General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Big Nath on September 28, 2011, 08:13:50 AM
Gday Guys, as some of you know im from Gilgandra which is on the Newell Hwy. As this is a major route, we often see a lot of CTs pass through.
Thus im offering MySwag Members free Accommodation. Power and water is available here. As well as a shower and toilet. Kids are more than welcome as we have 3 of our own. I'm more than happy to also store your CT here while you go and do things and also happy for more than 1 night. (however i think several nights might warrant a gold coin donation)
I'm located on the edge of town (Castlereagh Hwy Nth side) Approx 3km from main Street.
Pets Are also welcome on a leash.......be advised we also have a large dog and chooks.
Feel free to PM me or call/text 0418 279 256.
Depending how much room you require, i can handle 4-6 CTs,
That's nothing short of astounding!!
I'm sure a few kind souls will be dropping by as Gil is one of those places on the way to everywhere.
Would love to drop by one day if on the way through & have a coldie.
Cheers for your generous hospitality.
I think that is a terrific offer for fellow Swaggers :cup:
Now maybe will see a few similar offers in the far north areas where the country is diverse and sparsely populated where it would be handy to drop off the camper (boat) while the owner goes for a drive in the general area.
I for one, do thank you for your terrific idea ;D
Very generous offer - if ever out that way will be sure to take you up on an overnight stay - I'll supply the beer :)
Very generous, thankyou!
Good on ya campingwithkids - what a generous offer. :cheers:
we are more than happy to help fellow swaggers.
Also if its only an overnight stop i can supply my bbq to make life easy.
mmmmmm Rum!!!!!!
Thanks for the generous offer mate I'm doing a 5 wk trip in January through nsw and Vic so ill keep in touch and might call in for a night or a coffee cheers
I'd also like to extend a offer of accommodation we live at boyne island qld 20 from Gladstone it's s beautiful area to check out and 5hrs north of brissy so good stop on way to or home from the cape we have plenty of room for overnight stops a pool to cool of in not used during cape trips by qlder's anyway but we r also more than happy to help people out with a bed power water and a relaxing drink and BBQ if anyone wants to stop in and say hi, maybe a thread could be created with people's offers and details in a tidy format for reference
Cheers watto
I would be happy to offer some space in my backyard to set up your CT as well ...we are 1/2 hr from Warwick QLD (about 5 mins from Killarney and 15 mins form Queen Mary Falls)(Google "Tannymorel") There is (clean) bore water and power, and plenty of room for a couple of CTs. Well behaved pets are welcome ( I have 2 dogs and 9 chooks and 3 kids) There is plenty to see in the area if anyone is interested.
I think a seperate thread for this is a great idea.
Cheers Chippy :D
I think a seperate thread for this is a great idea.
[/quote]
Thats a great thing to offer, You gotta love people from the country.May just take you up on that when we go out to western plains zoo!!
Cheers :cheers:
Thats a great thing to offer, You gotta love people from the country.May just take you up on that when we go out to western plains zoo!!
Cheers :cheers:
Copy that Pete. Save my number!
What genorosity!! Thanks for the offers and even thinking of it in the first place ;)
Awesome idea! And with an added benefit of gaining local knowledge of places to visit as well. :cup:
Your a bloody champion mate , should be more like you in this world :cup: :cheers:
Grindo
This is a great idea. suck generosity... :cup:
Terrific idea fellas. Well done to all that have offered. :cup:
Hey Campingwithkids and Watto, you are both legends and your offers of hospitality are far more than than generous. I can't get away again untill autumn next year but if your offer is still available i will definately look you both up and happy to supply the refreshments :cheers:
Perhaps a seperate section for this kind of thing could be set up on My Swag, i'm sure it would receive a lot of usage and have many benefits as well as being a chance to meet some of our fellow My Swagers
Robbo
I KNEW IT...there is still some human beings around :cup:
your rewards will be out of this world............in heaven !!
