General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Ropes on March 04, 2012, 06:48:32 PM

Title: Tigerz11 Sale now on!
Post by: Ropes on March 04, 2012, 06:48:32 PM

Check this out, Tigerz11 are having a sale. Their online website is down until Monday but their eBay store is running the same prices.

Tigerz11-Warehouse-Direct  (http://stores.ebay.com.au/Tigerz11-Warehouse-Direct)

I have no affiliation with either, just sharing the info.
Title: Re: Tigerz11 Sale now on!
Post by: baldheadedgit on March 04, 2012, 06:56:35 PM
I seen that ebay sale,, looks the goods... :cheers:
Post by: oldblade on March 04, 2012, 07:45:07 PM
awesome deals
Post by: singo-26 on March 04, 2012, 09:24:14 PM
Hopefully it's for a couple of weeks, The Singo bus might be growing a winch.
Post by: Black Diamond on March 04, 2012, 09:41:51 PM
Yes the bloody winches are cheap  :cheers:
Post by: Ropes on March 04, 2012, 11:13:50 PM
Re the winches,

The Hercules 12,000LB winch is the old 2008 model - Warranty: Winch - 1 yr Control Box - 6 months - $429 + Postage
The Grande 12,000LB winch is the new 2011 model - Warranty: Winch - 5 yrs Control Box - 2 yrs - $699 + Postage

There are some other major differences too, if anyone is interested in what they are PM me your email address and I'll send you a comparison spreadsheet I have compiled.

Craig
Post by: dooguss on March 05, 2012, 07:34:12 AM
are these deals to good to be true? ???
Post by: disco1 on March 05, 2012, 08:07:10 AM

Have just purchased a aluminium 220cm roof rack from them, saved $ from original price, now do I need a winch for the cape trip?

Mauri
Post by: BigJules on March 05, 2012, 08:21:07 AM
There are some good buys in there. I could talk myself into an alloy rack.
Post by: Ropes on March 05, 2012, 11:04:53 AM
Have just purchased a aluminium 220cm roof rack from them, saved $ from original price, now do I need a winch for the cape trip?

Mauri

Do you need one?
That's impossible for anyone but you to say really. There are too many variables.

Are you doing the trip on your own?
Do any of the vehicles in your group have winches?
Do you want to be restricted on what tracks you can take?
Just to mention a few.

What I can say is, just for peace of mind, I won't be doing the trip without one fitted to my vehicle.

Craig
Post by: Fivid on March 05, 2012, 11:06:34 AM
I would be interested in their Wing awning but they don't have it on ebay...  Probably blew the budget for toys last week anyway as we bought a canoe at the 4wd show, now need some life jackets and some accessories for that!

Post by: liney on March 05, 2012, 11:15:33 AM
Isn't that typical that when the bills come in and you "had" that money set aside for the winch that it got swallowed up into a something else popped up bill. GRRRRRRRR. Wonder how long these specials will last?
Post by: Ropes on March 05, 2012, 11:54:21 AM
Isn't that typical that when the bills come in and you "had" that money set aside for the winch that it got swallowed up into a something else popped up bill. GRRRRRRRR. Wonder how long these specials will last?

The sales are supposed to last all month and when their website is back up, they should have their new online shop working with the same prices.

I would be interested in their Wing awning but they don't have it on ebay...  Probably blew the budget for toys last week anyway as we bought a canoe at the 4wd show, now need some life jackets and some accessories for that!

If you're lucky it will be discounted in their main site online shop when it comes online today or tomorrow.

Craig
Post by: Matto on March 05, 2012, 12:33:09 PM
There are some other major differences too, if anyone is interested in what they are PM me your email address and I'll send you a comparison spreadsheet I have compiled.
Hi Craig,

In your (obviously well researched) opinion - is it worth the extra coin for the new model winch? $429 is seriously cheap, and for the amount of work it would get on the front of my car, would probably be more than sufficient (IE, is better than nothing). Is there anything particular against the older model that would sway you towards the new one?

