General => General Discussion => Topic started by: DAZnBEC on February 07, 2011, 05:17:56 PM
Hi guys, what is everyone using to keep their fridge tied down?
We use a set of straps from Just Straps but they keep coming loose when 4wding. I'm not sure if ratchet straps come that small either.
Dazza
I've got a set of those for sale too ;D, just need to advertise them. I've tried a few sets of straps, but found hook-to-hook turnbuckles to be the best solution. They're cheap and easy to adjust and don't come loose.
I use the same as BigJuls, I have a set of small turnbuckles. They came with my fridge slide from memory. I have mounting points that have been added o my fridge. i simply unscrewd the handle and slid them in. I think there Engle from memory. I'll try and grab a pic if you like Dazza.
Out bush in the rough stuff I use turnbuckles.
For easy traveling I just use a couple bungie straps...
Bill and Morag
I bought a cheap set of cam action type tie downs from Big W. I haven't noticed any problems with them coming loose yet.
Dazza, I just went outside and took this pic with my phone so sorry about the quality :-[
This is a pic of the mounting point that comes off the fridge. I'm not sure if they have changed the design of the fridge bags but I had to cut slits my ARB bag to fit the mounting bracket through. I even went to ARB HQ and showed them what I needed to do to fit the mount.
Hope this helps a little.
(http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s159/utedriver/the%20patrol%20lift%20ect/0026.jpg)
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ENGEL-Tie-Down-Kit-suit-29L-40L-Fridges-/250765080909?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Food_Storage&hash=item3a62c3794d
Mine in similar to GU Rich, but my factory Engel bag and tie down points sit clear of the bag.
ARB strap
(http://blkmav.com/prado/newstore.jpg)
I bought a cheap set of cam action type tie downs from Big W. I haven't noticed any problems with them coming loose yet.
x2 (except mine came from bunnings) and have been to central Oz and the cape plus a few other places and not come loose (yet)
although I do like the idea of the turnbuckles - just wondering though if the corrugations might vibrate them loose?
My Patrol has been on a few corrugated roads and st times they might loosen a little but I think that might have to do with other things knocking the fridge when the going gets a little rough.
I have always used the turnbuckles on the Engel slide and never had a problem, they also sit outside the cover and cause no problem,
cheers Andy
(http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/uu274/gruesome2/DSCF0063.jpg)
I use heavy rubber bungies from Bunnings.
How do you find those Snow? We got some from Bunnings and they seem a bit 'sticky'. Not sure how long they will last in the heat. Soon find out I guess. Fridge only moves a little bit with them.
They do the job but I have had the fridge move a bit, but not enough to be a bother. :cheers:
The ARB tie downs kit worked realy well for me, never came loose.
Ray
I got my Waeco ones with the fridge. have been great for all our travels so far.
I use the turnbuckles same as GU, came with an ARB/Engel slide - got the ARB cover for 40l engel also and then had the slits put in and reinforced by my local upholsterer. Have done many outback miles and the simmo - without any coming loose. Also got another slide from 4wd systems which comes with just straps ( I think) and they have been good too but haven't used them outback much. Just went back to the turnbuckles again as I've removed my back seats, made a frame for the fridge and now it sits behind the passenger seat so I wanted it secured very well as it is now in front of the cargo barrier.
A bit off topic , but spoke to the RACV re insurance of gear in the rig re fridges . Asked if I was covered if some numbnuts broke in & lifted an engle or 2 , told NO . If the fridge was part of the rig as in secured to the rig then its covered under full comprehensive long as it was locked . Might be the go to check what the go with yours :cheers:
Looking at your fridge Snow ;D If only that fridge could talk ;D I think it would have a few good stories :cheers: Digger
I use Fasty Straps. i believe they are made by SupaPeg. I get them an electrical wholesaler (J R Turks) as a lot of tradies use them for attaching ladders etc to racks.
Never let me down!!
Thanks for the replies.
I think i'm going to go the turn buckles.
Dazza
I had the turnbuckles similar to gruesomes but actually found that they came loose in the rough stuff, now have cam straps & no troubles so far.
