General => General Discussion => Topic started by: tonyw on March 29, 2011, 07:44:16 PM
Mine are guitar building repairing and playing.
Current projects include restoration of quite a few 1950/60's guitars
recent builds
A hollow baritone strat type guitar
(http://tonywatkinsmusic.com/gallery/albums/userpics/10001/111mandobari-007.jpg)
My 50's Strat replica built to exact specs of a Fender 57 Stratocaster
(http://www.tonywatkinsmusic.com/gallery/albums/userpics/netty-new-003a.jpg)
I also enjoy lots of hiking in the bush and photography
Geocaching. www.Geocaching.com (http://www.Geocaching.com)
nuff said 8)
Amateur radio - VK6MB
Kayaking/fishing
nuff said 8)
Not dark enough :police:
Brewed my own stouts for 15 odd years and now just settle for a coopers best extra like the one i am having now :cheers:
nuff said 8)
Second that I work in real estate it is expected.
Radio controlled model Helicopters.
My patner & I bought a old house on 2 acers been bussy doin it up
also into slot cars been collecting plenty of track goin to build a good track in the shed right near the beer fridge
cheers sheeds
camp ovens (40 or so) - number plates (300+) - empty beer cans (millions) :cheers:
Collect fire brigade memorabilia. Old fire extinguishers, toy fire trucks etc. Haven't really been pursuing it for last few years.
Sent from Anfos's iPhone using Tapatalk
Well my forum name might give you some indication...... just love being up the creeks, chasing those big chrome scaly beasts..... even if i'm not catchin' anything, i'm still enjoying just cruising about the waterways, enjoying the sites, crocs, birds, bait fish jumping, sun setting or rising over the water etc..... can't get enough of it.
hummm TOY trains HO scale, so far about 45K in my collection
There's more to life than Camper Trailers ?? ???
Hopefully!!
The tug to tow the CT with... We probably do 50% of trips without the CT, love 4wding. Nowadays just starting to get back into hunting. Time to send a few ferals to where ever they go when they leave this world but the aim at the moment is to get into deer stalking.
family, 4wding with my boy, bonsi, native gardens, building stuff so far a table (10yrs old now) sculpture in timber/steel what ever and sometimes gaming ;D ;D
hockey in winter. tennis in summer.
Hobbies, I remember them, they were things i used to do before the wife came along
Scrapbooking, photography, drinking, camping, fishing, sleeping, reading, cooking, pissing people off, laughing, killing small black kitchen ants ... not necessarily in that order.
Apart from camping and 4x4ing I try to get out on the Ducati 998 as often as possable, still go kickboxing/sparring every week ( at 50 that's not as easy as it sounds ;D ), and beer ..................did somebody say something about beer :cheers: :cup: .
Refurbishing cars/4x4's , fishing , drinking beer and christmas lights. I love christmas lights.
Metal Detecting
creating stuff
4WD trips
Mstree
The bush sitting around a camp fire :cheers: in the claw with friends
Photography.
My other hobbies are Guitar and Drums, although not so much these days, Homebrew, collecting German beer steins, dirtbikes and I'm restoring a 1973 H2A 750 triple Kawasaki 2 stroke, I also raced bikes for a while, the highlight, racing at Bathurst.
I too play guitar and drums and a few other instruments, i also raced bikes at Bathurst mine was a Bultaco Metrella that spat me off on Conrod after it seized. Raced a Husky 250 in the dirt and rode a Suzuki 250 MotoX for Hazel and Moore in Newcastle. Last bike i owned was a Moto Guzzi Mille GT 1000 that i sold in the late 90's after i broke my neck in 6 places, not from coming off the bike. Doing up Subarus for touring and offroad was my passion for a long time but these days its restoring the old camper in my driveway.
Some other things i fit into my life
Metal Detecting, going to get more serious when the campers up and running.
making guitar pickups, need to buy a new coil winder.
Writing and recording my own tunes, i have a small studio here at home.
