General => General Discussion => Topic started by: speewa158 on January 25, 2011, 05:57:06 PM

Title: So What Did You Do For Australia Day ?
Post by: speewa158 on January 25, 2011, 05:57:06 PM
Swaggers  , what did you get up to ? how did you spend the day ? Its  show & tell time , share your day  :worthles: So rip into it & have a good one  :cheers:
Title: Re: So What Did You Do For Australia Day ?
Post by: baldheadedgit on January 25, 2011, 06:00:35 PM
???????????????? aint it tomorrow.???? :-*
Post by: Rod Camping on January 25, 2011, 06:04:09 PM
I will be spending it in Malaysia on a work trip back in about 3 months. So there wont be many posts from me in the near future.

Will share when I return to Austratlia.

Cheers Rod.... 8) :cheers:
Post by: Heiny on January 25, 2011, 06:07:02 PM
Thats what I thought, unless they bloody tricked me into working a public holiday ??? ;D
Post by: toeball on January 25, 2011, 06:17:43 PM
Think daylight savings might have stepped up a notch in "speewa-land", he's saved a hole day
Post by: GU Rich on January 25, 2011, 06:19:19 PM
I think Speewa has invented time travel????

Doc Brown will be impressed, How did the Flux Capaciter go in the Paj Speewa??

Post by: sschmez on January 25, 2011, 06:36:47 PM
I woke up,
drank beer with friends,
had a BBQ
and thoroughly enjoyed my day off.......

or thats what I would have done and written in 24 hours time

;D Stevo
Post by: Redback on January 25, 2011, 06:37:25 PM
Swaggers  , what did you get up to ? how did you spend the day ? Its  show & tell time , share your day  :worthles: So rip into it & have a good one  :cheers:

I had a BBQ and invited some friends around, don't know if they enjoyed yet :cheers:
Post by: DANBRI on January 25, 2011, 06:55:27 PM
this thread is wronged.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on January 25, 2011, 06:58:26 PM
In Speewas world today is Australia Day...lol
Post by: dno on January 25, 2011, 07:03:18 PM
Isn't every day australia day when you live here.... ;D
Post by: ntpryce on January 25, 2011, 07:04:45 PM
Swaggers  , what did you get up to ? how did you spend the day ? Its  show & tell time , share your day

Looks like you better start with your adventure speewa158 - dementia looks like it's just round the corner for you!
Post by: toeball on January 25, 2011, 07:05:59 PM
Is it too early to ask how easter went?????
Post by: speewa158 on January 25, 2011, 07:16:57 PM
Toeball  I arrr borrowed it to it & decided there wasnt any good dow in it so bucked it  ;D
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 25, 2011, 07:17:21 PM

I went and cleaned some family graves (flooded they was), then packed the puppies in the car for a swim at the beach, then went out and checked the dam levels, then had a bbq dinner, then watched some tennis, checked in on my swag, sat around with The Man for a few hours, then nodded off just before midnight.

At Easter I had planned to take a long weekend in the camper, but if we got The Kid that weekend, I guess I sat around eating chocolate and getting a fatter arse, while watching the boring old movies on tele.

P.S.  At Xmas 2011, I had planned on getting away as well, but I couldn't get the holidays off, so sat around eating prawns and getting smashed while having a shower every hour because it was bloody hot.
Post by: Robbo on January 25, 2011, 07:18:18 PM
Damn!! I must have overslept by 24 hours and missed it. In that case, i guess i did'nt do anything.
Oh well, i will just have to look foward to it next year and re-check my alarm clock the night before.  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 25, 2011, 07:28:21 PM
Robbo its Ground Hog Day wasnt it  ??? Did you enjoy it , We did  ??? >:D     :cheers:
Post by: LC on January 25, 2011, 07:36:58 PM
working or is worked - doesn't really matter I suppose!
Post by: gunna on January 25, 2011, 07:37:09 PM
Goin to a little town called Wombat just outside of Young NSW
there is a tractor pull on
stalls , street parade
& a old pub that sells realy realy cold beer lol lol
regards sheeds
Post by: speewa158 on January 25, 2011, 07:39:36 PM
& remember the 1/2 life of urainum 243 is about 4.5million years give or take a few days  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on January 25, 2011, 07:51:40 PM
Gunna  Tractor pull A  :worthles:
Post by: mark40 on January 25, 2011, 08:29:53 PM
I think Speewa has invented time travel????

