General => General Discussion => Topic started by: McGirr on February 22, 2012, 08:35:13 PM

Title: Quick over night Meals when camping !!!
Post by: McGirr on February 22, 2012, 08:35:13 PM

You pull up at a campsite and it is 1hour before sunset !!

What meals do you cook that are quick and easy or do you have prepapeard meals ready to go.

Whether you have kids or not,  it would be interesting to hear what members do.

Post by: BigJules on February 22, 2012, 08:39:14 PM
Snag sangas are a staple.
Noodles and Leggos spaghetti sauce with meat takes less than 6 minutes.
Jaffles or toasties done in the frypan.
Uncle Bens rice in a bag with stuff added. 
Title: Re: Quick over night Meals when camping !!!
Post by: Teabag on February 22, 2012, 08:41:13 PM
Vacuumed pack Massaman Curry or the like ( make sure it is double sealed ) and place whole bag in boiling water. Once heated through, remove from water, cut the bag open and pour into bowl, ready to eat. Simple and no pots to clean. Can do this with pre cooked rice also. We do this with Spaghetti Bol, chilli concarne and all stews. Chilli con carne is great with potato out of camp fire.....
Post by: Swannie on February 22, 2012, 08:46:59 PM
Snag sangas are a staple.
Noodles and Leggos spaghetti sauce with meat takes less than 6 minutes.
Jaffles or toasties done in the frypan.
Uncle Bens rice in a bag with stuff added.

Post by: Manjimike on February 22, 2012, 08:48:00 PM
Poached eggs on toast
Jaffles
Post by: Swannie on February 22, 2012, 08:50:58 PM
Forget the cooking... Just fill up on beer  ;D
Post by: Frostd on February 22, 2012, 08:59:21 PM
Vacuumed pack Massaman Curry or the like ( make sure it is double sealed ) and place whole bag in boiling water. Once heated through, remove from water, cut the bag open and pour into bowl, ready to eat. Simple and no pots to clean. Can do this with pre cooked rice also. We do this with Spaghetti Bol, chilli concarne and all stews. Chilli con carne is great with potato out of camp fire.....

We are the same.  Pre-cooked meals. Quick & easy.  Spend a few hours making them before you leave, will give you more time sitting on the banks of the creeks on the OTL
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on February 22, 2012, 09:03:04 PM
Eggs n beans

Or

Braised steak and onion toasted sangers!
Post by: tropicbird54 on February 22, 2012, 09:09:44 PM
For our first night we seem to have fallen into a habit of having a Birds Eye Create-a-Meal (honey soy) with chicken.  The chicken is already chopped up (done at home) - fry it up, add the sauce and vegies from the pack and Bob's your uncle  - nice and quick and very yummy with lots of vegies.  Sometimes add some 2 min. noodles but not always.

Other quick ones after a long day's drive are sausage sangas or jaffles.   Love jaffles with left over spag. bol. with cheese.
Post by: JCOJ on February 22, 2012, 09:10:47 PM
Latina - 5 mins and it's done!
Post by: outback jack on February 22, 2012, 09:55:17 PM
a can or two of baked beans and bacon "plus"

(http://i1181.photobucket.com/albums/x429/jackbparsons/images-12.jpg)
Post by: rodsswag on February 22, 2012, 10:05:21 PM
Could there be a show of hands who is haveing beans, so the rest of us know where not to go lol

Rod....

PS I think I will have sweet chill baked beans to keep me warm at night  ;D
Post by: Wargod_70 on February 22, 2012, 10:18:27 PM
Could there be a show of hands who is haveing beans, so the rest of us know where not to go lol

Rod....

PS I think I will have sweet chill baked beans to keep me warm at night  ;D

Has any one seen the campfire scene out of Blazing Saddles ?
Post by: TOPNDR on February 22, 2012, 10:39:00 PM
Prepare dinner in the morning, place in shuttle chef, all washing done in morning, dinner ready when we pull over.   :D
Post by: Proudy on February 22, 2012, 10:46:42 PM
We have soup in the winter prepacked in vacuum sealed bag just drop in a pot of boiling water or steak and eggs.   :cheers:
Post by: Fridge Magnet on February 23, 2012, 02:45:50 AM
We usually eat spag carbonara. Bacon, eggs, garlic., parmesan. Easy as:D:D

