General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Tassie devils on July 17, 2011, 07:30:36 PM
In 2005 we sold up in South Australia and travelled this great country of ours, on our way round we constantly looked for a new place to settle and bring up our family. We loved Hobart and have been here 5 years. On your travels where would you like to move to.
After today's maximum temperature of 9c I'm over the sh!tty South East winters.
Broome at 32c sounds pretty good to me.
This time last year I was up there drinking beer and catching big fish.
After today's maximum temperature of 9c I'm over the sh!tty South East winters.
Broome at 32c sounds pretty good to me.
This time last year I was up there drinking beer and catching big fish.
A distance memory for me :cheers:
Definatly south coast NSW for me. Mild temperatures all year round, slighty on the cool side which I like. Also near the coast which is good because I love eating seafood. Also near the mountains as I like exploring them in summer and skiing in winter. Its also not too overly populated without being remote either.
My brother and 3 mates took a bike ride from my location to Perth nearly 30 yrs ago, sent mom a letter and said he's staying till they "cart me away"..... I have been over there visiting 7 times and thats my next settling destination for sure. 8)
Coral Bay Ningaloo Peninsular WA, at the drop of a hat..
I love south coast NSW, anywhere from Nowra down... but somewhere like that where its 28 every day, sunny, not windy, and water like this
(http://www.etahititravel.com/photos/hotels/rfp-vahine-island-13.jpg)
with oodles of backpackers like this
(http://033a948.netsolhost.com/WordPress/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Swedish-girls-290x290.jpg)
i am coming with you Lost, just as long as we don't drink VB
I drove that coast twice a week delivering gas bottles to hospitals from Nowra to a Depot in Eden... still didnt find that place :( Still lookin'....
and yea no VB or 4x crap to be seen!
I am with you Lost, Narooma looks good to us
way too touristy :(
Merimbula is similar, lovely place, just its where 1/2 of Melbourne goes at Xmas.
Mate several years ago bought few acres outside Tomakin/Mogo on a hill, with views over a large paddock and then the ocean.. sold their house in Shitney for diamonds, and built their dream home... and a few rentals around the country too.. lucky prick.
He does the coast regularly in his job, and says the whole coast is pretty much touristy now, which means to me that everything is over priced.
My brother and 3 mates took a bike ride from my location to Perth nearly 30 yrs ago, sent mom a letter and said he's staying till they "cart me away"..... I have been over there visiting 7 times and thats my next settling destination for sure. 8)
Serious? I coulnt get out of there fast enough after living there for 4 yrs. Northern nsw and to narrow it down the lower Clarence is where it's at!
Count me in too Bruce, im packing my bags as we speak :-*
I did, Port Stephens - Love it
Count me in too Bruce, im packing my bags as we speak :-*
BD I thought you'd be a 'King of Mykonos' type of guy :)
;D Already done Mykonos :cheers:
I would have to say I would stay in Tassie, but it would be good to head North for the winter and head back in spring
Have not travelled this great land enough to make that call, but somewhere where it is warm close to great fishing, swimming, good beaches, fantastic camping, and fourwheel driving not to many people but not to small ummm when we do a lap in a few years time i will let you know .
Tassie, Tassie, and my third choice would be Tassie
Potato Point, Southern NSW 8) Bought a place there a couple of years ago and will be retiring there in 10yrs or so (earlier if my wife has her way ;D )
Tassie: temperature range is far more civilised, unless you go high, or away from the coast.
Civilised ????? maybe for a penguin ?? ;D
The nicest place to live in Australia is Lord Howe Island...almost constant 24 deg temps all year round..
Downside is ...the place is small and there are no jobs..
Hobart in summer for sure. Cairns in winter. Spring and autumn - maybe slowly commuting... ;D
South West Rocks is the place to be :cup: :cheers:
I like it around Mansfield or Swifts Creek...not too far from where we are now. I would move to Tassie at the drop of a hat but SWMBO wants to stay closer to family.
Melbourne. Love that place.
