General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Barrabart on October 22, 2017, 04:39:18 PM

Title: Resigned - Gunna hit the road. (April Update)
Post by: Barrabart on October 22, 2017, 04:39:18 PM
G'day all,

I've spent the last 10yrs working a FIFO job in PNG, it's always been a hard gig at work but the last couple of years have been getting worse.
Anyway, the kids are pretty much all grown up and off our hands, so the Mrs and I have been making some loose plans for me to in the coming months throw the towel in up here.

Well I returned to work last Tuesday, was met with the same sh1tfight and pressures we always walk into, worked through the day thinking seriously, WTF am I really doing here.
That night was yarning with the wife back in Aus on our usual hit and miss messenger voice chat (wifi cuts out every few mins up here) and told her how I was just over it and reckon I might just say f#*k it and snatch it tomorrow. Of course being a good Mrs she said, well, if that what you really want to do, go for it........
So Wednesday morn I did just that.  ;D ;D ;D

Anyway, I have a couple more swings to push through, but come 20th Dec I'm outa here....... and it will be the 3rd Xmas in 10yrs I've been home for.

Plans are at the moment to hook up and head somewhere, debating though wether to unload all the cars, my old 100 series cruiser (petrol), my mobile skip bin 90's tray back hilux and the Mrs's little Yaris and the tracky  :'( , replace the Cruiser with a more economical 4cyl diesel and a suitable caravan for the Mrs and I.
Thinking a c'van might be better as I could end up doing stints away at mines and parking the Mrs up somewhere safe while I'm away topping up the bank account..

So we have some decisions to make around that, though it looks like we've already got someone to rent our house....... but anyway, early days yet any advice from any of you that have done something similar would be great.
Only thing I know is that I already feel better knowing I'm getting the hell outa here and back home to the Mrs and in some way shape or form we're hitting the road.

The finer details we'll sort as we go.  :cheers:

Feel free to offer up tips or your experiences.....

Catch yas
Title: Re: Resigned - Gunna hit the road.
Post by: glenm64 on October 22, 2017, 05:38:24 PM
G'day all,

I've spent the last 10yrs working a FIFO job in PNG, it's always been a hard gig at work but the last couple of years have been getting worse.
Anyway, the kids are pretty much all grown up and off our hands, so the Mrs and I have been making some loose plans for me to in the coming months throw the towel in up here.

Well I returned to work last Tuesday, was met with the same sh1tfight and pressures we always walk into, worked through the day thinking seriously, WTF am I really doing here.
That night was yarning with the wife back in Aus on our usual hit and miss messenger voice chat (wifi cuts out every few mins up here) and told her how I was just over it and reckon I might just say f#*k it and snatch it tomorrow. Of course being a good Mrs she said, well, if that what you really want to do, go for it........
So Wednesday morn I did just that.  ;D ;D ;D

Anyway, I have a couple more swings to push through, but come 20th Dec I'm outa here....... and it will be the 3rd Xmas in 10yrs I've been home for.

Plans are at the moment to hook up and head somewhere, debating though wether to unload all the cars, my old 100 series cruiser (petrol), my mobile skip bin 90's tray back hilux and the Mrs's little Yaris and the tracky  :'( , replace the Cruiser with a more economical 4cyl diesel and a suitable caravan for the Mrs and I.
Thinking a c'van might be better as I could end up doing stints away at mines and parking the Mrs up somewhere safe while I'm away topping up the bank account..

So we have some decisions to make around that, though it looks like we've already got someone to rent our house....... but anyway, early days yet any advice from any of you that have done something similar would be great.
Only thing I know is that I already feel better knowing I'm getting the hell outa here and back home to the Mrs and in some way shape or form we're hitting the road.

The finer details we'll sort as we go.  :cheers:

Feel free to offer up tips or your experiences.....

Catch yas
Good on you mate. Lifes too short to spend it doing what you dont enjoy.

Post by: KingBilly on October 22, 2017, 06:11:15 PM
Wish I had those decisions to make.

Good luck with whatever you choose to do.  Enjoy your new life.

