General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Nomad on August 31, 2011, 07:42:21 PM

Title: The most favorite car you have owned.......................
Post by: Nomad on August 31, 2011, 07:42:21 PM
My first car was an HJ Kingswood station wagon, lime green, 253 V8 with original venetian blinds in the back and pizza cutters with all 4 hub caps. You could roll a swag out fully when the backseat was folded flat. But my favorite car was my next. It was an ex Emergency Services Mid wheel base 1985  Landcruiser. Fibre glass roof and a 4 litre petrol motor..........She lasted me ten years before she suffered from to must rust and I past her on to someone to do up.

So what is your favorite car?

:laugh:
Title: Re: The most favorite car you have owned.......................
Post by: Just some guy on August 31, 2011, 07:57:00 PM
I had a 1969 1600 GT ford capri.  It broke down probably 30 percent of the times i drove it but i loved tht car!  When it went it was such a pleasure to drive.  Every car i have had since has been boring in comparison.
Post by: Duchess on August 31, 2011, 08:00:45 PM
I still love and will always love my Chevy, my dream car that I have owned for over 10 years. Don't think I'll ever part with him.

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2687/4292894918_c097570d96_z.jpg)
Post by: Campa on August 31, 2011, 08:01:46 PM
1st car was an 1980 Escort RS 2000 2 Dr with an BDA Cosworth engine conversion.

2nd was an Mistubishi EVO 7

Both great cars hard to choose  ;D
Post by: gunna on August 31, 2011, 08:05:19 PM
My Fav Car was my 1st  a EH  in the mid 70's had a worked 179  
plenty of dirt roads around home  fun fun fun
Post by: oldblade on August 31, 2011, 08:10:52 PM
my first car

Datsun 120y automatic
Post by: Jon on August 31, 2011, 08:14:56 PM
Datsun 1600, stiffened suspension, mildly worked engine that reliably revved to 8000rpm.

Soooooo much fun to drive, how I miss that car.
Post by: Hairs on August 31, 2011, 08:24:29 PM
I've had a few.
Some of them here (http://www.hairfysh.com/index.php/home/about-us/41-home-page/50-cars)
The VL 3L Turbo was a great handling car with awesome off the line speed. 16 years we owned her  ;D
But the 69 WX (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Ourworld/Cars/xw%2069%200193%2005.jpg)  I rebuilt from the ground up was an excellent cruiser. It did the best third gear roll backs  ;D
Post by: Prado BB on August 31, 2011, 08:26:45 PM
1970 VG Valiant, 2 door convertible, canary yellow, white interior, 360V8, torqueFlite 727 auto, dual exhaust, lowered, spinners, and lots of chrome :cup:
Post by: Big Nath on August 31, 2011, 08:27:54 PM
My fav was my 80 Series i got while were in WA. Non Turbo G model.

Twin Batteries, Fats and Alu roof rack, 3in Exhaust,

Towed our Windsor van across the nullabor at 110 like a champ.

Was a top buy. sold her back here in NSW for bugger all.

:(

Was originally a Kalamunda vehicle, plates were KM28517.

Post by: Bird on August 31, 2011, 08:42:12 PM
Quote from: Jon
Datsun 1600, stiffened suspension, mildly worked engine that reliably revved to 8000rpm.

Soooooo much fun to drive, how I miss that car.
Same... Datto 510.... Similar to this but with a worked 180b SSS donk and shizzle...

God the places we went in that hing and the norty things we did...
Have you seen what they go for now? even rusty hulks? :(
Post by: 4runnernomore on August 31, 2011, 08:42:52 PM
A 1974 Mazda RX3.  12A motor with a imported Mazda 5 speed from America.  The car was previously owned by the family mechanic who had tricked up the diff gearing and suspension.   Long distance trips were a doddle at 120 mph.What a giant killer and how I loved that tacho buzzer. The motor was standard with no porting but had tuned length extractors and exhaust with the Nikke 4barrel heavily modified. The worst thing I ever did to it was put the 48 IDA webber on it as it was a pig after that except for when the foot was flat to the floor.

A favourite trick was to wind out the old girl in third gear on the way to work at 4.00 in the morning and then take my foot off the accelerator at the northern gaet entrance. She used to idle down and then around where  the Married quater  houses were at
Williamtown  she used to backfire sounding like a shotgun going off and light up the whole area.  :cup:

Guys on the front gate used to reckon they could here me come off the dam and run all the way down to Campvale change down all the gears and hit the round about at Campvale and accelerate off towards the base.  

Finally sold it and regretted it ever since.  The guy that bought it wrote it off within two weeks.  :'(
Post by: GS on August 31, 2011, 08:47:01 PM
Loved my Volvo 1800s that I had when I was 20

(http://www.thecartorialist.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/volvo_p1800_angle_front.jpg)

Like this one only RHD
Post by: JCOJ on August 31, 2011, 08:49:52 PM
Subaru Liberty RS Turbo.

I was finishing high school when these came out and I absolutely loved them and it was  my dream car.  A few years later I saved up all my money, traded in my mums car which she sold to me for a song, and drove home in it.  I have owned other nice cars including the one below, but this has always been the best as it is the one I most wanted and was able to get!

My second favourite car I ever owned was this:

(http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/504/porsche008.jpg) (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/717/porsche008.jpg/)

Title: Re: Re: The most favorite car you have owned.......................
Post by: Symon on August 31, 2011, 08:54:12 PM
2004 Falcon XR6 turbo ute.

Almost cried when I sold it. 

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710a using Tapatalk
Post by: WogsRus on August 31, 2011, 09:02:11 PM
1983 DR30 Skyline ironmask FJ20, WHY OH WHY did i sell it
Post by: dno on August 31, 2011, 09:03:50 PM
First and favorite, 71 two door LJ Torana.
Close 2nd 3rd and forth would be the 3 Dato 1600s.

Which 4x4 is my favorite.     My GQ.
Post by: speewa158 on August 31, 2011, 09:22:22 PM
My EX Govt 77LX Torana ,bog standard ,173 red motor ,3 on the tree . Drove it all around Aus on my 1st lap which took 3 1/2 years . Points plugs oil water & fuel is all it needed . Drove it to places that I wasnt happy at , when I did trade it in ,,,,, . I was asked how the floor behind the drivers seat got dinted in ? Something about low ground clearence & big rocks on a track I shouldnt have been on , 4WD Only or something
Post by: DANBRI on August 31, 2011, 09:22:56 PM
I have one of each in the driveway, I can't split the fave (gloat mode on).  ;D

BA XR8 awesome predictable power
(http://www.atholparkfordwreckers.com/images/uploads/BOSS260.jpg)

FG XR6T dead set rocket
(http://www.castlehillexhaust.com.au/files/chris3.JPG)

GU Patrol simple, old school, outback friendly capable tourer with heaps of memories, I'll never sell it.
(http://danbricanvas.com/modules/gallery/albums/Termoil/img/100922082008_8651.jpg)

Some sweet cars in this thread!
Post by: bussoboy on August 31, 2011, 09:27:34 PM
close call between a '71 Datsun 240C with electric everything and a '71 HG Premier 253 with trimatic - both owned when i was still in my 20's
Post by: DANBRI on August 31, 2011, 09:28:40 PM
1970 VG Valiant, 2 door convertible, canary yellow, white interior, 360V8, torqueFlite 727 auto, dual exhaust, lowered, spinners, and lots of chrome :cup:

VGs are fat. The 360 is sensational clunker, would have been a nice ride!
Post by: jtraf on August 31, 2011, 09:37:58 PM
My favorite car is presently in the garage in a million pieces........

1970 VG Valiant Pacer coupe auto Hot Mustard.....competely stock and completely original.

For the first year I drove it here and there and then when rego ran out I took it off the road for a full bare metal resto.  Have wanted one all my life since dad owned a new one was I was growing up.  The first car I can remember being in when the memories begin....

Wife calls it the money pit but I see it as a blast from the past and a good investment.
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2011, 09:44:14 PM
Quote from: DANBRI
BA XR8 awesome predictable power
(http://www.atholparkfordwreckers.com/images/uploads/BOSS260.jpg)

FG XR6T dead set rocket
(http://www.castlehillexhaust.com.au/files/chris3.JPG)
Couldnt you afford the rest of them?
Post by: Black Diamond on August 31, 2011, 09:48:35 PM
Dan i will line up your SH1TBOX Ford anyday (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-transport027.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)  ;D
This is my Fav, love driving it its a balltearer  :cheers:

(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/HP-Heaven-LSX_Shootout_Heathcote-LA4_7660.jpg)

Its for sale anyone wanna buy it?