Currently wishing I hadn't seen this thread - too much temptation.

Post by: Ropes on March 05, 2012, 01:04:33 PM
Hi Craig,

In your (obviously well researched) opinion - is it worth the extra coin for the new model winch? $429 is seriously cheap, and for the amount of work it would get on the front of my car, would probably be more than sufficient (IE, is better than nothing). Is there anything particular against the older model that would sway you towards the new one?

Currently wishing I hadn't seen this thread - too much temptation.

Hi Matto,

Personally I would not get the Hercules ($429)

I would save/spend the extra coin on the Grande for several reasons;

Warranty,
Latest model - not an old model brought back to combat other supliers cheaper models,
Ability

I've managed to attach my comparison spreadsheet below with my main reasons highlighted in green

Tigerz11 12000lbs Winch Comparison (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/65470088/Tigerz11%2012000lbs%20Winch%20Comparison.xls)

Craig
Post by: dooguss on March 05, 2012, 01:05:12 PM
im the same as you Matto wishing i never saw this thread :laugh: i did have my mind set on a warn  magnum winch but now thinking a tigerz 12000lb for that sort of price and for the amount of times i;ll probably use it  damm you Ropes ;D ;D but thanks for the heads up could now save money for other mods.
Post by: Matto on March 05, 2012, 01:30:41 PM
That's a great spreadsheet Craig - thanks for sharing. You obviously know your winches.

Agree with your rationale - the longer warranty and the better solenoid pack are big draw-cards of the newer model. I was under the impression that the older model also had the winch out brake, but may have my wires crossed.

Will need more thinking (along with more thinking juice).

Cheers!
Post by: McGirr on March 05, 2012, 01:34:19 PM

Bummer they dont do a 100 series roof rack but the high lift jack looks the goods.

Post by: DaveO on March 05, 2012, 03:42:32 PM
Went down to the Tigerz11 factory this morning. (5 minutes from home - no postage costs) Picked up the 2.5 M awning for a mate who is on holidays and could not get there. They had one on display and to me it looks absolutely no different to my ARB awning. For $169, I think it was a bargain. The bloke who served me said at the rate they are selling the awnings, they will run out very soon - so if you are after one, don't delay.  Also picked up the hitch and shackle for $26 and the winch dampener for $16 - couldn't make it for that price !! I was like a kid in a candy store !!

Post by: Ropes on March 05, 2012, 03:43:44 PM
im the same as you Matto wishing i never saw this thread :laugh: i did have my mind set on a warn  magnum winch but now thinking a tigerz 12000lb for that sort of price and for the amount of times i;ll probably use it  damm you Ropes ;D ;D but thanks for the heads up could now save money for other mods.

>:D

Post by: Ropes on March 05, 2012, 03:53:52 PM
That's a great spreadsheet Craig - thanks for sharing. You obviously know your winches.

Agree with your rationale - the longer warranty and the better solenoid pack are big draw-cards of the newer model. I was under the impression that the older model also had the winch out brake, but may have my wires crossed.

Will need more thinking (along with more thinking juice).

Cheers!

Thanks mate, the main attribute I am after in a winch is that it work, first time, everytime and be able to rely on it to get me out of a sticky situation when I need it to, even if that's only once a year.

I have been told by a reseller of the Hercules, that it doesn't have the same brake as the 2011 model and that was one of the main difference between the two models.

Happy to be corrected though.

Craig
Post by: LJs GU on March 08, 2012, 09:49:01 AM
are these deals to good to be true? ???

Yes the bloody winches are cheap  :cheers:

And the air compressor too.  Just picked one up for $110 (RRP $230-ish).  :cup:

I've been looking for a while, and in a recent review/test (assume it was 4wdAction), it got a really good result.  For the inflate/pump up test (16 to 40psi), it came out equal 4th (with 2 others).  Great result considering it was competing with the twin pot ARB's etc.

