General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Teabag on June 26, 2011, 11:14:21 PM

Title: Membership goin crazy.....
Post by: Teabag on June 26, 2011, 11:14:21 PM
Well, 1250 plus members for the month of June. MySwag is becoming very popular.. ;D ;D :cheers:
Title: Re: Membership goin crazy.....
Post by: oldblade on June 26, 2011, 11:21:41 PM
damn i need to get into the camper trailer business look at all those customers
Post by: AussieBob on June 27, 2011, 03:40:28 AM
What does that (1,250) bring the membership total too??
Bob
Post by: GU_Thomo on June 27, 2011, 05:00:20 AM
Well, 1250 plus members for the month of June. MySwag is becoming very popular.. ;D ;D :cheers:

Must be the quality of the Mods we have ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: Silvo on June 27, 2011, 06:08:22 AM
The are a lot of people with only 1 or 2 posts who are advertising stuff..
Post by: Estelle on June 27, 2011, 06:09:59 AM
What does that (1,250) bring the membership total too??
Bob

7476 as of this morning.

You can find the total number of members at the top of the page under Members. ( home. Help, Search, Profile ...)
Post by: Snow on June 27, 2011, 07:40:36 AM
About 1000 of those new members were mongrel Spammer types  >:( who didn't get past first base. Its been a flat out month just sorting the good from the bad.

Post by: DANBRI on June 27, 2011, 07:55:47 AM
About 1000 of those new members were mongrel Spammer types  >:( who didn't get past first base. Its been a flat out month just sorting the good from the bad.

Phew, I can still post   :cup:
Post by: Snow on June 27, 2011, 08:09:59 AM
Phew, I can still post   :cup:
Dan, you're a Myswag Stalwart, safe as houses. ;D ;D
Post by: Mav on June 27, 2011, 10:03:06 AM
Good work on the membership, though a forum like this will always attract a fair amount of interest. It is run well and the long term members help make it a pleasant experience. :cheers:
Post by: gronk on June 27, 2011, 10:47:46 AM
Dan, you're a Myswag Stalwart, safe as houses. ;D ;D

Yep...safe as houses......just like the ones with pink batts and solar on the roof! !!!!!    ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on June 27, 2011, 11:11:16 AM
Quote from: oldblade
damn i need to get into the camper trailer business look at all those customers

It would be interesting to see how many are looking for quality over price or vv...
I think chinese trailers @ $3000 + GST are really going to bite the $30,000 trailers over next few years.
Post by: gronk on June 27, 2011, 12:43:23 PM
It would be interesting to see how many are looking for quality over price or vv...
I think chinese trailers @ $3000 + GST are really going to bite the $30,000 trailers over next few years.

Don't think so....completely different market segments....people who pay over 30K usually know what they want and are willing to pay for it.....people who pay 3K would also like the 30K one, but can't justify it ( money wise or other reasons)
Post by: BigJules on June 27, 2011, 02:54:10 PM
What has been particularly satisfying has been the number of new members who are actively participating. Thanks folks.
Post by: Bird on June 27, 2011, 03:00:08 PM
Quote from: gronk
Don't think so....completely different market segments....people who pay over 30K usually know what they want and are willing to pay for it.....people who pay 3K would also like the 30K one, but can't justify it ( money wise or other reasons)
In reality your right..

But things are changing, budgets are becoming tighter than a mozzies ring for a lot of people who wanna get out there...
If the endless line (well 20+ people each time we walked past)at last caravan show for the $3000 'Fall-apart-Chinese' campertrailer V the $15,000 to XX,000 campers with sales staff dribbling and begging for you to ask is anything to go by they are changing sorta now.
Post by: Gunna Do on June 27, 2011, 03:10:20 PM
Bruce, the poll in this thread gives you a fair idea where the money is being spent (66.9% under $20,000).

WHAT WAS THE TOTAL PRICE YOU PAID FOR YOUR CAMPER (NEW OR USED)? (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=9768.0)
Post by: Mav on June 27, 2011, 03:15:35 PM
I think the problem being experienced at the moment is that lending corporations are tightening up so much that it is damn near impossible to get any loan approvals especially if you do not have the length of the loan left before you retire. Hence companies producing big ticket campers are feeling the pinch whereas the cheaper campers are still in the reach of the buyers.
Post by: BigJules on June 27, 2011, 03:37:07 PM
It would be helpful if some new members chose User names that don't look like the 50-100 spam applications each day.  :police: I'm sure I've probably rejected a number of valid applications  :angel:.

