Author Topic: What movie have you watched recently?  (Read 120394 times)

Re: What movie have you watched recently?
« Reply #200 on: June 16, 2018, 08:05:12 PM »
Invasion of the Body Snatchers ... old school :D

« Reply #201 on: June 17, 2018, 04:29:28 PM »
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.  Fantastic movie with great performance by Francis McDormand.

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #202 on: June 17, 2018, 05:18:11 PM »
Due to the weather ... and my aches n pains .
I’ve watched two moofies today
LoganLucky - pretty good worth a watch . Well connected story line , good actors ,some funny bits .
Baby Driver - different take on the bank robber style , a bit ( lot ) darker than than I expected - thought it was a kids movie  . Not really !
My other half thought it was stupid ... blah blah something ....
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

« Reply #203 on: June 19, 2018, 11:20:23 AM »
"  Law Abiding Citizen " https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LX6kVRsdXW4 good movie with an ending that sucks though ..
« Last Edit: June 19, 2018, 11:24:13 AM by edz »

« Reply #204 on: June 19, 2018, 02:13:18 PM »
Good series on Foxtel on demand, True Detective, features Woody Harrelson and Matthew Mcconaghy

« Reply #205 on: June 19, 2018, 04:32:57 PM »
If we're on the subject of cop mini series...

Can someone be kind enough to explain to me what the heck the series - (I think its on ABC Sat night is all about???)...

"A City Within a City" ...  (or something like that).

I've watched 3 episodes - (admittedly after the series had started...) ...  confused, yes..

yeeks....

And their promotions describing the show as a post dystopian nihilist drama doesn't help either !!

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #206 on: June 20, 2018, 01:20:01 PM »
Taped "Flags of our Fathers" a few weeks back & finally had a chance to watch it last night, but wish I hadn't bothered :'(

Supposed to be about planting the Flag on top of the mountain at Iwo Jima, but the fighting is probably only 5% of the movie ???

Most of it is the about the heroes touring the US afterwards & trying to adjust, together with flashbacks from now from the last survivor.

Couldn't tell you how it actually comes out ??? I'd had enough about 3/4 of the way through, so left the family to it & went to bed! >:D

I'd be very p1st off if i'd spent $20 to go to the pictures to see it though :'(

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #207 on: June 20, 2018, 04:14:21 PM »
Watched on Stan the other night...

"that's not my dog"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYPKxOQYJrQ

Bloody brilliant.

I kept telling the wife how good the music was... she pointed out that most of the bands had grey hair and bifocals...

Also started watching Altered Carbon on Netflix.

liking it... but it's... different. Take Blade Runner and add some Game of Thrones to it.

Oh and still working my way through episodes of House.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #208 on: June 20, 2018, 07:18:31 PM »
Had about 45 hours on international flights last week and in a vain attempt to reset the body clock I got through a whole bunch of movies.

This might not be all of them, but what I can remember at the moment...

I like today’s superhero flicks;
* Thor - Ragnarok.
We saw it at the cinemas with the kids, but it’s one of the funnier Marvel movies and I was still chuckling at the Kiwi humor the second time round.

* Captain America - Civil War
I missed most of this one last time the kids got it on Bigpond movies. Was good to catch up on the storyline for crossovers in the rest MCU movies.

* Black Panther
We saw this one at the cinemas with the kids too. But I had time to kill and I’m almost as big of a MCU fan as my daughter, so enjoyed watching this one again.

* Justice League
I’ve slept through every Ben Afflek movie ever made and this one was no different. But having said that, I did watch a enough to say... Mmmmmmm, Wonder Woman... ;)
Lucky DC has WW because their modern Batman and Superman are bloody terrible characters and their movies are so boring.

There was a few other non super hero movies too.

* 12 Strong
Based on a true story from Afghanistan (as much as there’s any true stories from the Yanks in wars). Interesting mix of cast members, but pretty good movie. Had my attention right through, plenty of action.

* Death wish
Bruce Willis couldn’t keep up the nice guy act for too long. Mr softly spoken nice doctor quickly turned into the rage filled Bruce out for vengeance that we know and love. While the action was as predictable as most Bruce Willis movies, there was enough twists to keep it interesting.

* The Titan
Not one of Sam Worthington’s best movies I have to say. After mankind has completely wrecked this world we need to genetically modify humans to be able to live on Saturn’s moon “Titan” (so we can wreck it too I guess). Was too many details and characters that just kind of got glossed over and made for a very shallow movie. The ending was more like a cut scene from Avatar then anything else.

* Game Night
Plenty of laughs, but completely of the top with too many plot twists. After the 3rd or 4th time it turned out the previous 20 minutes of complete chaos was actually meticulously planned by someone random, it just got too much for me. The creepy neighbor was well played though.

* Den of Thieves
Plenty of action in this one. Good characters and lots of twists and turns. Maybe a little too close to an Oceans 11 rip-off, but still worth a watch.