Nothing like a good deal to make you feel good.  Bit like taking a leak in black pants... no one else really see's it, but it makes you feel all warm and fuzzy.  ;D

LJ
Post by: schmik on March 08, 2012, 11:08:21 AM
These prices are great.... i was 'ummming and ahhhhing' about getting an awning.    No brainer at this price.
Grabbed a tyre deflator for 25bucks too.

If i didn't just order a set of coil-rites (bargain) and a new GME antenna (another barain).... i'd have a winch in the mail too.

mike
Post by: dooguss on March 08, 2012, 11:11:56 AM
Mate just picked up a new roof rack and awning for his patrol and with his saving looking at a new winch he's wrapped
Post by: fabulous on March 08, 2012, 11:57:58 AM

I like the price of the alloy roof rack, but can anyone tell me how high off the roof they are ?   I still need to be able to get my Patrol into the garage.  I think I've got around 300mm to play with, is that enough ?

Look forward to your response.
Post by: Roo on March 08, 2012, 02:49:33 PM
Oh dear....I went a little nutz.
12k grande with plasma rope.... ;D
side awning.... :D
fill out my recovery kit with a pulley block, tree trunk protector, winch damper and an extension strap.... :cheers:
Shipping wasn't too bad, only $102 all done.
the missus wanted to know why I didn't get a rear awning too....god love her. :laugh:
Post by: Black Diamond on March 08, 2012, 02:51:36 PM
the missus wanted to know why I didn't get a rear awning too....god love her. :laugh:
I love a woman who knows what she wants  ;D

:cheers: BD
Post by: Squalo on March 08, 2012, 04:41:13 PM
My splurge is a rear awning to complement the Ironman 2mx2.5m awning I already have.
Post by: fridayman on March 08, 2012, 04:55:37 PM
Is the Tigerz11 12k Grande ($699) winch worth the extra money over the Hercules ($429)?
Post by: Roo on March 08, 2012, 05:56:47 PM
Is the Tigerz11 12k Grande ($699) winch worth the extra money over the Hercules ($429)?
I hope so...i actually thought about it as the Hercules has a lower reduction ratio but there is some discussion on page one you might have missed regarding the upgraded Grande version.
Post by: whitey on March 08, 2012, 07:42:44 PM
Just bought the 2.5 mtr awning from tigerz for 1/2 the price i paid for one i purchased off one of our members last year with the "special price at that time" (along with some hidden costs that came with it on pick up time) >:(....... also got the 1.2 mtr awning and some recovery gear, postage costs about $25 ...will now be doing a re hash and get a winch and some other play things i never wish to use but know i will have to one day, for me or some other poor stranded bugger out there. All good can't wait to get them :cheers:
Post by: nisnav on March 08, 2012, 09:48:31 PM
I popped in today and got myself the 48" jack  ;D the place was full off stuff with a lot waiting to go out as the courier was late for his pick up, they were not happy  >:( so if you are waiting for stuff I can confirm its packed ready to go ,,,,, just needs a truck driver
Post by: singo-26 on March 08, 2012, 09:51:12 PM

In one of ropes posts he had a comparison between the two. Personally in seriously looking at the dearer one.
Post by: fridayman on March 08, 2012, 10:38:24 PM
In one of ropes posts he had a comparison between the two. Personally in seriously looking at the dearer one.

Doh!  ;D
Post by: Moto Mech on March 09, 2012, 06:11:09 AM
After doing the research, I was set for a Grande winch, then I found their awnings and at them prices I grabbed a side and rear awning. Much much cheaper than the fox wing I was going to get(yes, I know a little less coverage too)
Post by: Victim on March 09, 2012, 06:33:59 AM
Bummer they dont do a 100 series roof rack but the high lift jack looks the goods.