That said, it would take a fair degree of persuasion for us to leave Cairns. It was cool last night, given that it's the middle of winter. I had to put on my special winter long shorts, and upgrade from a singlet to a tshirt.
Come December we are leaving Melbourne and travelling around Australia for 15 months and moving to Brisbane when we have finished if we dont settle anywhere else first...
coral Bay WA
(https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-pxPZlRpIDmU/THRQ_e3QClI/AAAAAAAABh8/lpQRkZYKEIM/s720/IMG_2451.JPG)
We're keen to move to the Port Macquarie area, but so far can't see how to fund this.
(http://i932.photobucket.com/albums/ad169/thedevilwearsprado/santorini.jpg)
need i say anymore?
Come December we are leaving Melbourne and travelling around Australia for 15 months and moving to Brisbane when we have finished if we dont settle anywhere else first...
That's how we started, and could have settled at a number of destinations Tassie was our last stop before heading back to Adelaide. Have fun on your trip :cheers:
by Lost
and says the whole coast is pretty much touristy now
Now there's an understatement *lol*
Come terrorist time, if we haven't left our town completely, we don't venture into it after 8am
Having said that, I still wouldn't leave here :)
by envee
Potato Point, Southern NSW 8) Bought a place there a couple of years ago and will be retiring there in 10yrs or so
We'll care-take it for the next 10yrs for you mate ;D
I'd move out of suburbia and into the country ... or beachside country ... anywhere but bloody suburbia ... and definitely away from the Big Smoke.
Why would I want to move away from here?
Mild summers, only some cold days in winter [less than 7 frosts per year], across the road from the golf club & 2 mins from locking the hubs when 4wding & hundreds of fantastic camping spots within an hour or so.
Back to North QLD.
Whitsundays to be exact.
i been everywhere man and it's gotta be SEQ or FNQ, nothing else comes close.
(http://i932.photobucket.com/albums/ad169/thedevilwearsprado/santorini.jpg)
need i say anymore?
yea, a name of the joint would help!
Lost, it's Santorini
I thought everyone was talking AU only...
if its overseas too, then this wins hands down, no annoying neighbours, and ocean views
(http://www.e-manonline.com/images/entry/lighthousewave.jpg)
Anywhere but Sydney :D I think ideally I'd split my time between Cairns and Tasmania. :cheers:
Mild summers, only some cold days in winter [less than 7 frosts per year], across the road from the golf club & 2 mins from locking the hubs when 4wding & hundreds of fantastic camping spots within an hour or so.
Doh ! Re above , But what to do for a crust Hem ?
Where I currently live is not too bad...sure it's a bit of a drive to the beach but at least living out here, we're on the edge of the outback and a long way from the rat race. Best of both worlds and if I want a break from it, well, that is what the camper is for!! ;D
Surrounded by national parks...4wd spots...beach 10min... hundreds, yes hundreds of great camping spots up and down the coast... city 1hrs away to the nrth for the shows and speciality shopping.
Nah...I'll stay right here thanks very much...
We'll care-take it for the next 10yrs for you mate ;D
Thanks for the offer bobnrob, much appreciated.................................we'll put you in the queue ;D ;D
Tin Can Bay, East of Gympie, great spot not to populated, but just enough happenin there to enjoy urself, and great beachs, heaps of fishing.
i spent about 20 years living in south west WA, almost 15 years in Perth and just over 10 years living in the greater Sydney area
but for me if i had to spend the rest of my life in just one area ----------- give me Tassie
tassie tassie tassie
North Central Victoria . Gods own country , house , huge mancave to play in . where ever you go at some stage the climate will be wrong ,,so . Fishing , country quiet , slow pased , wind down . I move in next thusday Hanging out for it ;D ;D ;D ;D :cup: :cheers:
tassie for me as well, wine glass bay, St Helens or Launceston, cant stand Hobart, full of mainlanders;)
Got no reason to move, The Clarence Valley is just the bestest backyard to have. :cup:
Rather be poor and happy, than rich and miserable. ;D
Albany WA or NE Tas
tassie for me as well, wine glass bay, St Helens or Launceston, cant stand Hobart, full of mainlanders;)
Very true :cheers:
x2 Hairs on both counts.
