General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Campfire on August 12, 2011, 09:28:18 PM

Title: Favourite .22 Rimfire Rifle
Post by: Campfire on August 12, 2011, 09:28:18 PM

I do a bit of target shooting and a spot of hunting. For those of us who are into hunting / target shooting the humble little .22 rimfire is a popular choice, good for hunting the small stuff and cheap for hours of enjoyment at the local range.

Like everything we can get involved with these days, there are hot debates like the old " Ford verse Holden" debates. I have seen some passionate debates about the humble .22 rimfire, and for those of us who are into this area of interest, I've found most people have a favourite.

Im keen on the CZ .22  and the Winchester Wildcat .22 which are both great for picking up the odd rabbit for the pot when away with the camper on farming properties.

Campfire

Title: Re: Favourite .22 Rimfire Rifle
Post by: sako on August 12, 2011, 09:33:50 PM
Gotta love a sako P94
Post by: Campfire on August 12, 2011, 09:36:03 PM
Gotta love a sako P94

Sako are great guns, excellent quality and reputation and well worth the money for those who spend the extra bucks $$$

Campfire
Post by: Burnsy on August 12, 2011, 09:38:02 PM
I am really sorry I handed in my licence and sold mine when the changes to licencing came into place.  I have no regrets that the semi auto is gone but I loved my old Lithgow SAF  single shot.  It had the SAF emblem on a disk in the stock which was otherwise plain, no cross hatching or anything, was small, light weight, well balanced and the open sights were deadly accurate.  I think it probably dated back to the 1940's and use to live in a hand stitched leather sleave in the back of my 4wd when I was out and about camping around Kalgoorlie.  Was great for despatching road kills and filling the camp oven with rabbit.
Post by: Swogjb on August 12, 2011, 09:42:24 PM
Can't go past the CZ BRNO .22
I got mine for my 15th birthday. Dad took me to the police station I sat the test, I passed , we went to the gun shop and we come home with the new rifle.
How times have changed.
Post by: Snow on August 12, 2011, 09:42:48 PM
I have a lovely little short barrel BRNO Mod2.  :cup:
Post by: Jon on August 12, 2011, 09:45:06 PM
If you can find one the BRNO model 2 was a top rifle in its day.

I had a Winchester 73(I think) tube mag, held 12 LR rounds. Slushy action though as the tube was tied to the action somehow.

Old man had a Kriko 22mag with a Bushnell 4x32 scope.

Shouldve kept mine... :(
Post by: Tim - Stratford on August 12, 2011, 10:50:22 PM
I'm rather partial to the Rugers in rimfire - got a .22rf, .22WM and .17HMR all in Rugers.
Post by: Burnsy on August 12, 2011, 11:02:42 PM
Just found a picture of my exact Lithgow from the powerhouse museum.  Makes me want to go and find another one.  I wonder if my old gun licence number would still work or whether your licence is voided once you have no guns on it?  Wishful thinking I know :'(

http://www.powerhousemuseum.com/collection/database/?irn=232850

Found another of the stock disk
http://cas.awm.gov.au/item/REL32492?image=2
Post by: Campfire on August 12, 2011, 11:04:30 PM
I once owned a 10/22 ruger semi auto .22  before Johnny decided I didn't need it anymore. Ruger is a good and their stainless B/A in 223 has served me well.

My favourite rimfire is CZ BRNO in .22 & .22 Mag.

The BRNO has a bit of cult following in Oz, and you would be hard pressed to find an old farmer who didn't have one.

What excites me about the .22 Mag is the new high tech ammo out these days especially in 30 grain polymer ballistic tip rounds. They pull feral cats up well.
Post by: danielhobby on August 12, 2011, 11:37:52 PM
lithgow single shot,nice rifle to put in the hands of young learning shooter sons.a german single shot carbine from the depression era a mates grandfather kept his family fed with around broadford with rabbits,believe it or not i love my stirling 22 carbine as a ute gun when im spotlighting and my new stainless savage 22mag,it knocks the foxes really well when i take the tenterfield out,got 67 last year and 38 this year includeing my first ever triple and i didnt have my camera dammit,almost like the mag more than my swift.
Post by: harvs on August 12, 2011, 11:53:19 PM
What great thread.
I'd recon that learnt to shoot did so with either a .22 or a shotgun. I got my .22 when I was 15, I still have it. it's an Ansultz 1450. A basic rifle, but very light, compact, and accurate. Awesome for walking hilly country for  hours, or spotlighting in a car. it's taken countless rabbits, and the odd fox and feral. I always wanted a bigger rifle feel though, and would love to own a Brno for this reason.
I have a ruger m77 in .220 swift for the bigger and further targets. and I always love an afternoon with a mate   Dusting clays.

(http://tapatalk.com/mu/c0947562-2fab-d310.jpg)
(http://tapatalk.com/mu/c0947562-3045-2152.jpg)
Post by: Campfire on August 13, 2011, 12:14:29 AM
I have a mixed bag in the collection including some shotguns, centrefires, air rifle and a couple of rimfires.

It's all good fun provided it's done safely, I do a regular run of farms / private properties where it's a great excuse to try out the latest hot loads on the market for .22 LR and .22 WMR.

Lately I've been taking air rifle hunting a lot more serious, especially since the technology from what they use to be has jumped in leaps and bounds.

It's all good fun
Post by: ezza on August 13, 2011, 12:15:09 AM
I have two the old mans winchester pump action and a ansultz 1450 favorite is the 1450
and burnsy your license number will be the same as your drivers license unless you get it before your driving license  
Post by: carinya on August 13, 2011, 12:29:25 AM
I still have the Slazenger single shot  my dad gave me in 1985, don't use it much now but used to pick fleas off 'roos before they were dog tucker.  He gave me a Browning pump action to use when I left home to work at Charleville.  That is one beautiful little rifle.  Heavier than a lot of others but great to use.
Post by: Campfire on August 13, 2011, 12:44:46 AM
I still have the Slazenger single shot  my dad gave me in 1985, don't use it much now but used to pick fleas off 'roos before they were dog tucker.  He gave me a Browning pump action to use when I left home to work at Charleville.  That is one beautiful little rifle.  Heavier than a lot of others but great to use.

If your lucky enough to hold a Browning Pump in your collection and it's in a decent condition you might be pleasantly surprised if you got it valued.

I have a Winchester 94 lever action in 22 LR, I bought it in 1993 and it would be lucky to have seen maybe 250 rounds put through it. It has spent 98% of it life oiled, wrapped in a sheet and locked away. Still in excellent condition and thinking now it's too good to shoot, I prefer my CZ rimfires.

I have always wanted to own 1 x rimfire in every kind of action, I have a some bolt actions, a lever action, but no pump action .22. I think it would be nice to have one in the collection if they were not so expensive. My last .22 purchase was a Winchester Wild Cat which has Winchester wood stock and a barrel under license from the Russian brand Toz. I find it small like a carbine but for $450 including 4 x magazines, it's a great deal and shoots well.

Campfire

Post by: Proudy on August 13, 2011, 07:47:58 AM
My dad bought me my 1st .22 when I was 15 it's a Nirico he paid $99 for its the most accurate rifle I own. I now have several rifle's and the .22 still gets used all the time. Going hunting with my dad was the best time it's why I got into 4wding and camping. I will be teaching my son how to shoot with that .22 when he is a bit older.
Post by: Campfire on August 13, 2011, 07:52:45 AM
My dad bought me my 1st .22 when I was 15 it's a Nirico he paid $99 for its the most accurate rifle I own. I now have several rifle's and the .22 still gets used all the time. Going hunting with my dad was the best time it's why I got into 4wding and camping. I will be teaching my son how to shoot with that .22 when he is a bit older.

My young son tags along on my trips away rabbit shooting, he is a great little side kick for carrying bags and opening paddock gates.

