General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Barrabart on April 24, 2012, 10:53:45 AM
G'day all,
For me there is nothing more annoying then waking up in the middle of the night and your pillow has gone walk about... maybe it's cos of my big boof head??
Buy anyway as most CT's don't come with any sort of bed head arrangement I'm thinking of sorting something out myself...... at the moment i'm thinking of a length of ply across the head of the bed, that is hinged to the bed base and folds flat under the mattress when packed up..... when you need it, simply lift the mattress, fold up the bed head, and i'm just thinking of a couple of chords being connected from the bed base to the top of the bed head, these would tension up when the bed head is lifted and stop the bed head relaxing back against the tent frame....... hope that makes sense.....
Has anyone made anything like this, if so i'd love to see your pics and what arrangement you came up with..........
PS; I know Drifta make a fold up bed head type arrangement, but i'm not overly keen and buying anything pre made, as this is a pretty simple fix.
Im with you. id be interested to see what you come up with.
:worthles: :worthles:
Cheers!
Barra, you make me laugh mate.
I've now heard it all for mods to CT's
Anti Pillow Movement Restraint System
Otherwise know as the APMRS
LJ
LJ
are you sure its not
PILLOW IS SLIDING SIDEWAYS ALWAYS?
P I S S A ??
Hi Barra,
We have 4 pillows for when we are reading or watching tv and as we only use 2 for sleeping we put the spares between the mattress and canvas as a bedhead. A little bit awkward where the bar is but works for us.
Enjoy your new camper.
Robyn.
Hey Barra,
Have alook at this may help
www.drifta.com.au/OtherDRIFTAProductsCT.php (http://www.drifta.com.au/OtherDRIFTAProductsCT.php)
Cam
Given some people's fondness for velcro-ing everything in sight, I opened this thread half expecting to see that you had solved it that way. Velcro on the sheets and pillowslip. Or that non slip rubber matting stuff.
And no I haven't done it and I don't have a picture! >:D
Barra,
Sounds like you've already got a good idea. Personally, I wouldn't worry about the bungee cord to hold it off the canvas - if you make it tall enough it should just rest on the spar that goes across the bed-end window. Cover with marine carpet because, lets face it, it's awesome. Incorporate LED reading lights for bonus bling points.
This thread now belongs in the Electrical section. May God have mercy on your souls.
Cheers!
Have alook at this may help
www.drifta.com.au/OtherDRIFTAProductsCT.php (http://www.drifta.com.au/OtherDRIFTAProductsCT.php)
PS; I know Drifta make a fold up bed head type arrangement, but i'm not overly keen and buying anything pre made, as this is a pretty simple fix.
:angel: ;)
For me there is nothing more annoying then waking up in the middle of the night and your pillow has gone walk about... maybe it's cos of my big boof head??
Perhaps you could first try doing away with the satin sheets and satin pillowcases. :D
Peanut
BITE THEM ! .... LOL
(http://freeemoticonsandsmileys.com/emoticons/Smile%20Emoticons/my%20rainbow.gif)
Ha Ha............Which is funnier? the "bite them"comment or Losts emoticon???
have you tried maxs trax
http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=21533.25 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=21533.25)
;D ;D ;D
How to stop ya pillows running away??
cut the legs off the little bludgers 8)
BITE THEM ! .... LOL
Or maybe STOP BITING THEM !...lol
Wife and I both had the escaping pillow problem on our first night in our camper. I just moved the mattress up to almost remove the gap between the mattress and the canvas. Problem solved. :cheers:
You could always get one of those bed rails for kids for $30 or $40 from Target or big w or wherever...................
Cheers Nomad.
How to stop ya pillows running away??
cut the legs off the little bludgers 8)
pmsl :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
or 1 of those elastic trailer nets ? ;D
have you tried maxs trax
http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=21533.25 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=21533.25)
;D ;D ;D
:cup: :cup:
Pissa :cheers:
Duck tape them to your head ;D
I must be lucky coz the old bear has a spare for me under her head >:D :cheers:
BITE THEM ! .... LOL
My Trackabout is a pillow biting free zone......... for blokes anyway....... which leads me to my next thread....... Baffle plates in water tanks!!! ;D ;D
Hi Barra,
We have 4 pillows for when we are reading or watching tv and as we only use 2 for sleeping we put the spares between the mattress and canvas as a bedhead. A little bit awkward where the bar is but works for us.
Enjoy your new camper.
Robyn.
Yep, tried that...... was ok..... but still thinking a proper bed head type set up would be better......... for my large melon!! :-[
LJ
Sounds good..........should put a patent on it!!
Barra,
Sounds like you've already got a good idea. Personally, I wouldn't worry about the bungee cord to hold it off the canvas - if you make it tall enough it should just rest on the spar that goes across the bed-end window. Cover with marine carpet because, lets face it, it's awesome. Incorporate LED reading lights for bonus bling points.
This thread now belongs in the Electrical section. May God have mercy on your souls.
Cheers!
I might just strap dolphin torches to the bed head..... they're only 6 volt...... maybe this way i can fly under the electrical section radar :cheers:
have you tried maxs trax
;D ;D ;D
now just waiting for royalty payments from Maxx Trax....... :cup:
Duck tape them to your head ;D
I like this idea the best.......... doubles as sun protection the next morning when you wake up late,, and if your still a bit wobbly the morning after the big :cheers: night before..... the pillow taped to ya head might just save ya life when your complete uncoordination gets the better of you.... :o
I must be lucky coz the old bear has a spare for me under her head >:D :cheers:
sounds more like a comment from a toad :-*
seriously you mob are mental!!!! but i can tell you this causes the big boy a huge amount of concern..... i am sure there will be hours of trials till Barra has perfected a drooling state of coma, with his pillow being in the same place where he left it in the morning..... good luck with it Barty.