Title: Resigned - Gunna hit the road.
Post by: weeds on October 22, 2017, 06:27:12 PM
You have the 1st step done......living what most of us are still dreaming off

Good luck with the search of the perfect touring setup.

Post by: Thirsty4.8 on October 22, 2017, 06:32:34 PM
Good luck - some days I think we all feel like doing that.
Post by: nab on October 22, 2017, 09:47:32 PM
Bloody good stuff, many here would be very envious.

From what I have read, get rid of all your furniture etc don't store it. Everyone that has done similar to you has alays regretted keeping all their old stuff....
Post by: edz on October 22, 2017, 09:51:48 PM
Good luck = MOST EVERY DAY,   I think we all feel like doing that.
Fixed it for you .. ;D
Post by: McGirr on October 23, 2017, 06:50:18 AM
Plenty of jobs out there. Hit the road and you will nevef look back. Its coming up to 3 years since we left Cairns.

Post by: themissus on October 23, 2017, 03:19:49 PM
It'll be the best decision you'll ever make. We've been on the road 4 years and love it. There is plenty of work out there and you will have a crack at jobs you never imagined yourself doing. Life is cheap on the road, we work on average 3 months of the year. If you can find a housesit while your working you will save a fortune in park fees. Most of our jobs have included accommodation which is also handy.
As for the perfect set up, it's a unicorn, there is always a compromise. We started with a swag and a boat and now have a AOR Q+. I miss having a boat but LOVE having a shower and toilet as we free camp 99% of the time.
Good luck, you've taken biggest step, it's all fun from here!
Cheers Kim
Post by: Wunderlust on October 23, 2017, 07:20:31 PM
You’ll not regret your massive decision. I did the same, we are now 9 months into our trip and seen places, done things and worked in the most amazing places some could only dream off.
Post by: Barrabart on October 23, 2017, 09:55:31 PM
Plenty of jobs out there. Hit the road and you will nevef look back. Its coming up to 3 years since we left Cairns.

Yeah mate, your travels have been on my mind.

Sent from my LG-K520 using Tapatalk

Post by: Barrabart on October 23, 2017, 09:58:14 PM
It'll be the best decision you'll ever make. We've been on the road 4 years and love it. There is plenty of work out there and you will have a crack at jobs you never imagined yourself doing. Life is cheap on the road, we work on average 3 months of the year. If you can find a housesit while your working you will save a fortune in park fees. Most of our jobs have included accommodation which is also handy.
As for the perfect set up, it's a unicorn, there is always a compromise. We started with a swag and a boat and now have a AOR Q+. I miss having a boat but LOVE having a shower and toilet as we free camp 99% of the time.
Good luck, you've taken biggest step, it's all fun from here!
Cheers Kim
Thanks Kim, my wife and I are pretty excited!  I'll be frikken over the moon on my last fly out from here.

Post by: pommiedic on October 24, 2017, 08:52:06 AM
Just do it mate. Ask anyone on the road "any regrets" and the answer is a standard "not doing it sooner"
Post by: krisandkev on October 24, 2017, 03:41:44 PM
Well done. I took early retirement 6 years  ago and so glad I did. Have had the best 'MY TIME' since. Gone from soft floor camper to AOR hard floor to Bushtracker van. Spent 12 months on the road last year in the van but still have the camper which our kids use (kids? They are in their mid 30s with kids) still amasing how many travellers wish they started earlier.  You will have no regrets.  Kevin
Post by: Barrabart on October 24, 2017, 04:45:24 PM
If anyone knows of someone who may be looking to sell a good little touring caravan for the Mrs and I, feel free to give me a yell.
Thinking, under $20k should see us getting started, don't want anything huge, thinking around 18 foot??
Also, any tips on pro's and con's of different brand caravans?
Any to avoid?

