General => General Discussion => Topic started by: cootha on June 06, 2011, 09:39:22 PM
I just got a new camper trailer and have already had people asking if they can borrow it before I've even set it up for the first time.
Bloody hell, how is the best and most polite way to tell them to get stuffed? :D Do you guys lend yours out to friends and such?
Nope, I just say no
There are a couple of things you don't lend, one is your trailer the other is your.... Because they both will come back....... ;D
I've not had someone ask as yet. I'd consider it, depending on who they are (and their potential for looking after it etc).
I'd have not issue in saying no if I didn't think they'd look after it.
That being said, having your mates ask to borrow your yet to be 'christened' CT is just criminal!
Tell em to get stuffed.
It'd be like a mate asking to borrow your brand new ute the second it comes off the lot to help them move house.
Not happening!
For the purchase price +10% all in CASH, yes by all means.
Not a chance.
It will only lead to arguments.
A simple "NO" should suffice.
"Never a borrower, nor a lender be............"
Geoff
No chance. If they're good enough friends to actually deserve it to be lent to them then they wouldn't ask anyway because they wouldn't want to put you in that uncomfortable situation. Give them the phone number of a company that hires out campers.
I can't believe someone would ask to use your new CT before you had even given it a run >:D >:D
In my case I agree with the others, I just say no way!
Disco.
I have only lent my CT out to my best mates who also own a Lifestyle CT so as to help them accomodate family at a time of a family get together...
I'd never lend it out to just anyone or anyone else for that matter...
....a polite way to tell them to get stuffed.....
How 'bout "Please sir, would you kindly indulge yourself in some self fornication" >:D
Zero to no chance that I would let some one else take my camper away.
Same as the others ,no way especially not b4 it has been christened? :o
I wouldnt lend out my camper however when my inlaws caravan burnt to the ground on the trip around Oz i did offer to truck the Jayco over to them so they could finish off their trip, I guess it's easy to offer when you know they will decline the offer
I couldn't imagine ever asking to do that, especially with a brand new camper, it's just WRONG and shows disrespect to you in my opinion. Perhaps a different scenario if you were getting an old camper, but then they should all offer to put in shares towards one if they think they have the right to use it.
Ask them if you can take their 4wd away camping in exchange...it'd be interesting to hear their argument.
Mark.
S h i t No! >:D
I am an Anal asshole and there is no way in the world i would let some other prick fart in my bed in the Swan :police:
I would offer my camper, But it would only be a few people i would allow to take it. Off the top of my head i can only think of 3 or 4 friends i would lend it to. I have also been offered a loan of a camper to take away if i wanted it.
I am an Anal asshole and there is no way in the world i would let some other prick fart in my bed in the Swan :police:
Well said!! :cup:
V8ute
Big difference in offering your camper & having some ask to use it. Even worse asking to use it before you can. If friends/ family needed it I would possibly offer, but I was asked..........
I'd have to agree with everyone else here and say that I would not lend it out to anyone.
I've saved and purchased our camper for the enjoyment of my family. If someone else were to borrow it and it was not returned in the same condition as when it went out, I'd be mighty pi$$ed, plus I'd have to run around and get it repaired. If they want the camping experience, I'd give them the phone number of the place where we purchased ours from as they also do rentals.
whitedg
What if they promised to sleep and fart at the other end.
Big difference in offering your camper & having some ask to use it. Even worse asking to use it before you can. If friends/ family needed it I would possibly offer, but I was asked..........
You are right it is a big difference, But it would still depend on who it was (most would be a no).
What if they promised to sleep and fart at the other end.
Thats even worse, my girls sleep there :-X
I have one guy that always asks me to borrow mine. I think he thinks I will change my mind. I always tell him where he can hire one...
Our friends who had just bought their new trailer, offered us their trailer for our trip to Cape York, but i couldnt borrow their new trailer, cause i was worried that it would get damaged so we bought our own and became "Trailer Trash" Yeah go the Trackabout.
Just say "sorry no" I see what people do to borrowed campers and it ain't pretty. The best one was the weekend warrior who borrowed his mates Trackabout....bash the tent and bedbase into a tree at around 90 kph. He came in with the camper for a quote hoping it would cost a couple of hundred dollars for a patch and a repair here and there, only to find out it was going to cost around $5000 for a new tent, bedbase, bowkit and panel beating....I believe these guys are no longer mates ??? .....It's your pride and joy so keep it that way and don't let others take the shine off it for you Matey ;D
JT
We have never lent ours out...
Bill and Morag
I have two mate I would lend to.
Knowing these blokes, it would come back in better condition it left in.
