General => Introductions => Topic started by: hobidude on February 20, 2012, 03:10:22 PM

Title: just bought a GA camper trailer
Post by: hobidude on February 20, 2012, 03:10:22 PM
Been working same job just on 10 years and long service leave has appeared  :cheers:. Time for some touring so have taken the plunge and after much research and trailing, bought a new Great Aussie Camper trailer. Big trip starts in 4 weeks so am busy doing some customising and buying gear.

Thanks to all who add value to sites like these. Lots of good info. Hope I can add some as I become more experienced with trailer touring.
Have been camping and 4x4ing for the last 30 years and like nothing better than a camp fire, good cookup and a night under the stars.

Time for a few creature comforts to be in tow, keeps the other half happy too  ;D

Title: Re: just bought a GA camper trailer
Post by: Swannie on February 20, 2012, 03:12:36 PM
Great mate, looking forward to some pics and your adventures.

Post by: Dreama on February 20, 2012, 03:27:37 PM
G'day Hobidude,
Well done, hope you enjoy your well deserved break.
Dont forget to post up some pics of your mods and your trip.
Ray
Post by: Fun Police on February 20, 2012, 04:13:05 PM
Excellent!  We're just starting negotiations with them too for ours!!

What did you get??  What options etc?? and ... of course........ 

Post by: Hairs on February 20, 2012, 06:11:38 PM
G'day hobidude,
To myswag.
Well done, good stuff, yeah let the mods begin.
Please post up pics, we love pictures here.
Post by: Janbo on February 20, 2012, 06:54:00 PM
All the best and happy camping!!
Post by: gunna on February 20, 2012, 07:35:34 PM
Welcome to myswag hobi
Post by: Heiny on February 20, 2012, 08:04:55 PM
Hi hobidude and welcome to My Swag

Post by: hobidude on February 20, 2012, 08:25:54 PM
Excellent!  We're just starting negotiations with them too for ours!!

What did you get??  What options etc?? and ... of course........ 

just went with the base Yengo with upgraded kitchen (Drifta rules), enclosed awning. I love the high roof tent and was one of few at the show that "breathed"

Bullet proof 15oz canvas Aussie made tent and a tank of a trailer. Bit heavier than some but built like a brick s-ithouse. We wanted one that would last.
Have spent some time with 2 other brands and soon worked out what we didn't want. Also walking around 3 shows and seeing some demo models already showing faults we decieded to blow the budget and buy a well built unit.

Used it for a week on the South coast area. Very comfy. Water pump died but was an easy fix and Great Aussie Campers offered to pay for new pump and fittings before I even had a much of a winge.

Will start a thread, trip dairy, the good and the bad inc the whole package experience.

Post by: Black Diamond on February 20, 2012, 08:36:20 PM
 Welcome hobi and good luck with it all :cheers:
Post by: sol on February 20, 2012, 08:40:17 PM
G'day hobidude
Welcome to the forum and congrats on the camper.
Heaps of fun to look forward to mate  :cup:

Post by: V8 Grunt on February 20, 2012, 08:58:07 PM
Welcome to the Myswag family  8)
Post by: BigJules on February 21, 2012, 07:23:53 AM
G'day & Welcome Hobidude.

I haven't seen a GA camper, look forward to your pics.
Post by: hobidude on February 21, 2012, 02:28:00 PM
Thanks for the warm welcome.

Will start an owners thread soon.
Looks like this one (photo off their site)

http://www.greataussiecampers.com.au/camper-trailer-sales.html (http://www.greataussiecampers.com.au/camper-trailer-sales.html)

Their FAQ's is a good read too

Post by: Fun Police on February 21, 2012, 05:29:24 PM
You need to petition Brett in this thread (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=1231.0 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=1231.0)) to get Great Aussie added in.

There's at least four people on here who own then, plus us in the near future.

Saw your busted-ass water pump today when I popped in on the way back from a job to quiz Shane about a few things.

They really are built like tanks, eh!
Post by: hobidude on February 22, 2012, 01:16:36 PM
Started a owners thread, an ongoing review really.

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=20087.0 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=20087.0)

Post by: BigJules on February 22, 2012, 01:30:46 PM
You need to petition Brett in this thread (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=1231.0 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=1231.0)) to get Great Aussie added in.

There's at least four people on here who own then, plus us in the near future.

Saw your busted-ass water pump today when I popped in on the way back from a job to quiz Shane about a few things.

They really are built like tanks, eh!

Added
Post by: Snow on February 22, 2012, 08:09:47 PM
G'day Hobidude and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on February 23, 2012, 04:18:28 AM
Hobidude
To Mod or not to Mod , Bugger it do it anyway  :cheers:
Welcome to MySwag  :cheers:
Post by: McAbouts on February 23, 2012, 08:31:55 AM
Welcome Hobidude.
Fantastic area you live in. Central to fabulous places to use the CT.
Have great trip. Where are you off to?

Louise :D
Post by: IH8TRMAC on February 23, 2012, 10:56:35 AM
Welcome Hobidude

Hope you have a great trip and it doesn't go too quick for ya.

Post by: grc on February 23, 2012, 06:33:10 PM
welcome hodidude the journey begins
Post by: Wandering Tassie on February 24, 2012, 01:36:05 AM
Welcome hobidude to My Swag.
Bet your counting down the days for the long service to begin.
Looking forward to the trip report.

Post by: steve223 on April 24, 2012, 09:53:57 AM
hello together,

I also just ordered my GA Yengo trailer at the Sydney show, after two days comparing everything on the show and 3 month of Internet based research beforehand + seeing campers like GIC, MDCS etc. I really liked the build and features the best within my budget (which I needed to stretch a bit). looking forward to receive trailer in mind July.

steve
Post by: Fun Police on April 24, 2012, 10:31:36 AM
My Yengo is due mid June-ish.

Good choice!!
Post by: hobidude on April 24, 2012, 06:56:59 PM
yeh, I think they are good value for the dollars.
I like to support local gear too. Talking to many, times are pretty slow and the budget Chinese CT's are killing off many local manufacturers.

I like to think you get what you pay for but some of the cheapy ones look the goods but dont appear to be built to last.
When we hit the barge to take us to Fraser Is I asked the guy how the Ct's faired on the ough inland sand roads. He had a chuckle and relayed several storyies of lesser quality CT's having their whole axel assemblies torn out! Ours copped a fair workout with no issues. Also a huge Southerly hit one night and apart from the whole trailer being moved around there were no concerns raised.

We learnt to setup for the rain if expected as your perfectly square setup is better leaned over a bit to prevent any pooling.
Also check in the morning if rain is on the way. It can importantly influence if you get up and hook in or just have another lazy breaky, SSS type morning. Satalite image is gold, androud phones very helpfull. Nothing worse than packing up a wet camper in the rain....

Post by: disco95 on April 24, 2012, 07:12:47 PM
WELCOME AND ENJOY YOUR TRIP. :cheers:
Post by: Steinzy on April 24, 2012, 10:36:55 PM
Welcome along and congrats on the purchase