Author Topic: Ford Exploder Mk2  (Read 7121 times)

Offline MrCruza

Ford Exploder Mk2
« on: December 03, 2015, 08:38:28 AM »
The Ford Exploder lives again..

Ford Everest catches fire during test drive
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

Offline Wazza999

Re: Ford Exploder Mk2
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2015, 09:08:45 AM »
That's a hard act to beat. Suck eggs Jeep.
NT Pajero/2007 Goldstream Crown

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2015, 09:25:48 AM »
Love your subject heading  ;D

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2015, 09:26:03 AM »
Holy whatevers!

They had one of these on TV a few weeks ago running around Moreton Island & I thought that it was a pretty good looking unit but woah!

From the photo's that was well & truly full on - as he said, if that'd been Mum with all the kids  ???

& the firies couldn't put it out?

Stay tuned for further updates on this one!

« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2015, 09:27:51 AM »
A Discovery went up similarly earlier this year. Being aluminium bodied it kept burning and melting despite the fireys efforts. Scary stuff.

Offline Ben.Archer

« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2015, 09:52:13 AM »

& the firies couldn't put it out?

Vehicle fires take a surprisingly long time to extinguish for the lay person standing on the side of the road watching their car burn. 

By the time we arrive at them usually 5 minutes + after the call most cars will be well engulfed in fire (which is why I always carry extinguishers in my 4x4 - as this allows the possibility of action before it is too late).  Almost everything in a car will burn from the seats to the tyres and produces acrid choking smoke (hence why our standard operating procedures call for the use of breathing apparatus).

The majority of fires start in the engine bay which has numerous nooks and crannies and is often liberally coated in grease, oils and other flammable liquids.

Assuming the engine bay is on fire the first task is getting into the engine bay, which isn't as easy as it sounds especially on modern vehicles especially after a front on collision when the area is engulfed in flames and the release mechanism is jammed. 

Once the bonnet is open we have far easier access to the seat of the fire and can liberally douse the flames, usually with water alone.  On some of the larger fires or those on trucks with hazardous loads with a foam solution until such time as we have cooled the vehicle enough for it not to be a risk of reigniting and allow the towies to remove it safely.

I have attended single vehicle fires before where this has required 3,000litres + of water to achieve due to the fact it was fully engulfed from the tyres through the interior to the engine bay.  Obviously by this time your little in cabin extinguisher is going to be of no use, but it can certainly help if you can get to the fire quick enough.

(Edited to make sense after my 2nd coffee had cut in)
« Last Edit: December 03, 2015, 12:43:57 PM by Ben.Archer »
2015 Land Rover Discovery 4
2000 90 Series Toyota Prado RV6
2013 MDC Off Road Step-Through V3 - Heavily modded and I am only just starting :-)
The following users thanked this post: plusnq, Fizzie

Offline sparksy

« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2015, 10:41:13 AM »

« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2015, 10:43:01 AM »

Offline sparksy

« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2015, 10:51:31 AM »
Whoops  Didnt see that post

Online GeoffA

« Reply #9 on: December 03, 2015, 11:19:41 AM »
.....didn't use a tension wrench on the wheel nuts..... :P :P

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2015, 11:22:29 AM »
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2015, 11:41:25 AM »
Morning Bruce..   ;D

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=46011.0;topicseen

Seen that but as usual did not read it.😊 thanks mate.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2015, 11:48:49 AM »
Vehicle fires take a surprisingly long time to extinguish for the lay person standing on the side of the road watching their car burn. 

By the time we arrive at them usually 5 minutes + after the call most cars will be well engulfed in fire (which is why I always carry extinguishers in my 4x4 - as this allows the possibility of action before it is too late).   

Thanks for that Ben - eye opening!

So your pretty standard 1.5kg fire bottle, either on the floor under the passenger seat, or in the boot, will hopefully give you enough time for all the family to get out & away from the car, but that's about it?

Offline Ben.Archer

« Reply #14 on: December 03, 2015, 01:07:44 PM »
So your pretty standard 1.5kg fire bottle, either on the floor under the passenger seat, or in the boot, will hopefully give you enough time for all the family to get out & away from the car, but that's about it?

Every situation is different, but if you catch it early enough they can work well,  hence why I carry so many of them (2 in car & three in camper (3KG on drawbar, 2kg in stepthrough &  kitchen)). 

However it goes without saying don't put yourself at risk trying to fight any fire, I have seen many people putting themselves at risk and it just isn't worth it .

If it gets too intense to fight move upwind to a safe distance away from traffic (other drivers are likely rubbernecking and all too frequently cause other incidents - so be careful) and the noxious smoke.  Unless you have an interesting cargo cars can but rarely do explode - certainly not Hollywood style but tyres and other components can let go pretty violently.

(Legal Disclaimer - As always this are just my observations - you will need to make your own judgements on a case by case basis as to what is the best course of action for you and those involved in any incident.)
2013 MDC Off Road Step-Through V3 - Heavily modded and I am only just starting :-)

UIZ733

« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2015, 01:43:31 PM »
The more interesting question is WHY the thing caught fire in the first place? There must be a Darwin award of some kind for this event.
If it was my vehicle, assuming myself, passengers and pets were free of the thing, I would want it well and truly burned to the ground anyway.

Offline scblack

« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2015, 03:22:35 PM »

By the time we arrive at them usually 5 minutes + after the call most cars will be well engulfed in fire
I reckon people would be very surprised how quickly fire engulfs stuff. I was a fire warden for my company a few years back and one training video was a football stadium fire in the UK. The video was 6minutes long. After the first sighting of fire, just 5minutes later the ENTIRE football stadium - 60metres long - was fully ablaze.

It was wooden, but the entire thing took just 5mins to be fully on fire.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

Offline Ben.Archer

« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2015, 04:55:08 PM »
I reckon people would be very surprised how quickly fire engulfs stuff. I was a fire warden for my company a few years back and one training video was a football stadium fire in the UK. The video was 6minutes long. After the first sighting of fire, just 5minutes later the ENTIRE football stadium - 60metres long - was fully ablaze.

It was wooden, but the entire thing took just 5mins to be fully on fire.

Yup this was one we were shown during our structure fire and CABA (breathing apparatus) training.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6iTSAwGo1Y&oref=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dv6iTSAwGo1Y&has_verified=1

« Reply #18 on: December 03, 2015, 04:59:11 PM »
I would want it well and truly burned to the ground anyway.

Then the insurance company can give you another one.

Offline lukeycat

« Reply #19 on: December 03, 2015, 05:08:26 PM »
I think about every fire training video I've ever seen (oil and gas industry) shows that video

Offline robbo1172

• I owe, I owe, it's off to work I go...
« Reply #20 on: December 03, 2015, 05:21:44 PM »
I've had to put out an electrical fire with exploding bits spewing out red hot molten copper with an extinguisher. Changed the colour of my pants...

Robbo...
Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever. - Ghandi

http://www.rockfactor.com.au

https://www.facebook.com/rockfactorduo

Offline Julian Kaye

« Reply #22 on: December 05, 2015, 06:09:59 AM »

If you can't afford a Dodge, dodge a Ford.

An oldie but a goody, although sadly, I don't think Dodges are a good comparison point any longer.

Offline Big Damo

• I work only for the holidays
« Reply #23 on: December 05, 2015, 09:05:37 PM »
Was thinking about getting an Everest
Decided on an Mux counting my lucky stars now

XR6 and Lifestyle Extenda Elite