General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Hauler on January 13, 2011, 05:12:05 PM
I have just seen on the news that police are receiving complaints from some Brisbane residents about noise from overflying military helicopters and also complaints about Army trucks and vehicles being parked on their streets. Are these people serious?? Do we really have these sort of oxygen thieves amongst us??
Unbelievable!
Mike.
P.S. If anyone needs a hand with clean-up tomorrow then post here or PM me.
Yes, I would think there are. These events bring out the best and worst of people.
They should put those who complain in a car and send them down the river.... oxygen thief is too polite a term for these type of people..
Some people just can't get through a day with out having a bleat about something. This particular winge just shows how shallow some can be. I have a son deployed with his Blackhawk choppers to the area and I'm sure he and his mates would be gutted with these sort of complaints. The job is hard enough.
Mate, the scary thing is these sub-humans are finding each other - and breeding more just like them.
I agree some people just have no idea
No TRUE Brisbanite (Queenslander or Australian in fact) would whinge about people saving people in a communities time of need no matter which way it's done ... so these ones must be wring-ins (probably think that this devastation is an annoying inconvenience on the tele too). Those whingers are such ... selfish, self possessed, self centred, pond scum who need to become part of the reality of life!
And you say they are breeding? Ye Gods. Can we still legally whip these offenders? They should be made to help the people in the Lockyer Valley for the next month or more and to be forced to live there till this is over ... right next to where those Fantastic Volunteers are landing those planes or helicopters.
How unbelievably selfish and totally UN Australian, >:( >:D these self centred losers have no idea how lucky they are they should be made to forfeit their houses to those who no longer have one!!!
Some people just can't get through a day with out having a bleat about something. This particular winge just shows how shallow some can be. I have a son deployed with his Blackhawk choppers to the area and I'm sure he and his mates would be gutted with these sort of complaints. The job is hard enough.
I'm sure Mick being Mick he'd let them know either way!
They need to let your son know Snow so he can fly over and make sure they have the right people.
Don't want to get em mixed up now do we ;D
I'm sure Mick being Mick he'd let them know either way!
Makes me a proud 'ol man, mate let me tell you. :cheers:
Maybe you can get your boy to do some target practice on the worms. These people should shut their mouths, let people get on with what needs to be done and be thankful that help is there.
Bit hard to believe. Is this just another media beat up to make things sound worse, or to make people in the area look bad, to sell stories.
Bit like how easy it was for them to run with the Chick, bang, Chick story, which all turned out to be fully sick.
(http://resources0.news.com.au/images/2009/05/23/1225715/074572-chk-boom-chick-goes-global.jpg)
And so you should be proud Snow :cup:. As for people who whinge & bitch about anything & everything >:( >:(. I must be getting old or something but I have no tolerance whatsoever for people who always have time & energy to complain but neither when the time comes to help. These people should be left until last to get cleaned up, fixed up, even fed & watered . I rate people like this with the scum who loot shops, break into cars placed out of flood etc.A flooded waterway would be a good place for them......
Oxygen theifs is too kind for these people, are they serious? And i cant believe people are looting, what the hell are these people thinking?
Chain them to an engine block and dump them in the Brisbane river i say .........
You got a problem with the armed forces stationed to help in our time of need / 1st up against the wall come the revolution >:D
No... I think we should just add them to the list for the Ipswich Mayors resolution for looters...
Lets put them to use as permanent flood markers!
We live between Toowoomba and the Oakey Airbase and have been taking comfort in the sound of the helicopters and blackhawks overhead since Monday as hopefully it will mean they have found another one of our many missing. I cannot believe show shallow people can be. That's right up there with the corner shops, servos and takeaways up the prices on necessities.
I wonder if these people would be having a whinge if the helicopters were there saving them or helping out somebody they know. In this day and age do we really still find people that are this egocentric, this vane? I live on the Gold Coast and go to work everyday, home to my beautiful wife and kids everynight, and all's I can say this week is: How lucky am I?
Grow up people, grow the hell up. If they don't like the sound of our great military guys and girls helping out their fellow Australian's why don't they just crawl under which ever rock it is they crawled out from under, and hope the bigger spider that now lives there doesn't bite them!!
