General => Introductions => Topic started by: ranewman on March 03, 2012, 12:24:50 AM

Title: Hello from Virginia, US
Post by: ranewman on March 03, 2012, 12:24:50 AM
Hey everyone! I stumbled across this site in the wee hours one morning, and from what I have seen...its pretty dam awesome! I currently have a 3/4 t military project, towed by a 97 Discovery (217k miles and running strong). I have picked some some great ideas...thanks every one!
I will be looking for the stickers and shirts during my travels around the states. How to see you on the trails. :cheers:
Rick
Title: Re: Hello from Virginia, US
Post by: Squalo on March 03, 2012, 12:53:26 AM
Hi Rick and welcome

It's pretty Australia-centric, but there are plenty of US MySwaggers too.

I've seen the 3/4 t trailers they have in Canadia, I assume yours would be along those lines - i.e. pretty damn tough looking unit.

People here like pictures, lots of pictures... :)
Post by: speewa158 on March 03, 2012, 05:07:06 AM
Welcome to MySwag
We are not far apart we love to get out in the bush when ever we can . Great to hear from you . :cheers:
Post by: sol on March 03, 2012, 05:39:07 AM
G'day Rick and welcome to MySwag
Look forward to the pics mate.

Post by: krisandkev on March 03, 2012, 06:40:25 AM
Welcome, why don’t you go for a bit of a drive and come here!  It is not far...  ;D 
Enjoy your travels.  Kevin
Post by: Muso on March 03, 2012, 06:40:57 AM
Howdy Rick from Virginia USA and welcome

From Glenn in Virginia South Australia :laugh: (true, check my profile)
Post by: GU_Thomo on March 03, 2012, 06:45:23 AM
Welcome Rick,

Post by: Tracey family on March 03, 2012, 07:01:41 AM
g/day Rick

welcome to the show 

from Scott    :cheers:
Title: Hello from Virginia, US
Post by: BigJules on March 03, 2012, 07:17:14 AM
G'day & Welcome Rick, thanks for posting up.

We've got about a dozen members from North America who post up, always nice to share and learn.
Post by: grc on March 03, 2012, 08:13:03 AM
welcome rick from downunder one tuff camper trailer

cheers grc     :cheers:
Post by: Snow on March 03, 2012, 08:43:23 AM
G'day Rick and welcome to Myswag. Methinks spotting a Myswag sticker on another vehicle over there will be a proverbial needle in a haystack. But hey, what a challenge!! ;D
Post by: Swannie on March 03, 2012, 08:55:34 AM
G'Day Rick and welcome to the best camper trailer forum in australia!!!! Looking forward to the pics mate.

Post by: Black Diamond on March 03, 2012, 09:18:11 AM
Gday Rick, welcome aboard mate and look forward to proceedings  :cheers:
Post by: McAbouts on March 03, 2012, 09:18:26 AM
Wow! Such a long way away. How did you find the site? I'm amazed. Welcome and enjoy all we have to offer. Have you been to Oz at all?

Louise :D
Post by: Jenko67 on March 03, 2012, 10:58:03 AM
Welcome mate, hope you enjoy the site..

Scott
Post by: tropicbird54 on March 03, 2012, 05:55:20 PM
G'day ranewman and welcome to Myswag.
Talk about from one side of the globe to the other!!  I'm guessing it's still pretty cold over your way.  Do much camping during your winter months or do you have to wait for spring and summer??
Enjoy your time here on the site - lots of info as you have probably discovered already.
Sharyn  :D
Post by: ranewman on March 03, 2012, 06:59:04 PM
Thanks for all the welcomes. I have never been to Oz....but it looks great! You guys have a lot of areas to go "play".  We are running out of places left, due to new rules and trail closings in the Nat'l Parks, and private property closings.
When I put my RTT on my Disco, I can attach the "room" and yes....winter camping is never an issue. Put a "buddy" heater in the room on med....and the tent says around 75f even when outside temps reach the teens.
I will try to post up some pics of both my project, and a winter off road camp from a couple of weeks ago.
Well.....off to go cruz the site.....you all ROCK!
Rick
Post by: Mace on March 03, 2012, 09:00:59 PM
Good stuff Rick, Welcome.

Will be interesting to see pics of your adventures.

I guess we are lucky, we do have a lot of area to play in.  We live in a similar sized landmass,  but there's only 25 million of us instead of 250 million.

Post by: lockyer on March 04, 2012, 06:32:28 AM
G'day Rick and welcome, it is a great site for info and good for a few laughs as well.

Post by: Hairs on March 04, 2012, 04:42:53 PM
G'day Rick,
Look forward to seeing your pictures of your camping trips.
Yeah same thing here, more areas are being closed, because some can't do the right thing and NP's flexing their authority over areas.
Anyway,
Safe & happy travels.
Post by: Chris-Vi on March 04, 2012, 07:27:38 PM
G'day Rick, That must have been some late night trolling to find our forum.  8)  Look forward to some photo's of your setup. With your climate you must be limited to the time you can go camping unless you have a great heater.  :laugh: I know from my limited time in FL I wouldn't get the use of a camper over there like I do here.  :cheers:
PS. My wife is from FL. Had a big trip to import her.  :laugh:
Post by: Heiny on March 04, 2012, 08:56:29 PM
Hi Rick and welcome to My Swag

Post by: snakehips on March 05, 2012, 07:10:53 AM
Hey Rick welcome.

Where are you in Virginia?  My dad's lived in the US for 30 years and was based in a small hamlet I can't remember the name of, a few miles up the hill from Front Royal, in the Blue Ridge Mountains. 

Visited him there a few times; a beautiful area.

Have fun on the site!

Cheers, Morgs
Post by: Aussie Blue on March 05, 2012, 08:54:51 AM
Welcome Rick, you will enjoy your cruising here.
We want to get over there for about 6mths, hire a Winnebago and cruise around.
Grand Canyon rafting trip is a certainty.

Blue
Post by: Dreama on March 05, 2012, 06:13:37 PM
G'day Rick and welcome.
I hope you enjoy your time on the aussie version.

Ray
Post by: Wandering Tassie on March 07, 2012, 08:10:46 AM
Hi Rick, welcome to My Swag.
I will leave the camping in the snow all to you. I prefer the sun and sand.