Cheers John
Post by: Prado BB on August 31, 2011, 09:51:42 PM
VGs are fat. The 360 is sensational clunker, would have been a nice ride!

Clunker is an apt description, sad day when my wife sold it :'( My second favourite was the BA XR6.

(http://i932.photobucket.com/albums/ad169/thedevilwearsprado/val.jpg)
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2011, 09:53:21 PM
Dan i will line up your SH1TBOX Ford anyday (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-transport027.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)  ;D
This is my Fav, love driving it its a balltearer  :cheers:

(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/HP-Heaven-LSX_Shootout_Heathcote-LA4_7660.jpg)

Its for sale anyone wanna buy it?
swap you a corolla for it?
Post by: Prado BB on August 31, 2011, 09:53:33 PM
My favorite car is presently in the garage in a million pieces........

1970 VG Valiant Pacer coupe auto Hot Mustard.....competely stock and completely original.

For the first year I drove it here and there and then when rego ran out I took it off the road for a full bare metal resto.  Have wanted one all my life since dad owned a new one was I was growing up.  The first car I can remember being in when the memories begin....

Wife calls it the money pit but I see it as a blast from the past and a good investment.

I'm jealous :( O0
Post by: jclures on August 31, 2011, 09:54:14 PM
For me it would have to be my old 1970 Mazda R100, it was a lot of fun to drive in those days, being only a light car with plenty of power. The rotary engine sounded like sh’t though, and it loved the fuel, but maybe that was the way I drove though.  ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on August 31, 2011, 09:56:03 PM
swap you a corolla for it?
haha depends on the year model  ;D

Clunker is an apt description, sad day when my wife sold it :'( My second favourite was the BA XR6.

(http://i932.photobucket.com/albums/ad169/thedevilwearsprado/val.jpg)

Andy thats a ripper mate, absolute classic car. Gee they had some balls even by todays standards  :cup:
Post by: rellbell on August 31, 2011, 10:01:46 PM
OMG somebody had to start this thread didnt they.  Well my first car was a 1970 LC Torana 2 door (Linament Green) snazzy little number wonder where it is now?  Traded that on a 1980 White Sunbird then met Hubby who had 1976 XB Falcon Panel Van (He still has it in back shed).  We owned a Red XC Ute, and my Most Favourite  :cup: was a White XC Rally Pack, 351 Sedan with Chrome 12 slotters and unique exhaust system.  It was the most awesome car. I was talked into selling it so we could purchase an XD Falcon Wagon (Kids) which we traded in on an FJ55 Toyota Landcruiser. Then we bought a 1988 GQ 4.2 petrol and traded up to the current GU 2000 4.5L ST Wagon. Fairly early in our life/marriage we purchased an FJ Holden Sedan as a resto project and she also sits in the back shed patiently waiting for same (26yrs actually).  Ahhh I just loves cars.  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Cheers Rellbell
Post by: Prado BB on August 31, 2011, 10:03:15 PM
stop it  :'( :'( :'( :'(

I tried to buy it back once, but I think he caught on that I was emotionally attached and he tried it on.  Sadly I had to give up.
Post by: Heiny on August 31, 2011, 10:12:44 PM
My favourite was my VK HDT Director :cup:
Post by: duggie on September 01, 2011, 07:22:13 AM
My most bestest fun car was my 1973 180B datto, unfortunately it was also the most favorite car that the coppers liked to pull over. I still have a photo album full of speeding & undue noise in manner of operation tickets from the late seventies and early eighties, how times have changed. Pull a burnout those day's $10.00 fine and 1 point loss of your licence, pull a burnout today you loose your car and your licence.
Post by: darren on September 01, 2011, 07:38:46 AM
My most bestest fun car was my 1973 180B datto, unfortunately it was also the most favorite car that the coppers liked to pull over. I still have a photo album full of speeding & undue noise in manner of operation tickets from the late seventies and early eighties, how times have changed. Pull a burnout those day's $10.00 fine and 1 point loss of your licence, pull a burnout today you loose your car and your licence.

I would say if you pulled a burnout in a 180b the cops would have given you an achievement award  8)
Post by: darren on September 01, 2011, 07:40:52 AM
stop it  :'( :'( :'( :'(

I tried to buy it back once, but I think he caught on that I was emotionally attached and he tried it on.  Sadly I had to give up.

Getting an old car back is like getting an old girlfriend back..... you dont know who has f*cked with since the last time you had it....
Post by: bussoboy on September 01, 2011, 07:44:01 AM
 i had a 180B once - i paid a carton of Swan Gold for it
It was a great work hack - one day driving home a guy in a Pajero ran into the back of me denting the already dented rear end, i played up on it at the time and him not wanting to run it through his insurance gave me $500 to go away.......never did fix the car and ran it for another 12 months before it finally fell apart from lack of care, oil, water etc etc
Post by: Hairs on September 01, 2011, 07:50:46 AM
I still have a photo album full of speeding & undue noise in manner of operation tickets from the late seventies and early eighties,
In 1988 I had a 78 HZ 253 auto, A real sweet twin system on her.
Left the car park at Clarkes beach(Byron bay) in a hurry, didn't bag them up, just made a little bit of noise.
The coppers pinged me for 'Noisy exhaust due to management of vehicle'
I think it was a $300 odd fine and 4 points.
The first think the copper said to me was,
"Son, when you see a policeman in your rear vision mirror, you don't say "F&^%$ng Coppers"
I'd pulled out just in front of them, I wasn't speeding.
These were the days when the local coppers used some common sense. Just like when the H/way patrol pulled me up coming back from a surf, with the surf boards hanging out the left hand rear window. Instead of a fine, he follows me to the local surf shop to buy a set of Soft Racks, $80 racks, were cheaper than the fine.
Funny as  :laugh:

Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on September 01, 2011, 07:52:31 AM
"The most favorite car I've owned"
Bought new in 1985, ordered with 2.4Lt diesel and overdrive auto trans
it had done >600,000 Kms when I traded it on the Ssangyong  ;D
Fitted it with Fërd 12 slot, 1 ton ute rims, and suitable dirt bashing rubber
Even had tuned length extractors and dual Hyclones  :-*

Been up & down the GRR 4 times and over some of the worst corrugations here in WA.
Now can't load the solar system and some of the gear onto the Ssangyong :'(
Post by: Black Diamond on September 01, 2011, 08:10:34 AM
Getting an old car back is like getting an old girlfriend back..... you dont know who has f*cked with since the last time you had it....
Well said Darren ;D
Post by: Alan Loy on September 01, 2011, 08:28:59 AM
I guess its a toss up between a GT Cortina and Subaru RS Liberty.  Both fun cars, the Cortina had the best gearbox I have ever used, great for clutchless changes.
Post by: Laith on September 01, 2011, 08:36:54 AM
My first car was a Datto 180B that I put a fuel inj FJ20 turbo with aftermarket engine management system.

It did burnouts into 3rd gear with a CIG locker and did in excess of 200kmph.

It was a great car.
Post by: toad on September 01, 2011, 08:49:01 AM
 65 Mustang fastback (2+2 to be correct) which we imported, restored and converted to RHD. Warmed 302, etc. Got bored because it had a roof so sold it over 10 years ago and now love my two Triumph TR's, a 58 TR3A and a 64 TR4.
Post by: Alloy C/T on September 01, 2011, 08:50:54 AM
I really think that my favourite car of all the various that have come and gone would have to be the first one I bought , a 1968 HB  2door 4 cylinder , 4 on the floor Holden Torana , white with red interior ,  bought in 1971 , did 50,000miles in less than 2 years , cost all of $2 to fill the petrol tank back then as the price for " super " was still round .35cents per gallon ,
Post by: DANBRI on September 01, 2011, 08:55:55 AM
Mustang's are great, I'd love one. I'd have a hard top though, soft tops are too much effort.

Post by: Redback on September 01, 2011, 08:58:38 AM
1968 Triumph 2.5PI, same motor was in the TR5/6, mechanical fuel injected straight six, went like a rocket, could keep up with a 350 GTS Monaro :cup:

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/04/Triumph_2.5_PI_Mk_I_2498cc_first_registered_August_1969.JPG/800px-Triumph_2.5_PI_Mk_I_2498cc_first_registered_August_1969.JPG)

Brilliant car, all leather interior, real woodgrain, 4 speed manual, 4 wheel disc brakes and independent suspension.

