Author Topic: 2014 Red Centre Trip - Official Dates  (Read 21828 times)

2014 Red Centre Trip - Official Dates
« on: August 16, 2013, 04:24:47 PM »
The official dates for this trip will be 28th June until 14th July, 2014. - 16 days.

The gathering will be in around the Alice Springs area.

Time to lock in your annual leave :)

I will post an itinerary by the end of August which will incorporate ideas already given to me by PM and posts already made.

There is heaps to do and see around this area so it should make for an excellent trip.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2013, 12:32:38 PM by JKohn »

Offline berlitza

Re: 2014 Desert Gathering Trip - Official Dates
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2013, 04:26:53 PM »
Awesome, definitely will work harder now to get a new tug :-)

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2013, 04:32:27 PM »
As long as my son gets to climb the rock, we will be there.

Over via the Plenty and home via Big Red are our plans at this stage.

Let me know if you need a hand with any of the organising.

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2013, 04:35:16 PM »
Where in either coming via the great central road or along the bottom and up the middle if any other WA swaggers want to join us

« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2013, 04:53:50 PM »
Where in either coming via the great central road or along the bottom and up the middle if any other WA swaggers want to join us

I've driven both. I'd go the GCR.

Of course, you could do a loop....... ;D ;D

« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2013, 05:02:00 PM »
I bet this thread hits 90 pages before the gathering.

« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2013, 05:14:04 PM »
I bet this thread hits 90 pages before the gathering.

.....only 90?? I think you're safe.....

« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2013, 05:43:55 PM »

Unfortunately I have no control over that  :police:, but at the minimum he will be able to see it and touch it.  :D

Offline pajnmaj

• "We grow old if we don't go camping"
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2013, 05:50:17 PM »
Not sure if this is the thread to comment on but we will be attending in some capacity. 2 adults and 3 kids. We will be watching this thread/s with interest as we are already in the area around June/ July so we will catch up for a few nights.

We will be in our last 2 months of an 8 month trip around parts of Oz. We will be going home via the central road to Kalgoorlie.

Todd and Mel
Hi Ho, Hi Ho, Off to do more camping we go.

« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2013, 06:01:01 PM »
I've driven both. I'd go the GCR.

Of course, you could do a loop....... ;D ;D

A loop was the plan ;D

« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2013, 06:05:16 PM »

Might join you (if you are real)

« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2013, 06:10:38 PM »

Let me know if you need a hand with any of the organising.

Yeah what he said.

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2013, 06:47:21 PM »

Sounds like a plan  :cheers:
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2013, 06:53:11 PM »
I think we will be in that as well. While we have done the centre quite comprehensively we enjoyed our time out in the ranges. So we will be coming down the Tanami and then out to Willuna and back up the CSR.

2014 Desert Gathering Trip - Official Dates
« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2013, 08:45:11 PM »
What a coincidence. I have a month locked in through there at that time.

« Reply #15 on: August 16, 2013, 08:49:10 PM »
Bugga, doin Mcgirr's cape trip  :'( :'( :'( :'(

« Reply #16 on: August 16, 2013, 08:51:59 PM »
Bugga, doin Mcgirr's cape trip  :'( :'( :'( :'(
If the Dicky Knee recovers in time Old Mate ;D

« Reply #17 on: August 16, 2013, 08:57:52 PM »
I think we will be in that as well. While we have done the centre quite comprehensively we enjoyed our time out in the ranges. So we will be coming down the Tanami and then out to Willuna and back up the CSR.

Might have to take an extra month and do the CSR :D

Offline toeball

« Reply #18 on: August 16, 2013, 09:15:54 PM »
I can't commit but I'm interested, on a side note it would be great to have a "fair dinkum" traditional land owner as a guide, it may help convince my wife to take the kids out of school!!
I-zoo-zoo D-MAX and a Lifestyle Explorer + (+ more)

liney

« Reply #19 on: August 16, 2013, 10:53:19 PM »
Me & the family would be keen as this years plan to do that turned to custard with a funeral overseas. I'd be going on the Great Central as well.

« Reply #20 on: August 17, 2013, 01:13:43 PM »

Might have to take an extra month and do the CSR :D

Yea mate. I still feel a bit embarrassed we had to put you and Yogi off this year and I haven't heard from them so maybe they are already there, hope they pop in. So with that in mind I'm going to be cautious about making it a planned get together but rather what we usually do and just decide while there, sort of. I just don't want to upset any one again if our plans change or we just decide to go else where cause we love a place so much. It held us in good stead while we spent 6 Months Sydney to Broome.

Offline KieranR

« Reply #21 on: August 17, 2013, 04:57:00 PM »
Yeah, I'll come along, missus and kids will tag along as well

« Reply #22 on: August 17, 2013, 05:03:36 PM »
I'll see if I convince the boss to do another 'up the guts' trip again.

« Reply #23 on: August 17, 2013, 05:49:24 PM »
C'mon, about time you did a trip. Do I have to come over to speak to SWMBO?

« Reply #24 on: August 17, 2013, 05:52:11 PM »
Yea mate. I still feel a bit embarrassed we had to put you and Yogi off this year and I haven't heard from them so maybe they are already there, hope they pop in. So with that in mind I'm going to be cautious about making it a planned get together but rather what we usually do and just decide while there, sort of. I just don't want to upset any one again if our plans change or we just decide to go else where cause we love a place so much. It held us in good stead while we spent 6 Months Sydney to Broome.

No that's fine, I think they are in Fraser as we speak.
We will do it when someone is willing to tagalong with us. Don't really want to do it by myself especially when we get close to Lake Gregory ;D