It has become a serious effort to manage the new member requests, worthwhile though as we have less spammers getting through now.
Post by: Bird on June 27, 2011, 03:57:04 PM
Quote from: bigjules
It has become a serious effort to manage the new member requests

So your doing them all manually  (http://media.scout.com/media/forums/emoticons/184/shocked.gif)
Post by: BigJules on June 27, 2011, 04:12:22 PM
Not every single one, but most of them need manual review. The majority (99%) of requests are spammers.
Post by: Bird on June 27, 2011, 04:13:43 PM
The majority (99%) of requests are spammers.
yep, same on 2 other forums I mod on... But on both most are fully automated.
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on June 27, 2011, 04:26:26 PM
What has been particularly satisfying has been the number of new members who are actively participating.
Thanks folks.
From a 'members' point of view
I believe it's the "moderators" here that make it such a great forum
they make you feel welcome and at ease   ;D

You can ask the Mods questions about 'rules and regulations' and 'how to' do things, as a newcomer I had to use this to use their services, and I know some will suggest I should be doing it more often  :-* :-* :-*

A big thank you to all the people working behind the scene   :cup:
Post by: envee on June 27, 2011, 07:58:37 PM

x2,
Been a member for a while and although I don't contribute too often, it's given me a lot of information and more importantly fun. Keep it up  :cheers:
Post by: Heiny on June 27, 2011, 08:00:48 PM

X3  :cup:
Post by: gruesome on June 27, 2011, 09:09:07 PM
X3  :cup:

X4 As with a lot of other swaggers I dont post that often but spend a lot of time just reading and chasing info which is what makes this forum one of the best and the moderators are a large part of that effort of what it takes to make this all work,
cheers Andy
Post by: skog on June 27, 2011, 09:14:53 PM

Phew how did I get in  ;D
Post by: Newsman on June 27, 2011, 09:19:16 PM
Gotta say, I feel like an intruder here... no 4wd... no offroad camper... just a Fairlane and an Onroad campertrailer. But let me tell you, I LOVE this forum... have learned heaps and feel "at home" here. And who knows... I may come over to the 'Dark Side' one day!

David
Post by: Kman on June 27, 2011, 09:26:53 PM
The input, ideas and general chat people have on this site has been of great help to me with my camper purchase and setup, thanks for lending them.... ;D. Thanks for sharing everyone and the moderators for making it a great place to chat I have never been so excited or proud to receive my myswag sticker in the mail....my missus reckons im a geek, but super cool, so there will be another Complete Campsite CT with a myswag sticker.....proud as punch :cheers: ;D
Post by: rellbell on June 27, 2011, 09:37:19 PM
Gotta say, I feel like an intruder here... no 4wd... no offroad camper... just a Fairlane and an Onroad campertrailer

David
Hey newsman, looks like you qualify for my swag,  what model fairlane have you got.  cheers rellbell
Post by: Hairs on June 27, 2011, 10:05:42 PM
Phew how did I get in  ;D
I'm still trying to work out they let navara04 in LOL.

Nah,  ;D
I do agree with Mainey
Cheers Guys.
Post by: AussieBob on June 28, 2011, 05:54:21 AM
x2,
Been a member for a while and although I don't contribute too often, it's given me a lot of information and more importantly fun. Keep it up  :cheers:

x5, agree with all that Mainey and the others have said, Thanks for a great Forum!!
Bob
Post by: Gunna Do on June 28, 2011, 06:33:51 AM
Well, 1250 plus members for the month of June.

1250 new members for June looks like one of those figures like the 245 "Most on line" figures which popped up in March 2010, and that we never got close to since.
Post by: Teabag on June 28, 2011, 06:53:25 AM
1250 new members for June looks like one of those figures like the 245 "Most on line" figures which popped up in March 2010, and that we never got close to since.

Not really, last 3 months has seen 200 odd on line. I would assume that the forum is growing at a fair rate with members and use..... ;D
Post by: Gunna Do on June 28, 2011, 07:14:46 AM
Not that it matters much, but 200 on line 12 months down the track is still a long way short of 245 and with over 3700 more new members since (by the stats).  I believe it's a glitch, you believe its real, we'll have to agree to disagree on this one.