Like others have said though, they're probably the two that would never ask.
Have only let one mate borrow it and it came back in better condition when I gave it to him, They were also only going to the Prom so you knew it was not going anywhere tricky. It is also insured so an update would be nice.
I'd only loan it to my folks, or my inlaws - my inlaws would need the 4wd as well.
Like many have said, it would come back better than it left.
Generally, I wouldn't lend it out.
The answer would be NO, but in saying that my old camper I did loan it once and it did come back as good as I would have kept it.
But my new one the No answer would fall straight out.
I lent my previous 4wd to someone else who I very much trust, and I also lent my off road trailer out too - but no way would I ever lend out my Aussie Swag.
Tell them that you have put in many extra hours at work and made many sacrifices just to buy it, and they should go hire one.
My answer would be NO, the last time i lent a box trailer to someone who was going bush, they returned it with the front of the trailer and wheel guards all gravel blasted looked terrible had to respray the whole trailer, and that was the end of that friendship.
Still got a tent?
Tie it to a hand-trolley & lend 'em that, explaining it's the beginner's camper ;D
I can't see a problem, it's only a bloody trailer. No way would I let someone use it until I gave it a good shakedown, but then I'd lend it to people I trust and know would respect the trailer, and repair any damage.
As for people who I don't have that level of trust, I'd just say something along the line of "Sorry, if something went wrong beyond your control, I'd feel guilty, and if you did something to it, I'd have to kill you.
But then again, if our CT cost as much as a new car, I might feel different.
I guess it boils down the quality of your friends, which also reflects on you.
Bugger that would you lend your brand new queen size bed before you slept in it ???
Just tell em it's insured in your name only.
Spanking brand new NO, but seeing ours is a couple of years old I have 2 mates I would lend it too as know they would look after it. But everyone else would get a big NO.
Never.
How is the best and most polite way to tell them to get stuffed?
ask them for a 150% replacement price deposit, non refundable if there is any damage on it what so ever.
or just laugh at them.
ask them for a 150% replacement price deposit, non refundable if there is any damage on it what so ever.
or just laugh at them.
I would definitely say NO, now, no matter who asked.
I lent my 4wd to a family member a couple of years ago and it come back with a burnt out clutch!!
I lent out my 6 x 4 trailer to a "mate" and it came back buckled and bent, when I asked him what happened he started having a go at me because my trailer had dented his car!!!! Apparently he went to pull out from a street, turning right, realized he wasn't going to make it in time, so stuck it in reverse and jack-knifed it into his car. I told him he had to fix it or just buy me a new one. He told me "it was just a trailer", I told him it was just a car and to get out of my house (in good sailor speak). End of our friendship!!
Like pretty much all have said do not lend, just say NO!!
I would say yes, if I can lend your wife ;D
That depends on the missus - Amy Drughouse? (you wouldnt loan your mate used toilet paper for it)
(http://files.list.co.uk/images/2008/09/18/38589.jpg)
Do they have their own 4wd? With the correct electronic brake controller? With an Anderson plug to keep the battery in order? If not, there's a good excuse to say no!
My folks have asked if they could borrow ours to take to a caravan park with their caravaning friends. It would also require the use of my Prado. They'd be the only people I would lend it to as my dad is as anal about looking after things as I am.
Cheers, Sam.
We had the same thing happen to us with our current CT. The Man's brother asked to borrow it whilst he was waiting for his to arrive. We had it for 1 week. Answer was NO in a round about way.
Everything was brand spankin new (Fridge, cutlery, crockery etc) and I found it very very difficult to let someone else (doesn't matter who) use it before us. Even now would probably still say no.
Tammy
I have lent my camper out to a few blokes, but no longer, it's too much trouble and if something goes wrong it would be a difficult situation.
ah good, well I guess I'm not alone then. Thanks for all the replies. One of the blokes that asked me is at my work, not a good mate or anything. If he asks again I might ask if I can borrow his 27yr old (stunning) daughter while he has it... :cheers:
Need a sticker like those ute stickers: "yes it's my camper trailer: NO you can't borrow it"
I made sure I let my wife know before hand that will not lend it out so no embarrassing situations , my thing if it comes back with a hole in the canvas and the borrower has said its just a small hole and patched it with a "patch kit " not the same as then asking for the panel to be replaced . Mine is a no if they want they can hire one , or could say yes can borrow it and double the price of the hirer price.
I have two mate I would lend to.
Knowing these blokes, it would come back in better condition it left in.
Like others have said though, they're probably the two that would never ask.
This.