CF
Post by: Proudy on August 13, 2011, 07:58:09 AM
Yeah my son comes out with me now but is a bit to small to hold the .22 a few more years and he should be right.
Post by: 2 Brutal on August 13, 2011, 10:23:25 AM
Just picked up a new Mossberg .22 the other day scoped, 10 shot mag, brand new for $250, I went looking for 2nd hand but why bother at that price for a new 1, nice and light weight and reasonably short in length so my kids can use it, they are snipers with their air rifle they got for Xmas, so this will improve them further as they won't go near my 243.
I also have a Husquvana .22 but it's missing the mag so is only a single shot :'(
22 magnum also, it's a nice little gun to, 410 also :cheers:
Post by: Kangaron on August 13, 2011, 11:13:26 AM
Another vote for the Lithgow. Long gone now. Got it for my 10th birthday. The ole man used to give me 5 rounds and would expect no less than 4 bunnies.
Post by: carinya on August 13, 2011, 11:47:13 AM
Just found a picture of my exact Lithgow from the powerhouse museum.  Makes me want to go and find another one.  I wonder if my old gun licence number would still work or whether your licence is voided once you have no guns on it?  Wishful thinking I know :'(

http://www.powerhousemuseum.com/collection/database/?irn=232850

Found another of the stock disk
http://cas.awm.gov.au/item/REL32492?image=2

This looks  very much like the Slazenger branded one in my earlier post.  Maybe like the imported CT's, they all look alike.

Campfire, we had a wheelbarrow load of those brownings  when I was a kid living outside Nyngan.  On a trip back to the station a ways back, dad thought he might pick up a couple and get them going, but all were badly damaged or lost by then, so he sourced the one he got me, don't know what he paid for it.  I remember several laying around the house and one in most vehicles so he must have got the bulk buy discount.
Post by: gonfishen on August 13, 2011, 11:47:20 AM
My first .22 was a stirling/squibman that my father bought me from Farmers now Myres in Gorden (NSW), i suddenly feel very old
Post by: Burnsy on August 13, 2011, 12:46:12 PM
My first .22 was a stirling/squibman that my father bought me from Farmers now Myres in Gorden (NSW), i suddenly feel very old

Remeber when you could buy guns and ammunition in K-Mart ;D
Post by: Campfire on August 13, 2011, 01:07:59 PM
Remeber when you could buy guns and ammunition in K-Mart ;D

Yeah I remember that,

Crazy thing is back in high school for year 11 & 12 in the late 80's, one of the guys I knew actually had permission under strict conditions to bring his SKS to school for a couple of days  as he was making an adjustable bipod ( similar to the Harris bipods) for it for metal work class, it had the guts completely stripped out but the stock, barrel and trigger was still there and stayed locked under teacher control with his parents picking him up to take it home.  I remember it sittin on the floor near the tool board with the bipod on it he made. I was in the same metal work class and
didn't think much of it, but now if anybody did it, I suppose it would make national headlines now.

If anybody is really curious and wanted to know more PM me and I'll give you more details, it was a  High School ( Newcastle / Hunter Region).

Campfire

Campfire
Post by: achjimmy on August 13, 2011, 06:11:39 PM
Awesome thread guys and isn't great to be having a chat about our guns?  Half the people you meet nowdays look at you strange when you mention firearms. Even though I have owned a mirrad of military rifles I still love the .22 rimfire.

I have a Winchester model 69 it was my dads and I have roughly dated it to pre war. Sadly in the last few years the old man had it dovetailed for a scope and the gunsmith kept the peep hole aperture rear sight, so it's probaly damaged it's value some but the scope has made it even better to use. The gun is so light and the action is great.

Also got a Anshutz 1450, and a lakefield (savage) which I gave to my boy to use.

I love the Lithgow both single and 10 shot and the only reason I haven't got one is i don't use the rifles I have enough so really don't need anymore.
Post by: bullfrog on August 13, 2011, 06:25:42 PM
Stop it you blokes!! You're just teasing now  :'( :'(. Used be involved in Clay Target club + other shooting, Jude was also shoot secretary with the club. Favourite .22 was an old Sportco Mod 61 that I stripped & refurbished, a great little rifle to shoot, very accurate. Most of my stuff was shotguns, had a soft spot for a Mossberg AT600 pump gun I bought. Jeez I miss the smell of gunpowder in the morning..... :cheers:
Post by: SteveandViv on August 13, 2011, 06:35:36 PM
I'm rather partial to the Rugers in rimfire - got a .22rf, .22WM and .17HMR all in Rugers.

I love Rugers. Saved all my pocket money so I could get my first when I was 12. While I didn't have the .22 the 270 was a beaut for deer shooting in the mountain of NZ. But as said, how times have changed unfortunately
Had a Winchester .22 for the Possums as they are a pest over there.
Post by: TrackTrailerTourer on August 13, 2011, 06:41:18 PM
Have had a few .22's over the years, currently have an old Krico, 70's model, shoots great. My favourite was a 60's era Model 2 Brno. Have always regretted selling that rifle.

Post by: bullfrog on August 13, 2011, 06:43:49 PM
An old mate of mine has a Winchester Rolling Block single shot .22. Model is unknown, but a very old rifle. The O/D of the barrel is huge for a .22. It would be one of nicest 22's I've seen from a build quality point of view, simply beautiful.
Post by: austastar on August 13, 2011, 07:47:34 PM
  mine had to be handed in as it didn't meet the new regulations.  Bummer!

It was a semi auto Browning, 13 up the stock and one in the spout. Lovely little weapon, light, smooth and accurate. Could carry it effortlessly for miles.

Great for bunnies and would bring down a wallaby for the pot if the range was close enough.

I really miss it.

Post by: Campfire on August 13, 2011, 07:54:51 PM
You know guys just rolling through the threads my radar picks up on certain words and models and from what I am reading there are some great little .22's out there.

We all know there is one .22 LR in this country which deserves cult status for popularity and use, the Legendary BRNO .22 especially the older models.

I'm seeing some names mentioned which brings back old memories everytime somebody mentions either Sportco or Lithgow.

I see premium guns like Anschultz or Krico being mentioned, the Anschultz is a great gun and an excellent example of precision German engineering.

I still like the old school mentality of a childhood up bringing where your father taught you to hunt / shoot and fish on trips away ( no females) and the other skills associated with camping/ hunting/ fishing like outdoor skills.

While we do live in the WWW, I have made it an important part of my kids upbring to show them there is more to life than eyes glues to a tv or computer. My son is learning how go bush, hunt, fish, track game, skin and prepare game meat, safety and common sence, camping & bush skills.

When he is old enough I will be putting him into the military cadets for self development.

There is nothing more enjoyable than sitting around a fire after a hard day bowling rabbits with the humble .22 on a boys trip. How many of have grown into adult hood living in an urbanized rat race with fond childhood memories of doing such trips with our dads. More importantly how many of us now have made it a priority to show our kids the experiences we had in more simpler or innocent times.

I take my son away each year and it always become more than just a rabbit Hunting trip, I see it as a time to share with my kids as their dad and help develop his perception of what it is to be a strong male role model, as we often talk about everything and anything around the campfire after a hard days slog chasing the bunnies.

Campfire
Post by: bullfrog on August 13, 2011, 08:06:35 PM
Know what you mean Campfire. Just this afternoon I took my youngest ( just turned 10) out to pick some bush lemons from a clump of lemon trees that I have been going to with my old man for the last 35yrs, he pulled timber out of the area for years.She has been bush lots of time ( from a few months old) & it's amazing what she said today about things that she had been told before about the area. Not all is lost on the young. :cheers:
Post by: MrCruza on August 13, 2011, 08:09:39 PM

Me too. Still got the old mans in the safe, along with an Anschult 22 magnum.   :cheers:
Post by: Campfire on August 13, 2011, 08:13:52 PM
As a matter of interest,

For those who are keen on the rabbits, licensed and more importantly have a strict sense of firearms safety.

If I was to put it out there, just curious how many takers would be keen on guys trip away hunting rabbits on a paid property e.g. Inland Hunting Properties. I am pretty selective who I hunt with ( safety), and it would have to be a small group ( safety), I think a combination of  bowling rabbits with .22's and camper trailers would make for nice short trip. I don't do alcohol ( dry camp) on any hunting trips and stick to this rule religiously.

If there is no takers that's fine, I will drop the idea all together, but if your fair dinkum, licensed and not silly with your safety than PM me and we might be able to organise a great trip away.

