General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Teabag on February 01, 2012, 06:17:26 PM

Title: U-Bute Gas BBQ
Post by: Teabag on February 01, 2012, 06:17:26 PM
U-Bute BBQ is $59.00 on Catch of the Day..... :cheers:

http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/ (http://www.catchoftheday.com.au/)
Title: Re: U-Bute Gas BBQ
Post by: McGirr on February 01, 2012, 06:26:01 PM
Got mine for $49 when they were on special  ;D

Post by: Robbo on February 01, 2012, 06:59:46 PM
Looks like it could be a handy little unit to have. Just checked out their website, were they originally $199 or is that just a sales pitch. Do you have to be a member on Catch of the Day to make a purchase or can anyone buy straight off their site?
Also has anyone else on here bought and used one and what did you think of them?

Robbo
Post by: Bushman on February 01, 2012, 07:08:34 PM
BARGAIN!  been thinking of one of those, retail $199 (from website) Christmas special $99
Post by: Sixtys Guy on February 01, 2012, 07:19:52 PM
Tradelink stores have them nationwide for $99 (normal price). I think the $199 RRP might be a little optimistic!
Post by: JohnT on February 01, 2012, 07:46:09 PM
Wife said no :(
Post by: Jardry on February 01, 2012, 07:58:38 PM
$59 plus delivery on Catch Of The Day today!!
No way would I pay $199!!!
My 2.2 cents worth (GST Inc)
Post by: bobnrob on February 01, 2012, 09:06:26 PM
NÂș1 son asked me today about them, told him a few on here had bought 'em in the past & seemed to have positive reports, so he's ordered his :)

We got him his own tent for xmas. He's already used it 3 times, & now he's looking & buying his own gear to enhance it  :cup:
Just gotta get him to sign up here now  ;D

by Robbo
Do you have to be a member on Catch of the Day to make a purchase or can anyone buy straight off their site?
You do need to create an account for yourself mate.
Post by: singo-26 on February 01, 2012, 11:12:53 PM
Wife said no :(

I didn't give her a choice(ordered whilst she is at work).   ;D ;D
Post by: danbo81 on February 01, 2012, 11:28:49 PM
I didn't give her a choice(ordered whilst she is at work).   ;D ;D
Post by: achjimmy on February 02, 2012, 06:19:04 AM
They were $199 when they first came out, maybe a even higher I think. They tried to market them as a full BBQ when really they will never have the heat a full gas BBQ will have. But considering how many times I use the little single burners doubled up with a plate across both I reckon these at $60-70 are a good buy so have ordered one.
Post by: Swogjb on February 02, 2012, 09:32:10 AM
For that price I would have definitely snapped one up.
But they are sold out already >:(
Post by: Teabag on February 15, 2012, 06:49:24 PM
Well, mine arrived today and had sent a request to send it back. On one side it was all caved in, looked like it had been dropped. I took pictures of it damaged before I tried to fix it but the left hand burner leaked gas with dangerous flames out the side. So, now the wait for them to sort out a replacement.....
Post by: Jenko67 on February 16, 2012, 04:37:49 PM
Hey Teabag, that's no good mate... I got one just after xmas... they are perfect.... i just take it out of the case to store it in the camper... takes up too much room otherwise... COTD are pretty good with returns....
Post by: Teabag on February 16, 2012, 05:28:37 PM
Hey Teabag, that's no good mate... I got one just after xmas... they are perfect.... i just take it out of the case to store it in the camper... takes up too much room otherwise... COTD are pretty good with returns....

I hope so. They wanted me to send pics which I have done. Thing is I want a replacement, not my money back or store credit which are the only 2 options they appear to give....I needed it for this weekend, bugger.....I hope they act soon....
Post by: jasndeb97 on February 16, 2012, 05:50:59 PM
Mine turned up on Tuesday undamaged luckily.Hope to try it out this weekend
Post by: swanny on February 17, 2012, 07:06:11 AM
Got one for xmas, cooked chrissy lunch on it, baby snapper by the way, they are the bomb, defo a must for camping.

Swanny