Post by: rotare on September 01, 2011, 09:06:54 AM
My 1974 Mazda RX4 Coupe.  Was a one owner "barn find" when I got hold of it.  It was complete, very original, but in need of some TLC.  Did a lot of the restoration myself, including the engine build.  Beautiful to drive, smooth, quiet and very unassuming.... but with 300rwkw on tap in a 1000kg shell, it was an extremely fast and powerful car.  Ran 10.7 second quarters at the drags, but was just as happy cruising along at the speed limit on a public road.  Awesome car.    
Post by: Barrabart on September 01, 2011, 09:14:47 AM
My most favourite was my "84 Dual Cab Hilux 4x4...... sporting the 3y 2ltr Petrol ......... the old girl never let me down....... owned her for almost 13 yrs..... for the first 7 or 8 yrs she was my families only car, bought her in '95 sold her in '07........ Besides oil changes etc, the only things that broke on her was a rear diff pumpkin (got a second hand replacement for a $200), and an alternator in the whole time i owned her....... she had 365000klms on the clock, and she did plenty of bush work.... The whole family loved ol' Hessy......... Wish i'd never sold her, heaps of memories involve the old girl, from bringing home 2 of our new born babies, packing almost all our posessions into her including the Mrs and kids and moving town in search of a better life, later takin my young fella and mates out catchin pigs on countless occasions, bush bashin our way into some really hard to get to water ways for a family afternoons fishing (with the tinny on the roof), family holidays, camping trips etc....... she was far from fast but would always get ya where ya wanted to go.
Bloody legend that old Luxy.
Post by: DANBRI on September 01, 2011, 09:15:09 AM
One of the best shaped Mazda's ever. That was seriously quick! I can't imagine how you'd get traction in it.
Post by: rotare on September 01, 2011, 09:32:50 AM
One of the best shaped Mazda's ever. .

I agree.  They are a very tough looking coupe.  I owned quite a few mazdas in my younger years and they were all RX4 coupes..... wouldn't have anything else!  Although they are still very popular, they never had the cult following like Mazda RX3 had, and still have.

That was seriously quick! I can't imagine how you'd get traction in it

Yes, traction on the road was a bit of a problem  ;D..... little bit scary when it came on boost in 4th gear at 100km/hr and start smoking the rear tyres.  For drag racing I had to run slicks on the back.
Post by: MarkGU on September 01, 2011, 09:42:07 AM
i had two favorites. the 1st was my 1998 Holden commodore Ute.rebuilt engine and lowered.
very quick and way too much fun  8)

the 2nd was my Valiant speedway race car.
outright point score winner 4 years running and third in state tittles in Grafton.

Post by: Doug.b on September 01, 2011, 09:58:26 AM
Hj Monaro 5litre, 4 door, red & black
great cruising car
Post by: Gunna Do on September 01, 2011, 10:13:10 AM
Plenty of grunting in this thread, just wish I had something in my list of previously owned vehicles that I could grunt about.  

Now I know I'm going to cop a bit of flack over this list (except maybe from Gronk), but I've owned two Sigmas, the first a Chrysler Sigma SE (I think) and the second a Mitsubishi Sigma GSR (sports pack if that's possible), both with the thumping power of the mighty 2.6 motor.

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/31094-2/CCF01092011_00001.jpg)  (http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/31096-2/CCF01092011_00000.jpg)

I then went to four wheel drives and bought a HJ60 Cruiser with 2H diesel power and after that you all know the rest of the story.

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/31104-2/IMG_0001_001.jpg)
Winching out of Gunshot
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/31102-2/IMG_002.jpg)

Oh, I do also own a VX11 Berlina.

I would seriously love to own a V8 Holden sedan of some sort, but just when I could possibly afford it, wouldn't you know it SWMBO is on her "P"s and is restricted to what she is allowed to drive.  Just waiting though!!!

To pick a favourite I would have to pick my old 60, it was great.  If my Patrol would lug down low in the rev range like that old 60 then it may be a contender.
Post by: hairymick on September 01, 2011, 10:14:28 AM
1961 FB holden panel van with a worked holden side plate motor.  ;D

Post by: dazzler on September 01, 2011, 10:19:17 AM
Toyota 4runner 2.8TD. Dont know why, just loved it!
Post by: darren on September 01, 2011, 10:19:58 AM
Plenty of grunting in this thread, just wish I had something in my list of previously owned vehicles that I could grunt about.  

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/31094-2/CCF01092011_00001.jpg)  

Did you paint the writing on the tyres with liquid papper Gary?
Post by: DANBRI on September 01, 2011, 10:32:51 AM
Go the Stinkma!  ;D
Post by: darren on September 01, 2011, 10:34:46 AM
Probably my swb f100 that i used to tow my race cars. Had a trick 302 that i built and would give the boy racers a run for their money in the twisty bits.
Post by: Bird on September 01, 2011, 10:37:45 AM
1961 FB holden panel van with a worked holden side plate motor.  ;D

Gee, I'd love one of them :( infact any old Holden Panel Van from pre 1974... Theres enough steel in that thing to make 100,000 Commonwhores
(http://www.holden.org.au/images/fb21.jpg)
Post by: Bird on September 01, 2011, 10:56:25 AM
I would say if you pulled a burnout in a 180b the cops would have given you an achievement award  8)

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/--tZupEq1hik/Tle0cHrsrCI/AAAAAAAAJBw/ZPlWUgYqKf4/s1600/winner.jpg)
Post by: DANBRI on September 01, 2011, 10:57:54 AM
I've always wanted to own one of these, but I don't think it will ever happen now. Got a spare 100k?

(http://cdn5.caradvice.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/xu-1.JPG)
Post by: drrnadms on September 01, 2011, 11:14:21 AM
It was my Mk 1 escort rally car 220hp at the rear wheels, it was great on the dirt roads. best highway car I sold this year was the ford G6E turbo, great luxury items and good on fuel but my god they are a quick vehicle.

Darren :police:
Post by: Bird on September 01, 2011, 11:15:22 AM
I've always wanted to own one of these, but I don't think it will ever happen now. Got a spare 100k?

(http://cdn5.caradvice.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/xu-1.JPG)
nice
but I'd prefer the A9x
(http://www.justholdens.com.au/images_mag/a9x/IMG_a0017.jpg)
Post by: bushrat on September 01, 2011, 11:20:18 AM
This my favorite car. I had my eyes on this for years but had to wait until my grandmother stopped driving which didn't until the young age of 92.

(http://i1222.photobucket.com/albums/dd483/66prem/66prem/Mar008.jpg)

The better half has said she is never going to ask who I love the most, she even call it the other woman.
Post by: Snow on September 01, 2011, 12:06:27 PM
Only ever owned a '85 Holden Drover and my current '01 Holden Rodeo. Prefer the Rodeo for obvious reasons though the Drover was a hoot off road. Only ever had Motorcycles before that.
Post by: DANBRI on September 01, 2011, 12:11:51 PM
Only ever owned a '85 Holden Drover and my current '01 Holden Rodeo. Prefer the Rodeo for obvious reasons though the Drover was a hoot off road. Only ever had Motorcycles before that.

I had one of them, same year too - identical to this one.

