General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on November 15, 2011, 10:23:33 PM

Title: Delkor Batteries
Post by: Bird on November 15, 2011, 10:23:33 PM
Team.
Anyone had recent experience with them?? Theres a few threads with mention in them, Baz for example but most are older threads.

Mate who works at a battery place recommended the Marine M27 as a good replacement for the crap Supercharge I have in there now.
http://www.ktbattery.com/vmchk/delkor/deep-cycle/marine/delkor-m27-deep-cycle-battery.html

Anyone used it?

Title: Re: Delkor Batteries
Post by: Symon on November 16, 2011, 03:51:45 AM
Where I work (large open cut mine) we only use Delkor batteries in our light vehicles.  Pretty good advertisement for them I reckon.
Post by: Redback on November 16, 2011, 06:47:49 AM
Delkor do the OEM replacement battery for the TD5, Cal/Cal 100AH 900 CCA, the DELKOR 31-900 (N89/90) not a deep cycle battery, but if this is any indication of what their marine deepcycle batteries are like, I'd buy one.

Post by: Bird on November 16, 2011, 11:11:03 AM
Thanks team, For the price compared to Ebay I might get 2 :)
Post by: Fivid on November 16, 2011, 01:40:17 PM
Have used Delkor batteries in the past and they have been quite good.  Our deep cycle dropped a cell right at the start of our trip to the Simpson earlier this year which was a bugger but it was getting close to 4 years old and about due for replacement anyway.  I know some local taxis here use them, get much better life expectancy from them than other brands.

Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on November 16, 2011, 01:52:19 PM
I had 2 x DC27's (not marine) for 6 years
only got rid of them because I changed from one supplier to another, so used their AGM's
Only thing I will say is you need to keep a slightly higher current up to them ;D
Post by: Mace on November 16, 2011, 01:54:07 PM
There is this forum on the opposition:

http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/9767/Calcium_Batteries.aspx

Good read, what is it about electrical forums??  ???
Post by: D4D on November 16, 2011, 04:32:44 PM
Only thing I will say is you need to keep a slightly higher current up to them ;D

I think you mean Volts as they are a Calcium battery
Post by: graham on November 16, 2011, 04:44:50 PM
G,day Lost , i have used them in the fourby& the boat and would not hesitate to use them again,brought mine from the battery joint down the road from the Hallam pub   cheers Graham
Post by: dno on November 16, 2011, 06:02:31 PM
G,day Lost , i have used them in the fourby& the boat and would not hesitate to use them again,brought mine from the battery joint down the road from the Hallam pub   cheers Graham
R&J batteries, usually pretty good prices too.
Post by: Symon on November 16, 2011, 07:00:06 PM
There is this forum on the opposition:

http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/9767/Calcium_Batteries.aspx

Good read, what is it about electrical forums??  ???

And you lot reckon I'm bad....
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on November 16, 2011, 07:18:47 PM
And you lot reckon I'm bad....

........ do they  :'( :'( :'(
Post by: Bird on November 16, 2011, 07:32:49 PM
R&J batteries, usually pretty good prices too.
yea not as good as mates price, he gets staffys at his work :)
Post by: Bird on November 17, 2011, 10:30:43 AM
Is this battery suitable to run inside the car? Im lookin to mount near cargo barrier.
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on November 17, 2011, 11:33:17 AM
As stated below, Delkor don't appear to manufacture a genuine "DEEP CYCLE" battery any more  :'(

They used to be prefixed them with the letters DC (Deep Cycle)
Marine batteries are basically Cranking batteries and prefixed with the letter M

DC 27 = 80ah
DC 31 = 100ah  (from memory)

As the cell structure of a Cranking battery and a Deep Cycle battery is manufactured to different specifications, I would suggest to have both (cranking & deep cycle) of optimum capacity in the same battery case, one has to be severely compromised, or both are partially compromised 8)
The Delkor website presently specifies Cranking batteries and Marine batteries only, so I would be looking at the technical specs of the two batteries to see the difference, if your unhappy with that then look at a genuine AGM Deep Cycle battery for running appliances, because they are the best technology available :cheers:

Is this battery suitable to run inside the car? Im lookin to mount near cargo barrier.

as the website states the battery has "vent holes" I would not suggest to use it in a vehicle

Post by: Bird on November 17, 2011, 01:44:48 PM
Ok.
Plan Z42b(ii) Sub Paragraph 12.