Post by: Muckinhell on October 24, 2017, 07:25:29 PM
all the best on your travells, i dream of doing this most every day as well, have you got  a link to your place of work so i may be able to afford the same in few years time? Am a sparky if that helps.
Post by: Rob Mac on October 24, 2017, 08:03:19 PM
Good on Ya BB, just did this end of July myself. Although not cause of my job, I liked it and was damn good at it, nearly 19 years.
Got cancer so thought I did not want to die on the job, so retired just short of 62nd birthday, bought a Jayco 16ft Starcraft and am traveling. Sitting in Edmonton at the moment, been catching up with cousins and friends here and tablelands then head back to Brisbane for next check-up.
Going to do 10-11 week trips and if it holds off maybe do casual work and just quick trips back for check-ups.
Play it by ear and see how it goes.
Post by: phatassphairy on October 24, 2017, 11:43:14 PM
Hello everyone.... This is the wife 😁.

I can not really put into words all the things that are going through my head right now in the way of processing what we need to have done.... I am sure I will have a few sookie lala moments when we start selling off stuff....  But am I hesitant.... No bloody way....  I miss barrabarts company beyond my ability to express the depth of that truth on here.... But to say I am so pleased that we decided in a 10 Min chat... Let's do it...  Snatch the Job.
.and let's just jump neck deep into living life as walkabout Gypsies... Make the bucks when we can...  And eat sleep and drink together as often as we can.....  I truly feel blessed to be living our dream.....  In just under 7 weeks we will be celebrating our 30year anniversary.... I reckon what a smasher of a gift.... Hitting the road. 

Ps...  Can't wait for 20th of December... 
Post by: speewa158 on October 25, 2017, 06:33:50 AM
You Go Girl   Treg up & Make Dust                   :cup: :cup: :cheers:
Everybody ask yourself  , What would you do if you knew you couldn't fail  ???     
Post by: themissus on October 25, 2017, 05:03:11 PM
Hello everyone.... This is the wife 😁.

I can not really put into words all the things that are going through my head right now in the way of processing what we need to have done.... I am sure I will have a few sookie lala moments when we start selling off stuff....  But am I hesitant.... No bloody way....  I miss barrabarts company beyond my ability to express the depth of that truth on here.... But to say I am so pleased that we decided in a 10 Min chat... Let's do it...  Snatch the Job.
.and let's just jump neck deep into living life as walkabout Gypsies... Make the bucks when we can...  And eat sleep and drink together as often as we can.....  I truly feel blessed to be living our dream.....  In just under 7 weeks we will be celebrating our 30year anniversary.... I reckon what a smasher of a gift.... Hitting the road. 

You'll never look back and wonder why you didn't do it sooner!!!
There are plenty of traveling and working pages on Facebook to follow for tips and ideas.
Good luck!!
Cheers Kim
Post by: Barrabart on October 25, 2017, 09:31:44 PM
Hello everyone.... This is the wife .

Yep, can't wait.

Post by: speewa158 on October 26, 2017, 06:40:08 AM
The longest journey starts wilt the 1st step                 :cup:
Post by: Troublekitty on October 26, 2017, 08:16:28 PM
I totally get it Phairy!

Maybe we should start a "Future Vagabonds Support Group"???  Meetings starting soon in a city near you....

-TroubleKitty
Post by: Barrabart on October 28, 2017, 11:26:40 AM
Good on Ya BB, just did this end of July myself. Although not cause of my job, I liked it and was damn good at it, nearly 19 years.
Got cancer so thought I did not want to die on the job, so retired just short of 62nd birthday, bought a Jayco 16ft Starcraft and am traveling. Sitting in Edmonton at the moment, been catching up with cousins and friends here and tablelands then head back to Brisbane for next check-up.
Going to do 10-11 week trips and if it holds off maybe do casual work and just quick trips back for check-ups.
Play it by ear and see how it goes.

All the best to ya mate..... Here's to plenty of years of getting about, seeing new sights....... :cheers:
Post by: Barrabart on October 29, 2017, 01:18:45 PM
Well all, there's been a bit of a turn of events............. a fewdays after posting this thread I received a call from a bloke regarding a job offer.........
So long story short, it looks like I may be taking up an advisory gig for a 4 - 6 month Production Improvements Project. Which means I get to resign from my current employer and jump in with an engineering group who are going to be designing the required bits of kit for my current employer..... go figure.
So talk about a change of scenery, if all goes to plan I'll be finishing up this gig in PNG and going to work in down town Brisvegas, shacked up in an apartment with the Mrs, all paid for in a round about sort of way by the mob I'm resigning with.......  :cheers:

While all this is exciting, and a good offer and opportunity I'm still keen to get it over and done with and get back to the original 'hit the road and go' plan.......