Doc Brown will be impressed, How did the Flux Capaciter go in the Paj Speewa??

Time travel!!!  What is Saturday nights lotto numbers?
Post by: McGirr on January 25, 2011, 09:20:06 PM
I got really p#$%^&D :cheers:

met 2 really nice girls, partied all night ,  ;D

ended up in the hot tub with them,  :D

wow best night of my life.  :cup:

Thats how I want it to be will advise in 24 hrs what happened.........stay tuned  :'(
Post by: CRW on January 25, 2011, 09:21:48 PM

Thats how I want it to be will advise in 24 hrs what happened.........stay tuned  :'(

And then I Woke up ;D ???
Post by: Dunk66 on January 25, 2011, 09:24:02 PM
Going to Kinglake for Australia day support the QLD flood victims
Post by: McGirr on January 25, 2011, 09:24:28 PM
And then I Woke up ;D ???

There is still 24 hrs to go dont ruin my chances ;D
Post by: Digger on January 26, 2011, 08:20:50 AM
Any chance of today's lotto numbers speewa158 , you are one lucky Aussie , you get 2 Australia Days  :cheers: have a cold one for me  :cup:
Post by: SteveandViv on January 26, 2011, 08:25:19 AM

Christ... I thought I'd missed it  ;D
Post by: SteveandViv on January 26, 2011, 08:26:41 AM

You missed the part where the wife walks in and -------- :worthles:
Post by: GU_Thomo on January 26, 2011, 08:28:24 AM
In Speewas world today is Australia Day...lol

In Speewa's world EVERY day is Australia day. :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Post by: gunna on January 26, 2011, 12:05:49 PM
Went out to Wombat for the Morning 
Then to the local pub for a couple of coldies
couple of pic's
PS tell us more McGirr
Post by: balfang on January 26, 2011, 12:22:02 PM
About to crank up the barbie and have a few  :cheers:

Relax on the deck and have a swim in the pool with the kids.

Sounds good to me  ;D

Cheers Keith  :cheers:
Post by: geordie4x4 on January 26, 2011, 12:32:36 PM
Spent a prety rough nite in a boat on the way back into port and now, sitting in Broome wating for the weather to clear after the cyclone has passed. At least it is reasonablly sheltered and calm here now.

Glad I'm not further down the coast at Pt Hedland or Karratha today.
Post by: Black Diamond on January 26, 2011, 12:45:09 PM
About to crank up the barbie and have a few  :cheers:

Relax on the deck and have a swim in the pool with the kids.

Sounds good to me  ;D

Cheers Keith  :cheers:

Makes two of us :cheers:
Nothing better than a few coldies, a BBQ and in the pool with the kids to celebrate OZ day.
Just waiting for the Cricket to fire up  8)

WHAT A GREAT COUNTRY WE LIVE IN! HERE'S TO YOU AUSTRALIA :cheers:
Really proud to be an Aussie right now ;)
Cheers John
Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2011, 05:23:29 PM
To just live in Australia makes it Australia day every day . Ask not what your counrty can do for you , Get off your butt & have it done then go on & do more . Bludger   :cheers:
Went to a BBQ for SWMBOs Mums birthday  . Got her OBE today very proud ( Over Bloody Eighty ) .
Had to down  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: just to be sociable you understand
Post by: Fivid on January 26, 2011, 05:44:10 PM
Had a great day.  Some time in the shed, drinks, some relaxation, drinks, visited friends, drinks, relax at home, drinks!  Now need to find some dinner and prepare for reality tomorrow  :( :( :(
Post by: baldheadedgit on January 26, 2011, 05:49:19 PM
To just live in Australia makes it Australia day every day . Ask not what your counrty can do for you , Get off your butt & have it done then go on & do more . Bludger   :cheers:
Went to a BBQ for SWMBOs Mums birthday  . Got her OBE today very proud ( Over Bloody Eighty ) .
Had to down  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: just to be sociable you understand
you got to love the guy........... :cup: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2011, 05:56:13 PM
BHG did you have many  :cheers: when you got the OBE  ???
Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2011, 05:59:12 PM
Gunna thats a wicked beast in the pis , is it a Chamberlin & did it Full Pull  ???looks like a real monster  >:D
Post by: baldheadedgit on January 26, 2011, 06:02:02 PM
Dunno, dementia set in cant remember,   and i also suffer from "craft" so realy have no idea ..!!!    :-[ :cup: :cheers:
Post by: SUPA105 on January 26, 2011, 07:09:35 PM
Started with cleaning camping gear as just home from a trip......bloody hot day progressed to beer......lots of beer, then the brain wave of putting the 4x4 awning up in/over the kids pool for sum relief.....then more beer......and a BBQ.

Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2011, 07:36:40 PM
Lots of  :cheers: & still posting at this time of night , I am impressed  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on January 26, 2011, 07:45:43 PM
Lots of  :cheers: & still posting at this time of night , I am impressed  :cheers:

:cheers: Swaggers :cheers:
Post by: gunna on January 26, 2011, 08:24:00 PM
Hi speewa 
No he didnt make it      not sure of the breed
couple of my mates run the show out there next time i run into them ill find out some info on the beast & let u know
Some more pic's of a mate of mine he carved them up    luvs a beer on a hot or cold day  lol
regards sheeds
Post by: dno on January 26, 2011, 08:52:26 PM
Breakfast vegimite on toast, lunch toastie's with home made spag filling  and tea crumbed pork and in between meal's carted hay..
Nice shot of the bulldog gunna and the halftrack is a fordson we have one in our club .
Post by: speewa158 on January 27, 2011, 03:36:34 AM
Dno  Thanks for that info on the 1/2 track that & the Lanz Bulldog . Both werent made for the quick get away but would tow the brick dunny all day . Love the smoke rings from a lanz at idle . :cheers:
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 27, 2011, 06:53:24 AM
Spent the day at home, washed the camper trailer after its last trip, touched up all the stone chips, winched it into its resting sopt. Worked in the laundry trying to finish another part of the house off. Had a BBQ with friends in the arvo.

Post by: D4D on January 27, 2011, 06:56:36 AM
I modded the BBQ, new burners, flame tamer, piezo starter and kitty litter :)
Post by: Heiny on January 27, 2011, 07:06:16 AM
Tidied up the yard, moved the CT to a better storage posy, did roast lamb & pork in the webber, had the family over for early dinner, knocked the froth off a few beers and swilled a few moscato's.  :cheers:
Post by: DANBRI on January 27, 2011, 07:15:28 AM
Tried not to get eaten by sharks, spear fishing, boating, etc - I survived, though I am not going back to Cabage Tree Island in any hurry! 
Post by: GU Rich on January 27, 2011, 07:22:33 AM
We had a BBQ lunch at a mates place, It was an enjoyable relaxing day  8)

Post by: TOPNDR on January 27, 2011, 07:54:30 AM
Took close to 5 hours to cover the 120 km from Burnie to Cradle Mountain, including lunch at Coles founder GJ Coles's father's store in Wilmot. Then attended a wine & cheese tasting fundraiser for the Qld Premier's Flood Relief Appeal at the Discovery (Big4) Park at Cradle Mountain.
Post by: Bill on January 27, 2011, 08:00:57 AM
I put the roof vents in my canopy.
What a pain of a job.
I' am still itching from the fibreglass.
Morag weeded her garden and did housework.
0 alcohol consumed as usual.
Thats basically all we got up to...
Bill and Morag
Post by: meimarocu on January 27, 2011, 09:11:51 AM
When up to lake Tinnaroo,
took 3 conoes and too much stuff.
Ate too much
Drank too much
got too much sun
All with freinds and family.
Need to do more of it.

Ian
Post by: MattNQ on January 27, 2011, 11:42:50 AM
We avoided the hot, sandy, crowded, jellyfish and tourist infested beaches & retreated to the mountains....
Crystal Creek is absolute magic on a hot summers day
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/23335-1/P1262043mod2b.jpg)
Post by: Gonewalkabouts on January 27, 2011, 01:07:30 PM

I spent most of the day at home with the air conditioning going full bore and kids complaining. The highlight of the day being a late afternoon trip to BCF to buy a fishing rod. Hardly the most exciting day or posting on this forum.

