General => General Discussion => Topic started by: qlddsl on March 31, 2012, 05:25:11 AM
If you don't like the game, or want to bag out a team start your own thread! 5 weeks into the season how are the fans finding the action so far, and who is your early favorite to win the flag?
bulldogs
Speaking of bulldog..i have 2 tickets to bulldogs v titans on Sunday on the coast if anybody wants them ...pick up from manly Brisbane.
Just pm me if you want them
Storm look the goods......Slater is on fire......Cronk is best halfback in the country at present.....
PS: I'm a Broncos supporter, gave the Big Red V a touch up last night......hehehe
who let the dogs out,lifetime supporter though storm are looking very dangerous
Go the Bunnies!!!
enough said! lol
Cheers Chippy :D (hopeless Bunnies supporter .... )
BULLDOGS
Eels to make a late run to the finals and win the big one
LOL.... I can dream cant I?
Speaking of bulldog..i have 2 tickets to bulldogs v titans on Sunday on the coast if anybody wants them ...pick up from manly Brisbane.
Just pm me if you want them
Tickets gone...Brother in law is a Bulldogs fan....explains a few things now
Go the Broncos
Year of the Sharkies!!!!!!! We have to finally win something. The wait is killing me. Maybe my kids might witness a premier ship.
Cowboys all the way this year!!!
this could be a good thread
so early in the season
im a tigers man not goin the best lol
but i reckin the storm will take some beating
NRL is a poor and distant second to AFL. And that's coming from a dyed in the wool Queenslander who played league all his life. For me the wrestling is ruining the game. We now have the cannonball tackle, chinstrap tackle, chicken wing, grapple tackle and rolling pin tackle all banned. Scrummaging is a joke these days. You may as well draft some WWE old boys and have the refs ham it up....
Go the Broncos
+ 10
Parra beat Manly tonight :o :o 8) 8) ;D ;D
no i'm not a Parra supporter (Wests actually), but i love any team that beats Manly ;) >:D >:D
Storm!!!!
How good is Slater :cup: :cup:
A few of my mates are eagles men
there will no strutting around there house's tonight doin the eagle rock Bahahahahaha
Storm!!!!
How good is Slater :cup: :cup:
Image Markiing Billy , one of the best i have seen
& a great roll model for the game
Parra beat Manly tonight :o :o 8) 8) ;D ;D
no i'm not a Parra supporter (Wests actually), but i love any team that beats Manly ;) >:D >:D
We can go all the way from here...... ??? :cup:
Oh...this isnt the joke section
Like Rumpig, Wests Tigers for me + any team playing Manly
Wests are lulling everyone into a false sense of security before pouncing - hey! its my dream, back off LOL
NRL is a poor and distant second to AFL. And that's coming from a dyed in the wool Queenslander who played league all his life. For me the wrestling is ruining the game. We now have the cannonball tackle, chinstrap tackle, chicken wing, grapple tackle and rolling pin tackle all banned. Scrummaging is a joke these days. You may as well draft some WWE old boys and have the refs ham it up.
I sort of agree. Having come from a school that was soley Rugby League (De La Salle) + 2 teachers that were Cronulla players/trainers, I'm at a loss watching it these days... but I'd say that about AFL too. apparently its evolving. :(
Apparently the powers to be seem to tell us that we want a faster more fumbling game. I'd be happier with a game of good quality skills.
RL now seems like a game of hot potato that we played in primary school. Nobody get caught with it, just throw it *somewhere*... AFL seems the same.. Some games are tragic to watch...
RL now seems to be a game of majority of tries scored from chips into the ingoal and people taking a grab that way.. Used to be 1 or 2 a game. now theres 1 or 2 runs down field a game if your lucky for tries.
And being a fat bastard front rower, whatever happened to the ScruM? For the last 20+ years the ball doesnt even get in the pack!!!! Why is there a position called "hooker" now? If you changed the rules back to ball must go between the front rowers feet/center of scrum, todays hooker would cry.
Anyway, go the r00sters... Fan since Russell Fairfax played fullback for em.
But I dont think they are anywhere near front runners anymore.
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_oCANiKgG2XE/TEFVFA6keII/AAAAAAAAAoI/UdjBIYQzP84/s1600/Rooster.jpg)
Keen Broncos supporter. Am leading our footy >:(tipping contest but not so sure after this week. None from seven this week . Ouch.