Rant complete!
Grant
Chain them to an engine block and dump them in the Brisbane river i say
......... :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
And it will help feed the fish that have been mis-placed due to the floods.. Poor fishies.. ;D
Chain them to an engine block and dump them in the Brisbane river i say ......... :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
And it will help feed the fish that have been mis-placed due to the floods.. Poor fishies.. ;D
That's gold!
reckon a week with Speewa & BHG will fix em (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-angry011.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
There are no words to describe people like that. had a similar experience about 8 years ago when Stanthorpe and Ballandeen had those huge bush fires that killed many people.
I was part of a 12 fire truck crew sent from Brisbane to relieve tired locals. When we arrived in town which was late, people close by to where we were based were complaining about the noise of the reversing beepers on the fire trucks. This was from people in the town whose butts we were there to help save. >:D >:D
I once worked with the rural fireys at Mt Nebo after some big storms to clean up the mess. We worked all night clearing roads with chainsaws and trucks. at about 1am this lady came up the road to speak to us. We all thought "here we go ...... "
And she says "excuse me boys, would you like some ice cream, because my power is off and this is all going to go to waste"
I devoured a whole tub of ice cream that night .... lol
And we thought she was going to have a whinge! hahaha
Cheers Chippy :D
Thankfully Chippy, good people like the icecream lady out number the whinging ar$e hole type of bludgers. :cheers:
For sure
As an ex soldier I fully appreciate what these men and women do, both at home and abroad!
What about the story about a women at the supermarket who had 15 loaves of bread, when she was told she could only have 3 she threw the rest on the floor and stomped on them, maybe she is the mother of these other oxygen thieves?
I live in Toowomba and am proud to work for Hutchinson Builders. On the Monday we watched helplessly as several cars including one of ours floated away (glad they were all empty) in the water rushing past our work.
Same day we all got in and cleaned up our office as luckily only had 2 inches of water through, next door (a motorcycle dealership) had 5 ft of water through it. Then on the Tuesday and Wednesday after checking all staff were safe and OK, we deployed several teams and any available mechanical resources (trucks, bob cats, etc) for free to help others less fortunate than us in our area.
On the day after I witnessed an elderly person in casual clothes filling up his vehicle to the max and then several jerry cans with fuel, one can only he was giving the spare fuel to emergency service's - not?
A positive is that you never meet these types when camping so maybe that's one of the many attractions of camping?
It upsets me that in this time of crisis, people are being inconsiderate and unreasonable. One can only hope that their petrol contains water and the bread goes mouldy.
They should be complaining to the council for being allowed to build houses in a floodplain.
I have full sympathy for the people!
They are living a nightmare. They will be cleaning up for months. Insurance won't help. AND they will still be living in floodplain.....
I know it doesn't help to say it now but : Poor Planning!
mike
They should be complaining to the council for being allowed to build houses in a floodplain.
I have full sympathy for the people!
They are living a nightmare. They will be cleaning up for months. Insurance won't help. AND they will still be living in floodplain.....
I know it doesn't help to say it now but : Poor Planning!
mike
Sorry i disagree with this statement. The greater Brisbane area is a flood plain. People know the risks. People don't move away from the country because you may see a deadly snake or 2.
You always hear how council won't let us do this and that but when they do and something happens, guess what, the council should have stopped it. They really can't win sometimes. (no i don't work for council :))
Insurance is going to be a big bone of contention for a lot of people for example there is a big difference between flash-flooding and flooding. Apparently flash-flooding is a storm related event but flooding is plain ole flooding (water rising slowly).
This is the spirit that Anna Bligh talks about being present at the moment. For the most part there is no blame, there is only compassion and a will to help your fellow human!!
Sorry Mike i am not having a go at you at all (and i am not sure where you are from) but we are trying to stay positive up here!!
We were looking at moving to East Brisbane and one of our requirements was to be out of the flood zone....some of those areas do flood a fair bit although this is a 2 in 100 year event. We have now decided to stay where we are nice and high up although not high enough as we did get some run off rain water through the house.
