General => Introductions => Topic started by: davethepom on May 11, 2012, 01:35:42 PM

Title: Greetings!
Post by: davethepom on May 11, 2012, 01:35:42 PM
Good afternoon all.  I just signed up and thought I'd say g'day before I start with all the questions.

As my user name implies, my name's Dave (there's also a clue to my origins).  I've done a fair bit of camping, rough and in a tent, but my wife wants a bit more comfort and desires an off road camper trailer.

I asked some questions on another forum I frequent (this makes 3...what a nerd!) and one of the guys on there steered me in your direction.

I'll try and find the right section to ask a couple of questions now ;D.

Cheers,  :cheers:

Dave.

Title: Re: Greetings!
Post by: Mace on May 11, 2012, 01:39:40 PM
Welcome Dave,

Nothing wrong with a (little) bit of pommie heritage.

Where ya from?

Post by: davethepom on May 11, 2012, 02:32:28 PM
Welcome Dave,

Nothing wrong with a (little) bit of pommie heritage.

Where ya from?

Surrey mate.  I came over in '88 and never left.

I am the classic P.O.M.E. backpacker who never went home ;D ;D.
Post by: Hairs on May 11, 2012, 03:59:40 PM
G'day Dave,
Ask away mate, more than happy to help.
What are ya chasing?
Do you have a tow vehicle?
Have you a family or is there just the two of ya's?
Shoot.
Post by: Frostd on May 11, 2012, 04:13:11 PM
G'day Dave the pom.  Welcome to the forum. I wont take the p1$$ about your origins, as I have a few mates from that part of the world.
Post by: gunna on May 11, 2012, 04:44:32 PM
welcome to myswag dave & family
Post by: Jenko67 on May 11, 2012, 05:08:32 PM
Welcome Dave, plenty of info here mate.
Post by: davethepom on May 11, 2012, 06:32:58 PM
G'day Dave,
Ask away mate, more than happy to help.
What are ya chasing?
Do you have a tow vehicle?
Have you a family or is there just the two of ya's?
Shoot.

Thanks.

We're chasing a galv, off road camper trailer for under $6k.
Tow vehicle(s) are:  '99 4WD v6 Rodeo (had since new and pulls hard) will be the tow vehicle for off road.  The wife's Forester might get used a bit for easy trips.

Two kids, 16 and 13.
G'day Dave the pom.  Welcome to the forum. I wont take the p1$$ about your origins, as I have a few mates from that part of the world.

Thanks mate.  feel free to take the p!55 all you want...everybody else I know does! ;D

welcome to myswag dave & family

Thanks gunna.

Welcome Dave, plenty of info here mate.

Thanks mate.  It certainly looks like a gold mine.

Post by: sol on May 12, 2012, 07:07:04 AM
G'day Dave and welcome.
Lots of fun chat here mate. ;D

Post by: davethepom on May 12, 2012, 07:26:27 AM
G'day Dave and welcome.
Lots of fun chat here mate. ;D

Thanks.  It looks like a good forum with a heap of good info.

I asked in the 'off topic' area of another forum I'm on about camper trailers and one of the guys sent me here.

Cheers,  (I'll join you in a couple of these  :cheers: later mate).

Dave.

Post by: Heiny on May 13, 2012, 04:09:20 PM
Hi Dave and welcome to My Swag

Post by: davethepom on May 13, 2012, 05:34:20 PM
Hi Dave and welcome to My Swag

Thanks bubba!  I'm going  :cheers: atm with a nice cold Cooper's Sparkling ;D.
Post by: baldheadedgit on May 14, 2012, 09:14:42 PM
 ;D Welcome fellow countryman..................from one Pom to another :cup: bout time we got some propa class on this forum.. :cheers:

Oh and Navara04 say hi to.. He loves Poms... :-*

BHG   :cheers:
Post by: MarkGU on May 14, 2012, 09:18:00 PM
;D Welcome fellow countryman..................from one Pom to another :cup: bout time we got some propa class on this forum.. :cheers:

welcome Dave...........hope your a level above the resident My Swag boozing bludger BHG  :-*
Post by: baldheadedgit on May 15, 2012, 05:09:11 AM
welcome Dave...........hope your a level above the resident My Swag boozing bludger BHG  :-*
"Why are people so unkind"   :'( :'( :'(

BHG
Post by: Hairs on May 15, 2012, 06:15:07 AM
"Why are people so unkind"   :'( :'( :'(
BHG
BHG, forgive him; for he do not know what he is doing.
 8)
Post by: davethepom on May 15, 2012, 09:20:08 AM

Thanks mate!  I've been over here more than half my life now but always a POME  ;D.