BTW i also have a 100Gig ADSL2 available (wifi) for those wishing to log onto MySwag etc.
I look forward to meeting a few of you :cheers:
Cheers!
3x :cheers: 4 Campingwithkids, Watto and Chippy76
:cup: :cup: :cup:
Having experienced the heartless side of humanity in the past, it is uplifting to see people making this sort of offer for their fellow man (or Woman).
Like others have said, it is great to see we can still do things like this. It is an outstanding gesture which I am sure would be reciprocated across our great land.
If this gets stickied, may be a members only thread and not visible to visitors would be a wise choice.
I am sure everyone here will do right by CWK and others offering their hospitaltiy.
A very much appreciated gesture. If we are in the area, we will give you a call.
If this gets stickied, may be a members only thread and not visible to visitors would be a wise choice.
I am sure everyone here will do right by CWK and others offering their hospitaltiy.
This is an awesome idea and I think having a sticky with basic information of those offering accomodation would be a great idea. I do however think that the primary point of contact should be via Myswag PM so you can be assured of who you are dealing with and so you are not getting calls from random internet trolls who want to freeload. Maybe also a myswag sticker on your car or camper as an entry requirement.
Well done campingwithkids :cup:
Good ideas Burnsy.
With enuf warning I can also supply a load of firewood and a firedrum ..... :D
Byo liquid refreshments tho :p haha
Maybe also a myswag sticker on your car or camper as an entry requirement.
Well done campingwithkids :cup:
And about a thousand beers with be the other requirment!!! :laugh:
It is the generosity of people like you that make mine and other peoples hearts feel warm inside. Thank you and may you have many a enjoyable time with fellow My Swaggers who choose to take up the offer and stay for a few, or for a few tooooooo many.
Same for us. If any swaggers are traveling around the Clarence area give us a shout. We're not flash, but a welcome is waiting for fellow Swaggers. Can fit a CT round the back & one down the side with some rearranging. Plenty of tucker & grog, top up water tanks , charge batts etc. We're situated at Grafton on the South side ( the best side >:D) right where the Pacific H'way & the Gwyder Hway meet. So if you're heading N, S or W swing by & say gday. :cheers:
Hey Bullfrog - are you Grafton bred or an import? Was born in Grafton, lived there till I was 13. Bent st until I was about 11 and then Fry st @ Westlawn for a few years.
gday Mark,
Born & bred at Tucabia ,out on the Coldstream River. Moved into town in '92 when we got hitched. Home is just off Bent St up towards the Golfie. Yep, 'spose I'm a local ;D :cheers:
Had a few mates playing cricket for Tucabia (I think)...Alan K and Paul N. Few years older than you.... Paul is still a mate (although as like most blokes who live in different parts of the world we dont speak that often).
I played jnr cricket with Tuc-Cop up until U 14's or U 16's :cheers:
Was having a s--t of a day then I read this!! Nice very nice.You make me proud to be an Aussie
Cheers Sol
OK. Let me put a hand up for overnight or short extended stays. We are on a acre with some space for a couple of CT's, have an outside fire cooking area, power at the gazebo (the folly), outside loo and access to water, ect.
Striking distance to Melbourne, Phillip Island, Walhalla Tourist area, and many, many 4WD tracks and we are just outside of Warragul in West Gippsland.
Still in the process of building our CT and would be happy to share our garden. Have hosted one camp oven cookout from the COCIA group here.
Ross & Chris....
(http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k8/OzJeeper/rural_no_cow.jpg)
Looking into the paddock next door...
looks like a lovely spot!
Looks like a hard spot to relax in OzJeeper ;D
Mate what an awesome offer. I travell through Gill a bit for work and will look you up for a coffee on one of my trips. Whilst I don't have room for any overnight camps (as you can't swing a cat in my yard), I would happily offer a coffee to any My Swaggers travelling through Bathurst NSW and a loan of some tools, or a hand with any repairs if you are stuck and require them.