The only people I would lend mine to already have campers of their own, so they know the ins-and-outs of them, how to set them up without pulling D-rings out with pegs, things like that. Of course, as mentioned, these are the people who wouldn't ever ask because they themselves know how they want their own camper treated. We do have someone who's asked a couple of times, but keeps getting told no. He honestly can't see what the big deal is, thinks we're being selfish, unsharing and elitist. However his attitude that "it's just a camper, we'll be right, don't worry about it" tells me everything I need to know.
I think this is one of those situations where being seen as a little bit of a bastard is better than lending it out, having trouble, and then being seen as a complete bastard. The former can survive a friendship (and even generate respect if approached right), the latter is usually terminal for all concerned. I particularly like terravista's advice of saying no, because you don't want to put your friendship in jeopardy should something happen to some material goods. Shows you value their friendship enough to put it first.
Hell no.
i would and have it is insured
doesnt bother me - but they can take their own matteress
we would only lend ours to our grown up sons and families, but we did have a friend say 'oh, and we will be able to borrow it, hey?', as soon as I had told her we bought one. I was so dumbfounded I didn't reply, think she got the message. Same friends couldn't believe it after we said no to looking after their dog while they were away for a few weeks, even though that same dog had attempted to attack Kev when we minded it for a weekend. Some people take friendship a bit far. In saying that, we are still good friends.
Same as everyone else. No, but thanks for asking.
hand them a phone number to a place that hires trailers...
Same as most members here. "Definately Not"
Go hire one. >:(
Need a sticker like those ute stickers: "yes it's my camper trailer: NO you can't borrow it"
Can I have one of those too
I've gone without so much so that I can have this trailer ... so Pizz Orf ... No Freaking Way ... Bite Me ... except if it's my dad. He fixes what he breaks and fixes what I've broken and fixes it even if it isn't broken and on occassion breaks things just so he can fix them (makes them better) ... but then again, he'd probably start doing mod's before me ... oh and he'd definitely fart in the bed ... but it would come back with a pillow top innerspring so maybe that's a good idea. Might ring him now and see if he wants to borrow it.
Might ring him now and see if he wants to borrow it.
Do you think he might like to borrow mine as well?? ;D :cup:
It's not that I have that much of a concern regarding the trailer itself it all the other items that need to switched on switched off - in the correct order, and all that gear that HAS to go back in the SAME place. If went to use the camper next and couldn't find something-or-other because some moron put it back in the WRONG spot or worse still lost it.........well just ask the missus how I react to that situation! >:D
Yes damage to the tent is a concern but for me it's all the little things that have taken us many many outings to gather and know how to use correctly would have me saying sorry NO ???
randan
Hey I just thought of a "test" for those that feel the need to ask. >:D Pull out your shower tent...you know the one that makes you and the missus shout at each other and say "just give it here you don't know what your doing"....then you both just throw it down unfolded and place it on top of the bed. :'(
Just pass them that and say if you can put that up and repack it in 5 mins then you will have shown me that you have the know how to be able to borrow my trailer!
randan
I feel a bit sorry for you guys - you must have dodgy mates! :'(
I can only think of a couple of mates and family I wouldn't lend mine to. I've lent my truck to most of them at some point and its worth a hell of a lot more then a camper!
My BIL lent me his TrakShak for over 8 months - its what sold me on the design. It went back to him with the wiring tidied up and repacked wheel bearings. I know mine would come back similarly looked after.
I feel a bit sorry for you guys - you must have dodgy mates! :'(
I can only think of a couple of mates and family I wouldn't lend mine to. I've lent my truck to most of them at some point and its worth a hell of a lot more then a camper!
My BIL lent me his TrakShak for over 8 months - its what sold me on the design. It went back to him with the wiring tidied up and repacked wheel bearings. I know mine would come back similarly looked after.
Its not the fact of dodgey mates, but its a good quick way to lose a good friendship.
If you look after your trailer like anal style, then you loan it out and it comes back with 3ft rip in the roof, or wall or something like that or repaired patched canvas, your $20,000 immaculate trailer is now worth thouands less and looks like crap.. I'm sure most mates arent going to replace the whole canvas for you/me/anyone at the prices some places charge... Maybe they would, but who wants to find out?
Do people have mates without camper trailers?? 8)
I have never been asked if mine can be borrowed, i guess it would depend on the mood I was in when they asked ;D
Its not the fact of dodgey mates, but its a good quick way to lose a good friendship.
