General => Introductions => Topic started by: jag001 on October 04, 2011, 08:26:13 PM
Hi there,
We're a family from Hobart with 1 little boy (18 months), I'm a full time graphic designer and brand manager, and my wife is a secondary school art teacher. We've just arrived back from a bit of a tour around Victoria where we picked up our eBay-purchased Pinnacle Camper Trailer all for under $4k... I still keep pinching myself that I got a camper that is that sturdy with that many options at that price. Yes its probably made in China and won't necessarily survive 20 years, but by then we'll be older and richer and will finally upgrade to a Cub. Unfortunately Pat Callinan was supposed to draw my name out so I could win a Patrol and a Cub camper but apparently he was under a bit of pressure to pick a random name....
Myswag has been brilliant in helping make the decision between all the budget campers, and after teeing the other options at the National 4x4 show in Melbourne I don't regret my decision one little bit!
Hopefully we'll have many trip and build-ups as the next few years progress, I love 4WDing and our little boy absolutely LOVES being outside.
Anyways thanks for a good forum, and please be gentle on our choice of camper ;D
Jade
Welcome to MySwag Jade, $2 camper or $100k camper, as long as you are out and about and getting the kids to enjoy the outdoors it is all that matters. Enjoy your stay and join in the banter
G/day jade
welcome
Hi and welcome aboard.
Welcome aboard Jade, hope you have many happy travels in your camper!
Welcome Jag, nothing wrong with your choice of camper, oh and lovely part of the world down there - love Tassie :cup:
dosent matter what camper mate your gunna enjoy camping even if ya swag,on ya well done
oh is it true about you taswegiansyou know the operation lol
Welcome to the forum Jade and family, look forward to some pics.
Welcome. always good to see more taswegians here
Hi and welcome to Myswag, good to see some more Tassie people on here.
Welcome to the forum jade, look forward to some pics.
Hello and welcome Jade
Hi Jade, you went to the show at Sandown too then? I was blown away with the size and the amount of gear that was being displayed there.
Look forward to your feedback on your trailer as I've been looking at them too for a while.
Great to see another Tassie member.
G'day Jade and welcome to Myswag. :cheers:
Good to see another southerner on here :cheers: I didn't go to the Sandown expo but did the one at the start of Sept which was a real eye opener. I will be making that an annual trip I reckon
Now all we need is some pics of your CT
Hi Jade and welcome to My Swag :cheers:
Ok,
so here are a few pics of the trailer, took a while sorry - and in a week or so I'll get some serious detail shots!
(http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj244/DELICATAS/Camper%20Trailer/DSCN0356.jpg)
(http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj244/DELICATAS/Camper%20Trailer/DSCN0423.jpg)
(http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj244/DELICATAS/Camper%20Trailer/DSCN0325.jpg)
(http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj244/DELICATAS/Camper%20Trailer/DSCN0420.jpg)
(http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj244/DELICATAS/Camper%20Trailer/DSCN0359.jpg)
(http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj244/DELICATAS/Camper%20Trailer/DSCN0424.jpg)
more to come soon - the trailer is starting to work out very well for us, and made it up to the far NW coast of Tassie and down a bit of the west with no worries at all :D
Hi Jag, the camper looks good.
Were was the last photo taken.
Hi Trevor, it's the first campsite down at the Arthur River, unbelievably quiet spot over Christmas!
G'day & Welcome. Thanks for writing such a nice intro.
From the look of the gas lantern, you'll be reading about LED lighting soon ;D. Seriously, on my last camper it was so nice to be able to open the tent, flick the switch and have full illumination, as we set up after dark many times.
Hi Julian,
you are quite correct ;D I just picked up my projecta battery box the other day, and am just waiting for the LED strips to arrive before i wire it in next week - all dimmable (and the external ones multi colour to try and dispel insects where needed), one in the main tent area, one over the bed area, 2 reading lights near the bed, 3 in the awning, 2 inside the trailer, 2 in the tool box, and then the kitchen as well, although I haven't decided the absolute best way to do the kitchen lighting yet - its the place you need the most light so you end up with the least burns and cuts :laugh:
Im also going to put in a couple of bars up under the roll out awning on the cruiser whilst I'm at it!
Anyone that might have met me before on the Delicaclub forum might remember my obsession with LED lighting :cup:
Jade
G'day jade welcome to myswag. Nice setup with your Camper, and can't complain about the price... We get out in our camper a lot with our girls 3 1/2 and 18 months and they love it. It is the best thing for them at their young age.
Hillbilly
Hi Jade!
Thanks for posting up the pics of your setup.
Sounds like you'll just about be a qualified sparky by the time you wire up all of those lights LOL!
Welcome. Bit dry over the west coast when the pic was taken.
G'day Jade,
Great to see another Hobartian camper trailer family. Your philosophy is pretty much the same as ours, start out with something more affordable "read: cheap", modify & upgrade when circumstances allow. Looks like you've got a pretty good start, we started our CT journey last year with a basic second hand Cavalier CT (made in Sth Oz) & have done some mods since, with more in the pipeline.
Paul & Helen
aka The Nats
Hi Jag001
Welcome to My Swag Happy Trails with your Camper
Cheers OC
Hi Jade nice to see another Tassie on the forum
Mauri.