General => General Discussion => Topic started by: WilSurf on September 21, 2011, 01:16:30 PM
After our last trip to SA (reminder to myself: upload report and pictures) we would like to upgrade to Surf.
Reason for this:
- car is 17 years old
- car lacks power (only 93Kw/287Nm when new)
- kids are getting bigger and back seats are not that big
What we need:
- automatic as I have only one left usable arm
What we want:
- diesel for longer range
- 7 seater for taking kids friends
We have short listed two cars:
- Nissan Patrol 3.0
- Toyota Landcruiser 4.2TD
The price difference between the two is huge and although I like the HDJ100 I can't affort to spend that much money at the moment.
Knowing the famous Nissan - Toyota discussion, I would like to have an honest opinion from drivers of both cars, towing a camper trailer around.
The car won't be used as a daily car as we have a little Fiesta (no, please don't see a Holden is better :-) ) for the school runs.
Towing the CT will be through all terrains, including beach runs, dirt roads, etc.
You cant seriously compare those 2 cars.
One is a very well built powerful car that would last years & the other is a very short term option.
From a Patrol owner, id take the Cruiser any second of any day of any week in the choice of those 2.
The money difference will be minimal if you need to change an engine in the patrol.
I had the same decision when I bought my Patrol, except I excluded the 3lt instantly. It was between the Cruiser & the 4.2 Patrol. I chose the Patrol as I wanted Live axle front end. i now regret that choice & wish Id gone the other way.
Whats your budget and what year model 3ltr Patrol are you considering.
I am a Patrol man through and through but given the choice id go with the cruiser 4.2 rather than and older 3ltr Patrol.
Go to patrol4x4.com and search 3ltr patrols before making your mind up. Im not meaning to offend any 3ltr Patrol owners but it is well documented some of them had issues in the earlier days.
- automatic as I have only one left usable arm
Me too, don't know what I'd do with two left arms.
Also as a 'trol driver, albeit an older one, I'd be picking the cruser too. My brother has one & is very happy with it.
ddr just pipped me at the post ;)
No contest, 4.2TD Cruiser!!!
Me too, don't know what I'd do with two left arms.
Haha, you are right.
I can't use my right arm, if that makes it easier for you. :-)
I am looking at the newer models, after the "bang" engine so from 2003.
Budget at the moment is low, but hopefully early next year will have some more.
What I really would like is the drive train of the Patrol and the V8 diesel from Toyota.
I am looking at the newer models, after the "bang" engine so from 2003.
Be careful assuming things have been "Fixed" after a certain date.
There have been a few TD4.2 auto GQs hit the market lately. Add a turbo and what more could you ask for except maybe a brand new one.
I'd suggest a Pajero
The Paj I test drove last week Shits on the patrol for comfort (not that its hard to), and went quite well.
The rear rear row seats disappear into the floor when not in use.
Honestly nobody would compare a gre.... I mean a 3.0 GU to a Cruiser would they?
I'd suggest a Pajero
Me too. My brother has just picked up a 2 yr old Paj, and it's a beautiful thing to drive. They had it up here a couple of weeks back and I was lucky enough to take it for a spin a couple of times. Beautiful to drive, 7 seats, nice.
Obviously not in the same class offroad as the other two (although, speak to SteveAndViv about that - hasn't really ever stopped them from going anywhere), but on the same hand, I think it would get you most places.
If it's between the 3L GU and an 80-series TD, you'll end up with a MUCH later model GU for the same money, vs a 4.2L 'cruiser. Not to say the older car is a bad thing (our neighbours have a 4.2TD 80-series that just won't die), but if one of the reasons you're trading up from the Surf is that you want something newer...
Good luck!
Obviously not in the same class offroad as the other two (although, speak to SteveAndViv about that - hasn't really ever stopped them from going anywhere), but on the same hand, I think it would get you most places.
Spend some sheckles on it and it will go places... just ask Frank :)
(http://image.4wheeloffroad.com/f/99Montero/9833234+w450+h338+cr0+re1+ar1/1999-mitsubishi-montero-my-hero-frank-in-au.jpg)
My old man has a TD 100 series and if I had a spare $55000 to buy and accesorise one I would grab one in a heartbeat. The auto is smooth and it oozes power. He uses it to tow a 20 foot van and gets impressice conspumtion out of it doing so.
We are at the same crossroads at the moment with our 80 regarding age but have decided to keep it and have thrown a heap of dollars at it this year to get everything up to scratch. The big question will come when the engine gives up the ghost as we would not spend the money on rebuilding the 4500 petrol engine and the option of redonking with a HDTFE or buying a 100 would need to be considered.
There is a 100 deries fully decked for sale.
"Only" $45,000
Matto, the 80-series is too old, so it is between the GU and the 100-series.
... so it is between the GU and the 100-series.
It would be 100 series out of the 2.
any reason you have discounted the Paj?
The Paj has been mentioned but what about a 120 series Prado.
Don't like the Pajero and can't find the back door of the Prado very handy with a camper trailer.
End of the day you can't really compare the 4.2 10o series with the 3.0 Patrol, with regard to engines. If you were comparing the two 6 cylinder diesels then maybe.
I think you answered you own question in the first post, my reading is that you want the 100series and know it to be a better car but can't afford it. Personally I would sell the daily driver and the surf and just get the cruiser. What you save on rego, maintenance and insurance will help offset the cost of running the 100TD daily and you will have a big smile on your face every day you drive to school or the shops.
The Fiesta is on a novated lease so tax deductable.
And no way I can tell my wife to sell her Fiesta. :-)
I just know no. :'(
You are right, I want the Cruiser but can't affort it.
Maybe keep the Surf, make it more reliable for now and see what happens in the future.
It is booked in this Friday for an oil leak check/repair. Hopefully it is the rocker cover gasket.
At the same time the front locker goes in and the fuel tank supports/bolts will be checked.
V8 GXL auto cruiser on sequential gas.
800k range on petrol and another 350 or so on gas.
(http://image.4wheeloffroad.com/f/99Montero/9833234+w450+h338+cr0+re1+ar1/1999-mitsubishi-montero-my-hero-frank-in-au.jpg)
That is one tough Paj I remember speaking to him near Razorback hut up Mt Stirling with a broken control arm he was limping it home 8)
V8 GXL auto cruiser on sequential gas.
800k range on petrol and another 350 or so on gas.
Is that towing offroad included?
Well it would depend what 'off road' you mean. Low range would eat the fuel.
Though seriously, why not the paj or prado.
Sure the back door may be a pain but if you have an 1800mm drawbar on the CT you should be rightish.
We have the earlier diesel prado 120 auto. It gets 12.5lphk around town and towing the CT, wait for it, uses .6 of a litre more per hundred k's. (The DiD paj is even better).
30k should get a good one. 1400k range, 180lt fuel capacity, Rigid Rear Axle so it doesnt wear the tyres like paj.
Theres a lot to like for the $$.
Hi Wil,
While I have a 200 TTD now, my previous vehicle was a 3.0TD GU and before that, an 80 series 1HZ.
If I had to choose between the GU and a 1HZ powered 80, there is no way it would be the 80 if towing a camper trailer. Many have knocked the 3.0TD for its engine reputation issues but at the end of the day, I have known personally some 20 odd 3.0TD owners (mostly from 4WD club) and not one has had a piston holing engine issue - certainly there have been some issues amongst them, but none had the "grenade" problem. Yes, I know many others have, but what is the actual percentage that do? Point being, while the 3.0TD has had more than its fair share of problems, so do all other makes too.
But the 3.0TD is so tainted now that most wouldn't buy one. The 100 series 4.2TD is great, alog with its price tag, so realitically its out of the question. But have you considered a 4.8 5sp GU? Yes, it drinks fuel like no tomorrow (well, only about 25% worse in reality) but it is arguably THE most reliable motor around - including any Toyota motor you may want to compare it to. The 5sp auto is a pearler and being a GU, there is no shortage of aftermarket goodies for it.
Anyway, if I was in your positon, I would be looking at just how many kms I do and what the extra $/year it would cost to own a 4.8 GU. There is no lack of power and it has the reliability and off-road ability.