I must say I'm surprised, my experience has been the exact reverse. Still, good to know I can sell my straps knowing they'll probably work for the lucky buyer. ;D
I have always used the turnbuckles on the Engel slide and never had a problem, they also sit outside the cover and cause no problem,
cheers Andy
(http://i655.photobucket.com/albums/uu274/gruesome2/DSCF0063.jpg)
We use these too - and you dont have to cut a hole in the bag
Welchy
I have a set from just straps, they seem to do the job.
I work for Secure A Load www.secureaload.com - we make custom straps to suit all applications! Sometimes work has it's perks! PM me if you need anything and I can make it happen - Good price! LOL..
My new best friend :angel:
I use a pair of Rhino Straps, picked then up from 4B store (similar to GunnaDo) they been great have to set one for fridge, use the other on the roof rack or securing items in the rear when required
Hi regenerating an old post, but I have just fitted a shelf barrier to my paj, to use with my 60l Evakool, but it is so tight a fit, I have to nake sure the fridge doesnt move at all. Turnbuckles look to be the go, but anyone got them fitted to an evakool? Wondering best way to attack the hooks, maybe D shackles on handles I spose, any thoughts.
Further to that, can you buy those handle holder things from the arb sets without the straps? Say use with turnbuckles?
Damn it looks like some good brackets you can screw to waeco and engels
Ratchet strap from bunnings at each end
I have been using same setup as this for 5 years and had no problems (Cape & Kimberley trips included). Too easy & cheap!! :laugh:
Hi regenerating an old post, but I have just fitted a shelf barrier to my paj, to use with my 60l Evakool, but it is so tight a fit, I have to nake sure the fridge doesnt move at all. Turnbuckles look to be the go, but anyone got them fitted to an evakool? Wondering best way to attack the hooks, maybe D shackles on handles I spose, any thoughts.
I have an Evakool too. I was worried about putting too much pressure on the handles so have used thin bradded rope and have gone round the fridge as well as through the handles.
I know that this is a simple and "old school" sort of solution but it has kept my fridge secure for over 7 years over all sorts of terrain.
As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words...
I use cam buckle straps which I purchased from Bunnings just before the MySwag Red Centre Trip.
Glad to say - no movement at all on Waeco 35lt fridge.
ARB strap
(http://blkmav.com/prado/newstore.jpg)
nothing like replying to a 5 year old post, but does the ARB tie down work with a Waeco handle?
I found the cam action straps always came loose....It took me awhile but i finally found ratchet straps to tie down my waco in the BT50......They defiantly don't come loose.
This is mine.
MSA 4x4 products, 4 tie down straps around 800mm long @ $24.00. cheers Ron.
nothing like replying to a 5 year old post, but does the ARB tie down work with a Waeco handle?
Yes, just with a bit or persuasion.
Thanks Guys... Started my drawers for the back of the Rok yesterday, and we've got a CFX50, and been wondering if I use cam/ratchet straps, or turnbuckles and some form of fixing point on the fridge.
There used to be a mob on eBay in Perth (Kleks) selling stainless brackets that go under the handles, but they've been dormant for over a year. The ARB ones look like an elegant option, if I can't find some thin stainless scrap to make some brackets up to use with turnbuckles...
Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Thanks Guys... Started my drawers for the back of the Rok yesterday, and we've got a CFX50, and been wondering if I use cam/ratchet straps, or turnbuckles and some form of fixing point on the fridge.
There used to be a mob on eBay in Perth (Kleks) selling stainless brackets that go under the handles, but they've been dormant for over a year. The ARB ones look like an elegant option, if I can't find some thin stainless scrap to make some brackets up to use with turnbuckles...
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/291208417783?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/291208417783?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT)
One of the most unhelpful eBay stores about... I asked do these work with the CFX fridges, and was told to buy a set to find out
Don't need brackets. Just attach to the handle.
http://getawaeco.com.au/index.php?com=com_products&category=5405&action=view&itemid=45 (http://getawaeco.com.au/index.php?com=com_products&category=5405&action=view&itemid=45)
I use a pair of straps I salvaged off an old flotation vest about 13 yrs ago. Never let me down (neither did the vest ;D )
One of the most unhelpful eBay stores about... I asked do these work with the CFX fridges, and was told to buy a set to find out
Have you got something else or do you want me to measure the hole centres on mine?