Diehard BRONCOS supporter since their beginning even tho Im from Warriors country lol. Honestly Im a Chiefs fan but love my league too.
Gday,
The storm are the only team to follow. Slater, cronk and Smith. the best 3 goin around.
Parra to get the spoon
Cheers!
Love the broncos, but the Storm look good.
I do long for the olds days of Crafty front rowers, Tall second rowers, Cover Defending locks, and Fast finishing backs, but now it's 2 halfbacks, 1 fullback and 10 second rowers.
And the Storm have the best 2 halfbacks in Smith and Cronk and the best fullback.
Look out
Going by current form, storm could be the ones to beat. Just hope they can keep it up for the next 20 odd weeks...
RL now seems like a game of hot potato that we played in primary school. Nobody get caught with it, just throw it *somewhere*... AFL seems the same.. Some games are tragic to watch..
Agree with the AFL Lost. Although the faster free flowing game of today is far better to watch than alot of the defencive flooding crap of 10 years ago, it has lost one of the basic fundamentals of the game. Accurate goal kicking! Seems in the pursuit of the perfect football athlete, they've over looked some basic skills.
Back on topic.
Storm look scary, bigtime scary. The Cronk, Smith & Slater combo are jaw dropping to watch.
Now if only channel 9 could schedule some games to be shown live on their digital channels, so us mexicans don't have to wait until the early hours of the morning.
Hi All
I have Followed the NRL for many many years and have followed the Tigers but since round 3 i have not watched a game and don't intend on watching a game this year. I can handle loosing to a better team but not because of the referees poor decisions.
I still follow the Tigers but the NRL have lost me as a Game watching Fan i have turn my TV watching time to sports that aren't ruled by referees like Golf and Motorsport.
Parra supporter but it doesn't look good . :'(
Good win to the titans last night, but when any one beats manly ;D great hit out between doggies and storm last night brilliant game to watch
that was a great game between the dogs & storm qlddsl
I got a few mates that r manly supporters ill have to take a few beers out to there place this arvo & do a bit of counseling ha ha ha
any one in any tipping im on 48 points at ow local pub top runner is on 60
Like Rumpig, Wests Tigers for me + any team playing Manly
Wests are lulling everyone into a false sense of security before pouncing - hey! its my dream, back off LOL
They will still lose to the titans but. Hahaha
yep defiantely good to hear Manly losing again lastnight 8) 8)
hopefully Wests might win a game today and i can have a drink in celebration instead of comisseration, which has been the theme so far this year :'( :'(
Wests looking good so far, even better now
We're back baby, the run to the Grandfinal has begun 8) 8)
ok that's a massive call after todays game, even i struggled to watch my boys play once again. far from pretty and not real convincing, but i'll take any win we can get at the moment :cheers: :cheers:
i'm not a big Panthers fan, but Luke Lewis had a blinder in a team that copped a touch up, he should have gotten man of the match IMHO.
brings back memories from 2005 we had a shaky start to that year but we came home strong.
Go the TIGERS.
Plus now i have taken 3 cartons of beer of the same poor panthers supporter from the last 3 games we have played against each other.
Now if only channel 9 could schedule some games to be shown live on their digital channels, so us mexicans don't have to wait until the early hours of the morning.
Fairly certain that you guys get it on GEM these days. According to some mexicans on another forum.
[/quote
Yeah 1 live game and 1 at 2 hour delay on Friday nights and 1 game on Sunday. They have the test on this Friday night,(7:30 on gem) should be a good game to watch I think the kiwis will surprise us.
Anyone else looking forward to watching the U20 State of Origin match tonight? 7:30pm EST on Foxsports 2, or Centrebet stadium if you are lucky.
NSW!!!
Go the U20 Blues hopefully this is the future NRL blues :cheers:
Don't think the blues will have much hope if the Cronk/ Thurston halves combo fires, if last night was anything to go by they will be deadly.
The STORM rolls on, 8 in a row what a great start to the season
they certainly look like the team to beat this year, they may struggle around origin time though.
I thought the streak was coming to an end with 10 to go and the score at 14 all.