Maybe I'm too much of a sceptic, and should accept these things for what they are.  ???
Post by: bobnrob on June 28, 2011, 09:15:40 AM
Gotta say, I feel like an intruder here... no 4wd... no offroad camper... just a Fairlane and an Onroad campertrailer. But let me tell you, I LOVE this forum... have learned heaps and feel "at home" here. And who knows... I may come over to the 'Dark Side' one day!

David

An Intruder Newsman? Look at my Sig Pic  ;D
One of the things I like about this site...a love of camping qualifies you, everything else is secondary :)
Post by: BigJules on June 28, 2011, 11:19:58 AM

I agree that the 245 was a glitch, we weren't anywhere near that any other time, back then. There has been a high number online recently however.
Post by: Bird on June 28, 2011, 11:44:16 AM
I agree that the 245 was a glitch, we weren't anywhere near that any other time, back then. There has been a high number online recently however.
I think you will find numerous forums had a spike around that date
I think that some of the search engines may have released their spiders with new algorithms around that time to poll the internet for more up to date data. Quite regularly at night on my other forums you see the spiders are the only things online :)
Post by: Teabag on June 28, 2011, 12:21:06 PM
Not that it matters much, but 200 on line 12 months down the track is still a long way short of 245 and with over 3700 more new members since (by the stats).  I believe it's a glitch, you believe its real, we'll have to agree to disagree on this one.

Maybe I'm too much of a sceptic, and should accept these things for what they are.  ???

Glitch, is generally a term used when someone cannot explain what happen.  ;D. I deal with this a lot in my field of work. I don't think it's too hard to believe. Take into account time of year, big wet inland so very active trips planned for the centre. Now, being a cynic is a different story....... ;D

Note: An element of jest.....hehehe

What's the glitch? System driven, what would cause this so believed erroneous numbers?
Post by: Gunna Do on June 28, 2011, 02:17:07 PM
World English Dictionary
glitch  (?l?t?)
 — n
1.   a sudden instance of malfunctioning or irregularity in an electronic system

I'd say this definition sums it up pretty well, with the numbers mentioned being both sudden, irregular and in an electronic system.  My field of work doesn't cover this type of thing, nor do I claim to be educated enough to make a guess as to the cause, but I reckon the forum being electronically driven fits into the glitch category pretty well.

Being a cynic and a sceptic, I find it hard to believe that the big wet had prompted everyone onto the forum for just one day, if these high numbers had lasted for a few weeks or even a month, this theory might have held some credability.  

Obviously by a couple of posts above I'm not the only one to believe the numbers were somewhat dubious, nor am I the only one to believe in glitches.
Post by: DANBRI on June 28, 2011, 02:21:34 PM
When I was a young single fella; I used to have glitches with women/nightclubs often.
Post by: Gunna Do on June 28, 2011, 02:24:16 PM
When I was a young single fella; I used to have glitches with women/nightclubs often.

Now although I'm a cynic and a sceptic, I know you well enough to believe this is totally believable.

Note: An element of seriousness.....hehehe
Post by: gronk on June 28, 2011, 02:25:00 PM

Was it something similar to a warm fuzzy feeling......... >:D >:D
Post by: blackstump on June 28, 2011, 02:32:12 PM

I dont think you are meant to take cameras into nightclubs Dan
Post by: D4D on June 28, 2011, 02:37:22 PM

and went home to your pillow :)

(http://blkmav.com/stuff/loaded.jpg)
Post by: DANBRI on June 28, 2011, 02:58:44 PM
However I did manage to stay out after dark...  :angel:
Post by: Bird on June 28, 2011, 03:40:42 PM
Quote from: DANBRI
(http://www.solar-street-lighting.com/images/Solar%20Street%20Lights2.jpg)
Post by: Gunna Do on June 28, 2011, 03:43:01 PM

............but you were like a roo in vehicle headlights first thing in the morning.  ;D
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on June 28, 2011, 04:52:38 PM

Maybe the membership increase has something to do with being a few page spread in CTT?

Or the popularity of the beer holders, stickers and windscreen stickers (these are hard to miss)? 

Post by: darren on June 28, 2011, 05:27:05 PM
I dont think you are meant to take cameras into nightclubs Dan

He has one of those little cameras mounted on the top of his shoe....
Post by: Bird on June 28, 2011, 09:38:18 PM
The increased membership is probably why I've had about 50 of these tonight..the server is probably having a heart attack.