Northern NSW is not so bad, the Clarence in particular is a pretty good place to base opperations from. Big enough to have what you need, but small enough to still have the feel of a country town. Add in the beaches, bush & the Ranges & you've got a good mix. Mild Winters & a Summer that's not too savage, yep, it'll do me for a while yet :cup: :cheers:
a big x 3 for the northern rivers.
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Just did a very quick count NSW 13, TAS 9, WA 6, QUEENSLAND 4 , VIC 2.
A bit annoyed with myself not spending more time through NSW, maybe worth another trip and check it out. :cheers:
Coral Bay Ningaloo Peninsular WA, at the drop of a hat..
went there in May this year , how good is it .
a great piece of the world there, and great 4wdring and camping all around there as well
Have currently been looking at the New England area of NSW.
Not a bad part of the world, Bushman. Armidale has a lot to offer and it is only a run down the hill to the coast and beaches! If the winters get too cold, SE QLD is not far away either.
Yeah was there a few weeks ago, as well as Glen Innes only got to -7 one morning. wasn't overly cold though (no wind)
Gday All .. Eildon for me..Now the lakes got plenty water even better.. Bit cold in winter tho... Phil
I did, Port Stephens - Love it
I'm with Dan on this. I would move back in a heart beat.
Port Stephens or the Hunter Valley. Best of both worlds all within 45 mins if you position your self right. The city , the wineries, the beach, the mountains. Fishing, Surfing 4wding. Fantastic part of the world. :cup:
I'm with Dan on this. I would move back in a heart beat.
Port Stephens or the Hunter Valley. Best of both worlds all within 45 mins if you position your self right. The city , the wineries, the beach, the mountains. Fishing, Surfing 4wding. Fantastic part of the world. :cup:
We still pinch ourselves regularly! :D
The New England region would be my 2nd pick, looked at moving to Inverell when we first got knotted. Armidale is good, I also like Tenterfield for some reason. :cheers:
Definitely mid to northern NSW coastal area.
Climate first of all.
Close enough to major centres when necessary - far enough most of the time.
Beaches (marinas for the yacht berth) [I wish].
Mountains and rivers for the camping.
How good would that be?
I cant believe Tassie is being beaten by NSW, what the hey. Tassie you drive for 45 minutes and you have seen 4 days worth of NSW scenery, I am not biased, I am not biased, I am not ...... ok maybe a little;)
For me I cant get away from the Gold Coast quick enough, but unfortunately 2nd oldest halfway through year 11 so not a good time to move. My picks would be I would love to go back to Ulladulla where I am from, Canungra would be my 2nd choice followed closely by Halfway Creek area south of Grafton. But looks like I have to stay put here for a bit yet.
Definitely mid to northern NSW coastal area.
Climate first of all.
Close enough to major centres when necessary - far enough most of the time.
Beaches (marinas for the yacht berth) [I wish].
Mountains and rivers for the camping.
How good would that be?
Yep, its' that good!
It's like being on holidays...every day...
Yep, its' that good!
It's like being on holidays...every day...
YEp I could be up for that. I am about over the Sunshine Coast $hitefight.....
Sunshine Coast Hinterland, somewhere in the Witta and Maleny area, just not in Maleny itself
Perfect weather, lotsa wheelin close by and a pretty relaxed way of life
Now where did I put those winning lotto numbers
Nick
South coast NSW, anywhere from Nowra down... but somewhere 24-28 every day, sunny, not windy, and water like this
(https://www.tahiti.com/images1/gallery/RFPVIR_Aerial_1000x600_29886.jpg)
Rockingham WA in a heartbeat 😂😂😂
nice grave dig by Bird...
I grew up in Newcastle. 2 mins to the beach and 5 mins to Glenrock for mountainbiking. 20mins to 4wding too.