Campfire
Post by: bj4408 on August 13, 2011, 08:26:54 PM
Like a lot of you I had my gun license before my drivers license. Saved up my money and bought a Browning 2000 shotgun as soon as I had my license, worked and saved for a couple of years for that. Also bought a couple of Browning 22 autos second hand. Always carried a rifle in the 4wd on the farm for wild dogs etc.
The boys have been learning with a Gamo air rifle and CZ 22mag and have both gotten their first foxes on one of our camping trips.
We combine camping with hunting or shooting at targets if the opportunity arises, just another skill they have learnt, nothing special.
Always like to control the rabbit population.
Bruce
Post by: bj4408 on August 13, 2011, 08:32:13 PM
Back to the thread.
I also have an Ansutchz 22 single shot that I restored, wish it had scope mounts. Great little rifle, hardly used.
Bruce
Post by: dno on August 13, 2011, 08:35:46 PM
Growing up in a small rural town I used walk home from school (grade 6) past the train station and check if the station master was there and if not that ment time to get me a bunny or two. The station master lived straight across the road from us and loved to shoot as much as me, a quick walk from one side of the street to the other and a knock on the door and out his back gate we were on the railway easement. Two hundred meters down the line and you were in the bush. One of the greatest highlights of my childhood was the freedom enjoyed with guns. The dog and cat always loved a good feed of bunny not to mention rabbit stew is pretty hard to beat  ;D I feel sorry for this mad world, seems to have lost all these great things that so many of us seemed to take for granted and enjoyed so much. Anyway when they ban the semi auto so I gave my .22 Rugar and Mossberg 12G pump to the powers that be and have always felt a little poorer as an Australian.
Great read and it brings back memories of a great time in life.
Should get of my butt and get another oneday.
Post by: Campfire on August 13, 2011, 08:46:31 PM
Like a lot of you I had my gun license before my drivers license. Saved up my money and bought a Browning 2000 shotgun as soon as I had my license, worked and saved for a couple of years for that. Also bought a couple of Browning 22 autos second hand. Always carried a rifle in the 4wd on the farm for wild dogs etc.
The boys have been learning with a Gamo air rifle and CZ 22mag and have both gotten their first foxes on one of our camping trips.
We combine camping with hunting or shooting at targets if the opportunity arises, just another skill they have learnt, nothing special.
Always like to control the rabbit population.
Bruce

Nice combo you have there Bruce, I shoot a Gamo CFX Hunter in .177 air rifle and love knocking pest birds with it. I shoot a CZ .22 Mag Rimfire also and always find myself in those " Ford vs Holden" arguments with the die hard .17 Mag Rimfire fans. I think the CZ in .22 Mag is a great gun having owned one for 8 years now and have knocked many rabbits, cats with it. I like all the new high tech ammo for it these days including the 30 grain stuff with polymer ballistic tips.

I have been enjoying air rifle hunting and can't get over how they have improved from the toys I remember as a kid, they are some pretty serious high tech bit of gear these days. I love shooting alloy pellets like the Gamo Raptors.

Campfire

Post by: bj4408 on August 13, 2011, 09:22:28 PM
Campfire
We have a CFX as well. Very good value for the $. I made some silhouette targets and we shoot them from the verandah, luckily we are on a few acres and can do this.
Bruce
Post by: 2 Brutal on August 13, 2011, 09:29:37 PM
Yeah I remember that,

Crazy thing is back in high school for year 11 & 12 in the late 80's, one of the guys I knew actually had permission under strict conditions to bring his SKS to school for a couple of days  as he was making an adjustable bipod ( similar to the Harris bipods) for it for metal work class, it had the guts completely stripped out but the stock, barrel and trigger was still there and stayed locked under teacher control with his parents picking him up to take it home.  I remember it sittin on the floor near the tool board with the bipod on it he made. I was in the same metal work class and
didn't think much of it, but now if anybody did it, I suppose it would make national headlines now.

If anybody is really curious and wanted to know more PM me and I'll give you more details, it was a  High School ( Newcastle / Hunter Region).

Campfire

Campfire

Yep pump action 12g's over the counter at Kmart years ago, you still can in the USA.
Like your mate making a tripod at school, when I was in TAFE at Toowoomba 1 of the guys in our class came back to TAFE after lunch with a gun under his arm that he'd just bought, carried it into class and we all spent the arvo talking guns and stuff with the teacher. :cup:
Post by: noel_w on August 13, 2011, 11:16:19 PM
My dad bought me an Anschutz for my 12th birthday (mainly to keep the bunnies at bay on the property). Had lots of problems with pills sticking in the mag so eventually only used it as a single shot. Wasn't very accurate either so sold that when I left the farm to work in Sydney town & bought me a brand spanking BRNO Model 2 with a walnut stock (1974) out of my first 10 paychecks. Just could not miss with it. Long story short my best mate hassled me for years to sell it to him, he was my best man at my wedding & gave it to him as a present. Thought he was going to burst into tears he was so happy. He still has it locked away with an occasional outing to give the bunnies a seeing to. Oh how I miss it but I do get visiting rights. hehehe. Not much to shoot at in brisvegas & the neighbours just wouldn't understand.
Post by: buff on August 13, 2011, 11:21:54 PM
Nice to see some shooters sticking their heads up here !
I have a Savage 900S in .22LR and a Krico in .22WMR.
Post by: Campfire on August 13, 2011, 11:25:05 PM
It's funny how the BRNO rimfires really kicked off great in this country, but the BRNO or CZ centrefires never had the same popularity.

I know what you mean about saving up the pay cheques, I saved for a long time to get my first BRNO and now own 2 of them.

Great hunting gun and definitely my favourite on the farm for hunting bunnies.
Post by: Mace on August 14, 2011, 10:41:33 AM
My two favourites were the Anshutz .22 with a sportco scope that i got for my 13th birthday, and my fathers Lee Enfield 22 Hornet (re-barelled 303) that he used for over 30 years and then used by me for 20.  Both were unfortunately stolen from my gun safe in a remote farm house in 1998 (recovered cut down after use in robbery in 2010). >:(

Currently use a 270 Remington, nothing fancy, synthetic stock and Nikon Scope that  I cant knock about too much when stalking.
Post by: Fivid on August 14, 2011, 03:48:13 PM
I also got a junior shooters permit when I was about 14 or 15.  Bought a brand new Anschutz 1450D .22 with a Blackhawk scope.  Mate and I used to go shooting south of Bendigo.  Would take rifles on our bikes, shoot bunnies then come home around lunch time.  30 years on and I still have that rifle and it is a great accurate weapon.  When we moved to SA they didn't want to register it, they said the barrel was too short and it came under the category of carbine instead of rifle....  They kept it at the police station for a couple of days then told me to come collect it, all was ok and was registered as a rifle.  Also have a Stirling .22 Mag which feels clunky, heavy and cheap compared to the Anschutz. 

Just starting to get back into hunting again and recently bought a secondhand .308 Whetherby with 3-9 Tasco scope which for a cheap rifle is quite accurate, very impressed.  Now saving for a 22-250 Tikka Varmint rifle and will probably fit a Nikon scope.

Post by: RebsWA on August 14, 2011, 07:30:41 PM
My first .22 was a Lithgow Model 1 I bought for 30/- when I was 16 and I still have it. An old Daisy air rifle was thrown in with it. I also have an Anschutz .22 which is a good accurate rifle especially now it is wearing a 4 x 32 scope. The scope became necessary with failing eyesight. Without my specs on I could see the target but the sights were a blur and with the specs on I could see the sights and not the target. The fun of getting old.
Post by: achjimmy on August 14, 2011, 07:49:19 PM
Damn those lithgows look good. A few years ago a mate in a gun shop showed me an excellent Lithgow .22 repeater that even had a period style scope mounted on it and offered it to me cheap. I had to refuse because there was poirities at the time. I regret it all the time, I even have a near new slazenger/ Lithgow 10 shot mag for one.

The things are such a part of Aussie history, for those that are interested there is a museum at the old SAF at Lithgow and it is well worth touring. I abhor modern governments and what they have done to manufacturing facilities like the Lithgow SAF. It is such a shame that such facility is a shadow of itself.
Post by: Burnsy on August 14, 2011, 07:53:57 PM
I got searchin the net last night after I posted my lithgow drool and found you can get some that would be considered in excellent condition for $150-200.  Might have to investigate getting my licence again just so I can get another. 
Post by: Campfire on August 14, 2011, 08:04:19 PM
Guys,

If your into the nostalgia trip of .22 hunting with bunnies etc, I would strongly recommend  a great book called " Great Australian Rabbit Stories" by Jenny Quealy. It's full of short stories on the impact of rabbits on this country and covers every angle including hunting.