Well. thats my 2 cents worth 8)
Thanks all so far.
The Prado 120, especially the KZJ120R, isn't an upgrade as it has the same engine is the Surf now with the same figures.
Only the KDJ120R is much better, but then the price tag again being a Toyota.
A mate of mine has the 4.8GU and loves it. Lots of power and easy t drive, not as truck like as the 3.0GU.
However he doesn't go for long extended trips so a servo is always nearby.
I was looking at the V8 Cruiser, but the same thing: fuel goes up very steeply when towing off the bitumen.
I know for the milage we will be doing and the price difference we could buy lots of petrol.
But, the point is: filling up every 600-800kms is not always possible all the times. I want the range.
I want the range.
with the cost savings over buying a 4.2, put 2 long range ranks on it...
......which makes it very heavy and you loose the range again.
Wish I was rich and not so handsome. :-)
......which makes it very heavy and you loose the range again.
If your expecting to find the perfect 4wd, give up. your never going to find anything suitable.
keep the surf and spend money on it.
**sigh***
Lost, do you really have to do this to me? ;D
...: filling up every 600-800kms is not always possible all the times. I want the range...
Not sure what vehicle will give you that type of range while towing with stock tanks. I only count on 600kms when towing, gets about the same doing 100km/hr on bitumen vs 80 km/hr on a good gravel road and I have 138L on board - but rarely add more than 120L.
Unfortunately Power, Range and Economy are mostly mutually exclusive ???
Captain
Not sure what vehicle will give you that type of range while towing with stock tanks.
yep...
Hi Wilco,
I know, I know, I'm biased, but my D4D Prado gives me 1,000 klms from a full tank (with camper trailer in tow), has easily removable third row seats (eight seats for around town kiddie-shuttling, cavernous storage when they're removed and we're off camping) and I've found that with my KK's extended draw bar, I am able to get into the rear with relative ease (ie: rear door two-thirds open).
I couldn't read what budget you're working towards, but I'd hold off on spending further big $ on the Surf if you're not planning on keeping it for the long term and wait until a plum D4D 120 comes onto the scene... that said, patience / waiting are not part of my vocabulary either so I am being quite hypocrytical >:D
Happy to waive my standard $0.02 peanut gallery fee as a way of contributing to your cause ;D
Alchemist
Who is saying stock tank?
Anyway, I will start/continue saving and see how it goes.
First have the fuel tank of the Surf installed correctly and the oil leakage fixed.
Thanks Alchemist.
As I don't have the extended bar on my KK, the door will be a pain as I thought. You just confirmed my point.
If I could by the D4D Prado, I could also buy (although an older) 100 series.
Due to buying the KK our budget had a huge blow, but we are very happy with the KK.
We have some items now what need to be replaced and the dealer is looking into this.
You are.
When someone mentioned long range tanks earlier you said
"......which makes it very heavy and you loose the range again."
so unless your talking hydrogen or electricity? (http://freeemoticonsandsmileys.com/3D%20Smileys/3D%20Everyday%20Smileys/wink.gif)
The price difference between the two is huge and although I like the HDJ100 I can't affort to spend that much money at the moment.
Knowing the famous Nissan - Toyota discussion, I would like to have an honest opinion from drivers of both cars, towing a camper trailer around.
After reading your original post then all the responses, I'm not sure what question you're wanting people to help you with? I'm not trying to be a smart arse, but in simple terms you've clearly you've narrowed down your choice to two cars, you're not interested in any other suggested vehicles, but out of the two vehicles you have narrowed it down to, you can only really afford one of them.....?
Is the question "should I buy something now that I won't be satisfied with, or wait and save for something that I will be satisfied with"? Or are you asking which is better, the Toyota or Nissan ???
No doubt I've probably missed something along the way in this thread.... :-[
That is one tough Paj I remember speaking to him near Razorback hut up Mt Stirling with a broken control arm he was limping it home 8)
Yep I thought it look familar. OffroadDave was there I think with us.
Wilsurf Roughly what is your price range you looking at?