As for Insurance, I believe all but Suncorp refuse flood insurance if you are in a flood prone suburb, and the Suncorp call centre was in Milton which went under. I felt sorry for there clients as they evacuated the call centre and didn't have much of a contingency plan from what I have heard.
As for the whingers, I agree use them bull shark feed along with the thiefs that they have caught.
Sorry i disagree with this statement. The greater Brisbane area is a flood plain. People know the risks. People don't move away from the country because you may see a deadly snake or 2.
You always hear how council won't let us do this and that but when they do and something happens, guess what, the council should have stopped it.
No offence taken... if people knew the risks and didn't prepare then what's the problem? Are they now wasting our time and resources by needing to be rescued?
IMO, floodplains should be parkland. Oh, but council can't collect rates or land tax from those.
I know what i am saying is in poor taste AND at a bad time but we need to learn from it. Clearly the one in 1974 taught people nothing.
mike
More relatives of the oxygen thieves out here. To 'ladys' had a full blown, hair pulling, slapping and scratching fight over the last few carrots in the shopping center. Then at the servo the diesel is getting low and one guy was annoyed that the guy filling his ute was taking to long so he gave him a mouthful, so the other bloke pulled out the gun and sprayed his bonnet with diesel. A fight broke out with a fair bit of blood being drawn from both blokes.
As the floods go on and you here more and more stories it just highlights what must be happening all the time but you just don't hear about it. The floods haven't made most normal people wankers, they are just more obvious now. Its a good thing that there are more 'normal' people out there, helping each other and restoring your trust in people.
As far as floodplains being parkland, get a map of were the floods have been and see how much the poor councils will have to mow and how many swing sets they would have to buy. ;D ;D
farmer6
A friend had bought a 25 Acre block of land in the Huon Valley, south of Hobart, mostly steep rocky bushland and part river frontage on Mountain River.
The level river frontage was obviously a flood plain, and this was where he wanted to build, so his house was designed appropriately to cope with flowing water to a depth of 3 meters. It was simple construction, no unusual building techniques were needed, just raise the building 3 meters on a sacrificial flow through under the house garage area with full roller doors either end.
All under the house switches are ceiling mounted pull cord type and power points are workshop type over head plugs on cords.
Not sure what he did with plumbing, but it would have been septic tank in that area.
Now the irony of this story of course, is that he never experienced a flood in the 30 odd years that he lived there.
So the purpose of this rant?
Just to ponder on the building codes that allow buildings that will not cope with any flooding at all to be built in areas that are known and well documented as being subject to inundation.
I have to address the thoughts that council shouldn't allow people to build in flood prone areas.
In Brisbane we have 1 large flood every 100 years (hence the name 1 in 100 year event). Prior to 1974 it was 1893 and of course again now. Before that, who knows as white blokes didn't live here then and no records were kept.
When the settlement was first built (and this would be the case in just about all major cities and 75% of towns), the built near water, river, stream, puddle. And this is the reason we have those settlements (oops I mean cities) in the same areas now. The infrastructure is still there from the late 1800's, and so are the houses, the cemetaries, the post office. Back then the mode of transport was horse, and horses need water just as much as we do.
Toowoomba is NOT on a flood plain and doesn't have a river right beside it. That was a flash flood. But they still have low lying areas (yes even on the very top of the range). Brisbane Council doesn't see that a 1 every 100 year issue is much of an issue at any other time than the worst time. People forget quickly, and the next generation won't even know about it other than by old photo's and stories.
If you are to take this attitude towards low lying areas, then please propose where we do build our houses? It is a large enough continent, but could we all fit if we are all high and dry? How much would the infrastructure then cost and who would pay it? What about freak events?
Like the post above yours says. Build them on stilts.... hey isn't that called 'a queenslander'.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queenslander_%28architecture%29
As you yourself said, we have been keeping records for 200 years. How does that give us the info to call it a 1 in 100 year event. What if it's a 1 in 30 year event?
As for paying for it? wouldn't you rather pay 20% extra when you build and know that you will be high and dry?
mike
Just putting in my two cents...in QLD, the way the planning regime works is that it is performance based....that is, if a development proposal ticks the boxes, or the applicant can provide an 'acceptable' solution to an issue, then Council's really must approve the development. Sucks I know, but that is how things like this can (and do) occur. And yes, I work for GCCC.