I have always invited fellow swaggers to drop by and say g'day in my neck of the woods...but have always thought that they would prefer the beauty of Yarrie lake to my backyard. Having said that, I do have 6 acres in town and if any who are happy to look at the levy bank as opposed to the water are always welcome to pitch their tent here.
And, if we get bored, we can always watch a movie on the outdoor big screen!! ;D
I havent had any takers on the offer yet, surely must be some swaggers out and about?
PH or Text Nathan 0418 279 256!!
Cheers!
I havent had any takers on the offer yet, surely must be some swaggers out and about?
PH or Text Nathan 0418 279 256!!
Cheers!
I drive past you twice a week but i can't fit my rig in there :)
its Marthaguy for me 8)
im on 97 Acres.............How big is your rig ???
She's only a puppy these days
26 mtrs and 65 tonne :-[
Next time your coming through drop in for a coffee. im on the gular/coonamble rd.
Make the logbook look better!!
Cheers!
Next time your coming through drop in for a coffee. im on the gular/coonamble rd.
Make the logbook look better!!
Cheers!
coonamble rd ? is that the one before the shell if heading south
Wow, well done guys.
I see another holiday coming up. :-)
No im on the "other road north" the roadtrain route.
When going north, instead of going right over brigde, go through main St, follow your nose and im on the right at the 110km/h sign. Following this rd you miss out on all of the hills through the pilliga and hills to Coona. Quite a lot of truckers use it.
Cheers!
Very generous offer. Cheers!
No im on the "other road north" the roadtrain route.
When going north, instead of going right over brigde, go through main St, follow your nose and im on the right at the 110km/h sign. Following this rd you miss out on all of the hills through the pilliga and hills to Coona. Quite a lot of truckers use it.
Cheers!
Yep i know where you are now
see what happens this trip
time wise
Got your # down and think it's tremendous the offer that you and others are doing to make it easier for travellers who won't have to stress about finding a place to hold up over nite. Lets hope no one is "silly" enough to ruin this hospitality for others... top marks again :cheers:
Hi campingwithkids, we might take you up on that offer...we will be coming through your way on the Thursday before Christmas and could be looking for somewhere to stay near your place :cup: I will keep your number in my contacts and give you a ring :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Pat
p.s. We will have a My Swag sticker on both car and camper ;D
Further to my offer .....
If anyone is ever out Warwick / Killarney way and want to go for a drive up the Condamine (Cambanoora) Gorge road - with 14 river crossings - I'd be more than happy to meet up and show them around. Maybe this is something we could organise as a day trip for the SE Qlders .... :D
Hi campingwithkids, we might take you up on that offer...we will be coming through your way on the Thursday before Christmas and could be looking for somewhere to stay near your place :cup: I will keep your number in my contacts and give you a ring :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Pat
p.s. We will have a My Swag sticker on both car and camper ;D
No worries!!
Still no visitors :'(
Cheers!
Cheers!
You are on my list! ;D
Cheers!
Mate, I'm looking at having the kids by myself in the July school holidays (might book in for 3 nights) - after reading this thread you have become one of my new friends...............WOO HOO!!
How far out to the Warumbungles and what do you recommend to see out there?
And whoever offered the stay in Warwick - I will be using that for sure, I have always wanted to do the Condamine Gorge Rd
As for staying at my place - there is room for one CT in the backyard and if your keen I'm only 10 mins from Stockton beach and acres of fun in Medowie and Wallaroo SF. I'm just 30mins north of Newcastle - PM if u wanna chat
Nick
How far out to the Warumbungles and what do you recommend to see out there?
Nick
We are about 50km from them. i would recomend staying atleast 2 nights there....its a great spot.
Cheers!
This thread needs sticky treatment
Suggest that swaggers offer to cook or something if they take up the offer? Maybe donate a myswag stubbie holder to the host?