(http://www.suzuki-samurai.nl/home_0ud/rebadged/drover.jpg)
Post by: shanegtr on September 01, 2011, 12:32:19 PM
This is the first car I ever brought and its my favourite. 72 LJ torana. It was originally a GTR, still got the original interior. Engines a 186 bored to 192 with triple SU carbs and an exhaust loud enough to justify wearing ear plugs while driving 8) Still got it now, been tempted to sell it several times (never had the nerve to pull it off however) as it hasnt been driven in at least 6 years. Needs some work, but I'll get there eventually
(http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a121/shanegtr/Torana/2006_0420Image0004.jpg)
Post by: Mallory Black on September 01, 2011, 12:40:13 PM
Bestest most favorite car was my white RS2000 4 door, bought it almost new in 1980, kept it for 5 years. and yes wish I still had it.
Other best car was my HG V8 ute. it was rough and ready and great for the other passion (enduro racing)
Love my Prado but by crikey it's slow!
Post by: noel_w on September 01, 2011, 12:47:07 PM
Funny how Datto 510's & 610's have a following. I had a 74 180B (610) which had some suspension work, extractors & a DCOE 45mm dual throat Weber which made it cruise rather well. When I got it new it seemed to have more get up & go than others so I checked & it had SSS pistons (domed rather than flat) out of the factory but the rest was stock. I used to love baiting V8's at the lights & watching their faces as I kept up with them. A mate of mine and I did a trip from Sydney to Lismore (roughly 500 miles) in 7 1/2 hours so it got along OK, 120 mph at red line. Oh how I loved the 70's. I could never work out why I sold it, it was such a sweet car, definately a Wednesday built car. The only thing that let it down was it's cheap interior. Bought another one a few years later (later model 77 I think) & it was a piece of junk, had nothing but trouble with it. I'm on the lookout for a 1600 to do up for my young feller but they are few & far between.
Post by: Jon on September 01, 2011, 02:11:35 PM
Funny how Datto 510's & 610's have a following. I had a 74 180B (610) which had some suspension work, extractors & a DCOE 45mm dual throat Weber which made it cruise rather well. When I got it new it seemed to have more get up & go than others so I checked & it had SSS pistons (domed rather than flat) out of the factory but the rest was stock. I used to love baiting V8's at the lights & watching their faces as I kept up with them. A mate of mine and I did a trip from Sydney to Lismore (roughly 500 miles) in 7 1/2 hours so it got along OK, 120 mph at red line. Oh how I loved the 70's. I could never work out why I sold it, it was such a sweet car, definately a Wednesday built car. The only thing that let it down was it's cheap interior. Bought another one a few years later (later model 77 I think) & it was a piece of junk, had nothing but trouble with it. I'm on the lookout for a 1600 to do up for my young feller but they are few & far between.

All the boyhood rally stars in 1600's i guess.
Mine had one 16" hot dog muffler on a 2" system and sounded awesome through the Sydney expressway tunnels at night. Windows down, stereo off and nearly flat out in 2nd gear (about 50mph) ;D
Post by: sparksy on September 01, 2011, 02:43:37 PM
The car I probably had the most fun would have to be  my WB Holden Kingswood ute converted into a Overlander 4WD.
Dana 44 diffs, turbo 400 tranny with a worked up 308.
Go anywhere and get there really quickly. Most of my mate at the time ( 20 + years ago ) had them, we used to be build them ourselves and start on one friday night and have it finished by Sunday arvo.
Great to drive in sand and well capable of over 100MPH on the beach.
Once I got married and kids were on way wrecked it and built up a HZ wagon with same gear.
Other ones my mates built included a HX premier wagon with blown 350, a Bedford van with f100 gear, holden panelvans and even a torana hatchback.
Post by: Black Diamond on September 01, 2011, 08:05:01 PM
This is the first car I ever brought and its my favourite. 72 LJ torana. It was originally a GTR, still got the original interior. Engines a 186 bored to 192 with triple SU carbs and an exhaust loud enough to justify wearing ear plugs while driving 8) Still got it now, been tempted to sell it several times (never had the nerve to pull it off however) as it hasnt been driven in at least 6 years. Needs some work, but I'll get there eventually
(http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a121/shanegtr/Torana/2006_0420Image0004.jpg)
Thats definitely a keeper Shane, a great example :cheers:
Post by: GS on September 01, 2011, 08:10:26 PM
A good mate of mine had an XU1 that he sold 8-10 years ago for next to nothing.

Still struggles to sleep at night.
Post by: rellbell on September 01, 2011, 08:14:09 PM
A good mate of mine had an XU1 that he sold 8-10 years ago for next to nothing.

Still struggles to sleep at night.

Do hope it gets better for him Soon  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Cheers Rellbell
Post by: JAYBEE on September 01, 2011, 08:25:18 PM
The car I probably had the most fun would have to be  my WB Holden Kingswood ute converted into a Overlander 4WD.
Dana 44 diffs, turbo 400 tranny with a worked up 308.
Go anywhere and get there really quickly. Most of my mate at the time ( 20 + years ago ) had them, we used to be build them ourselves and start on one friday night and have it finished by Sunday arvo.
Great to drive in sand and well capable of over 100MPH on the beach.
Once I got married and kids were on way wrecked it and built up a HZ wagon with same gear.
Other ones my mates built included a HX premier wagon with blown 350, a Bedford van with f100 gear, holden panelvans and even a torana hatchback.

I love the idea of the overlander. There is a guy in NSW who built one on a rangie chassis which looks really smart.

Cheers, Joel
Post by: rodw on September 01, 2011, 08:52:26 PM
I gotta say my last car (Suzuki Vitara) was right up there as a favourite

(http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb270/rodweb/image003.jpg)

BUt it has been eclipsed by my current Hilux which is my all time favourite (even if wheels fall off)

(http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb270/rodweb/Trips/2010-03-22%204WD%20Action/day1and2255.jpg)
Post by: ralphedward on September 01, 2011, 09:09:30 PM
My first car was a Mazda RX3.  I've had many since, and a lot of them were (and are) fantastic, but my original car is the one I want back.  Apparently I can't afford a good RX3 nowadays!
Post by: Mallory Black on September 01, 2011, 09:26:55 PM
A couple from my young days
The RS2000 I had and apologies for the quality of the GTR, it was taken in 1977!
Post by: Campa on September 01, 2011, 09:30:18 PM
Gotta love the RS Escorts MB. :cup:    I miss mine  :'(  If only we knew how difficult and expensive they would to be to replace before we sold them.
Post by: Mallory Black on September 01, 2011, 09:45:34 PM
Ay Bnk!! I miss my RS too, sold it to fund a season of racing and trashed a knee at the Aust 4 day Championships in the ACT (1985 I think) ONE MONTH after selling. Tried to buy it back, no go, it was written off a few months later by the young bloke.

bloody bloody bloody etc etc
Post by: white Knuckles on September 01, 2011, 09:48:22 PM
1974 ta22 Toyota celica was my first car and second car and if i could I would love another one.
Post by: stretch7702000 on September 01, 2011, 09:55:26 PM
I do like my current pootrol. But nothing bets just getting out and cruising in a clasic 70's car.

1978 Drifter charger. My second car and I still own it, I have had it for about 20 years now.

Post by: Andrew1986 on September 01, 2011, 10:17:00 PM
Favourite car is always the first, mine was an 83 VH commodore. It was nothing special but so many great memories from that car and I wish I never got rid of it. You never forget your first!
Post by: Stozz on September 01, 2011, 10:30:58 PM
Favourite car will always be the trusty old Paj called "Roj". Served me well for over ten years. A couple of cracked heads along the way, no real dramas.  
Old bugger did me proud  :cup:

Post by: rodsswag on September 02, 2011, 12:14:39 AM
Hi all, my favorite car I have owned was  VL Walkinshaw SS Group A (Walky). I brought it in 2000 with just over 88,000km's on it and sold it in 2002 with 99,997 km's. It was 1 of only 50 built with a sun roof  ;D. I do miss it but I would not of been able to go and see the places I see in my 105 Cruiser that I have now :cheers:
Post by: 4runnernomore on September 02, 2011, 05:42:33 PM
I agree.  They are a very tough looking coupe.  I owned quite a few mazdas in my younger years and they were all RX4 coupes..... wouldn't have anything else!  Although they are still very popular, they never had the cult following like Mazda RX3 had, and still have.

Yes, traction on the road was a bit of a problem  ;D..... little bit scary when it came on boost in 4th gear at 100km/hr and start smoking the rear tyres.  For drag racing I had to run slicks on the back.

I still reckon the best shape was the Mazda RX2 Capella Savanna two door coupe with the twin headlights iun the front and the twin round tailights.  AWSOME.  :cup:  Such a shame  that all the RX series were so prone to the tin worm rust.
Post by: morgue on September 02, 2011, 07:15:25 PM
A Bathurst Torana LJ Xu1, Torana L34 or even a Torana A9x...when I win Tatts,
I was tempted last year on a 72 VG/VH Bathurst 4 dr E34 Pacer, true, they existed...went around Bathurst fighting the XU1's and Fords...did pretty well, came 3rd outright the year they raced.
The memories, the brother in law took me for a ride in one when I was knee high to a torque wrench, 3 speed box, twin webbers hanging off the slant 6, and belting down the road at 135mph (not kph)...
the bloke wanted 35k for it...I was very tempted.
Post by: Jason B on September 02, 2011, 08:14:12 PM
1st car was an 1980 Escort RS 2000 2 Dr with an BDA Cosworth engine conversion.