Grant
Like the post above yours says. Build them on stilts.... hey isn't that called 'a queenslander'.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queenslander_%28architecture%29
As you yourself said, we have been keeping records for 200 years. How does that give us the info to call it a 1 in 100 year event. What if it's a 1 in 30 year event?
As for paying for it? wouldn't you rather pay 20% extra when you build and know that you will be high and dry?
mike
But where will we find stilts 8m high Mike?
Ok... paying 80% extra.
Didn't the river peak at 4meters? do you need 8m stilts?
Natural disasters are unavoidable but 'a box on a slab' should not have been allowed in a flood plain.
mike
Ok... paying 80% extra.
Didn't the river peak at 4meters? do you need 8m stilts?
Natural disasters are unavoidable but 'a box on a slab' should not have been allowed in a flood plain.
mike
Mike,
Grantham, the worst hit with this particular areas "event", the wall of water was 8m high (they are at the bottom of the range).
Flood levels peaked in Rocky at 19.2m, Savages Crossing peaked at 20+m. What will those guys do for stilts?
I understand what you are saying, but you'd need a feasible proposition to go through council mate. 20+m stilts probably won't cut the mustard. It'd be top heavy for a start ... alot of the houses around Grantham are were on stilts.
But... out of X houses that were destroyed. If Y were on stilts how many would be saved?
I.e in how much of the affected areas did the flood go above 3meters?
mike
Grantham, the worst hit with this particular areas "event", the wall of water was 8m high (they are at the bottom of the range).
Flood levels peaked in Rocky at 19.2m, Savages Crossing peaked at 20+m. What will those guys do for stilts?
We now know that Grantham is in a geographical position to receive a flash flood from rain as it was recently recorded.
Would hydrology modelling have been able to predict this? Maybe, but perhaps it wasn't done.
Would stilts have been practical? At that height, I doubt it! Will this event ever occur again? It is not impossible.
Is it now considered a viable long term site for building in? I would say no, but am hardly in a position to have enough knowledge to make an informed decision.
To rebuild the area in the knowledge of past events may just happen piecemeal, but it now carries a known risk.
Knowing the risk, we can reduce its potential adverse effects with forward planning and establishing procedures.
Risk can be managed. Even avoiding the 'eggs in one basket' is a better strategy than no strategy at all.
No doubt many lessons, ideas, strategies will come from this natural event that we will learn, adapt and use in the future to cope much better with similar occurrences in the future.
Our council is currently going through a rethink on coastal developments due to concerns (rightly or wrongly) that sea levels may rise.
There are some pretty vocal residents sitting on some pretty valuable coastal land that will lose a lot if they are rezoned.
I only just seen this,
All I can say is if noisy mogs and helicopters are all they have to winge about we must be doing a good job!
I have 4 good mates that have had there leave cut short to help out but were helping with sandbagging ect before they got called in any way (I couldnt help as im in the middle east ATM)
Can you imagine the complaints if we wernt there LOL
Cheers Ben
Then there were the blokes having a winge at the ABC reporter that they wanted milk and all they wanted was milk...well, get a grip cupcake - what's wrong with a glass of water...or wait...how about a beer? ;D
As to the winge about aircraft noise..."Here's Your Sign"... ::) (would someone have actually rung officials to complain about this? Or has it just been something that someone heard?)
The funny thing is the so called whingers might be and probably are totally innocent. I dont have respect for the media and I usually always suspect a beat up.
Journo to householder; how are you coping with the chopper noise, as 1 flys over head.
Householder; yeah they are pretty loud, bit hard to sleep etc etc.
Journo back at office; Resident Whinge at Chopper Noise.
The media feed on peoples suffering and anything for a headline.