Connection Problems
Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.

Anyone else gettin em
Post by: pacs on June 28, 2011, 09:43:54 PM
As others have said it's great to see the site growing with so many great people all willing to help each other with projects and so forth and to have a joke and enjoy reading others travel stories and experiances In this great country we call home

The only thing that does come to mind is can the current hosting service/plan cover the site for the future growth before membership becomes a fee based system.. Has there been thought put towards some of the companies that use the site for advertisements which promote products and gain new clientel through the sites members sponsoring the funding of such a great community to help firm up it's future... Just my 2bobs worth myswag is  :cup:  and I'm sure we all want it to continue to be  :cheers:
Post by: Kman on June 28, 2011, 09:49:32 PM
The increased membership is probably why I've had about 50 of these tonight..the server is probably having a heart attack.

Connection Problems
Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.

Anyone else gettin em

Yep quite a few times now, has just come good in last 5 mins though
Post by: dno on June 28, 2011, 09:50:28 PM

Connection Problems

Anyone else gettin em
Yer and slow USB modam as well >:(
Post by: Brett on June 29, 2011, 01:03:19 PM
I wouldn't take that number as true. With the way we approve members now trying to keep out the spam still allows them to register but then we reject them.

Most likely 1000 of them were spam accounts.

Post by: Robbo on June 29, 2011, 06:03:52 PM

Connection Problems

Anyone else gettin em

Yep, been getting this quite often lately. Usually around 6pm thru to 8pm. Must be the busy time of an evening.
Not a problem though, i just log back on a little later.

Robbo
Post by: Sullyman on June 29, 2011, 07:58:29 PM
As a newish member with only a few posts and no camper yet (boo hoo, but need to find some spare cash) I can say that this site is an excellent place to do a lot of research, add to the ever growing list of must haves (or wants), and is a great advertisement for local manufacturers as there is some awesome feedback on real experiences from owners of a wide variety of trailers.

And don't get me started about what sort of new tug to buy to pull my new camper around - I'm suffering from data overload already.........
Post by: BigJules on June 29, 2011, 11:47:07 PM
I was challenged by this discussion to have an in depth look at the membership, so I just worked through the last 5000 members and deleted the spammers that had gotten through and a few dodgy looking accounts. There was probably less than 200 in 5000, and it only took about 6 hours. Plus I stuffed up and approved about 70 spam accounts by mistake  >:D that I had to delete.

I did look at the accounts of a lot of members with zero posts, and was astounded to see the amount of time some have spent online, without posting. Hours and days, clearly reading up on what their options are and where they can go.

Don't be afraid folks, walk on in and share your plans and ambitions.
Post by: singo-26 on June 30, 2011, 12:13:48 AM

Don't even let the fact that you dont own a camper or an off road camper stop you from contributing.The size, style or $ value of the camper you own (or don't own) does not make your contribution and experiences any less valid.
Post by: AussieBob on June 30, 2011, 05:40:03 AM
There was probably less than 200 in 5000, and it only took about 6 hours.
BigJules,..you have to get a life!!..spending 6 hours....you are getting as bad as the rest of us old farts!! ;D ;D
Bob
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2011, 09:04:28 AM
I did look at the accounts of a lot of members with zero posts, and was astounded to see the amount of time some have spent online, without posting. Hours and days, clearly reading up on what their options are and where they can go.

one of the blokes in my club spends days on here lookin at info for his trailer buildup, but says its great that you dont need to register to get the info like many forums...

Come on Luke, dont be afraid to talk :p
Post by: cruisindub on June 30, 2011, 07:34:09 PM
Not a 'Camper 'trailer' owner but a 'camper' owner, I have found the site invaluable in getting info on set up and more. Have asked a few questions, read a LOT, and enjoyed every minute.
Have stopped visting other sites as a free member and go direct to myswag.org
looking forward to meeting some members and making friends, once we have an opportunity to travel a bit more back home.

At the moment, in the Tatras High Mountains in Slovakia, freezing my ass off in the iddle of summer with 12 Deg C, dense clouds and no visibility, our old VW camper is rocking!! Albeit quite slowly, 60km/h sometimes second gear 40km/h up these steep hills and sometimes faster downhill than I can get her wound up under full throttle. max 80-90km/h.

