44 AM
And making the mistakes so you guys don't have to  :)

Post by: lilstookie on May 16, 2012, 07:24:46 AM
me neither ;D
(http://i1017.photobucket.com/albums/af294/TroyAE/DSC_0179.jpg)

(http://i1017.photobucket.com/albums/af294/TroyAE/DSC_0176.jpg)

(http://i1017.photobucket.com/albums/af294/TroyAE/DSCF3243.jpg)

just challenged ;D
troy :cheers:

Mate, our stock jackaroo would have pissed that one in , what's the story there it's just a wee hole !

Funny pics Troy.
Any dramas getting out ?

Post by: McGirr on May 16, 2012, 08:58:50 AM

Guys if you want you can leave your motor bike here in Cairns and pick it up on the way back from the Cape. I don't have much room living in a unit but others members here would be happy to help.

Post by: lilstookie on May 16, 2012, 11:40:50 AM
Guys if you want you can leave your motor bike here in Cairns and pick it up on the way back from the Cape. I don't have much room living in a unit but others members here would be happy to help.

that's very kind.
But we brought the bike specifically for the cape.
We thought about leaving the trailer and taking car and tent as would be easier on the old jackaroo.

Post by: CampAround on May 16, 2012, 12:24:26 PM
Sounds like a good trip. What's life without it's hurdles??
Post by: cruisindub on May 16, 2012, 03:51:37 PM
Glad all ok.
remember don't panic.
assess the situation, make. Cuppa and think clearly.
I often have to say "why me", glad it also happens to other people.
Even more glad all ok with the kids in the car.
Glad your out there doing your best.
well done.
Post by: ET4Runner on May 16, 2012, 08:53:18 PM

Me neither....

(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b23/ET4Runner/cc4019.jpg)

(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b23/ET4Runner/cc4020.jpg)

Glad to hear you guys got out and are continuing the adventure  :cup:
Post by: heath74 on May 16, 2012, 09:08:11 PM
You guys are living the dream!  If you didn't get stuck a few times, have the of break down etc it wouldnt be an adventure.

Oh and but the way ETforerunner, that is an amazing pic!
Post by: Riguez on May 16, 2012, 10:25:46 PM
You guys are living the dream!  If you didn't get stuck a few times, have the of break down etc it wouldnt be an adventure.

Oh and but the way ETforerunner, that is an amazing pic!

Its very heartening to see so many people come together to help others and give encouragement. Love it.  BTW ETforerunner, if i suffered from tyre envy I'd have have to say 'nice muddies'  :D
Post by: lilstookie on May 17, 2012, 06:57:41 PM
ETforerunner you look pretty much
F***ed there.

And no winch........ Tsk Tsk
Don't let "lost" see that pic lol

Please tell me how you got out of that.

Post by: Tim - Stratford on May 17, 2012, 07:15:56 PM
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b23/ET4Runner/cc4020.jpg)

Is that two containers of truck wash in the side storage???  ;D
Post by: TroyE on May 17, 2012, 08:36:00 PM
nah, just winched my self out with a double line pull from a tree just out of shot 8) the hardest part of the recovery was using a stick to dig out enough dirt to get to the winch and recovery point :o took me about 15 minutes of digging with some sticks cause my shovel was back at camp being use to move the coals for dinner ;D

troy