I know.... That was exactly what I was after too.... There seems to be heaps on gutter mount racks around but not so many to suit the 100 series (at a good price that is)  >:(

The search continues   ;D
Post by: Roo on March 09, 2012, 09:27:08 AM
I had a bit of a think about the rear awning...1.2m wide....the top half of my 100 series tailgate is 1.4 wide so I'm thinking it may not be that useful for me. I might pass on it for now and look into what else is available. Been thinking of using one of the Blackwidow "Fred's arm" attachments to use the side awning over the rear....or make my own rear awning in a trapezoid shape to gain width.
Post by: dooguss on March 09, 2012, 09:31:12 AM
Roo have you checked out Polarised awnings made in Brisbane we have a side and rear awning very happy easy to use
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on March 09, 2012, 09:51:02 AM

found this while searching for a 'portable' 12v winch

LINK: http://www.crazysales.com.au/5440kg-electric-winch-2.html (http://www.crazysales.com.au/5440kg-electric-winch-2.html)

(seen one somewhere when I did not need it)

Can't fit a 'normal' 12v winch to the Ssangyong  :'(
Post by: Benny78 on March 09, 2012, 10:11:28 AM
Just bought a hand-winch and side awning- all for less than i would have paid for the hand winch last month.... Awesome.
Handwinching means i am less likely to get bogged(or so everyone tells me- one use of the handwinch and you never want to get bogged again ;D)

Thanks for the Heads up on the sale.
Post by: dazzler on March 09, 2012, 12:20:59 PM
Thanks mate, the main attribute I am after in a winch is that it work, first time, everytime and be able to rely on it to get me out of a sticky situation when I need it to, even if that's only once a year.

How will you winch backwards if thats the once a year thing happens?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 09, 2012, 12:33:00 PM
How will you winch backwards if thats the once a year thing happens?

Can be done....... but, you need to have all your ducks in one basket. You need enough snatch blocks and also enough anchor points in the correct position. I have never tried it but this video although slow and boring shows that it is possible, I think??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0j_9mRB5g8# (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0j_9mRB5g8#)

Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on March 09, 2012, 03:04:28 PM

Almost bought the Pulley block, but read on it that it's only suitable for maximum 11mm cable, the 'manual' winches uses 16mm cable :'(
Bought the "e-z tire deflater" and the recovery "hitch & 4.7 bow shackle"

Looking for a 'portable' elect winch now  :cheers:
Post by: dazzler on March 09, 2012, 03:26:18 PM
Can be done....... but, you need to have all your ducks in one basket. You need enough snatch blocks and also enough anchor points in the correct position. I have never tried it but this video although slow and boring shows that it is possible, I think??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0j_9mRB5g8# (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0j_9mRB5g8#)

Have wanted to try that for a few years but never really had the free time.  Wonder how it goes with a load like a well bogged vehicle?

Would be an interesting afternoon!.

Post by: UR-50-LO on March 09, 2012, 03:43:49 PM
I bought a recovery kit and an air compressor.
Post by: fridayman on March 10, 2012, 02:26:25 AM
Just placed the order for Grande 12k, mounting plate, snatch strap, pulley block, ground anchor (not sure about this, but willing to give it a try), and a quick step. My wallet hurts.
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on March 13, 2012, 02:48:04 PM
 :'(
Just phoned Tigerz to check on delivery estimation and was advised they could not find any information on the sale  :'(

Even gave them their Invoice Number they emailed me, with the items itemized and with the date, address and other information on it too

still waiting for the 'phone call' to tell me they have found the invoice and everything has been dispatched as was organised
The money has left my account a few days ago and I double checked the information as to where it went - all is good that way.

Has anyone else had hassles or is it just my exceedingly unfortunate bad luck  :'(
Post by: Ropes on March 13, 2012, 03:10:40 PM
:'(
Just phoned Tigerz to check on delivery estimation and was advised they could not find any information on the sale  :'(

Even gave them their Invoice Number they emailed me, with the items itemized and with the date, address and other information on it too

still waiting for the 'phone call' to tell me they have found the invoice and everything has been dispatched as was organised
The money has left my account a few days ago and I double checked the information as to where it went - all is good that way.