If you look after your trailer like anal style, then you loan it out and it comes back with 3ft rip in the roof, or wall or something like that or repaired patched canvas, your $20,000 immaculate trailer is now worth thouands less and looks like crap.. I'm sure most mates arent going to replace the whole canvas for you/me/anyone at the prices some places charge... Maybe they would, but who wants to find out?
Maybe, but I know pretty much all of my mates and family would try very hard to return it in better condition then it left. If there was damage, I'd know for sure it was a genuine accident and not through lack of care, in which case, so be it - could have happened to anyone including me.
Besides I know for a fact that my mates would offer to fix - regardless of price. A buddy of mine borrowed my near new XR6T a few years ago and put a light scratch (barely visible unless you were 1/2 an inch from it) in the side skirt on a low rock he couldn't see at the end of a driveway - he offered to have it resprayed and the lend of his car while it was in the shop.
Its reciprical too, I have no hesitation in asking to borrow something and there has never been a hesitation in it being lent. But each to their own, I certainly don't judge people for valuing their possesions :cheers:
Some people are very anal about things they own, others aren't. I reckon some are a bit too precious with their stuff, it is there to be used. If I'm not using it, it will just be sitting in the garage anyway. The joy others have from using my stuff far outweighs the possibility of a little bit of damage. My friends/family are the type that would return stuff the same/better than when they got it.
BUT, if it was brand new and I hadn't used it I would tell them to get stuffed!
I would lend mine out to my good mates and family no worries. I trust them to look after it and fix it if they broke it. My trailer is not as expensive as some on here, maybe that makes a difference.
Numerous times My Patrol has been borrowed for a week at a time(I have a work car) to tow a work trailer while their car was getting fixed. Each time it has come back with a full tank of petrol, regardless of how much was in there when they borrowed it, and they wash it!!!
A mate borrowed my trailer and broke the rear light. It came back with 2 new lights!
If you have untrustworthy mates/family, that is very unfortunate for you.
Hey I just thought of a "test" for those that feel the need to ask. >:D Pull out your shower tent...you know the one that makes you and the missus shout at each other and say "just give it here you don't know what your doing"....then you both just throw it down unfolded and place it on top of the bed. :'(
Just pass them that and say if you can put that up and repack it in 5 mins then you will have shown me that you have the know how to be able to borrow my trailer!
randan
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D :cup:
I've not been asked but wouldn't say yes, and wouldn't offer it. It's my (opos, our) toy, and if we bend it we can only be upset at ourselves. Nor would I ask to borrow some one else's camper, or car, or pretty well anything.
I gladly offer to lend stuff to people I want to help out, but have little time for "askers". So that's a big "no" from me!
Geeze, some people are unbelievable - who the hell asks first go in your new CT??!! Do they have daughters? >:D >:D
Be strong.
Cam
Edit: You answered the daughter question already!! ;D ;D
Can't say as anyone has ever asked to borrow the camper.
I also have a hydraulic tip trailer that I built, if i go to a working bee or something similar, people who I don't know from a bar of soap ask if they can borrow it. I did lend it to a mate once, as it also has a treg hitch he borrowed my coupling as well (I have a 1 piece coupling not a bolt on one) he didn't fit the coupling correctly and he lost the trailer going round a bend, fortunately no major damage but a few hours work and a few dollars to get it all fixed.
Never again.
Cheers Andrew
Interesting read !!
To put another slant on this, I've been on the receiving end of 'borrowing a camper'. A few years back our family was planning a Kimberley to NT trip (6 weeks) and had investigated and were all ready to pay for a hire camper. When telling a close friend who owned a CT about our planned trip they offered up theirs to borrow. It wasn't something we even considered. We offered to give them the money we were going to pay for the hire CT, after all I'd prefer to give my money to a mate than someone I didn't know - they flatly refused. In the end they insisted we take it and we compromised on half the rate of the hire unit. I knew their CT was insured and confirmed if anything untoward happened then I would pay for any excess and any other out of pocket expenses. I ensured it was handed back cleaner than when we got it and disclosed any issues we had (which was a loose tap fitting), I replaced a threaded gas fitting that was p!ssing me off.
We've now purchase the same camper as a result of that as it gave us very informed view on what we liked about the base unit and upgraded a few of the options to suit our needs. Would I lend ours out ?? I think most of us have friends that we know will have the same respect for your own equipment, the only issue I'd face is the precedence it sets for other mates who don't show the same level of care ... but then it would be pretty easy to decline to people I'm not as comfortable with.
cheers,
Leigh
Its a bit like asking " would you lend out your wife"???????