Campfire
Post by: ryangus on August 14, 2011, 08:14:01 PM
I love my little Ruger 96/22 with the rotation mag.  Really short throw on the lever, and fairly short barrel makes it very nimble.  Mates who see it that had a 10/22 get all sentimental/angry that they weren't allowed to keep them.  I'm on the lookout for a 96/44 to chase the piggy wiggies (technical term, that).

My little Slazenger lives next to it, but honestly doesn't see much action these days.

Post by: 2 Brutal on August 14, 2011, 08:43:52 PM
Went and put nearly 100 rounds through my new 22 today, very happy with it, lots of just plugging away at various targets over varying distances sighting the scope in.
Post by: Sloth on August 15, 2011, 10:02:21 AM
I still have an immaculate .22 BRNO model 2 that's still amazingly accurate. Absolutely love that rifle!
Post by: harvs on August 15, 2011, 08:29:21 PM
I'm quite amazed at how many of you have or had an Anshutz .22 . I have recently been given a vey nice bushnel 3-9 x 40. It fits my Anshultz nicely. Looking forward to when I can get out and sight it in.

My dad had a lithgow single shot 22 for use on his farm. It looked more like it was used to strain fences or dig holes that shoot. I remember. using it once. I only saw 1 bunny that afternoon it. But that 1 shot was a head shot at 40 meters, iron sights and free hand.  I almost could not believe it.
Post by: Tuco on August 15, 2011, 08:48:08 PM
The scope became necessary with failing eyesight. Without my specs on I could see the target but the sights were a blur and with the specs on I could see the sights and not the target. The fun of getting old.

Hi Rebs - I know exactly what you are on about when it comes to failing eyesight. My family and I were all "Western Action" regular competion shooters - all with class 'H' licences.

I was in the same boat as you - specs on and could see the target but not the sights, and specs off the sites were ok but the target was a blur. My opto suggested that I find another sport! I also had problems with specs behind goggles inside a motocross helmet - not comfortable at all.
Then I discovered that I was suitable for laser eye surgery. They fixed my left eye for the long distance that was lacking. The right eye was left alone and i've never needed reading glasses. The proceedure is called 'Monovision' and in essence I have a long eye and a short eye. Took the brain about 3 months to figure out the two different eyes but all is fine now.
I shoot with both eyes open - sighting throught the right eye and can see the target clear with the left eye.

BTW - I'm 63 and can read the bottom line on the eye chart without any glasses.

Without straying from the thread - among my rifles is a Slazenger repeater - great accurate .22 that I have had since 1966 - when I got it second hand.
Post by: Skinnee on August 15, 2011, 09:52:26 PM
Have used a Krico since i was 7, im now a lot older. That and a Bruno
Post by: achjimmy on August 15, 2011, 10:55:38 PM
I'm quite amazed at how many of you have or had an Anshutz .22 . I have recently been given a vey nice bushnel 3-9 x 40. It fits my Anshultz nicely. Looking forward to when I can get out and sight it in

Yeah amazed me how  many Anshultz are around too, I only bought mine a couple of years ago at a gun fair. There was two types, one with a front locking bolt and rear locking bolts ( cheaper ones), still today a Anshultz is a $1000 gun! Only criticism I have with then is what's mentioned before, they are fussing on ammo if you want it to feed well.
Post by: harvs on August 15, 2011, 11:18:07 PM
What Ammo are we all using?

I like Power Points.
Post by: Garry H on August 16, 2011, 07:29:30 AM
I love my little Ruger 96/22 with the rotation mag.  Really short throw on the lever, and fairly short barrel makes it very nimble. 

love my 96/22 and it fits the big mag from the 10/22 days, got a Nikko stirling scope with the inbuilt laser for the short shots, heaps of fun......
only problem is I don't get to use them all enough
Post by: Mace on August 16, 2011, 09:02:46 AM
Thanx for telling me that my old Anshutz (with a front safety lock) is now a $1000 gun achjimmy!  It was a great weapon, and the quality of the stock was amazing.  For its size it was sooo heavy to lug around. I presume it was real walnut.

Ahh, the memories!
Post by: heathydee on August 16, 2011, 09:35:39 AM
I usually travel with a 22 and have found over the years that often they are banged and bumped and when a shot presents , more often than not the sights have been bumped and the shot is missed.
To overcome this problem I made a detachable scope mount for my Brno . The scope travels in a foam lined box and is attached to the rifle in a matter of seconds . No loss of zero and the first shot is always on the money.
Post by: scottrods on August 16, 2011, 11:19:01 AM
I have a ruger 10/22. Love it. Accurate and easy feeding mags.

If I was to buy another it would be a CZ in 17HMR or 22 Mag.

Post by: sparksy on August 16, 2011, 04:26:25 PM
Posted by: scottrods
Insert Quote
I have a ruger 10/22. Love it. Accurate and easy feeding mags.
How did you manage to keep your 10/22.
Johnny Howard took mine when autos were "outlawed".
Gave me only half it was worth with no comeback to appeal value.
Also "took" a custom 8 shot Mosberg semiauto 12G scrub  shotgun and a mint Berretta 302 12 Guage.
The 10/22 was a custom built with stainless barrel, polished action,with a carbon fibre pistol grip stock.

Talking about ammo, can you still get Z LONGS. Low velocity rounds
Post by: Sparkdog99 on August 16, 2011, 06:44:37 PM
Bruno .22 with 6 x Leupold scope for hunting and target practise. Plus a 60 year old Lithgow single shot with open sites. Now I just need my 4 year old to grow up so I can teach him how to shoot.
Post by: Tim - Stratford on August 16, 2011, 07:16:22 PM

Yep - trajectory like a house brick - but nice and quiet for mynahs!
Post by: HEM19X on August 16, 2011, 08:16:21 PM
Ahh, the memories.

I have 3 x 22's - the 1st is a WW1 Mauser [taken from the opposition] with a clip that holds 5 bullets. The other 2 were gifts from the old fella - some Chinese junk with a scope which dad got from a dealer in Cobar - swapped it for another Mauser plus some cash when his eyesight was failing - it was in pristine condition & the dealer couldn't hand over the cash quickly enough!

The final one was made at the Lithgow SAF around 1904 - it is a "slide action" where the bullets are inserted into a magazine under the barrel - approx. 10 shots. The rifling's are almost gone as dad used to use it to shoot bunnies etc when growing up in Lithgow.

On the subject of Lithgow - he actually worked at the SAF for several years, so it is very possible that many of the guns out there were made [in part] by him!!

Post by: Campfire on August 16, 2011, 08:25:45 PM
I'm surprised that 5 pages in to the thread and nobody has yet started the .17 vs .22 Magnum Rimfire debate, this site is certainly civilized.

I shoot the CZ .22 Magnum and love it more than Mrs Campfire, I am impressed with the development of high tech .22 Magnum hunting ammo which is on the market these days, I went away at the end of last year shooting a few boxes of 30 grain polymer tip .22 WMR rounds and the impact they had on the 70-80 rabbits I pulled up over a week using my CZ was quite devastating.

I have purchased a pack of 50 grain .22 WMR rounds and used a few on rabbits and a cat, but I haven't had the chance to try it out on a decent size fox yet, maybe the next hunting trip I might have more luck.

Campfire
Post by: Campfire on August 16, 2011, 08:46:33 PM
I saw a DVD in a loose bin of DVD's on special at JB called " Smiley gets a gun" which is a boy who wants a .22. I was kicking myself for not buying to show my young son, and promised myself to get it next opportunity.

To live in those days would have been great

Campfire
Post by: gurules on August 16, 2011, 09:07:19 PM
I have my father in laws old BSA 22 my son uses ,in my collection i love my lever 22mag wini ,my son is keen as so he has started using it,we just came back from Broken HILL got some nice stuff.But best of all camping and havn fun with my son.10/27 RSAR go infantry.
Post by: gurules on August 16, 2011, 09:16:41 PM
22 mag works well on foxes mate also takes down a good size roo,just as well,and paddy melons get splatted which my son enjoyed a lot.have you got any big stuff i have lots of303s sako 308 , a nice 1942 6.5 mauser.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 16, 2011, 09:20:40 PM
I have one Ruger 22 Magnum which I have not taken out for a while, also have some big hitters,  243, 30-30 and a 270. Just need the little fella to get a bit bigger and he will get a go

Post by: Campfire on August 16, 2011, 09:29:03 PM
Sounds like a great collection you have there, I reload 243 and find it to be my main centre fire.

I use a RCBS press and like loading 100 grain semi pointers.