Another option could be a Petrol 100 series, fit long range tanks. A mate of mine can carry 270km with his decked V8 100 and loves it.
Didn't that end up on its lid and is no more?
its may have, its been through 2 owners since Frank that I know of. The first one was touring Aussie with his missus who in turn took off on him...
Frank rolled it at Vic Winch I think it was, and from mammories got rebodied.
whats your budget?
http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?Cr=3&R=11285027&keywords=&trecs=46&__sid=12F2042FB74E&__Ns=pCar_RankSort_Int32|1||pCar_PriceSort_Decimal|1||pCar_Make_String|0||pCar_Model_String|0&__Qpb=1&tsrc=allcarhome&__Nne=15&seot=1&__N=1216 1246 1247 1252 1282 4294965541 4294954915 904&silo=1011
>:D
Thanks guys, all points taken.
Budget? Not much at the moment, that's why we have started saving.
I think we will end up around the 30-35 mark.
And Lost, electrical: do you have a long lead for me?
Three of my mates have had the 3lt Nissans and they all liked them, and only one of them blew up.
Apparently the problem was fixed by 2005 so keep an eye out for a post 2005 model and you shouldn't have any issues.
(http://knowyourmeme.com/i/3309/original/i-dunno-lol.jpg)
Thanks guys, all points taken.
Budget? Not much at the moment, that's why we have started saving.
I think we will end up around the 30-35 mark.
I think you will get a 4.2TD Patrol or cruiser for that sort of money?
There are a few 4.2 Patrols around.
There's a 03 4.2 dx with 189.000 on the clock over here for $27.000.
Another with 219.000 on the clock and a few accesoirs as well as being set up to tow for $26.000.
There around if you look.
There are a few 4.2 Patrols around.
There's a 03 4.2 dx with 189.000 on the clock over here for $27.000.
Another with 219.000 on the clock and a few accesoirs as well as being set up to tow for $26.000.
There around if you look.
Wil, if you think the Surf is slow then the 4.2 na diesels are in another catagory! I used to have a 80 series with a 1HZ diesel and that needed a calender for the 1/4 mile sprint - and thats without the camper behind! If you think of adding a turbo, up goes the $$$. Rotare bluntly summed it up best "save for what you want or buy what you can afford"
Captain
Wil, if you think the Surf is slow then the 4.2 na diesels are in another catagory! I used to have a 80 series with a 1HZ diesel and that needed a calender for the 1/4 mile sprint - and thats without the camper behind! If you think of adding a turbo, up goes the $$$.
4.2 GU Patrols already have a Turbo (Well almost all it was only the very early ones that dont)
GU4.2 don't have an automatic, that is priority 1.
I think you guys are right.
We will do the same as with the CT. Keep saving until we can buy what we want.
Anyway, I will start/continue saving and see how it goes.
First have the fuel tank of the Surf installed correctly and the oil leakage fixed.
Thanks Alchemist.
As I don't have the extended bar on my KK, the door will be a pain as I thought. You just confirmed my point.
If I could by the D4D Prado, I could also buy (although an older) 100 series.
Due to buying the KK our budget had a huge blow, but we are very happy with the KK.
We have some items now what need to be replaced and the dealer is looking into this.
Mate i think the extended draw bar for your KK is only $350 and bolts straight on. I would go the a 120 TD Prado and add the draw bar extention.
OK, the upgrade has to wait.
The Surf is in the workshop for some work and they found that some teeth were missing from the front crown wheel.
OK, the upgrade has to wait.
The Surf is in the workshop for some work and they found that some teeth were missing from the front crown wheel.
perfect time to trade it in before divvying out coin on repairs!
I know, but don't have the cash for an upgrade.
Not to the upgrade we want.
I feel your pain Wil, as we had similar decisions to make last year and have since poured over $6000 into our car. Pity yours is a surf and not an 80 as it removes another upgrade option.