Thanks, but don't get your hopes up too much...boozing...where and when? :cheers: ;D
Post by: pathfinder02 on May 15, 2012, 10:07:30 AM
Welcome Dave and family,
There is heaps of info on this forum and all to share. Good luck with your campertrailer hunting.
 :cheers: Paul & Jo.
Post by: davethepom on May 15, 2012, 10:53:59 AM
Welcome Dave and family,
There is heaps of info on this forum and all to share. Good luck with your campertrailer hunting.
 :cheers: Paul & Jo.

Thanks!  It's making my head hurt atm... ;D
Post by: noel_w on May 15, 2012, 11:02:58 AM
Surrey mate.
No need to apologise   ;D ;D, we accept all kinds here even POMs.

Welcome to myswag, if you think getting a CT is making your head hurt, just wait till you visit the Electrical Section. Good luck finding your new CT.
Post by: davethepom on May 15, 2012, 01:29:15 PM
Surrey mate.
No need to apologise   ;D ;D, we accept all kinds here even POMs.

Welcome to myswag, if you think getting a CT is making your head hurt, just wait till you visit the Electrical Section. Good luck finding your new CT.

Thanks noel.  I'll see what I end up getting, then brave the electrical section to hook up any extra stuff I need.
Post by: noel_w on May 15, 2012, 03:01:29 PM
I see you are located just near The Summit, would be cool enough there in winter to remind you of summer at home. Spent a few days at "The Springs" just before easter which is on the N.E. highway towards Warwick. While we were there we had a very welcome visit from Chippy76 who lives near Killarney. Had a couple of  :cheers: to celebrate the occasion. Hope to get back there soon after the winter season is over and might be a good time to get a few swaggers together.
Post by: davethepom on May 15, 2012, 03:57:49 PM
I see you are located just near The Summit, would be cool enough there in winter to remind you of summer at home. Spent a few days at "The Springs" just before easter which is on the N.E. highway towards Warwick. While we were there we had a very welcome visit from Chippy76 who lives near Killarney. Had a couple of  :cheers: to celebrate the occasion. Hope to get back there soon after the winter season is over and might be a good time to get a few swaggers together.

After a few Coopers  :cheers:, I tend to be more of a stagger than a swagger ;D.  I know what you mean though :laugh:.

There's one main difference I notice between the weather we're having atm and an English Summer;  It isn't raining. ;D

I love the cool weather!  I live on a North facing hill and we don't get much frost at home (just a slight one in patches this morning).  When I get to the front gate it's totally different.  Heat kills me so I picked the right place to settle, that's for sure!

Post by: Sicilianmama on May 16, 2012, 07:56:56 AM
Hi and welcome Dave, we Grew up in the granite belt, still go down there a fair bit as all the families down there. Enjoy the forum :)
Post by: davethepom on May 16, 2012, 08:44:53 AM
Hi and welcome Dave, we Grew up in the granite belt, still go down there a fair bit as all the families down there. Enjoy the forum :)

Thanks!  I love the Granite Belt...shhhh though.  I don't want everybody to know how nice it is or it'll get too crowded! ;D
Post by: BigJules on May 30, 2012, 10:38:39 AM
G'day & Welcome Dave.

I can see you've settled in pretty well. You can keep the granite belt mate. I used to travel through there a lot, and went to a few heavy horse meetings down there. Just getting the feeling back in my fingers now, 30 years on  :laugh:.
Post by: davethepom on May 30, 2012, 12:47:44 PM
G'day & Welcome Dave.

I can see you've settled in pretty well. You can keep the granite belt mate. I used to travel through there a lot, and went to a few heavy horse meetings down there. Just getting the feeling back in my fingers now, 30 years on  :laugh:.

Thanks mate.  I've been made very welcome!  Our CT should be ready right at the end of the holidays (probably too late to use it  :'( but never mind) so I'll be hoping to catch some of the crew here out and about.  Fraser 2013 is my goal, after a few other trips to sort my gear out properly!
Post by: BigJules on May 30, 2012, 12:55:28 PM
Make it your goal to get out every weekend.

Fraser is a top destination, two of the best holidays I've ever had for sure.
Post by: davethepom on May 30, 2012, 02:53:07 PM
Make it your goal to get out every weekend.

Fraser is a top destination, two of the best holidays I've ever had for sure.

Never going to happen ...not for a few years yet anyway.  My wife and I both work full time and TYB plays football and works most Sundays.  My daughter is about to start work too.  School hols will be it for a while but we'll try to get away every one, that's for sure.

As for Fraser, I can't wait!  After reading a recent report on here (can't remember who by, but great write up and pics  :cup:) it looks like paradise!  TYB and I will fish until we drop  ;D. 
Post by: BigJules on May 30, 2012, 03:10:16 PM
Can highly recommend camping at Dilli Village on the southern end of Fraser. It has hot showers and flushing dunnies, and power if you want it, but the biggest attraction is that you can have a camp fire, which are not allowed in most other areas of the island.