I don't know if this is of any use to anyone, but I have drilled through my fridge slide and bolted the fridge down by their 'feet'. System has been working for about 15 years now and has not moved.
One of the reasons I did it initially was that insurance companies seemed to differentiate between a fridge that was held in with straps (temporary install) and one that was bolted in (permanently mounted).
It has worked for our Engel and the National Luna, been over some very corrugated roads, and works well.
Just a thought.
I tie down the CFX65 with the Waeco cam buckles.
Worked fine, did not come loose travelled the Plenty and up to Cape York.
Have you got something else or do you want me to measure the hole centres on mine?
If you could measure the hole centres, that would be awesome! Failing that, I found some stainless today I can make some from... Will need longer bolts, but can't win everything!
Centres are 48mm.
I don't know if this is of any use to anyone, but I have drilled through my fridge slide and bolted the fridge down by their 'feet'. System has been working for about 15 years now and has not moved.
One of the reasons I did it initially was that insurance companies seemed to differentiate between a fridge that was held in with straps (temporary install) and one that was bolted in (permanently mounted).
It has worked for our Engel and the National Luna, been over some very corrugated roads, and works well.
Just a thought.
My MSA drop slide has screws through to the base of the fridge too I also use the MSA straps that came with it never had an issue.
Centres are 48mm.
The CFX is 30... Reckon I'll make my own up once the drawers are finished... Thanks mate
Bugger. I have a cfx50 myself and have been going to buy a set of those mounts for well over a year now....the early bird catches the worm I guess. I have an engel set (kleks) and they are fine (but I reckon taking the sharp edge off the slot is a must if using straps). Anything's got to be better than that antiquated, made in the back shed, handles load in one direction only, stupid handle engel has been using since day dot.
But back to the CFX50. I cant believe so many reports of cam buckles coming loose (even if its an old thread) I use them for all my (4) fridges, with no issue on any. Mind you, I have the cfx slide and its feet fit in recesses on the base. With the engel, I made a ply insert to suit the cfx slide and bored 4 holes to suit its mounting feet. The CF25 I also sometimes use in the car, and the FM70 in the camper dont have mounting feet and neither do they move nor do the straps come loose. The cfx50 just came back from the CSR. If anything was going to make it move or straps come loose, that would have done it:
https://vimeo.com/178716289
Sorting the trailer for a trip next weekend and grabbed a couple of snaps of my tie downs.
Short soft straps and turn buckles with child seat anchor points for easy connect/disconnect.
I can't get a clear shot of the other side that has a double loop around the handle, but even just with one loop like this it doesn't move a mm.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161105/b3981956a46ef09ab78f9af6396fc706.jpg)
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161105/bbc57467ce73011cb4b9e12dd791114f.jpg)
Those straps are cheap as chips, available at bunnings. I have a few sets in the car...just in case....
https://www.bunnings.com.au/smart-straps-45cm-340kg-soft-ties-2-pack_p4310711 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/smart-straps-45cm-340kg-soft-ties-2-pack_p4310711)
Those straps are cheap as chips, available at bunnings. I have a few sets in the car...just in case....
https://www.bunnings.com.au/smart-straps-45cm-340kg-soft-ties-2-pack_p4310711 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/smart-straps-45cm-340kg-soft-ties-2-pack_p4310711)
That's the ones. :)
Add another $6 for the turn buckles and your done.
It doesn't have those 3 special letters on it but does the job just the same. ;)
Just a thought.
i did same for my old 80 ltr Engel for a while when it was in our old caravans front box. Just got 4 longer bolts, drilled a suitable small hole at each foot and attached it through the fridge slide,....meant if anyone wanted to steal it then hey had to atleast unbolt it first.
Just updating an older thread. Kleks is back in business on ebay. I had kleks tiedown brackets for the cfx50 delivered today. I also have a set on a 40 engel. The stupid, home made, load one way handles of the engel almost make fitting these a necessity. I do like those brackets from kleks, however I reckon they need the edge to be linished to a small radius if you are using straps, cause its a reasonably sharp edge. A job for tomorrow.