Have to be the Ford escorts for me to. I have had 11 MK2 RS2000's including the old German Rs2000 Group C race Car of John English and Gary Scott which ran in ATCC and Bathurst 1976, 77 and 78. My modified MK1 was one of my favorites also it had a modified 2lt full of Cosworth bits.

The fastest car I owned was my Ford Sierra Cosworth 4wd. 300kw at the wheels from a 2lt 4 cylinder was interesting. 168mph down the cambeltown express way with 4 coppers in it. It was an awsome combination of performance, handling and comfort, with leather recaro interior and all fruit, and then that engine when you wanted it.

The escorts were simple sideways fun.

Post by: Jason B on September 02, 2011, 08:17:29 PM
The RS and the Sierra.
Post by: sadie on September 02, 2011, 08:25:28 PM
For me it would have to be my old 1970 Mazda R100, it was a lot of fun to drive in those days, being only a light car with plenty of power...

Nice to see someone else on here who's had an R100.  :cup: I had one as my second car (first was a Datsun 1600) The R100 is my favourite by far. I'd love to have another oneday, but they are hard to come by these days... Also had an RX2 Coupe. Love the rotaries....
Post by: jclures on September 02, 2011, 08:29:24 PM
The R100 wasn’t common it the 70s so they would be hard to find today I would think.
Post by: kiwipete on September 02, 2011, 08:32:13 PM
1953 Ford F100
1964 VW Beetle
1969 HT V8 Ute
1991 HDJ80
Post by: flamingo on September 02, 2011, 08:38:45 PM
  Had a few cars one of my Fav's was an ap 6 valiant. was a great car it flew!! Had a datto 120y coupe too. bullet proof... Now i have a 70 valiant a 71 charger a vs commo ute and  a 05 navara and a crowded driveway!!!  :cheers: Phil :cheers:
Post by: rellbell on September 02, 2011, 09:04:09 PM
I do like my current pootrol. But nothing bets just getting out and cruising in a clasic 70's car.

1978 Drifter charger. My second car and I still own it, I have had it for about 20 years now.

  Noice Cheers Rellbell
Post by: rellbell on September 02, 2011, 09:07:34 PM
Favourite car is always the first, mine was an 83 VH commodore. It was nothing special but so many great memories from that car and I wish I never got rid of it. You never forget your first!

Our 23yo daughter (Uni Student) drives a bright Yellow 81 VC sedan that she and her dad restored a few years ago. I love to follow it down the road, it just looks awesome.  cheers Rellbell
Post by: flamingo on September 02, 2011, 09:15:22 PM
  Hi Rellbell you reminded  me we had a VH 6cyl auto what a great car... Did 500 thou k before it went to god. Still on the orig motor and running fine!   :cheers: Phil
Post by: Dion on September 02, 2011, 09:20:28 PM
Well I've not owned that many cars but my favourite is my current one: 07 VW Jetta Turbo FSI (2.0 petrol turbo).

(https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-mjjOAhexfH0/SEYqVoo_MPI/AAAAAAAABLk/LSSqc6xDgsI/s720/IMG_5452_crop_plates.jpg)

Power, comfort, room for my 2m frame and an enormous frickin boot.  Something to be said about being able to beat most other traffic while enroute to a picnic day with a pram, fridge, gazebo and 4 chairs in the boot   ;D ;D  The trick double clucth gearbox appears to the nerd in me too  8)
Post by: TroyE on September 02, 2011, 10:59:36 PM
Shit this is hard, among the list I've had is; 3 datto 1200's (B110), 120y hard top (B210), 1962& 1/2 compact fairlane (resto project that I never finished and had to sell :'( ), 75 TD XLE cortina 250 pre cross flow (3rd in my list), of the datto's my 2ND one (2ND in my list) was a wensday car screemed it's head off would happily do 7000rpm all day 55MPH in 2ND gear >:D in the end I ****ed the speedo ( took it past the 100MPH far to many times oops) but my all time faverate was and still is ( and yep I want an other one and SWMBO wants one to ;D) was my 1200 fast back coupe  :cup: and yes I know I'm gunna cope some Shit over that but, It was a full resto had an A12 motor with an A14 head shaved ported, a huge cam ( she'd rock like V8 at idle and would give a lot of V8's a bloody big suprise) Holley bug spray carby 265cfm ( Holley equivalent to a duel down draft webber) custom intake manifold foam sports filter, tuned extractors and a 2" system with a single hot dog >:D yep she was loud and went like a cut snake ;D , I put a ute diff into her, 120y main rear spring reverse eyed (for bound and rebound) cut down datto stanza front springs, I up graded the front end with the front brakes from a stanza, the front struts where a combo of stanza and 1200 bits gave her about 3 degrees neg camber, coupled with a set of mini light wheels (from the 70's rally wheels very strong) fitted a set of bfg radial A's 205 on the front and 235 on the rear god I miss that car :'(

troy

the pic was take on the road between longreach and winton
Post by: noel_w on September 03, 2011, 06:12:24 AM
Nothing like wringing the neck off small fours eh! Sweet music.
Post by: duggie on September 03, 2011, 07:09:11 PM
Quote fron Darren :
I would say if you pulled a burnout in a 180b the cops would have given you an achievement award  

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/--tZupEq1hik/Tle0cHrsrCI/AAAAAAAAJBw/ZPlWUgYqKf4/s1600/winner.jpg)

Low 11  seconds standing quarter, wrote the thing off at 240 km per hour 3 am christmas morning after owning it for nearly four years. The bloody thing was a freek.
Post by: cancan on September 03, 2011, 07:42:38 PM
My favourite was a 1959 MK2 Zephyr, rebuilt it from scratch and with a few mods to the original motor incl triple SU'S. At the time I also had an XT Falcon with a 460 in it, very tempted to transplant the 460 into the Zephyr but alas they all got sold.
Slightly off topic favouriote motor bike was an 81 1100 Suzuki Katana. Got it when I was 17 (thanks to an open NZ license) .By the time I sold it 10yrs later I had ridden it from Hobart to the Daintree ( a lot of Melbourne to Brisbane trips) and even took it down the birdsville track (wasnt the most comfortable road I had been on). Ahh the memory's, still amazed I lived through that period.
Post by: Teabag on September 03, 2011, 07:44:55 PM
My current 2006 4.2Tdi Patrol Wagon would be the easy winner. Many of the others i choose to forget.....
Post by: skapinad on September 03, 2011, 08:23:13 PM
Unfortunately sold it earlier this year to help fund a new house......72 XU-1

(http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w91/skapinad/P5100039.jpg)
Post by: rellbell on September 03, 2011, 08:26:03 PM
My current 2006 4.2Tdi Patrol Wagon would be the easy winner. Many of the others i choose to forget.....

Great to see you still have it Teabag  hehehe cheers Rellbell
Post by: rotor138 on September 03, 2011, 08:52:58 PM
Mine would have to be my Series3 RX2 with 13b bridgeport, love rotaries. 2nd would be our 1965 AP6 Valiant ute (1 of 2500) which we still own sits in the shed awaiting restoration, not that it needs much done. Can put air in the tyres and start and drive it, don't see cars with the old 3 on the tree now days!
Post by: TroyE on September 03, 2011, 09:01:41 PM
Nothing like wringing the neck off small fours eh! Sweet music.

yep especially on the dirt rally style  >:D

troy
Post by: @fnq4now on September 04, 2011, 04:21:09 PM
Series 6 RX7. It sucked me in, took all my money, then broke my heart.
Post by: Redback on September 04, 2011, 05:07:44 PM
My second most favorite car, my old 1968 F100 4speed, 302 V8 dual exhaust, loved this car, so smooth on the hwy.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v293/bazzar/Scan014.jpg)

Post by: DANBRI on September 04, 2011, 05:25:26 PM
My second most favorite car, my old 1968 F100 4speed, 302 V8 dual exhaust, loved this car, so smooth on the hwy.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v293/bazzar/Scan014.jpg)

That's cool, I'd love one of these.
Post by: offrdn on September 04, 2011, 05:43:09 PM
Was my third Datsun 1600 rally car

looked just like this one
(http://www.hra.org.au/files/images/Bagshot%20140707_884.preview.jpg)

L22 2.2 ltr racing motor twin side draft Webber 45mm was just a dream to drive 
Post by: Jon on September 04, 2011, 06:12:07 PM
Was my third Datsun 1600 rally car

looked just like this one
(http://www.hra.org.au/files/images/Bagshot%20140707_884.preview.jpg)

L22 2.2 ltr racing motor twin side draft Webber 45mm was just a dream to drive 

Awesome 1600.
And another just out of picture  ;D
Post by: moonie80 on September 04, 2011, 06:16:26 PM
I had one almost identical Danbri except she was a '73 and golden on the highway
Post by: richee on September 04, 2011, 06:30:22 PM
3 of my favs

Holden FC Panel Van
Series 2 RX7
1990 Mazda MX5
Post by: MarkAus on September 04, 2011, 06:31:21 PM
Has to be my 2005 VXR land cruiser! VX8 petrol, Monster of a car. You name it, it conquer'd it, sand dune.s mud, kids....loved it 200%.... trying now to like my jeep...not quite the same but we will get there....