I recall a number of years ago being in charge of a NSWRFS tanker at the fires at Kenhurst (north west Syndey). We pulled up at one house unloaded the portable pump and headed into the back yard, dropped the suction for the pump into the pool and ran out the houses ready for the fire that ws coming up the valley. Home owner had ignored the requests to evacuate and comes storming out of his house moaning that we were going to steal his water. Explained we were going to use his pool water to save his house, rants still continue. Order to crew to pack up explain to the home owner that we are leaving to go next door and save that house (also with a swimming pool) rants escalate so I explain to the home owner that we will refill his pool if we empty it all at no charge. Rant ends, chair and refresments appear, gotta love humanity (otherwise we shoot ourselves)
Then there were the blokes having a winge at the ABC reporter that they wanted milk and all they wanted was milk...well, get a grip cupcake - what's wrong with a glass of water...or wait...how about a beer? ;D
As to the winge about aircraft noise..."Here's Your Sign"... ::) (would someone have actually rung officials to complain about this? Or has it just been something that someone heard?)
There is a discreet number for making complaints about aircraft noise to Airservices Australia so it is at least possible......
The funny thing is the so called whingers might be and probably are totally innocent. I dont have respect for the media and I usually always suspect a beat up.
Journo to householder; how are you coping with the chopper noise, as 1 flys over head.
As the OP I should say that I agree with Pauly's sentiments and have little respect for Australian media standards. However I am sure that I saw this subject mentioned during one of the two-hourly media conferences.
Back in 2009 with the fires around here we had people all over Melbourne complaining about the smoke. This really started to tick me off so my standard reply became "Do you still have a house, a car and your family"? The reply would always be "Yes" with a bit of a puzzled look on their faces. My reply to that would be "Then you really dont have anything to complain about then"
I guess its a glass half full thing
The horror that so many are living through at the moment, it boggles the mind that some people are complaining of noise and army trucks. I think they seriously need help as their heads are not screwed on properly.
I would be happy for 100 army mogs to be parked outside my place. And even happier if only 99 were driven away ;D. Would make an awesome off road recreational vehicle.
Troppo, they are a pretty mean off road rig, but like anything they do have their limits. Granted the limits are a lot further than most 4wds ... lol
Ill see If I can find some pics of the old army days ..
I have just seen on the news that police are receiving complaints from some Brisbane residents about noise from overflying military helicopters and also complaints about Army trucks and vehicles being parked on their streets. Are these people serious?? Do we really have these sort of oxygen thieves amongst us??
Unbelievable!
Another media beat up, need more ratings, sells more papers...but this happens, people do complain, especially when they are under stress and angry...they are angry at the situation..one day all shining, next out on the street in amongst the debris... all your earthy posessions in a heap of wet rotting crap...but at least you and your family are alive.
Being an ex SES member, we coped a bit of abuse, people cope with stress in different ways...
You can't please all the people all the time.
+1 to that
I've been flying Sea King's out of RAAF Amberley alongside Blackhawks and Kiowas and a Chinook since last Tuesday and I can confirm that there have been noise complaints. Fortunately we have been shielded from these by those higher up who know what is really happening inthe Lockyer Valley. Truth is that from Wed to Friday we were tasked to "saturate" the Lockyer Valley with Rotary Wing Air to conduct search and support operations. These search operations are ongoing and we are working closely with QLD Police and emergency services to achieve what is a monumental task.
The scale of this tragedy is huge and having walked the ground in Grantham over the past couple of days I can tell you that it wont be over for a while yet. The ADF are doing some brilliant work in horendous conditions alongside the QPS. We don't do it for any profit or glory - we do it because we have the tools and skills and because the work really matters for those who have been impacted by these floods.
We get complaints every now and then but they are all outweighed by simple gestures, like the lady in the cue at the Roma Woolworths the other day who let me go ahead of here in the line despite us having about the same amount of shopping. I was in uniform and said that I was in no hurry and that she should go first. She just said "That's ok - you guys are doing some great work". Or the guy I passed in the Yamanto Shoping centre yesterday who looked at me, smilled, nodded and said "good on ya mate". It's humbling and makes the noise from the whingers almost inaudible.
If you have a moment - spare a thought for the Police and Soldiers crawling through thick mud searching for bodies - I cannot think of worse work at the moment - and I haven't heard a single complaint. Forget the whingers, think about these people - they matter.