I am impressed with the high tech ammo for .22 Magnum with some of it almost able to catch up with the .17 and with twice the hitting power. I do like the 30 grain polymer tip ballistic rounds you can buy for .22 Magnum and I certainly believe there is going to be even more development of this potent little round.

Campfire
Post by: apsilon on August 16, 2011, 10:08:13 PM
I have a CZ 452 myself. Excellent little rifle. Extremely accurate and will match the accuracy of many more expensive rifles.
Post by: noel_w on August 16, 2011, 10:23:47 PM
I usually travel with a 22 and have found over the years that often they are banged and bumped and when a shot presents , more often than not the sights have been bumped and the shot is missed.
To overcome this problem I made a detachable scope mount for my Brno . The scope travels in a foam lined box and is attached to the rifle in a matter of seconds . No loss of zero and the first shot is always on the money.

Tis a thing of great beauty!
Post by: Campfire on August 16, 2011, 10:38:14 PM
Just curious, if any forum members shoot/ own a Winchester Wildcat .22

I have been asked a few times what's a good .22 rifle for a kid to start on when he gets his Junior Firearms Permit and you want to train him/ her up on the range in safety to start with. There are alot of .22 around the $700 - $1000 mark. But for kids you want something reasonable, safe and a bit cheaper.

I had been looking the nice little .22 Marlins in a wood stock, the Savage .22 rifle, unfortunately as great the CZ 's are they have jump a fair bit in price over the last 10 years.

I purchased a brand new Winchester Wildcat .22 and for $450 it came with a nice stock, 3 x 10 round magazines and a 5 round magazine. It uses the Russian Toz barrel short 18-19 inch barrel and I have to say a nice little gun to shoot on the range and very light as a walk around rabbit gun. For $450 with 4 x magazines, I considered this a pretty good deal and yes they shoot pretty good too. I'm thinking this would be a great starting gun for any junior shooter as a first gun.

Campfire
Post by: achjimmy on August 17, 2011, 08:19:52 AM
Just curious, if any forum members shoot/ own a Winchester Wildcat .22

I have been asked a few times what's a good .22 rifle for a kid to start on when he gets his Junior Firearms Permit and you want to train him/ her up on the range in safety to start with. There are alot of .22 around the $700 - $1000 mark. But for kids you want something reasonable, safe and a bit cheaper.

I had been looking the nice little .22 Marlins in a wood stock, the Savage .22 rifle, unfortunately as great the CZ 's are they have jump a fair bit in price over the last 10 years.

I purchased a brand new Winchester Wildcat .22 and for $450 it came with a nice stock, 3 x 10 round magazines and a 5 round magazine. It uses the Russian Toz barrel short 18-19 inch barrel and I have to say a nice little gun to shoot on the range and very light as a walk around rabbit gun. For $450 with 4 x magazines, I considered this a pretty good deal and yes they shoot pretty good too. I'm thinking this would be a great starting gun for any junior shooter as a first gun.

Campfire

Campfire I looked closely at the wildcat a few years ago for my son, before picking up the Lakefield/savage. I thought they were excellent, but they were more than $450 iirc. The wildcat is the Toz, to my knowledge winchester (just about nobody)no longer manuafatures any .22 in the US. The difference between the wildcat and Toz was the wildcat had open sights and the Toz only came dovetailed. The Russians build supberb guns generally, plenty of steel and reliable and would be much better than the Chinese options IMO.

Campfire I might add I purchased the Lakefield / savage used and it was the economies of this that made my mind up. I would have prefered the Toz/wildcat over the savage.
Post by: scottrods on August 17, 2011, 11:06:56 AM
How did you manage to keep your 10/22.
Johnny Howard took mine when autos were "outlawed".
Gave me only half it was worth with no comeback to appeal value.
Also "took" a custom 8 shot Mosberg semiauto 12G scrub  shotgun and a mint Berretta 302 12 Guage.
The 10/22 was a custom built with stainless barrel, polished action,with a carbon fibre pistol grip stock.

that's cos I live in New Zealand :) and I've got a nice silencer on it too.  :cup:
Post by: sparksy on August 17, 2011, 11:42:27 AM
The 10/22 is a great gun. I had it fitted with a 25 shot mag and a 4x40 bushnell "lite site" scope. it had a led on the crosshairs so easy to aim in low light.
Other gun I regret selling was a Marlin 375 winchester. Great gun for pigs with 250 grain handloads.
Post by: Campfire on August 17, 2011, 07:44:07 PM
The Winchester Wildcat is a great little .22 to shoot, I certainly enjoy shooting mine and it's so light to use.

Title: What's your favourite .22 ammunition and why?
Post by: Campfire on August 17, 2011, 07:47:30 PM
Guys,

I don't want to start another thread, but would like to put another question out there.

What's your favourite .22 ammo and why ( target or hunting) especially with all the high tech loads out there these days.

Campfire
Post by: gurules on August 17, 2011, 08:19:47 PM
campfire know  im only new but a trip away would be good if work permits,time etc. as i said ive just taken my son shooting and we had a ball.its a great bonding session and the girls(well most of them) just dont get it.i also shoot deer down our way,thats a great pass time,mostly for meat and some trophies. glad to see so many peple share the passion.also had plenty of hand guns till i had to hand them in but now my lads is keen will join another club and get him to it. cheers 
Title: Re: What's your favourite .22 ammunition and why?
Post by: heathydee on August 17, 2011, 10:10:29 PM
Guys,

What's your favourite .22 ammo and why ( target or hunting) especially with all the high tech loads out there these days.

Campfire
Winchester Sub-Sonics for both targets and game . They seem to kill rabbits particularly well out to 100 metres or so and the Brno plonks them into three quarters of an inch at 50 everyday . Sometimes even better . I have one five shot 100 metre group of under an inch taped to my gun safe .
Title: Re: What's your favourite .22 ammunition and why?
Post by: Campfire on August 17, 2011, 10:35:03 PM
Winchester Sub-Sonics for both targets and game . They seem to kill rabbits particularly well out to 100 metres or so and the Brno plonks them into three quarters of an inch at 50 everyday . Sometimes even better . I have one five shot 100 metre group of under an inch taped to my gun safe .

I went for a time there I preferred to hunt with Winchester sub sonics more so than any other brand or type of bullet, I use to buy a big brick of them in the white box and use them on the rural property where I was living, the noise wasn't as bad and I liked the big soft lead hollow point cavities which certainly did a number on the rabbits.

Campfire

Post by: Ricey on August 18, 2011, 12:24:43 AM
Ive got 2.
A husqvarna and a Mossberg SS.
Both great guns and really accurate well as good as the user on the day anyway.

Just for interest.
I had an older bloke do some ferreting on my property going back 15 years or so ago and he used to shoot up around Yunta for many years.
He used to make a living out of Rabbits.
Average of 900 Pair a week. Yeah before Calici.
His best week was 1800 pair in about 4or 5 days.
Used many different ways to get them even had a dog trained to go and pick them up for him. He used to fence off water points and rabbit warrens and catch them in an area with a long tunnel in similar to an Opera House yabby net.
He used to buy 22 ammo in lots of 30,000 rounds every year.

He had 2 x .22 rifles and each one had 2 or 3 barrels on them.
This is the only person that I have heard of that has shot out numerous barrels on a .22 LR.

Post by: sako on August 18, 2011, 06:43:59 PM
My sako .22 loves Remington sub sonics the best, with the winchesters a close second.
Post by: scottrods on August 18, 2011, 06:51:51 PM
here she is. And over here I can use it to shoot possums and magpies  >:D
Post by: Jon on August 18, 2011, 07:20:25 PM
My nephew lives in Palmerston north and he went possum shooting one night, only had his .243 as the 22mag was in the shop for some work.
He tells me there was possum mince but that's about it.

In case anyone doesnt know, possums are a plague species in NZ.
Post by: Campfire on August 18, 2011, 07:36:36 PM
here she is. And over here I can use it to shoot possums and magpies  >:D

What a great looking set up, I was given a Ruger Semi 10/22 for my 21st Birthday many years ago off my parents ( best birthday present ever had), I used it on Rabbits heaps, until Jonny decided I wasn't allowed to have it anymore as part of the gun buy back. Still wished I had it.

You Kiwis's are very lucky.

Great looking set up you have there and I bet she has a few notches on the belt also.

Campfire
Post by: scottrods on August 18, 2011, 07:53:11 PM
definitely does.