(http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1011764814015&set=a.1011764734013.2002529.1221840269&type=1)

Post by: dallp on September 04, 2011, 09:28:58 PM
The cheapest motoring I have had for the last 15 years.

THE MIGHTY NODSTER!!!!!!
Post by: MDS69 on September 04, 2011, 09:57:58 PM
Some amazing cars in this thread.

After owning this for about 6 years I sold it in the late '90s to buy a house :'( :'(
I loved this car (scanned 35mm pis). It was stolen and never recovered about 2 months after I sold it >:(
(http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t126/exbrockowner/Car-1.jpg)
(http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t126/exbrockowner/Car2.jpg)

Than about 4 years ago I bought this :cup:
(http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t126/exbrockowner/DSCF2567A.jpg)

Still haven't worked out which is my favorite yet :cheers:

Notable mention to the SSS Stanza I had. I put a 180B SSS motor with twin SU's in it. That was a fun car.
Post by: harvs on September 04, 2011, 10:19:54 PM
The car I most regret selling was a 62 Falcon panel van. Like the one pictured below. These are very rare, and particularly without windows chopped into the sides. They have such great lines.  Mine was black, and all the girls were curious about what was in the back.

(http://tapatalk.com/mu/3aa3afb6-6c99-6371.jpg)
Post by: noel_w on September 04, 2011, 11:07:17 PM
Stop it you guys, you are just breaking my heart with all those sweet machines and loves lost. Just remember you will never forget your first love!! My wife keeps reminding of this fact (that it was not her). It was my first 180B, then my GS750 (with 860 Yoshi kit, custom exhaust, imported StreetStroker suspension bits etc etc). Now that was a sweet ride till I t-boned a Gemini who stalled crossing the highway. The bike was never the same again even after fixing it.
Post by: Wandering Tassie on September 05, 2011, 07:50:14 AM
Has to be my 1964 HD Panel Van. Didn't go all that well, but I sure had a lot of fun in it.

Post by: Redback on September 05, 2011, 08:13:35 AM
The car I most regret selling was a 62 Falcon panel van. Like the one pictured below. These are very rare, and particularly without windows chopped into the sides. They have such great lines.  Mine was black, and all the girls were curious about what was in the back.

WOW a panelvan, very rare they were, I had the 63 station wagon, a mate at the time had the panelvan but with windows, I believe it was a mod done after, bloody great cars the early Fords :cup:

Post by: Prado BB on September 05, 2011, 08:40:04 AM

After owning this for about 6 years I sold it in the late '90s to buy a house :'( :'(
I loved this car (scanned 35mm pis). It was stolen and never recovered about 2 months after I sold it >:(

Than about 4 years ago I bought this :cup:
(http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t126/exbrockowner/DSCF2567A.jpg)

Notable mention to the SSS Stanza I had. I put a 180B SSS motor with twin SU's in it. That was a fun car.

very nice Mark, I always liked the VH SS in red (think that was the only colour?)
Post by: Black Diamond on September 05, 2011, 09:00:55 AM

What a beast  :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Matto on September 05, 2011, 09:20:02 AM
Now i have a 70 valiant a 71 charger...

You're a smart man Phil - very nice indeed. My first car was a 77' CL Charger in British Racing Green. Beautiful car, in original condition. The little 245 with a 4-speed floor-shift manual box. Lovely car - wish I still had it.

2nd would be our 1965 AP6 Valiant ute (1 of 2500) which we still own sits in the shed awaiting restoration, not that it needs much done. Can put air in the tyres and start and drive it, don't see cars with the old 3 on the tree now days!
Rotor - if you could EVER be talked into selling it, I DEMAND that you call me first!!!  ;D ;D ;D I've been chasing an AP6 ute for quite some time.  8)

There's certainly some nice machinery in this thread.

Post by: Prado BB on September 05, 2011, 09:38:35 AM

there's one of these in my local area!
Post by: Matto on September 05, 2011, 09:39:17 AM
Now I know I'm going to cop a bit of flack over this list (except maybe from Gronk), but I've owned two Sigmas, the first a Chrysler Sigma SE (I think) and the second a Mitsubishi Sigma GSR (sports pack if that's possible), both with the thumping power of the mighty 2.6 motor.
Hehehehehe.

My Sigma was a beige 84 "Satellite" special edition one - The Astron 2.6 with a 5 speed manual box. Wasn't that motor rubbish. We fitted mine with a 2-barrel Webber, and the most aggressive cam grind that would still run. It made a hell of a noise and shook itself terribly, but was still not exactly a fast car. With all the weight up front and no sway-bars, it didn't much like going round corners either. The real magic in that car was the stereo that could reach just over 130db.

Yeah - it's ridiculous - that was the point of it. You could guarantee that there wasn't another one out there just like it! My brother ended up putting it into a tree sideways at 100kph, and it was never really the same after that (surprisingly).

Thanks for the memories!
Post by: Mav on September 05, 2011, 09:44:14 AM
I loved my VJ Charger, it was lowered and had extractors. That car was just awsome to drive and the seats were amazingly comfortable. I also miss my HX Sandman panel van, it was midnight black with gold wheels. It had porthole windows, two on each side which I later replaced with one rectangular window on each side. I had the back done out in crushed velevt and sheepskin, the bar was made of teak with a mirror beind. The side pipes made it sound unreal.
Post by: MDS69 on September 05, 2011, 01:05:58 PM

very nice Mark, I always liked the VH SS in red (think that was the only colour?)

Hi Andy,
Initially they were only in Maranello Red then later on were done in Alabaster White then very late in the build a few were painted in Alpine white which everyone would recognise as a VK colour.
Post by: MDS69 on September 05, 2011, 01:15:17 PM
What a beast  :cup: :cup: :cup:

Thanks. It was a weapon of a car.
Half roll cage
Koni adjustable shocks with lowered King springs, adjustable panhard rod and adjustable strut tops. Castrol SRF brake fluid that in the '90s cost $120.00 per lt and Pagid racing pads.
I put the Corvette wheels on it that are in the picture but still had the original 16" HDT aeros.
30 thou over forged flat top pistons, massive cam, Yella Terra big valve heads, roller rockers, solid lifters, engine and fly wheel balanced, carby and dizzy blue printed.
I use to super sprint it at Eastern Creek, Amaroo and Oran Park. A lot of fun.
Post by: gronk on September 05, 2011, 05:02:36 PM
Bought this new in 84....had it 27yrs and sold it 4 mths ago for $600 less than what I paid for it new !!
Almost stock standard...134 pack ( same as what the coppers got....basically a SS without spoilers and mags etc )

And you know what....as soon as it got out of sight, I didn't miss it one bit.....but I think the bloke got a pretty smick car !!
Post by: Bird on September 05, 2011, 05:18:39 PM

Always wanted something that old and tidy in a Ford... Love the XL/XM/XP style.. real style....
Post by: GU Rich on September 05, 2011, 05:22:15 PM
My HK ute 3sp on the floor! A real rocket ship  ;D

This was my favourite ute 308, 5 speed, strong LSD, 4 wheel disc brakes, prem front, GTS dash and 2 3/4 straight through exhaust with a hi flow extractors that equaled one loud sweet sounding ute  ;D :police:

(http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s159/utedriver/jamouteMedium.jpg)

Post by: Slipus on September 05, 2011, 05:33:19 PM
My fav car was a 1968 GT cortina.