I am currently seriously looking at going the conversion to a HDFTE on our 80 (electronic turbo diesel from a 100 series) when we do upgrade as the conversion is more affordable than buying a 100 series upgrade (petrol 80 ain't worth much as a trade these days). It also means we are happy spending money on the 80 to keep it in good condition until this happens. Total care in Sydney do the conversions and the plan is that we would drive to Sydney, spend a week or two there site seeing while the upgrade is done and then continue north on a lap. Two or so years till long service is due so we have till then to save the money. If someone in Perth starts doing the conversions before then we would look at getting it done here.
Don't understand you regarding this: "Pity yours is a surf and not an 80 as it removes another upgrade option"
I know someone who is doing engine conversions in Perth. He does the Lexus V8 in a Surf.
How hard can a HDFTE in a 80 seriesbe compared to that? As long as the engine bay is big enough.
Did you ask around in Perth?
Don't understand you regarding this: "Pity yours is a surf and not an 80 as it removes another upgrade option"
I know someone who is doing engine conversions in Perth. He does the Lexus V8 in a Surf.
How hard can a HDFTE in a 80 seriesbe compared to that? As long as the engine bay is big enough.
Did you ask around in Perth?
I was of the understanding you wanted something larger that the surf so would probably not bother upgrading it? I was just making the point that having the 80 has given us another upgrade option, that you may not consider worthwhile on a surf if you are chasing a larger vehicle.
There is no-one in Perth that does the FTE upgrade at the moment, only the FT. The engine electronics being all tied into the immobiliser and key apparently make it a pain of an upgrade so people steer clear of it. Given the FTE's are more readilly available I think people will start doing the FTE upgrades more in the near future.
Wil,
I went from the Pajero to a 105 cruiser N/A, its only as slow as the right foot but I wanted something for touring with less electronics to go wrong,
The space in the cruiser is something else, steered clear of the Patrols too many issues with mates ones, There is not one 4x4 on the market without problems, my decision for my 105 was based on the fact, that underneath the 100 body is a 80 series (I have the live axle not the IFS)
to your decision on which one to go for, both have good and bad points
Yes, the upgrade will be because of a bigger car (the girls are getting bigger) and better towing capacity.
I will ask if my mate can do it. He has done a couple of Lexus V8s in a Surf including electrics.
Dazza,
Our eyes are in the direction of the Cruisers.
But, if I had it my way.........
Solid axles, V8 diesel...........
But, if I had it my way.........
Solid axles, V8 diesel...........
Well, you're on the right side of the country I guess...
http://www.brunswickdiesels.com.au/new/for-sale.php
Ahhh - the things I'd buy if I had the money! Good thing I don't have that temptation! ;D
http://www.carpoint.com.au/all-cars/dealer/details.aspx?R=11270984
http://www.carpoint.com.au/all-cars/dealer/details.aspx?R=11084330
http://www.carpoint.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=10985833
http://www.carpoint.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=11017358
http://www.carpoint.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=11006591
http://www.carpoint.com.au/all-cars/dealer/details.aspx?R=10569936
(that last one's got my name all over it - keep your grubby WA hands off!! ;D)
Good luck!
Oops - can't forget this one. Now, I know you've got a lazy $110k sitting around burning a hole in your pocket...
http://www.carpoint.com.au/all-cars/dealer/details.aspx?R=11245661
</offtopic>
They are all utes Matto, and mostly manual as well.
The lazy $$ have burned through the hole as all I can see is a hole.................
Regarding the Brunswick diesels, they are petrol engines bored for diesel.
So not strong enough.
Regarding the Brunswick diesels, they are petrol engines bored for diesel.
So not strong enough.
I think several dozen people on a few forums would highly disagree with you...
I know, everytime we say something it is like opening another can ofworms.
What I haveread on many forums is that the material of the brunswick diesels are not thick enough.
Anyway, will keep looking.
Burnsy, I asked my mate and his reply is:
Yes we can do this and his best way of getting everything would be to track down a 1/2 cut and transfer everything over. It won't be cheap either
So, if you are interested let me know and I will direct you to him.
Burnsy, I asked my mate and his reply is:
So, if you are interested let me know and I will direct you to him.