Post by: SUPA105 on August 20, 2011, 06:06:46 PM
Have a few rimfires, BRNO's & a JGA......which i am fond off....but have some serious fun with a little known lever action ERMA-WERKE. This is my knock around camp gun i take if we are chasing a bunny for the pot, light and tuff with open sites.

Post by: sparksy on August 20, 2011, 07:22:49 PM
Posted by: scottrods
Insert Quote
here she is. And over here I can use it to shoot possums and magpies  Evil

I agree, a nice setup, great rifle the Ruger 10/22.
My one that Johnny took off me was a similar setup (except we werent allowed suppressors) Mine had a pistol grip stock   great for shooting bunnies  out of the work ute. Used to work on the Perth to Kalgoorlie water pipeline and used to bag bunnies on the rabbit proof fence road on late night callouts.
Post by: jetcrew on August 21, 2011, 12:51:24 PM
I love my sportco 10 shot pump action MOD 93 .22. but i have a broken triger housing ,anyone know of any places that might have spares for this . I had to look pretty hard to find a firing pin a few years back.

I have had a cheapy norinco .22 for  few years and it's not a bad gun for the $$

and I have a  winchester M 9422M leaver action. I've yet to a put a round through it though.

I think buying these days depends on intended use and $$ to spend . If it goes bang and hot stuff comes out the end it works and you don't need to spend big for that.

Jetcrew :D
Post by: Boesman on August 22, 2011, 08:40:11 PM
I got my BSA from my grand dad when I was 7.

Shot many birds and 'dassies' with it at first. Also shot a couple of Springbucks.

I had to leave it with a trusted friend when we came over, but I would like to find out if it would be possible to bring it into the country some how.

(http://www.adamsguns.com/bsa13.jpg)

a Dassie
(http://www.annesentours.net/Dassie%20wide%20angle%20sea.jpg)
Post by: rodw on August 22, 2011, 10:05:51 PM
I got my BSA from my grand dad when I was 7.

Shot many birds and 'dassies' with it at first. Also shot a couple of Springbucks.

I had to leave it with a trusted friend when we came over, but I would like to find out if it would be possible to bring it into the country some how.

(http://www.adamsguns.com/bsa13.jpg)

a Dassie
(http://www.annesentours.net/Dassie%20wide%20angle%20sea.jpg)

Pretty sure you can. Why not give Customs a call?
Post by: Boesman on August 22, 2011, 10:12:59 PM
That would be awesome. I saw the other day that there is a shooting range near Wangara. I think it was called White Man Park.... or something like that.

Or, do you also have pests around on the farms that needs culling every so often?
Post by: rodw on August 22, 2011, 11:01:18 PM
That would be awesome. I saw the other day that there is a shooting range near Wangara. I think it was called White Man Park.... or something like that.

Or, do you also have pests around on the farms that needs culling every so often?

You should check with the Police in your state but I think it is pretty generic across the states. Basically you need a reason to own a firearm (shooting club or recreational, vermin control etc) In QLD if recreational, you need written landholders permission. You'd need to do the course to get a weapons license. Oh and you'll need a gun safe too. Over here they do spot audits of firearms storage. I got one.

So once you have the license, I think there are import provisions but it's ages since I checked this out.

Awesome to see a Martini action. Over here there was one used for military cadet training. Years ago I had one, a Martini Cadet as they were called which was .310 calibre, like a pistol round. Massive projectile lumbering along at .22 speed. Sold it to a family friend who still has it. Some were rebarrelled to .22 for target work. Looks like I had the Model 4 from this page.
http://www.adamsguns.com/martini.htm
Post by: Campfire on August 23, 2011, 09:15:27 AM
Martini  Cadet, what an interesting topic, especially when you think about it's link to both Australian military and hunting history/ culture.

You could easily go into a whole new thread on this little beauty.

I've had a go of one on numerous occasions and seen them used at a pistol club I frequent on occasion. Alot of old blokes re-living their youth and shooting this gun for nostalgia.

Other reasons I like apart from it link to Australian Culture & History.

1. Open site rifle , simple to shoot and more challenging on the range than a scoped firearm

2. Can be used at pistol club with downloaded shells so it shoots similar to a pistol cartridge.

3. Manual single loads means longer range time for shooting before you run out of ammo, plus the safety factor of the Martini action is a big vote winner.

4. Can make lead projectiles and develop your own hand loads for variable use and results.

5. Have seen a bunch of old shooters form social / shooting groups ( informally), based on their interest for the Martini Rifle and meet on a regular basis to shoot off against one another ( targets
 on range).

6. If your a historian this gun has plenty of reference , historical reading material.

7. Cheap to shoot

8. Makes a great hunting gun with open sights, light to carry, cheap to load, and once again the single action makes for great hunting safety.

9. There are collectors out there who find them highly desirable

10. Easy gun to modify if you want to change it around for hunting/ target shooting.

Anyway that's my 5 cents worth, if you have one in good condition, then consider yourself very lucky...

Campfire
Post by: scottrods on August 23, 2011, 10:06:30 AM
I used to shoot 25m indoor target comps at uni. These were the rifle we were brought up with. Very accurate and reliable.
I'd buy one for the kids to learn, anytime
Post by: christofurry on August 23, 2011, 11:10:46 AM
Great thread, actually went for a walk on Sunday night in victoria with a Stirling 22LR and an old single shot CZ heavy barrel. Nabbed a few bunnies for my trouble, a couple of rats (they are everywhere at the moment) but didnt see any fox's though.

I find the CZ WAY WAY WAY more accurate than the Stirling especially with Remington subs or Winchesters. I can out shoot the stirling maybe 3-1.

Im thinking of buying a .17HMR, anyone have and experience with these?
Post by: rodw on August 23, 2011, 01:52:33 PM
Martini  Cadet, what an interesting topic, especially when you think about it's link to both Australian military and hunting history/ culture.

8. Makes a great hunting gun with open sights, light to carry, cheap to load, and once again the single action makes for great hunting safety.

Um you forgot to mention that it is single shot which is one disadvantage as I seem to recall. Used to carry mine in a rifle scabbard down the front fork of a motorbike while mustering. I missed a pig once and he charged, had to lift my leg as he hit the bike. Second round would have been handy...

Looking back, I should have kept it. I only paid $30 for it from a disposal store I seem to remember back in about 1975. It'd be worth a fortune now :(
Post by: Tim - Stratford on August 23, 2011, 07:35:26 PM

Yep - great little rimfire - good on rabbits and foxes - too much penetration on smaller pest birds. I found the hollow points better than the tipped projectiles.

Tim
Post by: danielhobby on August 23, 2011, 10:10:59 PM
re  the 17 hmr.great little calibre,awesome on bunnies and ok ish on foxes but placement is critical,no room for error.bit of a bugger to clean.absolutely should not be used on roos by tempted marksmen.still a little exspensive to feed but a fun gun.
Post by: Campfire on August 24, 2011, 05:45:19 PM
re  the 17 hmr.great little calibre,awesome on bunnies and ok ish on foxes but placement is critical,no room for error.bit of a bugger to clean.absolutely should not be used on roos by tempted marksmen.still a little exspensive to feed but a fun gun.

I was tempted to Buy a .17 rimfire magnum to pair up with the .22 magnum rimfire I own already.

Would be a great little pair in the gun safe, but at the end of the day with the reality of mortgage, family, home renovations etc, decided to just stick with my CZ .22 Magnum and use lighter 30 grain rounds.