Even on holidays I still frequent myswag.org

Cheers all,
Cruisindub
Post by: lockyer on July 01, 2011, 12:10:31 PM
An Intruder Newsman? Look at my Sig Pic  ;D
One of the things I like about this site...a love of camping qualifies you, everything else is secondary :)

Well I fall into the same boat...I have an on-road cub I just finished adding mods to (for the second time) and a ford courier ute (2wd) - I have found so much info on this site, it's incredible and I tried to add my thoughts where possible, like today I'm studying up on solar and had a question, but it was asked in the last day or two ( how to tell if your solar panel wattage in what the sticker says) and after reading went out and tested mine..

Some months ago I searched the net for "on-road" camper trailer forums and nothing came up but found this forum and have stayed since, only on Saturday just gone while parked with the cub hooked up behind a shopping centre in Murwillumbah a guy walked up and asked if I knew somewhere he could buy a S/H cub camper from so I told him to get onto here "myswag.org" and check the for sale section out.
Post by: Symon on July 02, 2011, 04:09:23 PM
The number of members isn't really a reflection of how popular a forum is.  Look at the 'page views' statistic, as this includes the guests who read the public forums.

This forum is very popular, and it shows in the number of times it is linked to from other forums.  I am a member of at least a dozen other forums, and I am constantly amazed at how often myswag comes up in other places.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 27, 2015, 04:57:21 PM
19000 members and still growing

Post by: KingBilly on November 27, 2015, 05:48:51 PM
Well done myswag.  And thanks again to mod/admin team for all the hard work  :cup:  You guys rock  :cup:

Post by: scarpsD40 on November 27, 2015, 05:52:18 PM
Well done myswag.  And thanks again to mod/admin team for all the hard work  :cup:  You guys rock  :cup:

agree, and all the quality regulars too, without whom the place might be a little quiet;D
Post by: KingBilly on November 27, 2015, 05:55:01 PM
agree, and all the quality regulars too, without whom the place might be a little quiet;D

Gee, shucks mate, I luv ya too  :cup:

Post by: scarpsD40 on November 27, 2015, 06:24:56 PM

Gee, shucks mate, I luv ya too  :cup:

now don't go getting all soft and snuggly on us kb.
Post by: oldmate on November 27, 2015, 07:08:05 PM
Yep agree with both of you, god dam group hugs.
Post by: Bird on November 27, 2015, 07:17:49 PM
Quote from: GGV8Cruza

When you going to clean out all the inactive for 12months or more ones?

it also free's up some good names for new members.
Post by: r2d2 on November 27, 2015, 08:11:09 PM

Wow that's huge
Post by: Black Diamond on November 27, 2015, 08:30:20 PM
Come a long way that's for sure. A lot of us spend a fair bit of time on here, makes you wonder what you would do in your spare time if MYSWAG wasn't around, go camping maybe?? ;D
Post by: McGirr on November 27, 2015, 08:38:33 PM
As mentioned it's great to see the growth over the years. Being member no 370 who would have thought it would continue to grow to the size it is today. Personally I have met people, who today,  are very good friends through the trips I have arranged. A great mix of people from all walks of life with the same passion. The knowledge, ideas, trip reports and the spirit is what makes this forum the best.

Well done to all the hard work done from the admins  :cup:

Post by: DannyG on November 27, 2015, 08:52:27 PM

As if you would know how much work is involved in keeping the place running on the straight and narrow ;)
Post by: BaseCamp on November 27, 2015, 09:29:05 PM
A newbe's observations about why this place is so successful. ... (AKA so many active members; and growing sign-ons...)...

1.   Heaps of good and friendly advice .....

2.  No banners and wonton advertising; --- (think the demise of the 4wdaction forum in juxtaposition)...

3.  Genuine sense of community and camaraderie...

WHAT HAS THE POTENTIAL TO BIN THIS FORUM... per the way of the former mentioned....

1.  Unwelcome and unsolicited; or otherwise rude and condescending; "happy brotherly banter"  from:  ---  (as seen by I would suggest is the majority of members) ... as troll anonymous; and sometimes condescending and egocentric wishful thugary from a certain manority; narcissisticly compensating these particular individuals for 'god knows what'........ ...