Will keep this in mind Wil as I was not aware that anyone here in WA was interested. I don't however want to be a guineapig and when and if I do it, whoever does it will need to have a few FTE conversions under their belt with references before I spend the money. Last thing I am interested in is buying a $20,000 head ache. Might win lotto before then though and just buy a 100 series ;D
1 100 series with all the fruit coming up. ;D
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120785576641&fromMakeTrack=true&ssPageName=VIP:watchlink:top:en
1 100 series with all the fruit coming up. ;D
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120785576641&fromMakeTrack=true&ssPageName=VIP:watchlink:top:en
That there be a nice truck. Turboed 105-series with, as you say, ALL the fruit! No good for Wil, being a manual, but I'm sure someone will get themselves what looks to be a good unit.
Good spotting Jason - I'm coming to you when it's time to buy - you seem to have a nose for finding interesting vehicles!
Yep, no good indeed.
But it is always fun to have a look at them........
Right,
We have set our eyes and ears on a 100-series Landcruiser.
Now the question which one: the HZJ105 or the HDJ100.
Pros for the 105: solid axle, less electrics
Cons for the 105: less power and torque, need a hair dryer
Pros for the 100: power and torque, comfortable
Cons fo the 100: price, maybe IFS
Pros for the 105: solid axle, less electrics
Cons for the 105: less power and torque, need a hair dryer
Pros for the 100: power and torque, comfortable
Cons fo the 100: price, maybe IFS
What price difference is there? and what spec levels on those prices...
if your doing 90% road/dirt roads, I'd go IFS.
Apologies if this is covered earlier in the thread but if you are seriously thinking about a cruiser then get yourself a login on lcool.org and have a good browse around in there - perhaps even ask a question or two.
Unless you're doing pretty extreme 4wding the IFS 100 will get you anywhere you want to go. Plenty of stock 100 IFS wagons go to the cape and just about everywhere else each year.
I'd probably throw a 200 series petrol into the mix as well. Similar price for used ones as a 100 series turbo-diesel. They'll use more fuel but not as much as a 100 petrol. They'll be even more comfortable/quiet/powerful - not that the 100 isn't already comfortable or powerful.
Hi chisel,
I am on lcool and it doesn't make it any easier.
Newbie question - aren't all 105's manuals?
Might make your decision easier.
Of course, if you really want the 105, you could always swap in the 1HDFTE + an auto box. Go on, you know you want to.
Good luck!
No, there are also automatic HZJ105.
Best thing will be the VDJ engine: the diesel V8.
News flash!!
An upgrade for the Surf has been found and will be parked in front of the house at the end of the week.
It is not a Toyota.
It is not a Nissan.
It is a Lexus LX470.
Basically an upspec'd Landcruiser.
Sounds great Wilco, how did you get onto that ;D :angel: Somehow I think you will like it ;)
Captain
An upgrade for the Surf has been found and will be parked in front of the house at the end of the week.
Congrats mate - like a kid in a candy store!
Can I get in first with the :worthles:?? ;D ;D
There you go Matto
Sounds great Wilco, how did you get onto that ;D :angel:
No idea mate. :-)
Let the Mods begin :D :D
First to get is a UHF radio and antenna, full bullbar, snorkel and cargo barrier.
Later 182 liter replacement fuel tank, rear spare wheel carrier and suspension upgrade.
That looks like a real comfortable ride Wilco. How did the price compare to the equivelent V8 100 series?
I see the surf sulking in the background there, are you going to sell it privately?
The Surf will be sold privately, so if you know someone.
The price was the greatest deal I ever had.
Great looking bus Wilsurf. We love our 100 series - so comfy :cup:
Yours would look really great with a matching Rhino Rack Alloy Roof Tray. Funnily enough, I have one for sale: http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=17425.0 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=17425.0)
Cheeky, I know - but just thought you might be interested... :D
I have a very low rack master roof rack which I had on my R51, the Surf and will be on the LX470.
First to get is a UHF radio and antenna, full bullbar, snorkel and cargo barrier.
Later 182 liter replacement fuel tank, rear spare wheel carrier and suspension upgrade.
by the end of all the mods and accessories another $10-20k spent on another 4b ;)
Enjoy!
It will be around $9,000.
But hey, it is good for the economy. :-)
Many many months later and something has changed.