Haha, I'm always getting trouble for stretching out in bed & moving Jude's pillow with my arm, yet when sleeping in the Tracky I barely move!! :cheers:
this causes the big boy a huge amount of concern.....
hey....... it sure does..... the last time i rolled the swag beside the car was on the side of the Bruce H'way near Brissy on our way down to pick up our new Tracky........ You would have noticed my pilows were rested up against the MIckey Thompsons.. those MT Baja's make good head rests...... ;D
You could always staple them down with an industrial stapler. That'd stop the suckers shifting for sure.
Seriously though, have you tried putting them under the bottom sheet? Much less chance of them running away.
A couple of long strips of velcro will do the trick :cheers:
Potentially more important question. How do you stop your pillows from biting you? Not keen to bite them back.
Cheers!
I like the sound of the hinged bed head under the mattress. In the Jayco, when its raining, the pillows get damp from pressing against the canvas. this would be a great solution.
Yeah tru...... good point...... a bed head will sort that issue too......
I was camping one time and i was dreamming that i was eating giant marshmellows ......
When i woke up the pillows were gone ............... ;D ;D ;D
craig
I was camping one time and i was dreamming that i was eating giant marshmellows ......
When i woke up the pillows were gone ............... ;D ;D ;D
craig
Yeah and i once partied too hard, and thought i was eating Licorice Pizza's....... the next morning half my old records were gone!! :cheers:
Righto.............PMSL :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Some good suggestions here, I was thinking along the lines of having a pillow hat made up with a strap under the chin, but this is brilliant:
Seriously though, have you tried putting them under the bottom sheet? Much less chance of them running away.
Far too sensible and simple, but brilliant. I never would have thought of that in a million years, must be a gender thing :laugh:
you must be using the wrong pillows the silver disposable camping pillows is mandatory for every camper dont over inflate them with only a slight bit if air in them generally does the trick for a peaceful sleep,does not matter about the brand but i generally buy the yallumba merlot one for my self and i help the wife unwrap the second each night as i prefer the slimline pillows rather than the coolabah branded pillows.Good thing about them is they can be purchased at just about any camping accessory store.
yes good point...... which brings me to my only complaint regarding Bundy Rum........ the empty bottles leave a lot to be desired.... when it comes to comfortable head support ;D
Correct, if all you have is one empty bottle.
I've found if you end the night with two empty bottles, you're absolutely fine. You wake up the next morning with one hell of a sore neck, but you slept like a baby the entire night. I'm convinced the sore neck is unrelated. I'm not sure why two empty bottles are better than one - more testing is needed.
Cheers!
Only problem is I like to stick my arm up under the pillow when in the cuddle/spoon position ;D
I can fix that too. ;D Get SWMBO to sew (or Velcro) the pillow case to the sheet.
I like to cuddle / snuggle mine, so I have two ... a cuddly snuggly one (to keep out the cold breezes on the "other side" of course) and one for my head.
Just score one of these jiggers. ;D
:cup: That is gold where do I get me one of them
http://www.studiobananathings.com/buy-ostrich-pillow/ (http://www.studiobananathings.com/buy-ostrich-pillow/)
Gotta love some of the things people invent
Tell the missus to stop rolling on her side..and being inconsiderate ...........LOL. DUCKS flying object aimed at head..
FROPMSL ..... hmmmm .... what a mood starter ...... I seriously am laughing out loud, I am just having too much of a visual on Barra's melon in one of these numbers ;D ;D ;D and his possible movements after a few rumbo night caps trying to get into bed... oh the tears will have to stop shortly!!!!
Tell the missus to stop rolling on her side..and being inconsiderate ...........LOL. DUCKS flying object aimed at head..
Ehem .... just so you know i am a shortass, halfass ninja kickin style badass when I need to attack ---so I aim for the lower targeted jewel areas, not the head :-* :-* :-*
FROPMSL ..... hmmmm .... what a mood starter ...... I seriously am laughing out loud, I am just having too much of a visual on Barra's melon in one of these numbers ;D ;D ;D and his possible movements after a few rumbo night caps trying to get into bed... oh the tears will have to stop shortly!!!!
Oh that's it, i'm buying one now!!!!! :D
We use one of them long pillows between the mattress and the canvas then normal pillowsmno top,works like a dream
Maybe you could sew ya pillow case to a cap or beanie, depending on the weather. Add a chinstrap if you're a restless sleeper.
We use one of them long pillows between the mattress and the canvas then normal pillowsmno top,works like a dream
I like this idea ....hmmm might have to go buy one and give this a test
ok i have gone a bought a body pillow to run across the top of the bed between the canvas and mattress with enough height to help Barra out ..... see... i knew i could solve all his dramas in life >:D >:D >:D
Ahhhh yeah, you got me sorted.................. but i'm still buying one of those padded helmet thingos....... more just for foreplay purposes really... c'mon baby, you know u want it!!!!! ;D >:D ;D
Get a room you two.
I can't claim the idea it was the misses that came up with it after our first trip chasing the pillows around