But I'm thinking also, I'll see out the job in Brissy, get a few more $$ tucked away and buy a Tug & C'van down around Brissy somewhere, hopefully there will be a few more to choose from and the prices a little more competitive than up in Cairns.....

Anyway, watch this space...... And anyone who owns a Car/Caravan combo around SE Qld who wants to unload it around Jun 2018 keep me in mind....
Post by: edz on October 29, 2017, 09:43:59 PM
Great stuff BB, Just consider it a paid start to your future travels to top up the coffers a bit, how goods that.
 Plenty to see and do around the South East and across the Border  in the six months then it could be any points of the compass as to where you head off to next or not ..  :cup:
Post by: Troublekitty on October 30, 2017, 05:47:50 AM
Awesome news Barra!  Isn't it funny how those things work out sometimes.
Title: Re: Resigned - Gunna hit the road. (April Update)
Post by: Barrabart on April 23, 2018, 08:42:58 PM
G'day all,

Just reading back through this old post from last year,,,,,,,,,,,

Well a bit of an update,,, after leaving work in PNG and taking a roady through Queensland over Xmas and New Years about 20 days of aimlessly and very relaxingly driving about, staying where ever we wanted with the Mrs, then going for another holiday to Sydney over Aussie Day weekend, I decided to look for a job again as a couple of months had passed.
anyway, turns out the 1st job I applied for I got, so the Mrs and I thought we'll give this a shot, so we've moved to Chillagoe, rented ourselves a great little 2 bedroom house and are living the simple life up here, only been here a couple of weeks, but loving not having to fly out of the country to go to work and kissin' the Mrs before heading to work knowing I'll be back in 12hrs....

Our house is empty (almost) in Cairns, just got to pick up the last few things, we did try and sell it but things are slow and I'm not desperate to unload it, so in a couple of weeks we'll try renting it out.
Also sold my old "mobile skip bin" Hilux, also sold the old Cruiser Wagon, found an even older Cruiser Trayback that I couldn't resist and bought that, it's a one owner '86 HJ75 with a turbo 2H, been lovingly cared for by the same old fella it's whole life, he'd managed to rack up a whole 200k on the clock, it's got dual batteries, smart solenoid, a tipper tray, a/c, window tint, and it's clean as a whistle, perfect for travelling about these parts.......
Never did the caravan thing, sort of had too many other loose ends to tidy up, save that for another day, and I don't regret not doing it as things have turned out pretty good this way. The Brisbane job offer fell through, to which I'm glad for, as the fact of the matter was the corporate honcho's couldn't put their ego's aside long enough to make a decision, so it all fell over, wouldn't of wanted to be part of that sh1tfight anyway....... much nicer here with the sunrises and sunsets and birds chirping....

Anyway, if anyone's travelling up this way and wants some info on the current climate, weather etc, drop me a line...... might even meet up for a coldie at the Pub, it's 2 doors away!! Dangerously close :) :)

Motto to this story; Plan to not have a plan, go with flow and make the most of what presents itself. ;D

Cheers, :cheers:
Barrabart
Post by: edz on April 23, 2018, 08:49:32 PM
Follow the nose where ever it leads you, great stuff .. So long as your happy doing what ever your doing ..
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on April 23, 2018, 08:53:41 PM
Hi BB, Sounds like you have been busy and good luck to you, Then old HJ75 2H are great old 4wds. Craig
Post by: McGirr on April 23, 2018, 09:04:54 PM
G'day all,

Just reading back through this old post from last year,,,,,,,,,,,

Well a bit of an update,,, after leaving work in PNG and taking a roady through Queensland over Xmas and New Years about 20 days of aimlessly and very relaxingly driving about, staying where ever we wanted with the Mrs, then going for another holiday to Sydney over Aussie Day weekend, I decided to look for a job again as a couple of months had passed.
anyway, turns out the 1st job I applied for I got, so the Mrs and I thought we'll give this a shot, so we've moved to Chillagoe, rented ourselves a great little 2 bedroom house and are living the simple life up here, only been here a couple of weeks, but loving not having to fly out of the country to go to work and kissin' the Mrs before heading to work knowing I'll be back in 12hrs....