Has anyone else had hassles or is it just my exceedingly unfortunate bad luck  :'(

Got my fingers crossed they get it all sorted out for you.

Craig
Post by: schmik on March 13, 2012, 03:49:27 PM
All went well for me... ordered on friday, delivered on monday.

mike
Post by: Moto Mech on March 15, 2012, 07:02:13 PM
Got my two awnings and recovery block today. Great service.
The awnings are not the same as ARB ones, same general apperance but definately abit 'cheaper' quality. The cover bag is nearly double the size it needs to be and the rolled up awning 'flaps' about inside(even strapped with supplied straps) it where as the ARB one is a nice snug fit. Im abit worried the 'flapping' weight of the rolled up awning will tear the cover or awning from mount but time will tell. The plastic ends have that 'cheap and nasty' look about them, the mounting brackets are a joke, already half cracked where they are cold bent. Make up some new brackets, go gentle on the plastic ends or even replace these also. The canvas material looks the same.
 But for the price I think they are worth the gamble where as if I paid full price, Id be a bit miffed.
Also ordered a recovery block and shackle, shackle looks good, block looks like a 10yr machined it. Lucky it was only $25(looks nothing like in Maineys picture above)
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on March 15, 2012, 07:13:40 PM
Received my 2 parts today, the "e-z tire deflater" and the recovery "hitch & 4.7 bow shackle" arrived well packaged.

The recovery hitch is a solid metal block and not square tube, I had expected it to be like the tow bars available, it's blooody heavy
the tire deflater looks at least half the size of the ARB model, I used it just now and it does work really well  ;D

Post by: UR-50-LO on March 15, 2012, 07:42:56 PM
Make sure you ask for "signature required delivery".
I did and the dumb arse courier reckons he left it on the door step anyway.
Invoice/connote was signed ATL by the driver (which apparently means authorised to leave) even though it specifically says under special notes: "Must be signed for, no redelivery & no redirection". I am soo peed off because I just know the driver has kept the gear for himself...

Not Tigerz11 fault obviously and they too are also calling Toll/Ipec on our behalf trying to sort this crap out for us. Just hope it gets dealt with soon and I get my gear!!!
Post by: whitey on March 16, 2012, 04:52:02 PM
Got my awnings and recovery gear mid morning on the Monday... fantastic service. Chucked away the Shit mounting brackets which are only good for supporting a shelf in a shed " crap finish for a vehicle" (never intended using them anyway) ....other than that very happy with the deal and with the extra room in the awning bags, as was mentioned by Moto Mech, i will roll up and put my ground sheets or future awning wind break sides in them if they fit, there is always a way around an issue.... which leads me to the winches.... has anyone found an issue fitting them to an ARB winch?  have had feed back on some ill fitting other bars, cheers   
Post by: dooguss on March 16, 2012, 06:01:11 PM
Winch arrived today looks all good to me took the chance on leave it at the front door option came home and there she was, wont deny was a little worried after reading UR-50-LO post
Post by: UR-50-LO on March 16, 2012, 06:50:41 PM
Toll called us today and told us they apparently fired the driver due to the security breach.
They then asked us to get Paul at Tigerz11 to contact them with the inquiry number they gave us when we originally filed the complaint and they would give him a refund for the items missing. Hopefully will be sorted ASAP...
Post by: Moto Mech on March 16, 2012, 06:53:25 PM
The supplied brackets with awnings-
(http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b343/NIDOBY/IMG_1845.jpg)
Post by: Roo on March 30, 2012, 09:45:29 AM
I was checking out other brands of awnings at the Brissie show last weekend, Ironman and Powerful 4x4 had the same bracket with the same bend and cracks on the edges. Me thinks anything out of china would all be the same. checking out other peoples mounting set up, most have opted to not use those brackets anyway. I have an ECB rack so i'll go through the solid alloy plates on the legs of that....gives me 3 points rather than 2.
Post by: pacs on March 30, 2012, 11:09:33 AM
Missy gave me an oztrail one for x-mass and it had the same brackets so I ditched them and attached directly to my ARB roof rack
Post by: Benny78 on April 02, 2012, 04:25:59 PM
Where have you been getting better brackets from? Hardware stores seem to have crappy looking brackets also?
Post by: Moto Mech on April 02, 2012, 08:51:04 PM
Where have you been getting better brackets from? Hardware stores seem to have crappy looking brackets also?