Campfire
Post by: danielhobby on August 24, 2011, 10:53:11 PM
I,ve owned both and got rid of the hmr and kept the 22mag.the 17 is unreal on bunnies and birds and as said,ok on foxes but the 22mag just wacks foxes harder and quicker,plain and simple!im running a savage accutrigger in stainless with a leupold v1 in 3/9x 50 glass,a good allrounder to whistle and spotlight reynard with. the old 40 gn ammo is a little inaccurate but fine to bunnies at 110mprob something like 1.5 to 2 moa.the new 30 gn ammo is running at about 1 to 1.5 moa.I was lucky enough to" buy/score" 15 full packets of 22mag,along with 200 new 220 swift cases and a 10 kg bag of 4shot for $40 at a garage sale recently so i guess ill be useing 40gn for a year or so.cheers danny
Post by: scottrods on August 25, 2011, 05:56:48 AM
new CZ 455 is swappable barrels in 22mag, 17hmr and 22LR
Post by: britts on August 25, 2011, 04:39:27 PM
I have a .22 unique in a bolt action + a single shot winchester for the young bloke as well as a .22 hornet, 243 on a mauser & a 308 springfield, dont get out as much as we like to but the young bloke has been shooting with me since he was 5.Now he's nearly 11 and wants to start hunting instead of just shooting targets so a bunny busting trip might be on the cards shortly.
Post by: graham on August 25, 2011, 05:31:21 PM
are we bunny busters or do we shoot all game ,love shooting duck&quail,and the odd bunny, cannot wait for the vic duck open 2012 2 weeks of travel &fun starting at Yea and finishing at wherever.mmmmmmmmmmm    cheers from mr &the black dog oi
Post by: scottrods on August 25, 2011, 05:40:55 PM
Living in Un Zed.

rabbits, hares, possums, magpies, goats, pigs, deer, stoats, weasels, wild cats, wild dogs and wild women  :cheers:
Post by: graham on August 25, 2011, 05:57:07 PM
i thought you had sent all your wild wimmen over here, got some fantastic kiwi brother&sisters over here cheers fella ps it is good to see you have taken on a second language ENGLISH 2ND ps you do not know a john smith from the hamilton area cause every buggerhere knows the bugger cheers big fella
Post by: scottrods on August 25, 2011, 06:19:37 PM
Ha.

I was born in Northern Ireland, so I'm a paddy. My uncle is John Smith.
Post by: sparksy on September 01, 2011, 05:22:27 PM
Has anyone got a Zastava 22 bolt action?
I'm looking at one for a general use gun and am not familiar with the brand. All I know is they are made in Serbia and imported by Berretta.
Looks reasonbly well made and for $450 with scope and gear seems like a good buy.
Post by: Muso on September 01, 2011, 05:34:03 PM
No laughing now.....I had a BSA .22....yeah that's right British Small Arms (also made pushbikes and motorbikes) it have a nine shot magazine for memory.

Not into weapons, but the best weapon I had a loan of was in the army with the Belgium 7.62mm SLR. We learnt to strip them down and rebuild them blindfolded (to represent the dark)
Post by: gurules on September 02, 2011, 03:21:21 AM
 ;D  Shoot lots of deer down my way cant beat the back straps and my wife dose a mean marinade,for them
   ya could even have thim with sum chups for ou nz bro hey'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' :cheers:
Post by: scottrods on September 02, 2011, 08:13:04 AM
We'll have some beer n chups to celebrate beating the Wallabies in the world cup final.

Post by: bimborocks on September 09, 2011, 12:26:01 PM
Great Thread Guys.
I have had my licence for around 7 or 8 years and the first rifle I bought was a .22LR.  I managed to pick up a Model 12 Lithgow 5 shot.  It is a fantastic rifle and for one that is over 50 years old it will still put 5 shots well under and inch at 50m/yards (more than enough the head shoot rabbits).  I love nothing more than getting afew rabbits for dinner or belting a few indian minors.
I know   :worthles: so here she is
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v234/bimborocks/DSC_5066web.jpg)
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v234/bimborocks/DSC_3907.jpg)
James
Post by: graham on September 09, 2011, 03:42:57 PM
We'll have some beer n chups to celebrate beating the Wallabies in the world cup final.

and uf the willabees wun we could go down the wholesalers,un pick up a crate ,careful uf them jutterbars they wull shake up the beer bro
Post by: MarkAus on September 09, 2011, 04:36:43 PM
Great read!

Use to be a Game keeper in a previous life :) but moved on to IT and I've not picked up a gun since 1992! How I loved walking the woods, shooting rabbits, deer, pheasant.

Maybe now we.ve been here a year I can find a place to go duck shooting....that would be fantastic..

I did own a Baikal , various .22's loved the hornet. Something else to read about :)
Post by: graham on September 09, 2011, 04:59:20 PM
where are you matey 2012 open is not that far away (going by this year anyway) . i also have a baikal u/o   great boat gun  i go to great lengths to explain to fellow shooters hopping in the boat , that their gold inlaid skeet gun might be inappropiate in the boat , what with the dog,  trees, water ingress(off the dog),not to mention Shit navigation . plus all the banging around in a tinny  .dont bring your nice gun keep that for club events ,or shooting off the bank or field . christ mines been under twice ,brought it when i was 14  (sparky sports in Cranbourne) now im 48 great gun  p/s have just brought a stirilng .22  cost me ten  bucks (change over fee) benifets of a mate in a gun shop  .  happy shooting swaggers
Post by: MarkAus on September 09, 2011, 05:26:36 PM
Sydney,

Ahh The trusty Baikal, was like two scaffold poles welded together....was a great gun..
Post by: BigJules on September 09, 2011, 05:49:18 PM
I had an Anschutz .22 bolt action with shortened barrel and a telescopic sight. It was a thing of beauty, in my eyes at least, and easily the best rifle amongst my group of friends.

Being .22 and with a short barrel it was a close quarters, low powered hunting rifle. One had to be a good shot.
Post by: Pirate_Pete on September 09, 2011, 08:27:30 PM
When I was in high school a mate & I would go bunny shooting every Saturday & then spend Sunday walking the neighbourhood selling them for 2 bucks a pair. I borrowed his brothers 22LR leaver action until  I saved up $100 for a Bakal 5 shot 22LR with a 4 X 20 scope. I cant remember how many rabbits it has taken but I would have gone through 4 or 5 cases of Hush Power low velocity rounds. I can remember shooting many a rabbit on the run with this rifle & even managed a few ducks on the wing as well. Shooting every weekend made this thing a part of you & I could hit just about any thing I wanted out to 200+ metres. . . . . . . . now days Im lucky to hit the side of a barn with it. We mainly shot rabbits but the odd wallaby & even goat was taken. 

Back when I got mine you just walked into the shop & bought one, no license required. I know I made a case for it at school but cant remember now if I took it along to get the right measurements. . . . . .
Post by: danielhobby on September 09, 2011, 09:58:25 PM
walked past the butchers at epping plaza on friday arvo and rabbits are $10.50 each,a bit of a shock when you see how many are running around at the moment!
Post by: dno on September 10, 2011, 08:18:09 AM
walked past the butchers at epping plaza on friday arvo and rabbits are $10.50 each,a bit of a shock when you see how many are running around at the moment!
I've seen them as high as $18.00, not bad $ for a rodent.
Post by: Campfire on September 11, 2011, 03:53:24 PM
It's funny hey, some people in our society want hunting banned, and yet with the cost of living going up and the interest in the " tree scape " scene of being partly self sufficient and growing your own food on a hobby farm or small spread, you think there would be a community push for more people to consume/ take wild game.

The cost of rabbit is just as expensive as other meat, yet with a box .22 bullets I could fill a freezer and save alot of money.

Campfire
Post by: noel_w on June 05, 2012, 12:40:51 PM
My dad bought me an Anschutz for my 12th birthday (mainly to keep the bunnies at bay on the property). Had lots of problems with pills sticking in the mag so eventually only used it as a single shot. Wasn't very accurate either so sold that when I left the farm to work in Sydney town & bought me a brand spanking BRNO Model 2 with a walnut stock (1974) out of my first 10 paychecks. Just could not miss with it. Long story short my best mate hassled me for years to sell it to him, he was my best man at my wedding & gave it to him as a present. Thought he was going to burst into tears he was so happy. He still has it locked away with an occasional outing to give the bunnies a seeing to. Oh how I miss it but I do get visiting rights. hehehe. Not much to shoot at in brisvegas & the neighbours just wouldn't understand.
Sorry to drag up an old thread but I found out some more about my Model 2 (CZ 452 Lux)
Mate had to take it in to the gunshop to get a permit for it not long ago. Gunshop bloke said to him, you know that this is a very rare rifle! He had looked up the serial number and found that it was bought at Mick Smith's gun shop in George Street Sydney. This was correct as I bought it new there.
Turns out that the BRNO factory burned down in the 70's and for a short time SAKO were making barrels for them. As well as being a SAKO barrel, they gave it Micro Groove rifling which along with the longer barrel, accounts for it's accuracy.
After the factory was rebuilt by all accounts they were never as good again as they were before the fire.
Put a few rounds through it the other day and is still as good as the day I got it. It needs a little TLC as it was, how do you put it, out of circulation for a while after Port Arthur and got a bit of surface Fanta on the barrel & around the scope mounts. Nothing a little bit of work couldn't fix to be like new.
Lovely bit of gear.
Post by: Kangaron on June 05, 2012, 07:51:27 PM
I managed to pick up a Model 12 Lithgow 5 shot.
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v234/bimborocks/DSC_5066web.jpg)
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v234/bimborocks/DSC_3907.jpg)

James

Geez mate, looks like, or very similar to my 10th birthday present, brand spanker it was too. minus the tripod and scope!
Post by: sparksy on June 05, 2012, 09:31:19 PM

With regard to .17HMR ammo there seems to be a problem with brass cracking and the powder absorbing moisture. When this happens it may only send the projectile halfway down the barrel. Shooter thinks its a missfire and crankes another round in. When this is fired it hits bullet already in barrel and you can guess the rest.
Good warning on this ammo on shooters website.
http://www.shooting.com.au/forum/index.php?/topic/13677-17-hmr-ammunition-warning-please-read/ (ftp://www.shooting.com.au/forum/index.php?/topic/13677-17-hmr-ammunition-warning-please-read/)

As they state in warning you need to check every round.
Post by: GMac on June 05, 2012, 11:35:49 PM
Apart from the warning regarding some current ammo, the .17 hmr seems to be a lot of fun.