Sent using Tapatalk
Post by: speewa158 on February 23, 2012, 03:11:07 AM
Forget the cooking... Just fill up on beer  ;D
Post by: fishfinder on February 23, 2012, 05:28:56 AM
normally start off with a soup then we will cook up a dish of chillie mussels with freshly baked crusty bread after that a 500gm scotch fillet with a bug tail topped with a white garlic source asparagus and baked spuds and depending on the climate i will get the wife to wack an apple pie together with freshly made custard or quickly do a trifle .
Post by: sol on February 23, 2012, 05:34:42 AM
normally start off with a soup then we will cook up a dish of chillie mussels with freshly baked crusty bread after that a 500gm scotch fillet with a bug tail topped with a white garlic source asparagus and baked spuds and depending on the climate i will get the wife to wack an apple pie together with freshly made custard or quickly do a trifle .

;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Redback on February 23, 2012, 06:41:37 AM
Bacon and egg sandwiches, steak and eggs, stirfry.

Post by: Desert lover on February 23, 2012, 07:21:43 AM
We generally carry several pre prepared meals such as green chicken curry, spag bol sauce, beef and onions in red wine, etc etc etc sealed in vaccuum seal bags.  Then it is a simple case of mashing some spuds or preparing some rice or pasta and we're all done.... Found we can watch the accompaniments cooking while enjoying a glass of the good stuff!  If we get in a little earlier then obviously we go the full three course dinner, white table cloth, candles and alike!!! (I wish!)
Post by: landyowner on February 23, 2012, 09:40:11 AM

:D  Likewise, I do the same but with Chicken Tikka Masala or Chicken Madras. Last time I did this was on a Snow camp in the High Country in August, I was staying in my mates CT, I said I would take care of dinner when we arrived there. 10 mins of Tikka Masala in boiling water and we were done. I think my mate was pretty impressed overall!! ;D

Spag bolg is a good one to do as well. My Vacsealer is just a $99 one from Aldi a couple of years ago, but it does the job.

Col.
Post by: snakehips on February 23, 2012, 10:21:56 AM
We sometimes take pre-made corned beef hash.

Mix up:
Mashed potato
Tin of corned beef
Onion (raw or cooked)
Tin of baked beans
Worcestershire sauce

Quick to make, quick to reheat, and the onions and bean combo gives you at least 3 hours of Mel Brooks style merriness around the campfire  8)
Post by: Wargod_70 on February 23, 2012, 11:39:00 AM
We sometimes take pre-made corned beef hash.

Mix up:
Mashed potato
Tin of corned beef
Onion (raw or cooked)
Tin of baked beans
Worcestershire sauce

Quick to make, quick to reheat, and the onions and bean combo gives you at least 3 hours of Mel Brooks style merriness around the campfire  8)

More beans, Mr. Taggart?  ;D ;D
Post by: jwb on February 23, 2012, 11:50:18 AM
The last extended trip we had frozen servings of
1. beef & black bean mix
2. Spag Bog
3. Sweet N Sour pork
4. Sweet N Sour Chicken
5. Lightly curried Mince

So all I needed to do was re-heat the main item and boil the water for pasta, noodles, toast or jaffle iron on fire
I used the microwave type of packet rice and just chucked it in with the dish. Worked well!

Post by: UTE 701 on February 23, 2012, 11:50:43 AM
http://youtu.be/MDVrmSEZEKg (http://youtu.be/MDVrmSEZEKg)
Post by: earle on February 23, 2012, 01:48:13 PM
We do similar to above posts with vac-sealed meals. If we've got a trip planned soon we will cook double batches of a meal, eat half and freeze/vac seal the other half. If its something like spag bol we might even include pre-cooked spagetti.

Post by: Hefty on February 23, 2012, 02:11:31 PM
Preparing before you leave is definitely the way to go.
My brother and I were part of a group hunting trip to the Cape a few years back and the difference in cooking times between the groups who pre-packaged/froze/vac-packed stuff and those who didn't on most nights could be measured in hours!

But, don't freeze too well if it's for the first night. On a weekend trip to Charlie Moreland the year before last, we made a double batch of spag bol about half a week before the trip: half for dinner, half in the bottom of the chest freezer for the trip.
Forgot to let it defrost on the drive to camp. A full set up in light rain was not long enough to melt the frozen block of bolognaise sauce in a saucepan over a 3 ring burner. We sat around for another half hour before it was ready!

We normally do spag bol (as above but not rock solid :cheers:),
chicken curry and rice (fry chicken and onion, jar of sauce, tin of coconut cream, and rice),
a pasta pack or rice pack with some kind of protein and frozen veg thrown in,
or something between soup and pasta carbonara based on a tin of cream of mushroom soup and a tin of tuna.