2.5mt awning I bolted to the "legs" on my ARB rack, with a nylon spacer inbetween. With the rear awning I made up my own brackets using flat steel per below.
(http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b343/NIDOBY/IMG_1838.jpg)
(http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b343/NIDOBY/IMG_1850.jpg)
Post by: Benny78 on April 03, 2012, 10:08:48 AM
2.5mt awning I bolted to the "legs" on my ARB rack, with a nylon spacer inbetween. With the rear awning I made up my own brackets using flat steel per below.
(http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b343/NIDOBY/IMG_1838.jpg)
(http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b343/NIDOBY/IMG_1850.jpg)

Looks great!
will have to fabricate up something myself!
Post by: MADCOW on April 03, 2012, 11:11:39 AM
Try using some angle iron to use as a bracket, Surely you could find an offcut for a pretty decent price
Post by: bussoboy on April 03, 2012, 03:43:58 PM

I've been in the same boat with "bullbar money"...........4 times over the last 2 years I've had the $$'s in my hand and a damn emergency has come up and the money went elsewhere
Post by: Moto Mech on April 10, 2012, 08:20:37 PM
Ok, for all the people thinking about the Tigerz11 awnings, my advice is not to.
To start with, they are not copies of ARB awnings or other types I guess( havent had anything to do with others).
The brackets are rubbish.
And the bags leak.
While away camping on the weekend we had a decent drop of rain over night. Both side and rear awnings were packed away and zipped up solid. Upon opening the rear awning, I was met with maybe 1/2lt of water tip over me from inside the cover back. So then I opened up the side awning to be greated with over a 1lt of water come pouring out. So left for a few months you would be greated with a moldy awning even though you never used it.
Both of my awnings are now for sale. Lesson learnt.
Post by: JGM on April 10, 2012, 10:29:52 PM
G'day All
I just been checking out the Tigerz11 E bay page that Ropes put us on to.  I went to order the high lift jack, but the phone number at the bottom of the ebay page for credit card sales is wrong.  The poor bugger that answered has had 3 calls so far and he knows nothing about jacks!
So I went onto the web-site to order from there, it calculated the delivery to be $2000!  Fair Dinkum!

Great prices though, I'll just ring them tomorrow.  Thanks for the tip Ropes!

JGM
Post by: Ropes on April 10, 2012, 11:42:18 PM
No worries  ;D

Here's another tip, the 12,000lbs winch that BCF are selling for $599 (members price, normally $899) is almost identical to the Tigerz Grande 12,000lbs, the only differences that I have found is the BCF (XTM) has 28m of 10mm dyneema instead of 30m of 9mm, the control box is a different shape (same solenoid inside) and no included wireless controller (I grabbed one off fleabay for under $10)

Craig
Post by: Matto on April 11, 2012, 09:53:29 AM
That's very interesting Ropes.

On the BCF page, under the Brake, it lists "Automatic In-The-Drum", which I thought was a no-no when running rope? Maybe that's a difference, that the Tigerz11 winch has the different brake design, and the BCF XTM winch has the traditional-style brake? They do look eerily similar from the outside.

All that said, $600 is tempting me. Just need to weigh up the initial cost savings vs "Poor man pays twice" argument.

Cheers for the tip-off!
Post by: Roo on April 11, 2012, 10:03:35 AM
supacheap ridge ryder looks more or less the same too. difference to me is the reviews that tigerz has had for a few years from users and the back up service over taking a ridge ryder back to supacheap with reciept within 12 months for replacement...after that, your on your own.