Looks great 8)
Captain
Go the Paj oiler , ticks all my boxes :cheers:
Got a bad connection speewa, very bad. :-)
Another modification to the car.
Drilled some holes in the driver side fender and did some plumbing.
well at this rate it will only take a few years to kit-out! :)
I know, it is slow but steady.
I feel your pain Wil, as we had similar decisions to make last year and have since poured over $6000 into our car. Pity yours is a surf and not an 80 as it removes another upgrade option.
I am currently seriously looking at going the conversion to a HDFTE on our 80 (electronic turbo diesel from a 100 series) when we do upgrade as the conversion is more affordable than buying a 100 series upgrade (petrol 80 ain't worth much as a trade these days). It also means we are happy spending money on the 80 to keep it in good condition until this happens. Total care in Sydney do the conversions and the plan is that we would drive to Sydney, spend a week or two there site seeing while the upgrade is done and then continue north on a lap. Two or so years till long service is due so we have till then to save the money. If someone in Perth starts doing the conversions before then we would look at getting it done here.
Im sorry but when on a lap better the devil you know that the one you dont no matter how much experience they have or how may times it has been done things always come up with a engine conversion even a swap there is no way i would be risking that one 5000k from home
Ticking of the list I put on in Oktober 2011.
UFH radio: done
Bullbar: done
Snorkel: done
Cargo barrier: still searching
Long range tank: not yet
Spare wheel carrier: not yet
Suspension upgrade: not yet
Not on the list but done:
Sump protection plate: done. (the standard one broke in half and lost it in a mudhole)
Front e-locker: done. (front diff was out so better to do it then)
Dual battery: done
Got some new shoes under the car.
You're getting there wilco. You're even slower than I am at getting "a round tuit". I've got a shed full of gear that I need to bolt onto Bruce, but I've not got the time (or the inclination when I *do* have the time).
Very noice!
Take em back and get them to finish the job!
Leaving the wax on the sidewalks like that is slack. 10 minutes with hot soapy water and brush is all it takes.
Did wire up the new head unit, Orion AVR6.1.
And it works.
Only have to find the illumination wire and test the brake wire for the video.
The DAB is working beautifully.
I have to turn down the volume otherwise I am blowng away.
Don't look at the station, I was only playing with it.
I will try and get some day time shots.
As promised the day time shot.
That is sweet, you wanna come fit one to mine ;D
Fitting is pretty easy, but I still have the buzzing sound.
It only stops when I mute the radio. ;D
I wired up the Park wire (to earth) and the illumination. Now I can find the buttons in the dark.
Yesterday I tested the navigation system and it works great. It goes automatically from day to night setting.
When inserting a USB with pictures, it showed the slideshow.
DVD is now working as well.
But that annoying bass sound.
It has taken a long time, but finally there is an addition to the car.
Some extra protection. Custom made for the car due to the hydraulics.
(http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l117/Wilsil_2006/20140924_165226_zps7739add8.jpg) (http://s94.photobucket.com/user/Wilsil_2006/media/20140924_165226_zps7739add8.jpg.html)
Looks good who made them ?
A local fabricator in Perth: XLR8 Fabrications
Expensive? Are you happy with them, I need some for the 80 as the factory side steps are like bananas and hanging off.
Yours look nice and neat.
Well under $1000 installed.
I haven't tested them yet, byt the installer had both wheel off the ground when using the high lift jack.
Looks good. If my side steps ever get damaged I'll do something similar.
Well under $1000 installed.
I haven't tested them yet, byt the installer had both wheel off the ground when using the high lift jack.
Cheers mate, might chase you up for some details when I am ready to go.
Remember I am in Perth, Wa.
Last Sunday we went on a day trip and put the car to the test again.
No issues, only cleaning the next day......
Wow, only a year later and a new addition to the car.
It's now looking more and more like a 4WD. :-)
Plenty of 105 series Petrol 6's around.
Dual live axel
Toyota
Spend another $3k and stick on gas gives up to 90L gas and 135L petrol for range
Cheap to fix
387nM, with 300nM at 850 RPM