Cheers!
Jono.
Post by: Sullyman on February 23, 2012, 03:36:38 PM
A favourite of ours is fill a zip lock freezer bag with pre-cut chicken and a bottle of stir fry satay sauce.
Fry it up in 5-10 minutes at camp and boil some rice we want some extra filling.

Another option is to buy some chicken and vegie stir fry from Leonards.
Post by: Sharshebelle1 on February 23, 2012, 03:47:02 PM
Similar to a lot of people,  either vacuum sealed curry,  or pasta and pesto sauce with garlic bread cooked in the foil.
Post by: Black Diamond on February 23, 2012, 03:51:38 PM
Cant beat a nice bowl of Spag Bolognaise pre made at home for a quick re heat  :cheers:  :cheers:
Post by: Redcherokee on February 23, 2012, 06:22:02 PM
Sheesh. You lot are enthusiastic.

What about when it's well after nine and dark (or wet) by the time you are set up.  Those are the nights when nothing beats a pack of Mr Smith's finest crinkle cut potato (salted) and a bottle of red.

Vegies are healthy. :angel:
Post by: briann532 on February 23, 2012, 08:35:01 PM
Sheesh. You lot are enthusiastic.

What about when it's well after nine and dark (or wet) by the time you are set up.  Those are the nights when nothing beats a pack of Mr Smith's finest crinkle cut potato (salted) and a bottle of red.

Vegies are healthy. :angel:

Oh Yeah................been there many a time, but I must confess I progressed the kettle "lime and cracked pepper" :-[ :-[ :-[

Post by: heath74 on February 23, 2012, 09:16:56 PM
1)Ham and cheese toastie,
2)snag and bread, or
3)pasta and tir through sauce with a sliced up chorizo sausage thrown in.

Are a few of my stock spare meals.  All based around what the kids will eat.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on February 23, 2012, 09:54:57 PM
Bacon and egg sandwiches, steak and eggs, stirfry.

x 2.  You can marinate your chicken and chop vegies at home to do a stir fry.  Nothing quicker than any of these. 

We do very little "out of a can or packet" so if it's going to be food (eg: spag or curry), I do it all from scratch.  Yep ... sauces, curry pastes etc ... the old fashioned way ... with fresh ingredients.  No preservatives for this family where possible.

Post by: cruisindub on February 24, 2012, 05:12:13 AM
The same as Kit_e above,.....
always cooked from scratch.
My wife the chef, never ceases to amaze me at what she turns out, with our limited stocks and supplies, all while I ambusy doing my manly duties and being handed a cold beer or cocktail ...

Sometimes even just cheeseand bread and spreads etc for a no frills eat while sampling a good glass of wine,  usually when its my turn to cook.
Post by: Muso on February 24, 2012, 05:26:46 AM
A tin of Braised Steak and Onions on toast for me, although as my wife is a top cook that almost never happens. :laugh:
Post by: Sullyman on February 24, 2012, 08:11:39 AM
Hi - one of the big time savers we used to use (for both cooking and cleaning) was to use"boil in a bag" rice which we use to source from our local coles or woolies.  However I have not been able to find these now for quite a while and was wondering if anyone knows if they are still made and where to get them from.
Thanks.
Post by: earle on February 24, 2012, 09:11:10 AM
Probably been replaced with the microwave rice you can get in plain and all sorts of flavours. I suspect you could just sit the bag in boiling water to heat when camping.
Post by: Barrabart on February 24, 2012, 07:33:05 PM
Steak and onion cooked on a shovel blade over a fire....... throw between two slices of bread, bbq sauce....... job done..... yeah it's rough n ready...... but have done it a few times in the middle of the night when the pigs and roos were few and far between............ oh and yeah it was a clean shovel, gotta have some class! :cheers:
Post by: LJs GU on February 24, 2012, 08:49:49 PM
Barrabart, I'll be sure to lock that idea away in the grey matter for our next bush camping... that's sensational.  My kids (and the missus) would freak out seeing that.