Thanks for everything your doing Sharky. Its the top blokes like yourself and others that should get all our support and remember that the things you do give strengh to other people. I know that one of the things that helps me is hearing stories like yours.
farmer6
Sharky, thanks so much for checking in and telling us your side of the story. I know what you're talking about when people do things like that to you when in uniform, I've been on the receiving end of such gratitude as well and I agree, it is humbling.
I think that the job that the ADF and EMS along with the police are doing is a monumental task and every single person involved with either search and rescue to clean up should be justifiably proud of being an Australian. Even just sitting here watching all that is going on up there, I am proud to be an Aussie at this time.
Hi Sharky.
Where has the Chinook come from for the help, is it an Aussie 1. I thought the ADF scrapped them years ago due to massive running costs in favour of the Black Hawkes.
they are an awesome bit of gear, a sight to be seen.
To you and your ADF mates, top job, and to everybody else you are doing the nation proud.
We learnt over the weekend that 2 families we know lost everything in Emerald, and we were lucky enough to be able to assist 1 family now living in a tent, they were here visiting another family member to get the kids out of Emerald for a bit.
So now instead of sitting on an esky, they have an outdoor setting, something to cook on, the young kids have some toys to play with. No doubt they'll pass a few of the toys around when they get home as well as there are plenty more like them unfortunately. :'(
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-VcLa76pUj8&feature=player_embedded#!
i just want to add this site aswell also in regards to QLD floods...
Hi Sharky.
Where has the Chinook come from for the help, is it an Aussie 1. I thought the ADF scrapped them years ago due to massive running costs in favour of the Black Hawkes.
The chinooks were upgraded and reinstanted a few years back. They have been flying missions in afganistan with them. They are any amazing aircraft, but have you seen the capabilities of the C17s? AWESOME!
C Squadron, 5th Aviation Regiment, in Townsville.
No way! The Chinook fulfills a different role to the Blackhawk, can carry heavier internal and external loads, fly further. etc, great workhorse.
Hey guys, Thanks for the comments. Yep the CH-47 has been back with the ADF for a number of years. We traded the old Ch-47 C's and bought 4 CH-47D's - They're a fantastic machine and bring a whole new meaning to heavy lift!
They were used yesterday to lift a car out of the river bed adjacent to teh Grantham railway bridge. It wa a Forester which doesn't weigh too much on the road. This one was full of silt and mud and weighed in at over 8500lbs. That's over 3800kgs. The Chinook is the only helo in SE QLD that can lift that weight.
Chippy, we are operating just up from teh C-17 SQN - you're right - They're a brilliant bit of kit!
*thumbs up* top work!
Hey guys, Thanks for the comments. Yep the CH-47 has been back with the ADF for a number of years. We traded the old Ch-47 C's and bought 4 CH-47D's - They're a fantastic machine and bring a whole new meaning to heavy lift!
They were used yesterday to lift a car out of the river bed adjacent to teh Grantham railway bridge. It wa a Forester which doesn't weigh too much on the road. This one was full of silt and mud and weighed in at over 8500lbs. That's over 3800kgs. The Chinook is the only helo in SE QLD that can lift that weight.
Chippy, we are operating just up from teh C-17 SQN - you're right - They're a brilliant bit of kit!
Gday mate,
I have worked at 5 Avn so feel I can comment on this. We never got rid of the chooks, we have 6 x CH-47D choppers and there are 3 x CH-47F orderd that should be in aus this year with another 3 in the future. Im currently in Afghanistan and have worked with the Fs which are a great bit of kit. And as for what your saying about there lifting abilities I more than agree seeing them lift a damaged Chook with another really is a sight to see.
Keep up the great work guys your doing us all proud :cheers:
It never ceases to amaze me that people can be nasty, inconsiderate and selfish to others. If their house or property was in danger they would be the first to demand something be done for them.
I have friends around Amberely (Between Toowoomba and Ipswich, Qld) and they were one of the lucky ones. But they are doing their part for the country, as they to, are in the military (RAAF). Now days because all military services wear the camouflage uniform everyone thinks its only the Army doing the work, but its all three services pitching in.
At the Jets game on Sunday, they were collecting money to help QLD flood victims. Aussies always help each other out and its great to see.
Jen