What ever she lets me do......lol >:D.
Forest rallying..(taking an extended brake to play family ;D) still follow it.
Time in "manland" (the shed) turning my 1974 Ke20 corolla into a "classic" rally weapon.(not much lately :'( )
Some social dirt bike riding.
Family adventures ,swimming,camping etc.
Ian.
(http://lostangelesblog.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/jack_daniels.jpg)
i like to fish off the yak [ or anywear really ;D]
i race slot cars and im a musso ... here,s a bass ive built .
craig
This is the other love of my life. I enjoy having 600hp under my right foot and i love using it ;D on the strip of course :cheers:
Ive always enjoyed modifying cars, plus its a good excuse to have some time away from the SWMBO :P
(http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/jsouvas/HP-Heaven-LSX_Shootout_Heathcote-LA4_7660.jpg)
mite have to line it up against the Chev Johnny boy...............heheheheheeh
(http://i827.photobucket.com/albums/zz191/blackstump/chev11109014.jpg)
O0
mite have to line it up against the Chev Johnny boy...............heheheheheeh
O0
;D Ive got no chance Big Fella :cup:
i would win in length....hehe
Fishing, Drinking red wine, Camping, Drinking red wine, Renovating the house, Drinking red wine, 4 Wheel driving,
Did I mention Drinking red wine?
Rugby league. Playing, Coaching and Watching. Stopped coaching a few years ago but I gat so proud when kids I have coached make it to first grade. Now I just watch it an have a beer.
Love spending time with the family now.
Wow, 2 slot heads on the one forum.
Same here, raced Flexicars and Int 15 wing cars for a long time. Not done it for a while now but it is lots of fun bringing out a wing car in the midst of a saturday afternoon hire car fleet.
Bring it out, whip of 2 or 3 laps before some one t-bone's it with a hire brick.
"Ooooh what is that? How much is it?"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPslO_JuxzQ
Slightly slower and substantially LESS expensive
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HxoNWfZzAIo
Lots of deer hunting with some fishing thrown in seems to fill my time , best thing is taking the camper when going hunting and fishing...
joel. :cheers:
4 wheel driving in the mighty Triton, fishing with soft plastics and exploring the country side with the family.
All I need :cheers:
Disco.
Paragliding - this was Bali last September....
Well I build things like houses with a friend, SES, Photography, Geocaching, SES and SES.
Yeah that's about it.
"Hi my name is Geoff and I am a SES addict!"
Kitesurfing, photography, bonsai and 4wding. Hopefully I'll get into paragliding one day.
Hey, you could combine 2: take up paragliding and yell "Bonsai" as you launch...... ;D
I like being active. Gym, cycling, running and I coach a couple of sports also.
Red wine, beer and congac depending on the mood ;D
Chaising tail.
Lol my dog can catch his but he calls it chasing not Chaising you must be speewa's love child
OMG Brad!!!
I just chase (or chaise) differently to you.
Actually I haven't caught any for a while. Maybe I should do it your way.
Chaising tail.
Far too expensive..
Hell yeah! but what I think you need to do is let go shortly after catching it.
Microbotic chemical engineering...
My patner & I bought a old house on 2 acers been bussy doin it up
also into slot cars been collecting plenty of track goin to build a good track in the shed right near the beer fridge
cheers sheeds
How do you balance a house on 2 computers (acers) ;D Funny bugger I know. Sorry Sheeds ;D
I like indulging in fishing and landscape photography when I am not spending time with my family which is top of the list.
4wd-ing, camping, exploring Australia with the family.
LOLOLOL
After CT ing,
Photography, Bush Cooking, Fishing and Writing
Crusader
i would win in length....hehe
I am taking about fast cars Rob not Manhood........ O0
Microbotic chemical engineering...