2.  SITE OWNERS... Re-read some of the comments from the recent thread on so-called  "electronic rust protection systems" -- AND PROTECT YOUR BRAND ....  please...  :)   

Shake&Bake BB

Post by: KingBilly on November 27, 2015, 10:09:43 PM
A newbe's observations about why this place is so successful. ... (AKA so many active members; and growing sign-ons...)...

1.   Heaps of good and friendly advice .....

2.  No banners and wonton advertising; --- (think the demise of the 4wdaction forum in juxtaposition)...

3.  Genuine sense of community and camaraderie...

WHAT HAS THE POTENTIAL TO BIN THIS FORUM... per the way of the former mentioned....

1.  Unwelcome and unsolicited; or otherwise rude and condescending; "happy brotherly banter"  from:  ---  (as seen by I would suggest is the majority of members) ... as troll anonymous; and sometimes condescending and egocentric wishful thugary from a certain manority; narcissisticly compensating these particular individuals for 'god knows what'........ ...

2.  SITE OWNERS... Re-read some of the comments from the recent thread on so-called  "electronic rust protection systems" -- AND PROTECT YOUR BRAND ....  please...  :)   

Shake&Bake BB

If you have a problem with anybody or their post, there is the "report to moderator" button.  Feel free to use it mate

Post by: BaseCamp on November 27, 2015, 10:44:34 PM
Naaaa   ...KB; mate!

As a newbe and a lover of this forum. ...  I'm just doing my bit to protect the essence of the forum's integrity; (and passion). ...

Anonymous:   ...(to me; and most here I would think) wanta be troll-thugs *can*  [ ?tense] self edevidently out themselves in this matter I would think  ...

cheers.....

Shake&Bake BB

Post by: tracker on November 28, 2015, 03:58:41 AM

Totally agree...... :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Robbo on November 28, 2015, 05:00:38 AM
Yep, after five + years (for me) MySwag still rocks.
Well done to the Owners, Mods and the Members.
 :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: grafy82 on November 28, 2015, 06:55:18 AM

Shake&Bake BB

Geeze, you think that's bad, you should check out the electrical section  ;D ;D ;D

In all seriousness though, you gotta love Myswag  :cup:
Post by: D4D on November 28, 2015, 07:02:29 AM
A lot of us spend a fair bit of time on here, makes you wonder what you would do in your spare time if MYSWAG wasn't around, go camping maybe?? ;D

Do more mods on my camper & Prado ;D
Post by: duggie on November 28, 2015, 08:17:05 AM
As mentioned it's great to see the growth over the years. Being member no 370 who would have thought it would continue to grow to the size it is today. Personally I have met people, who today,  are very good friends through the trips I have arranged. A great mix of people from all walks of life with the same passion. The knowledge, ideas, trip reports and the spirit is what makes this forum the best.

Well done to all the hard work done from the admins  :cup:

I am fairly new to the forum( Membership number 2007) :D, and I too have meet some great people on this forum who I now call friends, some from Mcgirr's trips ,some from the Christmas and camping trips that I have organised and some who just drop in to catch up with another member for a drink and a chat.

Over my time on this great forum I have seen many changes, some members who have joined and posted ( dot paintings, riding through the desert ) type people have come and gone, strong minded members with very strong views and no or very little respect for other members comments or views have either left or been helped to leave, but one thing has always been the same with this forum, and that is the mateship, information, friendly banter and open minded moderators .

cheers duggie 
Post by: grafy82 on November 28, 2015, 09:29:35 AM

I am fairly new to the forum( Membership number 2007) :D, and I too have meet some great people on this forum who I now call friends, some from Mcgirr's trips ,some from the Christmas and camping trips that I have organised and some who just drop in to catch up with another member for a drink and a chat.

Over my time on this great forum I have seen many changes, some members who have joined and posted ( dot paintings, riding through the desert ) type people have come and gone, strong minded members with very strong views and no or very little respect for other members comments or views have either left or been helped to leave, but one thing has always been the same with this forum, and that is the mateship, information, friendly banter and open minded moderators .

cheers duggie 

Well said duggie. And it's members like yourself who make people feel welcome and happy to hang around here.  :cheers:
Post by: Jen, Sprogs n Him on November 28, 2015, 04:09:24 PM
I love this site,  I was lurking in the background for a while looking for information, before I introduced myself.
I have found that now I'm the one giving hubby ideas and information passed on from the forum (ahem.... claiming it as my own lol)
Now when discussing anything camper related...it's "Hang on I'll ask my Swagger mates.."