105ah Fullriver in the cargo area..

Post by: Fivid on November 18, 2011, 12:21:54 PM
When buying, check prices on a 120Ah.  From memory it was only something like $20 more hence we bought the 120AH Fullrivers for our CT...

Post by: Bird on November 18, 2011, 01:04:41 PM
Quote from: Fivid
When buying, check prices on a 120Ah.  From memory it was only something like $20 more hence we bought the 120AH Fullrivers for our CT...

Cheers for the idea Dave.

And you are correct! Sadly they dont fit in the standard battery tray in the Patrol :( Dan (DDR) tried it

I have the 120AH FR in the trailer.  You'd be shocked at the markup on them :(
Post by: Bird on March 05, 2012, 11:40:51 AM
Quote from: Lost and confused now..
Plan Z42b(ii) Sub Paragraph 12.
Abandoned Plan Z42b(ii) Sub Paragraph 12.

now Plan A22b(iv)

Lookin at 2 new for engine bay:

F/river
HC65ST/R cranking
DC105AH Aux, but still not keen on in engine bay :(

or

Delkor
D31L cranking
M27 80ah aux
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on March 05, 2012, 12:47:41 PM

Delkor
D31L cranking

M27 80ah aux

Both ( if I remember correctly) are Calcium batteries and require high voltage charging  :-[

( the M27 is a Marine battery so will be ok over in the Eastern States )
Post by: Bird on March 05, 2012, 01:20:35 PM
Quote from: Mainey
Both ( if I remember correctly) are Calcium batteries and require high voltage charging  :-[

( the M27 is a Marine battery so will be ok over in the Eastern States )
So how do I find out if they are suitable/charge rate?? Cause these were recommended to me by battery place.
Post by: ddr on March 05, 2012, 01:25:06 PM
With 105ah aux options available I cant understand why you'd even contemplate an 80ah one.
Post by: KevinD4D on March 05, 2012, 07:16:22 PM
I'll throw my 2c worth in here.
I have just replaced my Delkor 100AH Calcium as an Aux under the bonnet of the Prado.
It was a good battery for around 2 years but would not hold a charge any more. It had been abused and run down to 12V on many occasions so I should not complain. I have just replaced it with a Thumper Redback 100AH AGM. A lot heavier but hopefully will cycle better. How well it will handle the heat under there is anyone's guess but time will tell.
Post by: cruisindub on March 05, 2012, 10:24:19 PM
Nearly 4 months to chose a battery?
Hope you make a decision soon and rest easy knowing youve made the decision your happy with and get out there and enjoy.!!
Good luck !
Post by: Bird on March 06, 2012, 08:45:52 AM
Quote from: cruisindub
Nearly 4 months to chose a battery?
Hope you make a decision soon and rest easy knowing youve made the decision your happy with and get out there and enjoy.!!
Good luck !
yea having to do a battery swap 1/2 way through the trip the other week was the clincher.... ;)

*sigh*....
Post by: Matto on March 06, 2012, 02:44:38 PM
Lost,

Why did you abandon the plan to put the AGM inside the cargo area?

I know people run AGM's under the bonnet, but personally I'm just not a fan. If I were you, I'd go a big CCA starter up front, and a big AGM in the back. You should be able put a big one back there, if you want the larger capacity. I've got a 130Ah SSB on the camper, and it *just* fits in the large-sized plastic battery box. If you'd rather make your own box, you could experiment with different shaped batteries (ie, long and low, short and squat, etc) to get a shape that doesn't intrude much into your cargo area. I've seen people fit the long and low batteries at the back of draw systems, under the false floor between the draws and the cargo barrier. Something like that is a good solution, because it uses dead space.