U could have saved words
At the moment I spend my spare time (And not spare time) playing angry birds, should never have downloaded it.... Outside that playing rugby (golden oldies) keeps me out of trouble sometimes...although came home with a broken nose after last game which didn't get me any sympathy
At the moment I spend my spare time (And not spare time) playing angry birds, should never have downloaded it....
Lol, yes it can be distracting it kept me occupied in airports when I went to Asia last year...you can also get angry birds "seasons" it has special additions for holidays....lol
My other main hobby apart from camping and being a Mum (which keep me busy) is photography. My sister and I have actually just started a small buisness up, I love it, but more so love taking photos of my family and our adventures!
My other hobby is Amateur radio(VK2ZMT),i also like 4wdriving an camping with the family..most of my time thou is work lol about 50+hrs a week...
Fishing and work :o,
well you'd think so with all the bloody time I spend at it >:(
Gday
Fishing!! not real good at it tho... oh yeah the boss says drinking!! Phil
I am right into motorbikes. Here are some pictures
2002 Kawasaki ZRX1200s
Building and Babies ;D
My Hobbie must be surf lifesaving !
As i spend most of my spare time at elliott heads surf club either on patrol or coaching kids at nippers on sunday mornings I guess thats why most camping trips are in the winter .
:cheers: Troy.
:cup: SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET bike ZORDO ;D
I miss this...... :'( But i am looking at a replacement so after a few years without one fingers crossed
(http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa163/BroadysGU/YZHighjump.jpg)
as Broady says i miss this too :'(
navara4 you can still do that in the nav, you just need a BIG turbo and manual hubs ;D oh and some nice wide open flat ground >:D
U could have saved words
Thats as short as I could get it !!! ;D
navara4 you can still do that in the nav, you just need a BIG turbo and manual hubs ;D oh and some nice wide open flat ground >:D
yeah but the HANDBRAKE is activated nowadays :'(
ignorance is bliss "what are you talking about darling NO it wasn't me I don't do that any more" 8)
This is one of my hobbies its a XR 400
(http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa110/cruzadriver/XR%20400%20PICS/166.jpg)
(http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa110/cruzadriver/XR%20400%20PICS/158.jpg)
yep it's thursty and heavy and maybe ugly but I love my TB42 with a webber, extractors and 2.5" system. she'll do 0-100 in 15 seconds with 33" tyres. have had her upto 160km loaded with the c/t, over taking on the hwy (a long line of grey nomads) opps ;D
I would love to get into Kart racing. Cheap racing ;D
Cheap & Racing not on the same page are they ???
Yes I agree. but compared to other forms of racing it is cheap. Just a dream. I can still dream cant I? "The older I get, the faster I was"!! ;)
looked at lots of types of racing as family was involved when I was younger, but its lots of $ when I also want to maintain the travel with the family, started to look what else was around and...
then a mate introduced me to a gun club not to far from home...............
Garry
Loose women and booze...
When I am not busy doing that I am keeping my wife happy!
I would love to get into Kart racing. Cheap racing ;D
Hehehehehehe.
"Cheap, fast or good. Pick any two." <-- applies to any sort of racing!
Loose women and booze...
When I am not busy doing that I am keeping my wife happy!
Dude VB doesn't = Booze
Hehehehehehe.
"Cheap, fast or good. Pick any two." <-- applies to any sort of racing!
Now I'm confused - are we talking about racing or women now?......... ;D
My other hobby is sleeping in my swag ;D
Now I'm confused - are we talking about racing or women now?......... ;D
That's definitely racing. The one for girls is slightly different : "cheap & fast = good". You just got sidetracked when there was talk about being able to pick any two... ;D
*runs and hides*
outback jack i was just reading your post, and i havent forgotten about the spare number plate i have at home (nrnr). i will get it to you at the next get together we both attend. cheers Graham
Make Biodiesel
Mountain biking while at home and whittling while camping. Here are a few photos of some of my whittlings.
Good stuff Blueboy
Thats better work then Jed Clampett's
cheers sheeds
Racing Dirtbikes even though a broken neck last year has slowed me up. Plus work, ok not a hobby but I enjoy my job,debogging towing stuff what can I say. Here are some pics.
Opps 2nd try.
Did I mention snow skiing? Ahh yes where you spend mucho $$ on gear and accommodation only to spend heaps more on lift tickets that take you to the top of the hill only to ski down to the bottom again and catch the lift up only to ski to the bottom again etc etc. Beautiful scenery in the high country.
Great lookin XR Rowan :cup:
Mountain biking while at home and whittling while camping. Here are a few photos of some of my whittlings.
Those are some really nice pieces... I am very impressed....
TY Cruza Driver, do you still have your XR? She is a good bike, bit slow compared to the new stuff but my grin is just as big at the end of the day. ;D
Yes mate still got it and it keeps up with my mates on newer bike no worries ;D it's an 02 mdl.
Yep your right about the grin they have such usable power.
In the new edition of Trailrider Magazine there is a bit of a write up about XR400's and there is a quote ''The rider usually gives up before the XR does'' ;D
collecting bundaberg rum bottles full and empty
Hunting deer, camping and 4wding, actually got a doe hanging in the cool room right now but I wont post up pics , most people think meat comes prepacked and was never on an animal
Wont offend me. BTDT. I love the smell of venison in the morning! ;D
Fishing, Hunting and spending time with the family and friends. By the way Eldo it isn't long till we get there so save me some meat...
Mat.
Have spent alot of time on a farm as a kid and alot of my adult life in the bush. We used to have to provide for ourselves, so game doesnt bother me, pretty much doesnt matter what it is and i have eaten snakes, lizards grubs, crocs, water buffalo, camel, emu, crested doves all sorts of bush tucker and i like most of it, but i cant stand venison..
I like to grow stuff, fruit & veg mainly, my grandfather taught me when I spent holidays on his farm. If you can't eat it then don't grow it ;D
Chillies are my speciality, I currently have jalapeno, habanero, red cayenne, asian birdseye and hot banana growing >:D
This mornings harvest ready for the missus to make her 'special' chilli sauce :cup:
(http://blkmav.com/images/chilli.jpg)
My other interests:
Moto Trials:
(http://www.motoonline.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/whitaker-trials.jpg)
Astronomy:
(http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp300/jeeps_photo/Astronomy/clearnight001.jpg)
I like to grow stuff, fruit & veg mainly, my grandfather taught me when I spent holidays on his farm. If you can't eat it then don't grow it ;D
Chillies are my speciality, I currently have jalapeno, habanero, red cayenne, asian birdseye and hot banana growing >:D
This mornings harvest ready for the missus to make her 'special' chilli sauce :cup:
(http://blkmav.com/images/chilli.jpg)
Now your talkin' LUUUUV chili!!! i used to grow all my own veges and brew all my own beer and make all my own music and take all my own pix for making wall posters, found i didnt have time for much else except getting fat from drinking beer and eating food and playing guitar and taking pictures of the guitars i built :cheers: haha
Reading all the s#*t on here :cheers: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
This was my stress outlet until i broke my neck in 6 places, and no it wasn't coming off the machine that caused it.
stumbled on this old thread while looking for something else........
my other pastime has me going for a little ride on Saturday ;D
http://farriders.com/about.php (http://farriders.com/about.php)
Cycling, racing cycling and more cycling. Oh I make moonshine sometimes...
Fish'n
Woodwork.
Beds and side tables and lamps and stuff.
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/19/4yje7eqe.jpg)
Nice dazzler.
Motorcycles have been a passion of mine ever since I was a young fella on the farm. After a chance to buy my dream bike (A 1983 Honda cb1100F) 27 years after they were last available in Australia, I got an idea in my head after reading about other guys restorations on another forum, to have crack at restoring one myself. A winning $510.00 bid on Ebay for a couple of basket case 1981 CB750F's just over two years ago has turned into a very satisfying (and expensive) hobby.
Before.