30 tho oversize pistons, balanced bottom end, a lot of work to the top end and, a 48 mm Webber, extractors and a 2 inch system, cam, a heavy duty clutch. and a lot more and I remember i used to spew about the cost of the spark plugs i used, but they made so much difference .... but can't remember what they were called.  It was a real beast and very quick.  I used to love dragging off unsuspecting EH's and such.  I remember that the E49 chargers used to cause me a lot of grief and I could hardly ever beat them.

Post by: Jason B on September 05, 2011, 05:40:28 PM
My fav car was a 1968 GT cortina.

They were a great looking car I always wanted a Lotus Cortina of the same era.
Post by: D4D on September 05, 2011, 05:42:49 PM
My Audi S Line Avant (wagon in German) :'( wife wouldn't drive a manual although it did make way for the Prado ;D

(http://blkmav.com/images/audi.jpg)
Post by: mystq on September 05, 2011, 05:51:02 PM
My old GQ, just sold it and got a GU.
(http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/199647_10150117214044551_608924550_6149179_2315438_n.jpg)
(http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/67494_1666932271729_1189970787_31887578_2726574_n.jpg)
(http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/60240_162163390463474_100000094435238_519066_862957_n.jpg)
Post by: Prado BB on September 05, 2011, 06:00:51 PM
My old GQ, just sold it and got a GU.
(http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/199647_10150117214044551_608924550_6149179_2315438_n.jpg)
(http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/67494_1666932271729_1189970787_31887578_2726574_n.jpg)
(http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/60240_162163390463474_100000094435238_519066_862957_n.jpg)

yeah gotta love the GQs, I miss mine too.
Post by: skog on September 05, 2011, 06:25:43 PM
Mine would have to be a replica R100 with a 13b in it. It cost me money just to look at it, but had heaps of fun with it.
But a close second and the car I wish I still had was a sandman van, that thing was so good to cruise around in.
Post by: TroyE on September 16, 2011, 04:10:44 PM
this is the same model as the one I had ;D http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_Nazl1XkuE&feature=related

troy
Post by: Top.ender on September 16, 2011, 05:02:43 PM
80 series Landcruiser I cried when I sold it,but it was to upgrade to the 100 series :cup:
Post by: GU Rich on September 16, 2011, 05:12:59 PM
I had a VW Baja exactly like this one, although my Donaldson Air Cleaner was'nt mounted that high.

It was amazing where that VW went. It was fitted with Dueller, coil over shocks and plenty of other goodies  8)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUfC2RPKmBI
Post by: WilSurf on September 16, 2011, 05:24:03 PM
Pontiac Firebird from 1994, with targa roof
Post by: morgue on September 16, 2011, 05:40:57 PM
Unfortunately sold it earlier this year to help fund a new house......72 XU-1

(http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w91/skapinad/P5100039.jpg)

You WHAT...!!!!!

You can get any old house.....but not a bloody clasic like you had in the LJ...

I hope you got a sh1t load of folding stuff for that LJ..

Post by: fishfinder on September 17, 2011, 05:58:09 AM
Favourite would have to be the 95 series Prado I currently have,but the one I had the most fun in would have to be the old 180B in which I transplanted the running gear out of one of Ross Dunkertons cars into it . It sure was a little rocket.
Post by: Black Diamond on September 17, 2011, 07:17:44 AM
I had a VW Baja exactly like this one, although my Donaldson Air Cleaner was'nt mounted that high.

It was amazing where that VW went. It was fitted with Dueller, coil over shocks and plenty of other goodies  8)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUfC2RPKmBI
Is that the one you took up Mt Terrible?  :cup:
Post by: kylarama on September 17, 2011, 12:42:00 PM
Favorite car for me is a tie between my 1st and 2nd car,  although 2 following panel vans are held in high regard for other reasons 8)

(http://i689.photobucket.com/albums/vv260/kylarama/CCF15112009_00001_edited.jpg)

Started life with a 161, 3 on the tree and drums all round and ended with full black Premier interior, 186, traumatic and the most sensitive boosted disc brakes I have ever used.  It's actually a HG with a HK grille.

For my second car I wanted a silver 351 manual XD Fairmont Ghia ESP.  Finances said I had to settle for a blue 302 auto Fairmont.

(http://i689.photobucket.com/albums/vv260/kylarama/FordXD.jpg)

This pic was taken just after it was picked up from the panel beaters after it had a HUGE hit in the front thanks to someone else not giving way!  In hindsight it should never have been repaired as it was never the same and got traded in 9 months later.  The wheels are genuine XC Cobra which I kept and sold years later for more than I sold the car for. ;D

Post by: Mace on September 21, 2011, 03:54:10 PM
Allways regretted selling this one.  No, I didnt put the hood scoop on it.
Post by: Pipeliner on September 22, 2011, 07:28:25 AM
My favourite car was the 1959 Austin Healey Sprite I had in 1970.  No real power (what do you expect from a 948cc pushrod engine, even with twin carbs) but the most fun to drive on the road of anything I've ever driven.  I'd buy another in a flash if I could justify the money to myself (let alone to the wife!).  Those frog-eye headlamps are sooo enticing....................
Post by: Redback on September 22, 2011, 07:34:32 AM
Allways regretted selling this one.  No, I didnt put the hood scoop on it.

Ooooh Bathurst Pacer, very nice :cup:

Post by: Mace on September 22, 2011, 11:51:49 AM

Yeah, it was.  Had a 4 speed fitted when i got it.  Noisy as, but who cares.

My old 68 F100 (like yours - but with a tub) was a classic also.

As was the LC 2 Door XUI Look alike,
And the AP6
And the VE Wagon with the venetian blinds!!
And the quickest of them all, the 85 Rover SD1 Manual, god could that fly. More comfortable that the VX SS and faster top end.
Wish I had them all now - Rant over.
Post by: GU Rich on September 22, 2011, 12:05:37 PM

My old man bought one new  8)
Post by: GU Rich on September 22, 2011, 12:07:10 PM
Is that the one you took up Mt Terrible?  :cup:
yep in the middle of winter before they made the track into a road  8)
Post by: Duchess on September 22, 2011, 10:00:34 PM
My favourite car was the 1959 Austin Healey Sprite I had in 1970.  No real power (what do you expect from a 948cc pushrod engine, even with twin carbs) but the most fun to drive on the road of anything I've ever driven.  I'd buy another in a flash if I could justify the money to myself (let alone to the wife!).  Those frog-eye headlamps are sooo enticing....................

I know of one of these sitting in a garage...however....you'll have to fight me for it. (It belongs to my dad and was last driven at my wedding...20 years ago)
Post by: Pipeliner on September 23, 2011, 07:22:43 AM
I know of one of these sitting in a garage...however....you'll have to fight me for it. (It belongs to my dad and was last driven at my wedding...20 years ago)

Name the time and place and type of fight!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 25, 2014, 05:49:50 PM
Time to re-fire this thread.

My Favourite street car of all time. Little 302 Windsor, auto, ford diff and a lazy ol 250HP shot of Nitrous, you know, for that extra kick in the pants.

http://rs64.pbsrc.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Picture009-2.jpg~c200 (http://rs64.pbsrc.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Picture009-2.jpg~c200)

Post by: Bunyip on August 25, 2014, 06:08:48 PM
I have two. For a car it would be the '78 Celica Liftback my mum bought new. Beautiful car to drive ( for its time).

From a 4x4 side it would be the 80 Series. Still hoping to get another 80 at some point and do it up.

Post by: deepop on August 25, 2014, 07:30:28 PM
Same... Datto 510.... Similar to this but with a worked 180b SSS donk and shizzle...

God the places we went in that hing and the norty things we did...
Have you seen what they go for now? even rusty hulks? :(

Me too!   Had a 1970 and then a 1969? one (with the centre out wiper blades).   Loved that car (and what was done in it!).

That gear stick movement certainly made it unique.
Post by: Bad Scott on August 25, 2014, 07:38:07 PM
1963/4 Ford XM Wagon, 12 slotters, 9" :cheers:
Post by: Mace on August 25, 2014, 07:54:22 PM
Great find jeepers, you must have too much time on your hands. Either the lawns arnt growing, or the fish arnt biting?