But business brought me to Sydney. So I'm in the mountains... as far away from the hell hole as I can get.
Given the choice, I'd move to somewhere warm, coastal and remote. Very very remote.
Mansfield Vic
Ballina , Moved from Syd 4 years ago and never looked back the northern rivers has so mucht o offer I am still doing and seeing things new :cheers: :cheers:
Mansfield Vic
Thats one spot id pick as well ...... it would be good living just near the great dividing range
I learned what it was like to be a meat ant in a colony there at Easter... Shit it was busy ;D
Mansfield Vic
Mansfield is real close to the Snow fields in Winter too. >:D >:D >:D
Ditch the GC proper in favour of Springbrook, up in the Hinterland.
Somewhere in NNSW a lot quieter than here :'(
Got a soft spot for Oberon after fantastic experiences during an overnight stay there while on holidays several years ago :D
That's somewhere I haven't been for 30 years... used to do a lot of gem hunting and prospecting with the olds as a kid.. There and out Hill End/Sofala way
Sunshine Coast, even in Summer when it is busy, just plan ahead and stay away from the Plaza during the Summer holidays!
No-one voting for the most livable city in the world?
Already there.....
Shhh, just tell 'em how cold it is down here
South West Rocks is the place to be :cup: :cheers:
+ 1 for this - love SWR area!
I would want to live in an area that has winter day time temps of around 20-24 degrees (it can get as cold as it likes over night) and summer day time temps around 30-34 degrees. Don't mind a bit of humidity, just not too intense for too long.
I want a few acres of land, maybe with a gully and a spring fed creek. The gully would have dense rainforest/riparian growth. Then some higher ground up the back with open bush and a spattering of really old gumtrees (like 300 to 400 years old). There should be a good mix of wildlife with no pests, heaps of birds and some rare frogs would be good too.
But this land would have to be max 15-20 minutes away from great surf beaches and under an hour to a major airport (I fly a lot for my work).
Then I'd need a primary school within walking distance so I can walk with the kids every morning (in the glorious sunshine and 20 degree temps) and chat about what they're learning at school and what we're going to do when they get home that afternoon.
And finally I'd want my nearest neighbor about 200m from my house, well they could be a little bit closer, if they're on the other side of a ridge and we can't see or hear each other. ;)
Turns out places that tick all of those boxes are pretty hard to find these days..
So it looks like I won't be moving away from my piece of paradise here in the Sunshine Coast hinterland for a long loooooong time... ;D
PS;
Melbourne is awesome too.
Don't believe me? Hook up your caravan and head down there to check it out for your self.... ;D
I can't believe you live 20 mins away from a surf beach........more than 2k's and i get withdrawals ;D
I first visited Tassie in Jan/Feb 2011. Commencing June 2014 I had the opportunity to work in Tassie and now live in Richmond.
If life works as I hope it will, I'll leave Richmond in an urn. 8) ;D
I can't believe you live 20 mins away from a surf beach........more than 2k's and i get withdrawals ;D
I lived 1 house back from Hedges Ave on the Goldie for almost 3 years. Walked up with a coffee for the dawn check every morning and surfed it almost everyday.
Moved from there to Coolum and was just too far to walk for my dawn check. After a couple of years driving over that hill every morning the decision was pretty clear.
I said to the wife "if we can't build our house walking distance to the beach, we might as well build our house where we can find peace."
For me to sit on my acreage today and driving 15 minutes for a wave makes me far more happy then I ever could have been living in the western side of the hill at Coolum with neighbors looking down on me and still having to drive to get a wave. ;)
I would love to move about 20m north of where we currently live, but then we are comfortable living in our shed and the house will be a big chunk of money we could put to better use, so we will just stay where we are.
If life works as I hope it will, I'll leave Richmond in an urn. 8) ;D
TOPNDR at heart.
Hmmm, something doesn't quite add up here ???
TOPNDR at heart.
Hmmm, something doesn't quite add up here ???
Ah, yes, well. As a result of your query Fizzie, I've up updated my sig.
:D :cup: