General => General Discussion => Topic started by: mickkez on December 04, 2011, 08:04:13 AM
Hi fellow swaggers,
I am seriously thinking about putting up Xmas lights at my place. Has anyone else done this? If so, what sort of lights have you used?
:cheers: Mick
Don't you mean SWMBO has advised you that you are putting up Xmas lights lol :)
I never have but was considering it this year as it is my boys first Christmas.
I was thinkining about this kit
http://www.harveynormanbigbuys.com.au/BuyDetailsPage.aspx?itemNo=XA4926 (http://www.harveynormanbigbuys.com.au/BuyDetailsPage.aspx?itemNo=XA4926)
They also have these
http://www.harveynormanbigbuys.com.au/BuyDetailsPage.aspx?itemNo=XA4925 (http://www.harveynormanbigbuys.com.au/BuyDetailsPage.aspx?itemNo=XA4925)
http://www.harveynormanbigbuys.com.au/BuyDetailsPage.aspx?itemNo=XA4924 (http://www.harveynormanbigbuys.com.au/BuyDetailsPage.aspx?itemNo=XA4924)
My wife was at me about putting up the Christmas lights .
I did nothing ...
But she kept going on and on and on about putting up those lights .
She never stopped about putting up those lights ....
So I put them up , and now she's not talking to me ....
(http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae110/shootnrun_photos/Christmas/ChristmasLights.jpg)
I can appreciate that, Ute :cup:
Looks alright to me mate, just like a mirror ball but lights up with purty colours. ;D
This is our 2011 effort -
I have a simple string or two of coloured lights along the front of my house. End of effort. After 10 years in position, they are no longer coloured, and after running in a new cattle dog, they are no longer connected to the power supply. But they are still up there and look great when the sunlight hits them a certain way, but are completely useless at night. Must fix them up.
I have 2 strings of icicle lights for the camper, which are solar powered and they go up from Dec 1 onwards. Peg them onto the awning, shove the solar panel into the ground angled whatever way gets sun and they just work. Can be set to Constantly OFF / Flashing / Constantly On. When they run out of sun, they turn on. It's an alternative to other lights around the camper, but don't expect to read by them.
I do it every year, but my lovely wife did it for me yesty whilst i was at work, gotta love the chrissy lights.
Swanny.
we have lights across the front of the house that never come down but only get turned on for December.
I'm not a big fan on xmas lights but my better 1/2 like them
Here is our effort from last year.
I wanted to put up one like this.... but SWMBO didn't think it was a good idea >:D
(http://cdn.randomfunnypicture.com/pictures/993The_Peeing_Santa.jpg)
Christmas lights, I love Christmas lights.
Dont have a photo to post up but when I get home from my week on I will try to post some up. On my last week off i spent 5 full days doing up my yard and house, in total so far around the 15,000 light bulbs. Some what down on what I usually do but time has got away from me this year, trying to do to many things on my days off.
Next weekend we are having a FNQ Mysway camp out and I will be setting up my Trackabout with christmas lights for the weekend , I will also try to get photos of this, but I am also trying to encourage the others that come to bring lights along as well.
When we lived in Brisbane I used to do them every year. After a few years I had amassed a nice collection and the neighbors expected it. I knew it was decent when a bus or two turned up :cup:
However a few years ago we moved out here to the country so I stopped doing them as we're too far out for anyone to visit. I usually put up an LED Santa and reindeer on the roof and some light strings from my display days.
This year there will nothing at all due my surgery and bone graft last week ;D. Can't really get on the roof this December
christmas lights rule :cheers: we do it every year, we live out in the middle of nowhere, but near a well used road so have heaps of fun trying to make the place stand out a bit.... the climb up the trees is always interesting....
solar led lights are great as no power outlets needed... go led if you can heaps easier to maintain!!!
im going to try and make some shapes out of wire and wind the solar led's to it, should work and hopefully be a bit cheaper...
I worked on the boat today whilst she turned our house into a landing strip. (apologies for the crap images)
Looking out the front door
(http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7174/6451556143_45b17713ed_b.jpg)
Poor innocent wine barrel, caught in the cross fire
(http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7162/6451556401_86eb2cdcae_b.jpg)
Though I am impressed with this baby, a real tree. Can't get a star on top because it's touching the 9ft ceiling ;D
(http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7010/6451556617_e52248bf78_b.jpg)
I'm told there's another 100m of lighting to go somewhere yet. I think I will start living more at the neighbors house.
I'm a bit of a 'xmas free zone', much to the frustration of the Mrs.
If I was to put up lights, the one below sort of appeals to me, but I know it will just never happen!
PM Clark Griswold for some ideas ;D
Here's an idea ..... ( The guy on the right , I mean ! ) :laugh:
(http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae110/shootnrun_photos/Christmas/XMAS2.jpg)
Its a start l suppose ???
Did you ever see the story on the guy who had record numbers of people stopping at his house during Christmas .
Quite an easy set up and bound to get alot of looks ...... :laugh: :laugh:
(http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae110/shootnrun_photos/Christmas/XMAS1.jpg)
Oh yea, love to have heartache...