I did Google search sails for a portable kayak, and looked at some custom made long bows and Mongolian bows (which are very nicely crafted), as a possible future purchase for my bow hunting trips out western NSW.

Hope you all had a great day

Gonewalkabouts
Post by: Matto on January 27, 2011, 03:23:03 PM
I cable-tied a flag to my UHF aerial, and drove around all day:

(http://lh5.ggpht.com/_8EWXeskixSE/TUD60m6eXEI/AAAAAAAAQlE/cmlLnhZgUQQ/s640/IMG_0225%5B1%5D.JPG)

Actually, I lie. It's been there all week (still is, too).

Tuesday night was a BBQ at our place with friends, which we got in trouble for from the neighbour the next day for drinking too much and making too much noise. 7 stubbies, and 2 bottles of wine between 8 people is excessive, apparently??  ??? Anyhew, we spent The Day visiting friends with new bubs, and topped it off with another BBQ at home with the in-laws - pretty much a perfect day!

Glad to hear everyone else had / was going to have a good time. Since we haven't heard back from McGirr, we can just safely assume he's either still living it up with his new lady friends, or is locked in a hotel room in Cairns somewhere, in an ice bath missing both his kidneys. If we don't hear from you in a couple of days mate - I'll start ringing around!

Post by: pacs on January 27, 2011, 03:34:57 PM
Spent the day at home with partners best mate and our twins n blue healer pup
Squids had a great time on the trampoline with the sprinkler and then swam in the pool
Listened to triple J's top 100 had a bbq and consumed a little too much alcohol.. Maybe way too much...
As I attempted to perform whirly circles in the pool with partner as I do with the squids and awoke feely very poorly this morning
And been limping ever since  :laugh:
all in all great day..  :cheers:

Post by: weso on January 27, 2011, 03:53:06 PM
Well After my Lamb BBQ lunch (so as to keep Sam Kecavich happy), in the sweltering heat i then went and worked at the Drags a favortie past time for so many aussies !!!!!!
Post by: weso on January 27, 2011, 03:54:19 PM
oh and forgot to add then had quite a few chilled ale's to bring the core temp back down again.
Post by: Grungle on January 27, 2011, 05:23:38 PM
Had a BBQ lunch then went for a drive to St Helens Creek for a refreshing swim. Was goung to go to Boulder Creek for another swim but there was eleventy thousand people there so just drove through. Collected some firewood then headed home for a swim in the pool and a camp fire in our firepit. Oh and had a few  :cheers: when we got back.

David
Post by: mark40 on January 27, 2011, 06:27:03 PM
Spent the day at the beach with the family. What a top day, wish they were all like that.
Post by: mystq on January 27, 2011, 06:43:30 PM
Went to work  :-[
Post by: mark40 on January 27, 2011, 06:48:41 PM

Bugger  :-[
Post by: rotor138 on January 27, 2011, 07:14:04 PM

Same mate Only 2nd day of 2 week shift.
Post by: speewa158 on January 27, 2011, 07:16:13 PM
Is that not Unaustralian .      Chuck a Sickie  :cheers:
Post by: Snow on January 27, 2011, 07:47:28 PM
Is that not Unaustralian .      Chuck a Sickie  :cheers:
Ease up Speewa, some folk don't have a choice and some do but have a conscience. :angel:
Post by: baldheadedgit on January 27, 2011, 07:57:46 PM
I worked half a day, managed to get another job ready. But there again, i'm still a pom......... ;D :cheers:
Post by: rescue1 on January 27, 2011, 08:26:31 PM
Worked all day introduced the office staff to Vegemite (illegally imported into South Africa) went to a function in Pretoria in the evening where we raised ZAR1000000+ for QLD & Vic flood victims. Amazing what a few expats can do when they put their minds to it.
Post by: love_shack on January 27, 2011, 11:20:22 PM
We avoided the hot, sandy, crowded, jellyfish and tourist infested beaches & retreated to the mountains....
Crystal Creek is absolute magic on a hot summers day
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/23335-1/P1262043mod2b.jpg)

SkyPig - Crystal Creek looks fabulous.
I'm new to travelling anywhere other than work  :laugh: can you tell me where abouts it actually is?