I have a Savage .22LR, a Ruger .223 & a Tikka 7mm/08

Is a good hobby that I plan on introducing my boy to when he is bit older!!

Post by: christofurry on June 06, 2012, 09:10:48 AM
Thanks for the heads up regarding the ammo!

We brought a Savage 93GV in the .17HMR and topped it with a Redfield 4-9-40mm scope with an Accu-range recticle. So its a blued heavy varmit barrel, with a standard timber stock. I fell in love with the stainless thumbhole version, but then reality set in and I remembered I dont like stainless, and the missis is left handed...

In regards to how it shoots, all I can say is WOW!

For such a small little projectile does it hit hard! Its fast, flat and roll's rabbits a couple of times!

Its had a couple of trips to the range, and at 100m I can shoot 1 MOA groups, everytime. This is a working gun however so its no range queen, and 100m rabbit head shots off the car door are easily done.

Will grab some pics next time its out

Chris
Post by: uncyspam on June 07, 2012, 02:26:00 PM
My Krico 120E and 400A are my favourites... I loved my CZ 452, but the 455 isn't half as good...

One of my mates has a savage 93R which is ok, but not a patch on the Krico for accuracy.
Post by: Cloud Basher on June 08, 2012, 08:47:56 AM
1974 Brno Mod 2.  Will shoot 5 cent coins at 50m all day which is obviously enough for Minute-of-bunny out to about 75m.  I use Winchester Power Points almost exclusively.  Although lately I have been using sub-sonics for the kids.  Just got onto a new property only 1.5 hours from home and it is full with bunnies, foxes and the odd goat and pig.  Can't wait to get out there. 

Also keen to get into the National Parks when they begin to be opened up.  They are packed full of feral game and will provide plenty of shooting.  Will be fun to watch the figures of feral animals taken from the National Parks.

CB
Post by: Draggin on June 08, 2012, 09:15:57 AM
Ahhhh, the memories, Thanks for jogging the old brain.

Like many have said, Dad bought me a .22 when I was 15. OK, it was only a Stirling (semi-auto)  but I loved it. Central Queensland - rabbit and roo shooting with Dad. The mongrel was a crack shot and I was capable but well short of his league. Took a few foxes and even had to drop a pig once with it.

I bought myself a Krico .22 Mag in 1979 and thought until reading these pages that I might be the only Krico owner in Oz. Also have a 1917 SMLE .303 and a Howa .270 plus an air rifle.

Still enjoy "subterrainean chicken" and deer hunting (for meat not coat hangers).

John
Post by: FNQBunyip on March 05, 2015, 01:11:30 PM
Reviving this old thread ..

I've recently re licensed and my daughter  got her's at the same time .. The missus has had hers for years ..
The missus kept an early Gamo .177 and the single shot breach break .22hornet after all the changes but we never really went shooting...

I've been wanting to get into a bit of target shooting so we upgraded the Gamo to a new CFX .177 , wow what a nice slugie at a bit over 1000fps ..

Then on Monday we decided to buy 3 consecutively numbered New Lithgow LA101 crossover rifles in .22lr .. Now it's the wait..  I went along to the local range last weekend for the first ever time on a range just too see how it all works, looking forward to a bit of target shooting...

Someone in here mentioned a rabbit shooter from Yunta ....
I shot with an old bloke from Olary/Mannahill who had re barreled a couple of .22  over his time .. He would set a string of traps on a furrow of oats , then go off and shoot for a while , come back pick off the foxes feeding on the trapped rabbits , reset the traps , wring the necks of the trapped bunnys , and repeat ,, getting his racks full , well before I could shoot my 50 or 60 pair for a night .. Only ever managed 100 pair once or twice ...

I also brought a Akkar Churchill 30" sporter over&under 12g for the missus for xmas and we have been smashing clays a couple of arvos a week .. great fun ... but am looking forward to the .22 for cheeper arvo entertainment ..

Post by: paulo on March 05, 2015, 03:17:27 PM
Nice work on the Lithgow's!
Dad has a Model 12 repeater, as well as a single shot, and my uncles single shot. I've got a '58 model 5 BRNO and a '72 model 2 BRNO. I've shot them all a lot and the Lithgow is better IMO. If I had to buy a .22, I'd be looking for and old Lithgow, or a new one if I could afford it.

I've also got a Krico .22Mag
Post by: Tim - Stratford on March 05, 2015, 06:38:25 PM
Having this thread dug up reminded me....since this started I picked up a .22 PWS T3.....it's obvious I miss my 10/22. ????
Post by: chappo555 on March 05, 2015, 09:06:50 PM
Easy answer. My new lithgow crossover. Awesome and aussie made.
Post by: chappo555 on March 05, 2015, 09:08:04 PM
Hey FNQ bunyip. Try CCI green tag in the lithgows. I've set four up now and they all love it.
Post by: tk421 on March 05, 2015, 09:58:56 PM
My dad's old Winchester bought by his dad in 1944, the week he was born. I was using it up until 2003, and was the rifle I learnt to shoot on using the original iron sights.

Sadly I had to leave it in the UK with my mum and it's since been deactivated.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on March 06, 2015, 05:51:21 AM
Also had a 10/22. It was great, until I bought a second hand Chinese copy of a BRNO from a bloke at the local pub.
That thing was the most used and abused rifle I owned. It was deadly accurate. Far more accurate over a distance than the Ruger, which was hardly used after that.
Everyone used to laugh at this thing, until they had a shot with it. Bit like owning a Chinese camper trailer. ;D

(just had a quick google search. Was a Norinco JW-15 I think? )
Post by: FNQBunyip on March 06, 2015, 08:20:10 AM
Hey FNQ bunyip. Try CCI green tag in the lithgows. I've set four up now and they all love it.

I'll grab a brick next trip to Kans.. Cheers
Post by: mtb on March 06, 2015, 07:24:57 PM
Learnt to shoot with Dads new 1980 Brno model 2, open sights.

Used to dream about having a scope on it. Saved my rabbit and fox skin money (sold 9 fox skins in 1987 for $200) and brought a Tasco 4x40 scope.

My son is learning with it now. Great memories.

Mtb
Post by: markg66 on March 06, 2015, 08:45:06 PM
I have a BRNO Model 2 set up as a bench rest rifle with a 6 x 24 scope on it.
The Misses has a Marlin micro groove .22 magnum.
Eldest son has a Winchester Pump action .22 (he's left handed)
Youngest son has a Miroku Lever Action .22
Plus just bought a Winchester model 94 30-30 carbine lever action all newly hot reblued, going to broker it this weekend.
Not to mention Swedish Mauser 6.5x55, and an under/over 12g

Then there is the pistols................................

For shootin bunnies the sons .22 Lever action is my favorite, and going to do it at Easter, not long now.
Post by: FNQBunyip on March 10, 2015, 02:17:55 PM
Any recommended forums for gun talk / chat ..??
general good reading ,friendly , like it is here .

Post by: GXL4X4 on March 12, 2015, 04:44:36 PM
Hi I have a CZ Brono 22  forsale in great condition it's only 2 years old it's only had about 30 rounds thought I'm not at home but if any one is interested email me gxl4x4@bigpond.com I am in Yea Victoria.