No Way!!!!! I know what happens in these things at night,and no one else is doing that in my camper
I have also been on the receiving end. My sister got a brand new Outback sturt at Christmas 2010 and we used it at the end of January. 2 weeks later we had our own Outback camper. A great way to try out the camper before we purchsed one. We have been sharing camping equipment for years and have not had any problems with that so it was not a hard thing.
I would have to say that I would not lend it to someone unless I was there to set up and pack up. But I guess I would want to use it then too.
Crisp Image
I have never been asked by anyone yet. I would lend it to my brother but definately no one else.
the camper trailer....... mmmmmm, maybee depending on who asks and how well I know they look after their own gear,
if the roles were reversed would you ask them?
a couple of years ago my folks borrowed my tug for a 6 week tag along right thru the middle of WA after theirs met with unfortunate irrepairable damage whilst just staring on that trip,
it came back with and extra 10,000 k's on the clock but cleaner (a few more scratch's) and a few small quirky bits fixed
thats what familys are for..........
the gear is there to used and not abused,
sometimes it WILL be easier to say NO rather than sort the sh*t out after
hope this helps
Garry
I simply explain the my CT is to well known around the place . You would be driven mad by Odd Bods wondering into camp with :cheers: at all hours of the day & night . That puts them off :cheers:
Never! I learned the hard way. lent out a tent once and the next time I used it I found the floor was burnt through twice in diffrent spots from mozzie coils. then I also lent out my 4x4 to a mate (ex mate) and it came back with the rear side panel stoved in. hit a tree out scrub he said. A quick sorry and he went to leave. He was not interested in putting in for repairs and end result no longer mates. Thought he was a good mate so you can never tell till it's too late. >:D
answer Just say NO. Slydog
The only person I will lend my camper to is the mate who helped me build it, the rest can "suffer in their jocks" and rent one.
I just got myself an old jayco pop and I've offered it to my uncle to use. Only reason being is because I want him to get into it and buy a brand new jayco expanda, wish me luck.
As long as they are willing to leave one of their kidneys as a deposit I'd lend young Cooper out. I'd promise to hand their kidney back in the same condition as they hand back the camper. Damage the camper and I take the kidney camping with Speewa!!!!
I just don't borrow and get a bit annoyed when someone wants to borrow my stuff.
If I need something to get a job done I will either buy it or hire it.
I will loan to Dad or my Sister only. Must be something about blood thicker than water.
GS
I will loan to Dad or my Sister only. Must be something about blood thicker than water.
GS
Crikey, my family would be almost the last people on earth I would lend it to, gauranteed to come back stuffed i reckon. The only people I could think or worse would be the inlaws, probably wouldn't get it back from them at all.
Cheers Andrew
Crikey, my family would be almost the last people on earth I would lend it to, gauranteed to come back stuffed i reckon. The only people I could think or worse would be the inlaws, probably wouldn't get it back from them at all.
Cheers Andrew
that answers it.
(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
I just got a new camper trailer and have already had people asking if they can borrow it before I've even set it up for the first time.
Amazing how your friends wouldn't dream of borrowing your brand new car (or boat for that matter) for a trip away and yet your camper is fair game for some unfathomable reason. Perhaps that's the best way to put it to them- Hmm...perhaps if I can borrow your new car for a trip away next time you shell out for one (smilingly). Or perhaps better still, direct them to the Myswag Forum to study all the problems and glitches we particular camper owners can experience when we drop our guard or forget the strict routine for an instant like so-
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=26977.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=26977.0)
You do it yourself(or buy it like that) and you may wear the patch but if the borrower does it you want it back like it was but at what cost chum? That's the rub when you've made the mistakes yourself and know what can go wrong you'd never borrow anyone elses for that very reason. My 29 yr old son wants to borrow our Jayco with his lady but I've told them fine when they've got a few hours to set it up and pack it away a few times with my written check list for dummies. Oh and they can come round and help me clean and service it after a trip away so they know just what's expected. Funny about that as they've got the new towbar but not the the spare time just yet.
Or cut out the crap with- Hmm... I hadn't really thought of going thirds in it with the purchase and time share arrangement with the mate/relative. We do have a formal written agreement that whoever bends it fixes it and he's a fussy beggar but I could run it past him if you're really keen on going thirds >:D
Didn't really "lend" our old trailer to our son as he had put in for half of it when we bought it - it lived at our place and we used it all the time. He "borrowed" it once and it got slightly damaged in a huge wind storm - he was so upset - but it could have happened to us in the same circumstances. He fixed it. And now he has the trailer full time as we now have our new one.
Also offered it to one of our other sons to use and he said "No Way - my friends just wouldn't respect it".
Nice to know we have brought them up to respect other people's belongings