cheers..
Post by: MattNQ on January 28, 2011, 01:18:10 AM
SkyPig - Crystal Creek looks fabulous.
I'm new to travelling anywhere other than work  :laugh: can you tell me where abouts it actually is?

cheers..

love_shack

Crystal Creek is about an hour's drive north of Townsville on the road to Paluma - You turn off the Bruce Highway about 60-odd kays north and head westerly up the range. It is fairly well signed. Road is a bit narrow in places, but all bitumen. Half way up you hit a small picnic area & carpark.  The bridge and swimming holes are just next to these.
The area is day use only, but there are a couple of caravan parks back out on the highway not too far away, or you can continue up the range past the creek and Paluma village and then out to Paluma Dam where you can camp.

Post by: Redback on January 28, 2011, 07:14:46 AM
We had a BBQ, invited some friends around, had lamb on a spit, free homebrew beer around the pool and swimming all day :cheers: :cup:

Post by: GSK33 on January 28, 2011, 08:05:59 AM
Yeah me too  :-[  12.75 hours :'( Glad everyone else had a good Aussie Aussie Aussie Day  :cheers:
Post by: love_shack on January 28, 2011, 08:52:59 PM
love_shack

Crystal Creek is about an hour's drive north of Townsville on the road to Paluma - You turn off the Bruce Highway about 60-odd kays north and head westerly up the range. It is fairly well signed. Road is a bit narrow in places, but all bitumen. Half way up you hit a small picnic area & carpark.  The bridge and swimming holes are just next to these.
The area is day use only, but there are a couple of caravan parks back out on the highway not too far away, or you can continue up the range past the creek and Paluma village and then out to Paluma Dam where you can camp.

Thanks for that SkyPig ...  :cheers:

Post by: McGirr on January 28, 2011, 09:20:39 PM

Ok this what happened

I got really p#$%^&D                    started drinking early :cheers:

met 2 really nice girls                     neighbours wifes and they looked nice after a few drinks ;D

partied all night                             sort of but had a sleep in between :D

ended up in the hot tub with them    cant remember ???

wow best night of my life                still deciding on this one :'(

Post by: speewa158 on January 29, 2011, 01:52:26 AM
             DREAMING  ;D
Post by: jasonw on January 29, 2011, 11:48:20 AM
we (construction industry) had 5 days off. Our family makes Aus day the family weekend get together as sometimes easter and chrissy can be too hard. this year we were off to Bonnie Doon, we stayed at a caravan park as some of the family dont camp and need a cabin. Didnt have the best weekend away as the first 2 nights other people stayed up talking/partying until 3am, rang the manager at 11pm as they were just starting to really fire up (11pm no noise policy), and 2am. the other 3 nights the noisy ones had beem kicked out so it got better. the ladies toilet were constantly blocked up and in some cases overflowing so no need to say we wont be going back there again. apart from that we had a great time away swimming, drinking and eating.
(sorry to sound like a complainer)
Post by: Barry G on January 29, 2011, 12:33:59 PM
Mowing grass ... grows so bloody fast ... really should get a bloke in, but from what I read its hard to find a good one  ...  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 29, 2011, 02:53:06 PM
Barry If I hear of said same I give you his name  ::)
Post by: bobnrob on January 29, 2011, 03:41:29 PM
Jimmy Barnes was doing a concert at Merimbula for Aussie day. So headed down there on Tuesday with the CT & booked in to a park.
Aussie day, visited the minister's sister & her hubbie for bbq lunch - no grog  >:(
Headed for the show where it was a NO BYO  :'(  Smuggled me mate Jimmy Beam in & had a blast  :cup:
Travellin' home the next day, minister pointed out we didn't need to be home till Sunday arvo at the latest, so suggested we book into our favourite park at Potato Point for another couple of days - my minister's a gem sometimes  :-*
Had a pearler of a time  :cheers:
Post by: Barry G on January 31, 2011, 09:05:06 PM
bobnrob, love your handle - way to go!
Post by: Stone Stomper on February 01, 2011, 06:54:20 AM
We managed to get from Tuesday to Sunday off and headed up to Lake Bonney SA free camping on the Lake.

It was great to see the restrictor removed and the flow of the Murray filling the lake again which is now over full and great to see the town of Barmera buzing again.