Our house is empty (almost) in Cairns, just got to pick up the last few things, we did try and sell it but things are slow and I'm not desperate to unload it, so in a couple of weeks we'll try renting it out.
Also sold my old "mobile skip bin" Hilux, also sold the old Cruiser Wagon, found an even older Cruiser Trayback that I couldn't resist and bought that, it's a one owner '86 HJ75 with a turbo 2H, been lovingly cared for by the same old fella it's whole life, he'd managed to rack up a whole 200k on the clock, it's got dual batteries, smart solenoid, a tipper tray, a/c, window tint, and it's clean as a whistle, perfect for travelling about these parts.......
Never did the caravan thing, sort of had too many other loose ends to tidy up, save that for another day, and I don't regret not doing it as things have turned out pretty good this way. The Brisbane job offer fell through, to which I'm glad for, as the fact of the matter was the corporate honcho's couldn't put their ego's aside long enough to make a decision, so it all fell over, wouldn't of wanted to be part of that sh1tfight anyway....... much nicer here with the sunrises and sunsets and birds chirping....

Anyway, if anyone's travelling up this way and wants some info on the current climate, weather etc, drop me a line...... might even meet up for a coldie at the Pub, it's 2 doors away!! Dangerously close :) :)

Motto to this story; Plan to not have a plan, go with flow and make the most of what presents itself. ;D

Cheers, :cheers:
Barrabart

Well done guys. A small step and you will wonder why did not try it earlier. The beginning of your adventures. :cup:

Post by: speewa158 on April 23, 2018, 09:12:30 PM
Should be up you way in about 10 weeks  , traveling through  , would like to catch up if possible . l hope your social dairy is not to crammed full     ;D                     :cheers:
Post by: Barrabart on April 23, 2018, 11:27:35 PM
Well done guys. A small step and you will wonder why did not try it earlier. The beginning of your adventures. :cup:

Thanks mate, yeah it is the start, I'm thinking we'll probably sit here for a year or two, though like I said, we don't really have any solid plans..... will see what pops up....... always open for adventure, and lucky for me I have a gypsy wife, so she's always keen for adventure, hehe.  ;)
Post by: Barrabart on April 23, 2018, 11:28:59 PM
Hi BB, Sounds like you have been busy and good luck to you, Then old HJ75 2H are great old 4wds. Craig

Thanks mate, it's been a good old tractor so far, likes these outback roads and tracks!!

City driving, not so much, hehe

Bit like me. :cheers:
Post by: Barrabart on April 23, 2018, 11:29:48 PM
Should be up you way in about 10 weeks  , traveling through  , would like to catch up if possible . l hope your social dairy is not to crammed full     ;D                     :cheers:

No worries mate, let me know when you're on your way.
Post by: duggie on April 24, 2018, 07:42:25 AM
G'day Barrabart ,

I take it from your post that you are out at Mungana , working at the mill . 
Post by: Charlie Brown on April 24, 2018, 08:50:59 AM
Barrabart, don’t forget to check out the Chilligoe caves whilst you are there.  There are a few different ones to explore and they are very interesting. Spent a bit of time there years ago.  Enjoy
Post by: Barrabart on April 24, 2018, 08:31:13 PM
G'day Barrabart ,

I take it from your post that you are out at Mungana , working at the mill .