Then they win by 3 trys :cup:
NRL is a poor and distant second to AFL. And that's coming from a dyed in the wool Queenslander who played league all his life. For me the wrestling is ruining the game. We now have the cannonball tackle, chinstrap tackle, chicken wing, grapple tackle and rolling pin tackle all banned. Scrummaging is a joke these days. You may as well draft some WWE old boys and have the refs ham it up....
Hey mate.............. glad you moved SA........... enjoy yourself down there.
Anyway....... Go the Cowboys!!....... I'm FNQ through and through.... born and bred.
i am a cowboys fan
(and i have managed to have a quick peck with Matty Bowen, his dad to say thanks for bringing the kid into the world, Ty Williams, Carl Web and i got to squeeze Nathan Blacklocks gluteus maximus at an after match party, but it was an involuntary action on my behalf, my brain did not have control of my actions >:D poor barrabart lives with alot).......
but i love the origin/ country & city/ Rep test matches ..... there are some tough hard hitting freakishly large lads out there amongst the teams that are so passionate i love it. But i do just love a good clean game of footy what ever the team playing really.
my brain did not have control of my actions.
Nothing wrong with that!! >:D
No game for me this weekend(storm v panthers) and don't have foxtel. Then a few more weeks before a home game. Will get withdrawals, that will be fixed with origin 1 on 23rd(got me tickets) followed by storm v broncos on 25th ;D
One for the QLD's
lololol
One for the QLD's
lololol
LMAO!! Gotta love a good QLD joke!!
GO QLD
Go the Sharkies. Only team been able to beat the Storm this season. Now to keep winning. Most frustrating team to support.
:cup: YEAH BABY! :cup:
:cup:GO STORM :cup:
Great game, well played by doggies just outclassed by a well oiled machine.
Gee the dogs looked flat footed.
(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii543/iamnotpeterpan/g1348998399454189152.jpg)
So! The Sydney team goes to Melbourne and steals the AFL and the Melbourne team comes to Sydney and steals the NRL.
Melbourne Storm = very classy team from 1 to 17. :cup :cup:
So is this the Storm's first Premiership, or is it their 3rd? Cannot figure it out, but I am sure the NRL will manage to find another infringement which means this one gets taken away as well :D
Not that I follow the NRL.
So is this the Storm's first Premiership, or is it their 3rd? Cannot figure it out, but I am sure the NRL will manage to find another infringement which means this one gets taken away as well :D
Not that I follow the NRL.
they didn't take '99, so officially it's their 2nd
2013 maybe bad for the knights
The Australian Tax Office has moved to wind up the Newcastle Knights and the Newcastle Jets, along with their parent company the Hunter Sports Group, over unpaid debts of some $2.7 million, as owner Nathan Tinkler's debt problems continue to mount.
Documents filed on Wednesday in the Federal Court in Sydney show the Deputy Commissioner of Taxation is applying for the wind-up of Hunter Sports Group (owing $184,258), Newcastle Jets Football Operations Pty Ltd (owing $1.063 million) and Newcastle Knights Pty Ltd (owing $1.424 million).
"We are surprised by the move by the ATO, as we have not received notification of this move,” a spokesperson for the Hunter Sports Group said.
“We advise that any outstanding sum will be paid as soon as possible - well before the reported hearing date on the matter next February.”
The applications have been set down for hearing on February 20.
An NRL spokesperson said the administration was continuing to "monitor the situation" at Newcastle but "has assurances from the Knights that the club is financially stable".
Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/business/27-million-debt-tax-office-moves-to-wind-up-tinklers-teams-20121213-2bb7w.html#ixzz2EtPszdYY (http://www.smh.com.au/business/27-million-debt-tax-office-moves-to-wind-up-tinklers-teams-20121213-2bb7w.html#ixzz2EtPszdYY)
2013 maybe bad for the knights
Apparently Tinkler has a habbit of walking in on the last day the bill is due and paying.Lets see.I dont think he has much cash flow.
Doesn't he still owe the state goverment a few hundred thousand for ground rental. He paid around 400-600K but held back about 300K and this would now be about 4 months overdue.
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/bellamy-may-leave-storm-before-next-season-report-20121230-2c14e.html (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/bellamy-may-leave-storm-before-next-season-report-20121230-2c14e.html)
That could be a massive coo for St George... they suck.