My $0.02.

Post by: austastar on March 06, 2012, 03:29:59 PM
   search for Delkor on  Youtube (http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=delkor+battery&oq=delkor&aq=1&aqi=g3&aql=&gs_sm=1&gs_upl=154l19780l0l22695l10l10l2l0l0l0l343l2011l2-4.3l7l0).
Yes, it is their advertising, but it is technical and looks good to me.

No association etc.

Post by: Bird on March 06, 2012, 03:34:55 PM
Ordered and paid for... price was  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

PDF info on both.
(http://www.hefra.nl/partner/prodimg/orig/HC65.jpg)  (http://www.fullriver.com/products/admin/upfile/HC65ST.pdf)

(http://www.dcbattery.com/fullriver_dc105-12.jpg)  (http://www.fullriver.com/products/admin/upfile/DC105-12.pdf)
Post by: Bird on March 06, 2012, 03:39:48 PM
Quote from: Matto
Why did you abandon the plan to put the AGM inside the cargo area?
I'd have to rebuild the storage unit and CBF at all playin that game...

In all honesty thats my preference, but meh ;)
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on March 06, 2012, 05:27:01 PM
Ordered and paid for... price was  :cup:

Hope you bought the battery you needed and not just a battery cause it was making a noise like a small bird  :-*

The yellow is a Cranking battery and the grey is their Deep Cycle battery that they have been making forever - because it works ;D
Post by: LJs GU on March 06, 2012, 06:28:10 PM
The yellow is a Cranking battery and the grey is their Deep Cycle battery

You'll know which side of the engine bay to put them now Bruce...
Post by: KevinD4D on March 06, 2012, 06:45:58 PM
Can I ask where you got the HC65/ST from. In the market for a new starting battery.
Post by: Bird on March 06, 2012, 08:38:37 PM
Can I ask where you got the HC65/ST from. In the market for a new starting battery.
`RJ batteries
Post by: Bird on March 08, 2012, 03:59:14 PM
Pretty boxes..
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/batteries.jpg)

Now to extend the wiring on the Aux battery to reach the flamming arsebackwards terminals....  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: LJs GU on March 08, 2012, 04:16:58 PM
Now to extend the wiring on the Aux battery to reach the flamming arsebackwards terminals....  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Hahaha... been there, done that.  Just think of it as more 'Symon's 101' practice.
LJ
Post by: Matto on March 08, 2012, 04:19:48 PM
Are the terminal posts the right size?

Good luck!
(Who's managed to buy a battery with the terminals reversed, AND the wrong-sized posts before. Wasn't that fun.)
Post by: KevinD4D on March 08, 2012, 05:01:50 PM
I always leave at least enough cable for just that 'oh crap' moment. 8)
Post by: topcat on March 08, 2012, 08:36:29 PM
`RJ batteries

Gedday Lost - are they in Hallam. Might drop out to them.
Tony 
Post by: Bird on March 08, 2012, 09:54:59 PM
Quote from: topcat
Gedday Lost - are they in Hallam. Might drop out to them.
This was Tullamarine. but yea Hallam should be able to get em... Bendigo has stock too
Post by: Bird on July 14, 2016, 12:13:03 PM
Well the cranking battery was getting sad and I didn't know if it was to do with the possible parasitic draw I might have, or if it was rooted.
Anyway it was dead this morning.. got my arse up to RJ's in Hallam as I've always had great service there..

Tested it = fubar.

New Delkor M27 Marine battery goes in... Lovely with the extra posts for accessories to wire to... Much tidier.
(http://advanstv.ru/image/cache/data/accumulators/aa_1338291247_85-500x500.jpg)

As he fits the battery, the positive terminal on the main wire fell apart..
No questions, new terminal out of stock, cleaned up the wire for a better connection, then mounted it up..
Next he distributed the wires across both the + terminals and same with the -, so it all looks much neater - it *MAY* almost pass Swannie's OCD...  ;D

All up took bout 1 hour, no charge apart from the battery.