Yep you picked it mate!!
Post by: Barrabart on April 24, 2018, 08:36:26 PM
Barrabart, don’t forget to check out the Chilligoe caves whilst you are there.  There are a few different ones to explore and they are very interesting. Spent a bit of time there years ago.  Enjoy

G'day CB,

Yeah the caves are the major attraction out here, we've been up here before when taking the kids camping etc, so we've done the caves already...... I can see though that as time goes by and friends and other family come for a visit that no doubt we'll be taking more trips through the caves at some stage.....
Looking forward though to finding other 'only local' special spots around the place, have already heard a few whispers about good fishing and camping spots amongst the locals, so am keen to get a bit more info on these places..... :cheers:
Post by: oldblade on April 24, 2018, 09:04:41 PM
What a brilliant story i s want to do the same

a few more years and we will

Post by: Barrabart on April 25, 2018, 02:53:02 AM
What a brilliant story i s want to do the same

a few more years and we will

Glad you liked it.......... good luck to you and your plans in the future years.  :cheers:
Post by: Bill on April 25, 2018, 08:21:41 AM
Love camping at Chillagoe.
Going to have to book in soon and meet up with you guys...
Post by: Bigfish on April 25, 2018, 09:37:23 AM
I,d be selling the house rather than renting...Prices are good here in Cairns at the moment and as we all know...one day the overpriced market will drop.  Also by selling you can invest your money and even better..one less worry on your plate. Too many horror stories of people trashing houses here.  Hope all goes well and you certainly cant beat country lifestyle.   :cheers:
Post by: Charlie Brown on April 25, 2018, 09:51:05 AM
Plenty of gold around Chilligoe if you are into prospecting.  Ask the locals.  Also lots of old mining areas which are interesting to explore.  Is the old general store still operating?  They used to sell everything imaginable.
Post by: speewa158 on April 25, 2018, 08:13:29 PM
I,d be selling the house rather than renting...Prices are good here in Cairns at the moment and as we all know...one day the overpriced market will drop.  Also by selling you can invest your money and even better..one less worry on your plate. Too many horror stories of people trashing houses here.  Hope all goes well and you certainly cant beat country lifestyle.   :cheers:
Rent & insure your self to the Shinserhouser for renter damage . The world can change leaving you 5hitters Ditch  as far as $ go . Rent it out & then you have a place to call home .

Just a thought  to you .                                           :cheers:
Post by: Charlie Brown on April 25, 2018, 09:57:12 PM
I agree with speewa.  Don’t sell up.  You need to remain in the property market otherwise you may never be able to buy back into it.  Ask any of the professionals, don’t take my word for it, they will give you the same advice.
Post by: alnjan on April 25, 2018, 11:06:18 PM
An Option

https://www.facebook.com/MountHart/posts/2084827158213066 (https://www.facebook.com/MountHart/posts/2084827158213066)

OPPORTUNITY - CAMPGROUND HOSTS
Mount Hart Wilderness Lodge and Campground is located in the “heart” of the King Leopold Conservation Reserve off the iconic Gibb River Road in the North West Kimberley region of Western Australia.

We are seeking Expressions of Interest from “Grey” and not so “Grey” Nomads to fill the position of “Campground Hosts” for the 2018 season which runs from mid April to mid September.

We require an active customer focussed dedicated couple with a pleasant ‘can-do” attitude to live on-site at the Campgrounds to perform the duties of “Campground Hosts”. (Tasks are normally completed in less than 2 hours daily by one person - All other tasks including checking in, bookings, payments are conducted by staff at the Lodge).
Post by: Barrabart on April 27, 2018, 09:46:24 AM
Thanks alnjan, but I'm happy with where I'm working/living now........ someone else might like it though.  :cheers:
Post by: Barrabart on April 27, 2018, 09:48:43 AM
Love camping at Chillagoe.
Going to have to book in soon and meet up with you guys...

No worries Bill, funny, everyone I've talked to and told we're moving up here have said the same..... Anyone who's been up here have loved it..... even the real city folk types we know enjoyed their stay up here, must be the laid back lifestyle......  :cheers:
Post by: Barrabart on April 27, 2018, 09:55:11 AM
Plenty of gold around Chilligoe if you are into prospecting.  Ask the locals.  Also lots of old mining areas which are interesting to explore.  Is the old general store still operating?  They used to sell everything imaginable.