* Jumanji (the new one)
Not a bad sequel. Good for some light laughs, perhaps not as scary for young ones as the original Robin Williams flick, but still a good watch.

I’m sure there was a couple of other ones, but I’ve started remembering Ben Afflek being Batman and my mind has glazed over a bit right now... ;)

« Reply #209 on: June 29, 2018, 09:59:34 AM »
Anyone seen this one?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roadgames

1981 -
Roadgames (also known as Road Games) is a 1981 Australian horror-thriller film directed by Richard Franklin and starring Stacy Keach and Jamie Lee Curtis.

The film follows a truck driver traveling across Australia who, along with the help of a hitchhiker, seeks to track down a serial killer who is butchering women and dumping their dismembered bodies along desolate highways.

« Reply #210 on: July 07, 2018, 04:32:56 PM »
Operation Odessa
http://www.skipi.tv/odessa/

Fark.... you gotta love em by the end of it

« Reply #211 on: July 07, 2018, 07:30:48 PM »
Anyone seen this one?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roadgames

1981 -
Roadgames (also known as Road Games) is a 1981 Australian horror-thriller film directed by Richard Franklin and starring Stacy Keach and Jamie Lee Curtis.

The film follows a truck driver traveling across Australia who, along with the help of a hitchhiker, seeks to track down a serial killer who is butchering women and dumping their dismembered bodies along desolate highways.

Don’t remember it but it is on SBS on demand

« Reply #212 on: July 07, 2018, 09:10:27 PM »
Just finished Horrible Bosses. A bit of light hearted entertainment. That Jennifer Anniston goes alright.

« Reply #213 on: July 08, 2018, 12:03:45 AM »
Kenny    .      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfPpTeR_760     ;D

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #214 on: July 08, 2018, 07:11:49 AM »
Not a movie but I just started watching Mystery Road this morning on I view.  So far so good. Everyone was raving about it so I thought I'd have a look.
Cheers,  Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van
The following users thanked this post: edz

Offline Moggy

« Reply #215 on: July 08, 2018, 08:44:19 AM »
Not a movie but I just started watching Mystery Road this morning on I view.  So far so good. Everyone was raving about it so I thought I'd have a look.
Cheers,  Mike.
There is also a movie of same name. Same actors, same storylines, couple years old.
Yet to watch series, but movie was good. I like Aaron Pedersen, underated actor

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #216 on: July 08, 2018, 12:47:01 PM »
There is also a movie of same name. Same actors, same storylines, couple years old.
Yet to watch series, but movie was good. I like Aaron Pedersen, underated actor

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk
I thought the title sounded familiar. I remember watching the original but I think it was about a couple of girls missing or something.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

Offline gordo350

« Reply #217 on: July 08, 2018, 01:33:22 PM »
Watched a ripper on the plane coming back from Perth.  Kodachrome.  Excellent

Gordo 350
2015 Ford Ranger Super Cab
Aussie Jays Big Red
everyone is entitled to my opinion

« Reply #218 on: July 08, 2018, 03:17:26 PM »
I thought the title sounded familiar. I remember watching the original but I think it was about a couple of girls missing or something.

Mystery Road was the original movie followed by the sequel Goldstone leading into the series Mystery Road.
The characters, his family etc , evolve over all three.
Excellent series.

Offline Hookie

« Reply #219 on: July 10, 2018, 05:18:28 PM »
Also started watching Altered Carbon on Netflix.

liking it... but it's... different. Take Blade Runner and add some Game of Thrones to it.

I watched that a while back. For the first few episodes I wasn't sure if I was going to like it, but then it found its groove and the boss and I are both fans.

« Reply #220 on: July 11, 2018, 12:13:58 AM »
Just finished Horrible Bosses. A bit of light hearted entertainment. That Jennifer Anniston goes alright.
Just reminded me of on other movie I watched on that last OS trip. ;)

* We’re the Millers.
Jennifer Anniston is a stripper helping her dope dealing neighbor, a street girl and a not so sharp young guy smuggle weed from Mexico.
Was good for a laugh and the young guy’s character is a classic.

« Reply #221 on: July 28, 2018, 06:34:09 PM »
This morning I finished a project to mount the TV to the wall (thanks Scarps), ran all the cabling in the cavity and rewired the surround sound so it works from the TV. Spent the last few hours watching The Dark Knight on Netflix in surround sound with my son. First time I've watched it, Heath Ledger was outstanding.

« Reply #222 on: July 29, 2018, 12:54:15 AM »
Blade Runner 2049 ... Umm Yeah .. I was realy looking forwards to it and hoping it was going  be good, but it just didnt make it .. Disappointed . 

« Reply #223 on: July 29, 2018, 04:20:36 PM »
Its a mad mad mad mad World.

old school, but classic

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #224 on: July 29, 2018, 04:40:19 PM »
Started watching the second series of Jack Irish on Iview. I enjoyed the first one when it was out a couple of years ago so I thought I'd give this one a crack.
Cheers, Mike.