(http://www.achristmasstoryhouse.com/images/ChristmasVacation/ChristmasVactionHouse.jpg)
(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_hiseK5tP3XY/TF1dLxPSg5I/AAAAAAAAAvM/6fVJ5Xb4DFI/s1600/eddie.jpg)
if ya going to do it do it all or nothing
(http://babyology.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Christmas-lights.jpg)
This was my token effort a few years ago.
Make sure that with the lights you buy the string will still work if one goes out.
It takes a long time to check 1000 lights one by one. ;) ::)
(http://members.iinet.net.au/~rwindeyer/w4599a.jpg)
Just make sure you tie them up out of harms way ...
You don't want to kiddies to wake up and find this outside ..... :o
(http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae110/shootnrun_photos/Christmas/hanging_santa.gif)
i'm not allowed to do next years lights after this years effort ???
I did nothing ...
Just when was the last time it snowed in North Brisbane ??? ??? :cheers: >:D
(http://i962.photobucket.com/albums/ae110/shootnrun_photos/Christmas/ChristmasLights.jpg)
What snow ???
That's all the pure white sand I hose off after a trip to Moreton !!
:laugh: :laugh:
A few photos of my effort for this year.
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/35305-2/PC080003.JPG)
Lights up my driveway
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/35309-2/PC080006.JPG)
8 point star-5metres high and 4 metres wide
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/35312-2/PC080008.JPG)
Front of the house
Classic ;D
So who is doing it this year
http://www.canberratimes.com.au/act-news/canberra-house-shatters-christmas-lights-record-20131125-2y4nj.html (http://www.canberratimes.com.au/act-news/canberra-house-shatters-christmas-lights-record-20131125-2y4nj.html)
Last year there was a significant drop in the # of houses around our area with lights... Hopefully this year there are some more for the kids.
Email me through to Boxing Day then we can start again next year :cup: :cheers:
Just go for something simple like this....
Christmas Lights Gone Wild (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rmgf60CI_ks#)
While this is absolutely flaming AWESOME..............
I cry every time I see it as it makes my setup look pretty sad..........
I usually put lights and stuff up out the front, but hoping to get out of it this year since we are not home for Christmas. fingers crossed.
This is what we do every year,
Yep, nothin.... ;D >:D
I did nothing ...
Hey Ute, that's a great job you've done there, would you mind coming around to my place and giving me a hand with ours.. ;D ;D
I don't do the house, but I've been known to hang two sets of icicle lights up on the camper ... mood lighting that's solar powered.
Shoudn't that be "nude lighting" >:D
Yep. That too. When and where possible. It's cooler IMHO. :cup:
The foxwing makes a great Chrissy light holder .... here's last years
(http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5478/11046384526_79508ab7cf_c.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/sschmez/11046384526/in/photostream/)
usually put a few around the house to ... trying to find a pic
Found a couple of the house last year .......
(http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2873/11046859306_6548d80b0f_c.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/sschmez/11046859306/in/photostream/lightbox/)
(http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7431/11046873404_b0a1b3aed3_c.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/sschmez/11046873404/in/photostream/lightbox/)
Stevo
Some of those are gold!!!
I live next to the Griswalds...every single one of his presents for birthday or Christmas is a new blow up thing or lights. ???
Just showed SWMBO the 'DITTO' one and think that may be our our effort this year or something similar.
Normally do the gables of roof and icicles on the gutters. Kids want more each year. Less and less in our street do it now. Mate on the corner used to set his windows up like Myer...was something to behold. Then the 'cleaner' moved in....
I was thinking of something like this ( bah ahahahaha yeah rite)
Amazing Synchronized Dubstep Christmas House Lights To Skrillex Music. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4JhzRKRNIQ0#ws)
BAH HUMBUG.................................. ;D
(http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5478/11046384526_79508ab7cf_c.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/sschmez/11046384526/in/photostream/)
Hey,
I said TWO sets! :cup: Exactly how we do it though.
We do a few lights for our kids
Here is our effort from last year.
Nice ;D wish mine were that good :-[
http://www.canberratimes.com.au/act-news/christmas-light-crackdown-20131127-2y9my.html (http://www.canberratimes.com.au/act-news/christmas-light-crackdown-20131127-2y9my.html)
anyone into it this year..
I started today, but its harder than it looks to make it all look like it fits.... specially when your lazy like me :(
#1 daughter is into this and is making sure I remember to stock up after the xmas sales...
This year is very quiet in our street. Only two houses with anything and ours is a reduced effort. A few years ago we had traffic jams in the culdesac and had to wait for cars to clear to get into the driveway.
The weather here has been pretty ordinary. I planned to pop up on the roof and run a string around the guttering and along the ridge capping, but the hot weather during the day and storms at night have held that off. Maybe tomorrow?
We did ours down the marina, because there was $40.00 of beer to win.
It turns out, the shape around the back of the boat, when viewed from the Bar and Grille, is a profile of a Bassett hound. True.
I'll know tomorrow if I won too.
I should try to get a pic of it I guess.