G'day CB,

Always had a bit of a niggling to try a bit of prospecting, now with plenty of spare time I may have to start looking into it....... yeah mate the general store is still going, it's about 100mtrs from home...... There's a hardware shop across the road too, so what the general store don't have the hardware shop does....... the there's the pub of course. hehe
Post by: Barrabart on April 27, 2018, 10:02:38 AM
I agree with speewa.  Don’t sell up.  You need to remain in the property market otherwise you may never be able to buy back into it.  Ask any of the professionals, don’t take my word for it, they will give you the same advice.

CB, Speewah and Dicko,

Thanks for your advice..... like I said earlier, unless I get the price I'm asking for the house I'll be renting it out...... we've probably spent around $50k on it over the last few years making it how we wanted it, hence the why I'm not in any urgency to sell it, as no doubt one day we'll move back in...... As for renting, we have a good agent with proven history with other friends and family who rent there houses, also, we have a few friends of friends who have shown interest in renting our house so I reckon we'll be giving it a crack first......
Post by: trinityalyce on April 27, 2018, 12:05:40 PM
Renting vs selling is such a personal decision, no one can tell you what's right for your circumstances unless they've walked in your shoes. Good luck with whatever decision you go with moving forward. Tenants can be a real pain, or they can be fine and as reliable as the sun getting up each day. Good agents help a great deal.

Loved reading over your story thus far. I know the feeling all too well of grand plans hitting the cutting room floor, so to speak, when life changes for some unforeseen reason. Patience and determination, it'll happen. :D
Post by: Barrabart on April 28, 2018, 12:30:58 PM
Renting vs selling is such a personal decision, no one can tell you what's right for your circumstances unless they've walked in your shoes. Good luck with whatever decision you go with moving forward. Tenants can be a real pain, or they can be fine and as reliable as the sun getting up each day. Good agents help a great deal.

Loved reading over your story thus far. I know the feeling all too well of grand plans hitting the cutting room floor, so to speak, when life changes for some unforeseen reason. Patience and determination, it'll happen. :D

Thanks Trinityalyce......

Yeah hoping we get good tenants, should do as we'll be scrutinising the applications and so forth......... and yep, I do believe you always hear about the horror story's and not so many about families that have rented the same house for a decade or more, treating it as their own, planting gardens etc..... (I know of a couple of stories like this).
As for my story, we never really had grand plans, just knew we needed a change from the expat FIFO world........ we've achieved that, so we're happy as!!!

Life's what ya make it!!  ;D
Post by: Bigpickle on April 28, 2018, 10:14:24 PM
My 2 cents worth, if I may, is that you should look to do your trip asap.

In 2013, wife and I set out with our van on a 2 year odyssey around Oz. We had house sitters and a good budget and were able to do pretty well whatever we liked. We were both in our 60's but both quite healthy and active.

One of the most glaring things we noticed was the number of old folks that pulled up alongside us at various attractions (especially those that involved a bit of a walk to access the "spot"), got out of their car, walked around the car park, read the information board then got back into their car and drove away.

These people were on the trip of a lifetime but were not able to access the sites due to physical incapacity. I found it sad to talk to them about their inability to experience what they had spent time and money to see.

The crux of this post is to do it while you are young enough and fit enough to enjoy it. There is nothing worse than pulling up at Kings Canyon or Rawnsley Park and not being able to experience what you have come to see.
Post by: briann532 on April 29, 2018, 08:45:49 AM

These people were on the trip of a lifetime but were not able to access the sites due to physical incapacity. I found it sad to talk to them about their inability to experience what they had spent time and money to see.

The crux of this post is to do it while you are young enough and fit enough to enjoy it. There is nothing worse than pulling up at Kings Canyon or Rawnsley Park and not being able to experience what you have come to see.

Great advice.
Post by: glenm64 on April 29, 2018, 09:12:47 AM
Pickle is spot on.
We've always tried to get around the country but life just seemed to keep getting cluttered with things.
My big wake up call was my youngest brother who was healthy with no known medical problems dropped dead in his 40's.
Now life is far more focused on the real important things.
Family time, a simplified life and getting around this great country as much as possible.
Never been more content.