I'd forgotten about this thread.

Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on August 25, 2014, 07:57:01 PM
About 10 years ago when I was involved in rallying I shoved a 13b mild port into a rear wheel drive Mazda 323. Painted it a deep blue, the steel rims got a coat of black paint, tinted windows and dumped it on the ground- boy that was a fab car.
Post by: Swannie on August 25, 2014, 08:09:52 PM
 I'm loving owning the 80 at the moment but hard to go past my SS hatchback that I've had for 8 years

Post by: slcs78 on August 25, 2014, 08:16:53 PM
(http://i129.photobucket.com/albums/p205/sjlcs/DSCF4088.jpg) (http://s129.photobucket.com/user/sjlcs/media/DSCF4088.jpg.html)

I've had better cars, I've had faster cars. But this was what as an 18 year old I dreamed off. Love the old Holden v8 with a set of paccies. Nothing beats the sound
Post by: Forest on August 25, 2014, 08:26:54 PM
 My Grandfather's car and my first car  :cup:

Ford Escort Van - Prototype Sundowner  ;D Mulberry coloured, girls came later.

Forest

Post by: Forest on August 25, 2014, 08:29:52 PM
First or second pay was on Sony Stereo then saved up for chrome mags

Forest
Post by: Mace on August 25, 2014, 08:30:26 PM

I've had better cars, I've had faster cars. But this was what as an 18 year old I dreamed off. Love the old Holden v8 with a set of paccies. Nothing beats the sound

Sics, if I ever buy another weekend rocket it will be a 5 litre V8. Probably the last of the VT SS series.

Post by: broncos11 on August 25, 2014, 08:39:53 PM
My current 100 series, but bloody hell I loved my 62' EK wagon also, and my 82' Lux with the old 18R engine. Wouldn't believe where I took that 2 litre 4by!!
Post by: slcs78 on August 25, 2014, 08:51:08 PM
Sics, if I ever buy another weekend rocket it will be a 5 litre V8. Probably the last of the VT SS series.

Yep it's hard to beat them. Before my collie my work car was a worked 6lt ssv and I must say I enjoy driving the 5lt more. The torque and the fact the early commodores didn't have to go to Jenny Craig means they still go hard  :cheers:
Post by: chetty on August 25, 2014, 09:13:44 PM
First or second pay was on Sony Stereo then saved up for chrome mags

Forest

Oh man that's a beautiful little escort.
Post by: billnjim on August 25, 2014, 09:44:49 PM
Car would have to be the xy falcon 500 sedan I bought off a girlfriends parents - stock standard with the exception of a xb interior, 4wd would have to be the landrover defender that was sold as it wasn't family friendly enough (according to the wife) and was replaced with the pajero less than 12mths after being fully kitted for touring. Miss both of them but realistically would only get the xy again as the pajero has opened my eyes to comfortable touring - although our daughter use to always say she wanted the landy as her car when she is old enough, she hasn't said that with the pajero.
Post by: grafy82 on August 25, 2014, 10:17:14 PM
My first car and absolute favourite was a white on green 1969 mini. I still have a 1972 mini panelvan in the shed awaiting the last bit of her rebuild (started 16 years ago and cant see an end  :'(). Some unreal fun in those little cars.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on August 26, 2014, 06:26:50 AM
Mine would have to be a HK Kingswood coupe.

My Mother had one when I was a kid, and I've wanted one ever since. Found it by chance in the same suburb we were living in, under covers in a garage unloved. Didn't have enough cash to purchase it, so I sold the best car I'd ever owned at that time, for less than 1/4 of its value, to have enough cash overnight to grab the HK before the fella changed his mind. ;D

Shane.
Post by: edz on August 26, 2014, 08:23:11 AM
Do you mean a HQ LS two door Shane ... HK  coupe  Monaro ?  .. or was it a factory prototype, HK Would look good in a tudor style ... found this Brouham styled one .
Post by: smokescreen on August 26, 2014, 09:19:50 AM
I had so many favourite cars over the years but anyway here's a few old photo's of my old cars

1964 four door pillarless Chev Impala 396BB

(http://i1219.photobucket.com/albums/dd425/1smokescreen/Theold64.jpg) (http://s1219.photobucket.com/user/1smokescreen/media/Theold64.jpg.html)

1923 Ford T Bucket running a tunnel rammed 400 SB Chev

(http://i1219.photobucket.com/albums/dd425/1smokescreen/23T.jpg) (http://s1219.photobucket.com/user/1smokescreen/media/23T.jpg.html)

32 Ford with a 427BB Chev

(http://i1219.photobucket.com/albums/dd425/1smokescreen/32f.jpg) (http://s1219.photobucket.com/user/1smokescreen/media/32f.jpg.html)

My old stato bog stock 350SB

(http://i1219.photobucket.com/albums/dd425/1smokescreen/Stato_zps17792cd2.jpg) (http://s1219.photobucket.com/user/1smokescreen/media/Stato_zps17792cd2.jpg.html)

I haven't had a decent toy in years maybe it's time to start working on the missus

Post by: gronk on August 26, 2014, 11:16:48 AM
I had this for 28 yrs.....nearly as long as my marriage.....308, 134 pack ( same brock motor as the SS and cops package )..

Post by: edz on August 26, 2014, 11:44:31 AM
My Ford V6 RS2000 at Lakeside raceway.. Owned  the car since 1984 and its been through a few reincarations and powerplants..
Post by: Mallory Black on August 26, 2014, 11:47:25 AM
thats a niice commi
Post by: NewieCamper on August 26, 2014, 11:57:53 AM
Is a toss up between

the Suzuki Sierra, soft top, go anywhere. Only sold it as I started driving the freeway for 40min for work and at 110 it was flat out and the roof flap was deafening. Would be great to still have it.

The VF 2 door Valiant with 360 and 4spd. Loud and fast. Sold it as it spent too much time in the garage and someone else needed to use it like it was meant to be. If I had a shed big enough I'd like to still have it too. I noted a few in the early pages of this thread too.
(http://i955.photobucket.com/albums/ae38/hoomac/Vehicles/JamesinValiant_zps6ae25be6.jpg)
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on August 26, 2014, 12:12:44 PM
Do you mean a HQ LS two door Shane ... HK  coupe  Monaro ?  .. or was it a factory prototype, HK Would look good in a tudor style ... found this Brouham styled one .

Most Monaro owners are a bunch ####wits in my opinion. Mine's a Kingswood Coupe,   ;D

First thing they do is look at the ID tags, if it has the correct this, correct that, etc, etc. they don't like it when I tell them it's nothing more than a 2 door Kingswood   :-*

Shane.

( that Brougham looks very much like a 69 Caprice.  http://www.powerful-cars.com/images/chevrolet/chevrolet69caprice6.jpg (http://www.powerful-cars.com/images/chevrolet/chevrolet69caprice6.jpg)   )
Post by: edz on August 26, 2014, 12:19:08 PM
Gotcha drift now, here I was thinking someone had a Tudor sedan style ..  ;D
Post by: Bird on August 26, 2014, 01:16:38 PM
I'd love another (http://www.hra.org.au/files/images/Bagshot%20140707_884.preview.jpg)

always wanted an RX3, but the bankstown and Lebkemba *CREWS* have cornered the market on those, and any that aren't in those areas soon go missing.
Post by: 2impulsiv on August 26, 2014, 02:04:46 PM
For me it's a 2004 CV8 Monaro. Had a bit of work done, was a great car but once we started having kids I let it go. The second owner ran it off the road and it never looked the same IMHO..

(http://2impulsiv.com/2impulsiv/Kalgoorlie%20City%20Pictures/KIF_1157.JPG)

(http://2impulsiv.com/2impulsiv/Kalgoorlie%20City%20Pictures/KIF_1143.JPG)

(http://2impulsiv.com/2impulsiv/Engine%20Bay/KIF_1355.JPG)
Post by: Pipeliner on August 26, 2014, 02:11:26 PM
My most favourite car ever was the MkI Austin Healey Sprite (the frog-eyed one) that I owned between 1970 and 1973 - never before or since have I driven anything that gave me more sheer pleasure.  948cc 4cyl twin carb motor, but who cared about power, the steering and handling was so different from anything else available at the time in my price range!
Post by: Jason B on August 26, 2014, 04:37:24 PM
My Sierra Sapphire Cosworth. 330kw, 4wd fun machine.