Moto Mech, just check that the stitching on the bag hasn't stretched. also if this was the first rain you've seen it may well have been the stitching needing to swell to effect a good seal. much like a tent would need. I have a great tent that uses the same type of material used in the bag for the floor. when I seasoned the canvas I neglected to also do the floor, it had a join in it as it was a 12'x9' tent. First decent rain and I had a wet ar$e....checked every where for leaks in the canvas, turned out to be the stitching in the floor. dried out the next day then another big rain event a few days later but no more leaks.
might be worth a second chance.
Post by: Ropes on April 11, 2012, 10:49:28 AM
That's very interesting Ropes.

On the BCF page, under the Brake, it lists "Automatic In-The-Drum", which I thought was a no-no when running rope? Maybe that's a difference, that the Tigerz11 winch has the different brake design, and the BCF XTM winch has the traditional-style brake? They do look eerily similar from the outside.

All that said, $600 is tempting me. Just need to weigh up the initial cost savings vs "Poor man pays twice" argument.

Cheers for the tip-off!

I went with my gut and took the plunge and bought the BCF one.
I pulled it apart to check grease etc before installing it.

As you say though, the warranty is also a difference.

Craig
Post by: Matto on April 11, 2012, 11:00:20 AM
I pulled it apart to check grease etc before installing it and compared it to my mates TigerzII Grande and the internals are identical ;D
Fantastic. Thanks for the feedback - that's great to hear from someone with actual hands-on experience with both products.

If I had the cash, I would have shelled out $600 for the earlier model of the Tigerz11 winch. I would have been cranky now, to learn that this BCF one is the same price, yet is the updated design.

Thanks very much Ropes - much appreciated. My wife will be cursing you very shortly, I would think...

Cheers!
Post by: oldblade on April 16, 2012, 03:34:04 PM
I bought the tigerz11 grande
They do look the same and my guess they are the same all china built
But the controlller box on the tigerz11 seems to be far more durable and got the wireless remote with it
With the sale on I only paid $745 delivered and it has a 5 year warranty

I installed mine last week and took it out for a test run yesterday and it seems to do the job so which ever one you buy I think they are not a bad winch. They deffinately are not warns but for the amount I will use it I recon it should do the job
Post by: Matto on April 18, 2012, 09:15:38 PM
Continuing on with the Cheap Winch thread, noticed this in the Supercheap catalog today :

http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/Ridge-Ryder-12-000Lb-12V-4WD-Recovery-Winch.aspx?pid=284085#Description (http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/Ridge-Ryder-12-000Lb-12V-4WD-Recovery-Winch.aspx?pid=284085#Description)

Looks identical to the BCF one (as you'd expect, since Supercheap own BCF), but cheaper again at $490.

I may need to go and see Bill...

Cheers!
Post by: oldblade on April 18, 2012, 09:37:05 PM
Bugger as usual I think I have a good deal at $490.00 I could have bought a spare control box
Post by: chisel on April 18, 2012, 10:59:25 PM
Thanks for the tip Matto.  I didn't know the Supercheap winches came with rope - perhaps that's a new thing.
Definitely a good deal ... now, how do I slip it past the handbrake...
Post by: oldblade on April 18, 2012, 11:07:15 PM
Just did the math the one from supercheap looks the same as the tigerz11 but the control /solinoide is different the tiger one is fully sealed and made special for them and it comes with the wireless remote and 5 year warranty
So math bit supercheap winch $490 buy the control box from tigerz11 $175 plus wireless remote $50 off eBay

I'm back happy again :)
Post by: Darren253 on April 18, 2012, 11:43:12 PM
BCF and Ray's Outdoors are owned by the Supercheap group... I'm sure there is some common purchasing going on!!!
I have had the Tigerz 12,000lbs winch for over a year. I had to rebuild the solenoid after only a few months. It was badly corroded inside the solenoid contact plates and wouldn't engage. I cleaned it all up, sanded it down and packed it with silicon grease. It's been good ever since then.
Post by: DAZnBEC on April 18, 2012, 11:44:27 PM
Just did the math the one from supercheap looks the same as the tigerz11 but the control /solinoide is different the tiger one is fully sealed and made special for them and it comes with the wireless remote and 5 year warranty
So math bit supercheap winch $490 buy the control box from tigerz11 $175 plus wireless remote $50 off eBay

Just keep in mind the 5 year warranty only applies if the winch is fitted by a tigerz installer, who ever they are. It states this In the manual.