In fact I may try it out on the stove at home for a trial run...   ;D

LJ

Sent from my wifes HTC Desire using Fingertalk while she puts the kids to bed while I drink Bundy out the front of the CT.
Post by: Mace on February 24, 2012, 09:29:08 PM
Steak and onion cooked on a shovel blade over a fire....... throw between two slices of bread, bbq sauce....... job done..... yeah it's rough n ready...... but have done it a few times in the middle of the night when the pigs and roos were few and far between............ oh and yeah it was a clean shovel, gotta have some class! :cheers:

Rabbit on a shovel - thats an old depression era meal.  I have tried it once many years ago - cooking dinner for the dog.  Couldnt quite come at it myself, tho I dont mind a bit of coney!

Post by: Barrabart on February 25, 2012, 04:25:33 AM
Barrabart, I'll be sure to lock that idea away in the grey matter for our next bush camping... that's sensational.  My kids (and the missus) would freak out seeing that.

In fact I may try it out on the stove at home for a trial run...   ;D

LJ

Sent from my wifes HTC Desire using Fingertalk while she puts the kids to bed while I drink Bundy out the front of the CT.

Ah yes....... sounds great........ shovel cooking in the kitchen.... make sure you use a long handled shovel just to add a bit of flare to the whole cooking procedure.......... the kids love it when i clear almost everything from the kitchen benchtops i a couple of skillfully executed manoveurs............. do you have ceiling fans at your place?...... they can be a hassle..... hehe
Post by: sol on February 25, 2012, 06:18:52 AM
Ah yes....... sounds great........ shovel cooking in the kitchen.... make sure you use a long handled shovel just to add a bit of flare to the whole cooking procedure.......... the kids love it when i clear almost everything from the kitchen benchtops i a couple of skillfully executed manoveurs............. do you have ceiling fans at your place?...... they can be a hassle..... hehe

;D ;D          :cheers:
Post by: Old Croc + plus one on February 25, 2012, 09:12:28 AM
we also use the vac seal to put meals away for late stops best thing ever
Post by: buddha on February 26, 2012, 07:05:28 PM
anything thats quick and easy when i take the kids.snags,bacon,rissoles,baked beans,eggs,bread,sauce,vegemite pretty well covers all the meals over 4 days.
Post by: cewilson on March 02, 2012, 07:10:13 PM
An hour to go before dark - hell that's heaps of time!!!

For the late arrivals we tend to go with meals like steak & salad, cheese hamburgers, baked beans/spaghetti, sausages in bread - very similar to what we might have for lunch normally actually  :)
Post by: MDSimpson on March 02, 2012, 07:22:14 PM
I love the idea of vacuum packing a pre cooked meal, then reheating in the billy of water....

Here is a question for those that do this. What is a good, cheap brand of vacuum sealer? I am looking to get one so I can cook a few meals to take to Tuff Truck in a few weeks...

Post by: sako on March 02, 2012, 07:59:22 PM
Can this method of re heating be used on pre cooked rice?
Post by: LJs GU on March 02, 2012, 07:59:54 PM
Here is a question for those that do this. What is a good, cheap brand of vacuum sealer? I am looking to get one so I can cook a few meals to take to Tuff Truck in a few weeks...

MDSimpson,

I think I may be able to help you out there...

I've been looking at them for a while now and doing my homework with them, so I finally bought one of these off ebay.  Picked it up for $50 (plus post). It came with 10 bags.

(http://www.shoppingsquare.com.au/images/products/45294_2.jpg)

Try: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/230747406380?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/230747406380?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649)

Once you start looking around, you'll see that a lot of them are basically the same workings but just different plastic casings and design.

In fact used up 5 of the bags tonight for the first time on 'half a cow' I got from the butchers.  Impressed.

LJ
Post by: MDSimpson on March 05, 2012, 03:17:40 PM
Thanks for that, is the Pavo branded one? On my list from fleabay. How do you find it? Works ok? Does it take the rolls or just the pre cut bags?

Post by: LJs GU on March 05, 2012, 03:48:49 PM
Thanks for that, is the Pavo branded one? On my list from fleabay.

Sorry I don't understand what you're asking here...  ???

How do you find it? Works ok?

So far so good. Seems to give good suction and sealing. 

Does it take the rolls or just the pre cut bags?

I've only got the 10 free bags that came with it at this stage but I know you can use it with the rolls.  I'll be looking at getting them next rather than the bags as you can make the bags up to sort your needs.

LJ
Post by: MDSimpson on March 05, 2012, 05:00:20 PM
Sorry, poor typing there. I meant to ask if it is the Pavo branded machine, from Shopping Square..? That is the one I am looking at, but closer inspection of your photo, shows it is the same one. So if your reports are good, I'll grab one.

Thanks again..