Post by: Mitch67 on November 28, 2015, 08:01:56 PM
I am still a newby to this site. But like anything you have Rules in place for theses Internet forums
Keeps the Idoits at bay & keyboard warriors  (have been member of other types outdoor fishing boating  websites over the years. they had there troubles )
 and found this site very infomative  heaps of different information  which is great  keep it up  :cup:

Mitch
Post by: sol on November 28, 2015, 08:04:28 PM
Where's Teabag the guy that started this thread got to?

Post by: grafy82 on November 28, 2015, 08:08:21 PM
Talking to him last year at the FNQ Christmas meet, he said he's not on here much any more. Sold his camper and went back to a tent. Duggie might know what he's up to.
Post by: duggie on November 29, 2015, 07:05:49 AM

New job, New boat and their children are heavily into sport.
Post by: prodigyrf on November 29, 2015, 10:30:38 AM

Prolly goin crazy like the rest of us I guess. Don't you read?
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 29, 2015, 10:57:52 AM

Prolly goin crazy like the rest of us I guess. Don't you read?
lol......
Post by: oldmate on November 29, 2015, 10:59:37 AM
Lol
Post by: plusnq on November 29, 2015, 11:10:58 AM
lol......

But there might be a couple of championship contenders here though  ;D ;D
Post by: firefox on November 29, 2015, 12:30:30 PM
ok i'm gonna bite..
Scarps where do you find these images :)... I gotta go burn some time laughing at them!
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 29, 2015, 01:28:39 PM
ok i'm gonna bite..
Scarps where do you find these images :)... I gotta go burn some time laughing at them!
I have friends in high places......
Post by: jw2170 on November 29, 2015, 02:02:37 PM
Please do not judge us newbies by a low post count.    ;D

I do not have a 4x4 or intend to take my CT 'off road", but I still visit the site every day to listen to the banter and pick up on all the useful information on the site.

One of the best CT forums on the net, 4x4 or no 4x4.....

As a retired mod for another, unrelated forum, I can appreciate the work carried out in the background just to keep up the high level of the forum.

Post by: Hairs on November 29, 2015, 02:13:17 PM
Please do not judge us newbies by a low post count.    ;D

I do not have a 4x4 or intend to take my CT 'off road", but I still visit the site every day to listen to the banter and pick up on all the useful information on the site.

One of the best CT forums on the net, 4x4 or no 4x4.....

As a retired mod for another, unrelated forum, I can appreciate the work carried out in the background just to keep up the high level of the forum.

(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/thumbs%20up.gif)

Post by: scarpsD40 on November 29, 2015, 03:02:31 PM
Post counts should be disabled on all forums or treated like golf scores.........
Post by: Hairs on November 29, 2015, 03:30:59 PM
Post Counts (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/hhmm.gif)
Never taken any notice how many I have or how many others have.
Seriously, I don't give 5h1t how many times a member has posted.
If you watch and learn and get something out of the forum and the information that members freely give, that's what makes this the best camper-trailer/traveling forum on the planet, probably the universe  ;D
We have a great bunch of Mods, top job, by the way. (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/thumbs%20up.gif)
But what puts this above all is, the members, catching up with like minded people is awesome.
Sure we might not agree with what some post, but we move on, look forward to hooking up the tug to what ever we drag about and making dust.

Don't talk to me about Golf scores, now that is just asking for trouble (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/pot%20stiring.gif)

Post by: KingBilly on November 29, 2015, 03:35:52 PM
But what puts this above all is, the members, catching up with like minded people is awesome.
Sure we might not agree with what some post, but we move on, look forward to hooking up the tug to what ever we drag about and making dust.

:cup: :cup: :cup:

Post by: scarpsD40 on November 29, 2015, 03:54:29 PM

Post Counts (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/hhmm.gif)
Never taken any notice how many I have or how many others have.
Seriously, I don't give 5h1t how many times a member has posted.
If you watch and learn and get something out of the forum and the information that members freely give, that's what makes this the best camper-trailer/traveling forum on the planet, probably the universe  ;D
Post by: oldmate on November 29, 2015, 04:04:38 PM
I have friends in high places......

See you have been probed
Post by: Hairs on November 29, 2015, 04:05:54 PM
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/smiley%20dance01.gif)
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 29, 2015, 04:23:13 PM

See you have been probed
no, maybe, ok possibly;D