Daz
Post by: Ropes on April 19, 2012, 01:38:47 AM
Just keep in mind the 5 year warranty only applies if the winch is fitted by a tigerz installer, who ever they are. It states this In the manual.

Daz

Yep, so fit it yourself and you get 1 year of return to supplier for warranty.
Sorry guys I forgot to mention that.
Post by: Crockett on April 19, 2012, 01:47:25 AM
Hi Ropes, what solenoid did the BCF one have , Im going to look at the Supercheap one tomorrow.
Cheers Dave
Post by: Matto on April 19, 2012, 09:29:15 AM
That's good - I'd hate to be responsible for putting you in a depressed mood!  ;D

I like the Tigerz winches - I think they're a good bit of gear. I think, as you've pointed out, that some of these cheaper winches are mising the features that you get as part of the Tigerz package.

I personally have no need or desire for a wireless remote, but the solid-state solenoid pack that Tigerz use is a big bonus for me. My plan, if I do end up with the Supercheap one, would be to run the original solenoid pack until it dies then swap it out for a "good" one. But knowing me, I'd probably end up doing it sooner rather than later as I'd be living in fear of the original carcing it.

Having a quick scout around the forums last night, it seems these 12,000lber SCA winches have been around for a while. Some people having good luck with them, some not. It seems there were a lot of negative vibes about the 9.5 SCA winch. Someone did mention the 12,000lb one having problems with running rope due to the heat build-up in the drum, but I was unable to verify whether they were talking from experience, or just opining.

Would be interested to hear from anyone who has one of these units.

Cheers!
Post by: schmik on April 19, 2012, 01:39:20 PM
On the subject of the awnings, the bag does leak.  A LOT.

IMO it is not the stitching, it is the zip. The zip is not at the bottom of the bag. It's NEAR the bottom.
Can't even think of a DIY way of fixing it.

Maybe add some drain holes at the bottom.
Post by: Ropes on April 21, 2012, 11:38:02 AM
Hi Ropes, what solenoid did the BCF one have , Im going to look at the Supercheap one tomorrow.
Cheers Dave

Not exactly sure to be honest, I'll probably do the same as Matto though and upgrade it to the Tigerz one, definitely not for the wireless, because the Tigerz wireless is kinda stupid (it still has to be plugged in) but mainly for the better box it all comes in.
The BCF and I think the SCA ones don't come with a wireless controller, so I just installed something similar to this  12V Winch Wireless Remote Control Kit (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/12V-Winch-Wireless-Remote-Control-Kit-Truck-Jeep-ATV-Warn-Ramsey-/110851867618?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item19cf4943e2)

Craig
Post by: Campfire on April 21, 2012, 11:53:58 AM
What a great link,  some pretty cheap gear there and definitely a few items which have caught my attention.

Thanks for posting that up.

Campfire
Post by: Matto on April 22, 2012, 09:30:53 PM
Long story short, there's now a 12,000 pounder from Supercheap sitting on my dining room table.

Will pull it down this week to re-grease, inspect the insides, and clock the gearbox housing. Might get a chance to install it this week, if not, it'll be about a month before I get another free weekend. Once it's on I'll give it a couple of trial runs to see if it works out. Worse-case, it blows up and I take it back for a refund. But I'm quietly confident - this particular winch seems to have been around for a while and so long as you take care of them, they seem to get a good rap from people who use them harder than I'm ever likely to.

And so ends my quest to send this thread about cheap Tigerz11 gear off into the sunset. As you were!

Cheers!