General => Introductions => Topic started by: ausmarvin on April 27, 2011, 05:54:56 PM

Title: Hi from Toowoomba
Post by: ausmarvin on April 27, 2011, 05:54:56 PM
Well new to the forums ... introduced by the Brother in law who has been lurking around for a while. and so far have found some great info

We are a family of 4 2 adults 2 teenagers and 2 dogs.
Love the out doors and camping. Been doing both since we where kids.

Lost our 1st 4WD 2002 Prado in the Toowoomba floods in January and replaced it with a 2007 Pajero, we got sick of tent camping and got a basic Bushmans rear fold camper, added a water tank and bike carrier and been having a blast for the last 8 years.

We are starting to look around for a replacment, trying to work out what we want and how much we can afford to spend.

Brother in Law is trying his best to convince us to do a Cape run next year with them so I have a bit of work to do on both the car and What to do about the camper.

Title: Re: Hi from Toowoomba
Post by: Old Croc + plus one on April 27, 2011, 06:18:17 PM
hi ausmarvin
Welcome to My Swag looks like you have a few pokers in the fire Happy Trails out there
Post by: Gunna Do on April 27, 2011, 06:26:10 PM
Welcome to Myswag.

Set your budget first on the camper, and that will narrow the field down a bit.  Then sort out what is really essential and what would just be nice to have.
Post by: 98Pudge on April 27, 2011, 06:37:02 PM
Welcome along, good to see yet another local joining; and a Pajero no less too!!
Any positive outcome from January's event is well received, good to see you've got square! :cheers:

-GR.
Post by: speewa158 on April 27, 2011, 06:52:10 PM
Welcome to MySwag . Looks as though things are on the up & up . The 07 Pajero thats got to be a not a good thing its a really great thing  ;D ( got 1 myself  ex cop oiler )  :cheers:
Post by: D4D on April 27, 2011, 06:54:38 PM
Welcome to myswag! Enjoy your stay
Post by: ausmarvin on April 27, 2011, 07:04:30 PM
Well very happy witht he Pajero so far...

Tried to drown it on the first weekend we had it. Took it out to Queen Mary Falls and had a great day.

(http://www.users.on.net/~hoppy7/images/4wd/heading%20in%20the%20water.jpg)

Starting to get a nice little list of mods to add...

Looks like the first few will be a snorkle and Bash plates... Found the Bushskinz site here on the forums and look like the way to go
Post by: Black Diamond on April 27, 2011, 07:05:57 PM
Lost our 1st 4WD 2002 Pardo in the Toowoomba floods in January and replaced it with a 2007 Pajero,

Good to hear you replaced your Pardo with a Parejo  ;D

Sorry to hear about your misfortune mate. Look forward to seeing what you decide on  :cheers:

Enjoy your stay mate, its a good place to be  :cup:
Post by: gibbo301 on April 27, 2011, 07:46:38 PM
Hi ausmarvin

looks like a nice bitsaShitty poojero lol you can find alot of good stuff here this site is the best.
Post by: gunna on April 27, 2011, 08:05:46 PM
Hi ausmarvin
Welcome to Myswag
cheers sheeds
Post by: strudeltoowoomba on April 27, 2011, 08:16:56 PM
Hello and welcome from another Toowoombarite,  This is a great forum so don't be shy to ask questions.  I have learnt a lot from the site and the members.

Post by: Heiny on April 27, 2011, 08:35:01 PM
Hi Ausmarvin and welcome to My Swag  :cheers:
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 27, 2011, 08:51:20 PM
Welcome to the forum, good luck on the search for a new camper, ask away if you need any info

Post by: Snow on April 27, 2011, 11:18:13 PM
G'day Ausmarvin and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:
Post by: Bushman on May 01, 2011, 12:28:20 PM
Welcome to MySwag  :D
Post by: Johnno convert on May 01, 2011, 01:37:59 PM
Welcome to Myswag.

Set your budget first on the camper, and that will narrow the field down a bit.  Then sort out what is really essential and what would just be nice to have.
+1 on what Gunna do said. Welcome aboard too  :cheers:
Post by: BigJules on May 02, 2011, 03:31:46 PM

Yes, know how much you want to spend, accept that everything you really want will be just above that, and then work out what you must have in the your camper.  ;D
Post by: earle on July 24, 2012, 07:45:51 AM
Just resurrected this old thread to also say "Hi from Toowoomba". Have been a member for a while now but have recently relocated to Toowoomba from the Whitsundays.
Post by: Benji on July 24, 2012, 08:50:28 PM
Hi earle,
Welcome to Toowoomba.  Not sure I'd be trading the warmth of the Whitsundays for the chill of Toowoomba this time of year.  I hope you're enjoying the area.
Benji
Post by: sol on July 24, 2012, 09:00:27 PM
G'day mate and welcome.
Heaps of fun and info here ;D

Post by: Darren v on July 24, 2012, 09:37:30 PM
Howdy mate Welcome to my swag
Post by: Sicilianmama on July 24, 2012, 09:41:11 PM
Welcome to Toowoomba although I think you picked the wrong time of year to move here!
Post by: earle on July 26, 2012, 07:25:41 AM
Thanks for the welcomes. I know its cool here but has it got properly cold yet?
Post by: Benji on July 26, 2012, 08:56:16 PM
Hi earle,
It won't really get any colder but August tends to bring some windy weather.  Anyway, the cold let's us  enjoy a fire, see some different colours in the gardens and have a change of wardrobe.
Benji
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 26, 2012, 09:14:18 PM

We are a family of 4 2 adults 2 teenagers and 2 dogs.

That would make you a family of 6!!  LOL!  Welcome and hope you find it as interesting here as the rest of us do ...

Post by: Sicilianmama on July 26, 2012, 10:21:15 PM
Hi earle, I agree with Benji, the worst of the cold has been, we are starting to warm up a bit now, but the wind is definitely the worst, hate it.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 26, 2012, 10:23:16 PM
the wind is definitely the worst, hate it.

August is our windiest month ... Ekka Time those freezing southern winds come howling though everything!