(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk291/dobbo60/Prject%20750/IMG_1135.jpg) (http://s283.photobucket.com/user/dobbo60/media/Prject%20750/IMG_1135.jpg.html)
After
(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk291/dobbo60/IMG_3665_zps7991798b.jpg) (http://s283.photobucket.com/user/dobbo60/media/IMG_3665_zps7991798b.jpg.html)
Before
(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk291/dobbo60/Prject%20750/81CB750.jpg) (http://s283.photobucket.com/user/dobbo60/media/Prject%20750/81CB750.jpg.html)
After (Still a work in progress)
(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk291/dobbo60/Prject%20750/IMG_2004_zpsa0d0ae39.jpg) (http://s283.photobucket.com/user/dobbo60/media/Prject%20750/IMG_2004_zpsa0d0ae39.jpg.html)
And my 1100F
(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk291/dobbo60/Various/IMG_1041_zps25ba03f9.jpg) (http://s283.photobucket.com/user/dobbo60/media/Various/IMG_1041_zps25ba03f9.jpg.html)
Nice dazzler.
thanks old mate!
Will be buying some new festool gear when I get up nth.
Love everything to do with bikes
TC
( dobbo- nice CBs - love late 70s / early 80s superbikes - don't gave the expertise to do a class resto like you :cheers: )
Dazzler - speaking about woodworking - here is a link to my mate Nick's website. When we first met he told me he made wooden furniture and I tried to compare the candlesticks I made in grade 10 woodwork and some bowls on the lathe. He just smiled and agreed it was pretty similar.... Till you see what he does!!
http://www.nicholasbailey.com.au/ (http://www.nicholasbailey.com.au/)
In keeping with the thread - surfing and playing guitar/drums (I'd love to be a Jack Johnson but that ain't gunna happen anytime soon) and golf when time permits (ha ha)... Supporting my kids soccer keeps that in check...
Have got into dirtbikes pretty heavily in the past few years, just love it. Good to see a few of us on here.
My old girl, an 86 Honda XR 350, still got her
(http://i1106.photobucket.com/albums/h376/Daniel_Cayzer/07082010.jpg)
My last bike, 06 Honda CRF 450X
(http://i1106.photobucket.com/albums/h376/Daniel_Cayzer/IMG_20130407_173938_082_zpsde1e5c45.jpg)
(http://i1106.photobucket.com/albums/h376/Daniel_Cayzer/IMG_20130425_170120_469_zps182c92be.jpg)
My current bike, 13 Husaberg FE 350
(http://i1106.photobucket.com/albums/h376/Daniel_Cayzer/IMG_20130608_101237_084_zps385130bd.jpg)
(http://i1106.photobucket.com/albums/h376/Daniel_Cayzer/Noods_zpsbdfafdc2.jpg)
(http://i1106.photobucket.com/albums/h376/Daniel_Cayzer/otwaysmono_zps291eb71d.jpg)
Nice job Dazzler
This was my stress outlet until i broke my neck in 6 places, and no it wasn't coming off the machine that caused it.
I use to have a MK111 Le Mans. Quirky but I loved it!!!
My hobbies below, plus Rugby League, Cricket, surfing and fishing
Here's what I've been spending my time with lately
noice, I like
Where do i start!
I am heavily involved in our local Apex Club. We do a lot of catering and fundraising for the local community. We meet every 2nd Wednesday night, and I haven't missed a meeting in nearly 5 years.
I also like to go fishing in the Murray, although there is not a great deal to catch here. I have a Stacer 395 Proline with a 40hp 2T Yamaha outboard.
I also enjoy riding my Trail / Enduro bike - A Yamaha WR450f. There is a lot of good riding on roadsides, and in the Murray Sunset National Park and Lindsay Point nearby.
I also play Golf, although I haven't played a lot this year due to injury. I play off a handicap of 13 at the moment.
In my spare time, I help out at the kids school in the grounds & buildings committee.