Author Topic: Do you carry a spare key camping  (Read 4390 times)

Do you carry a spare key camping
« on: March 27, 2022, 05:32:16 PM »
No, not me. I can hear the disappointment already

Camped at Merringtons,  first thing this mornin a bloke comes up from his camp and asks where to get signal to call home..  he was on the piss 3.30am threw his Pajero key in his campfire by accident..  :cup:

Then discussing what happened, he mentioned he doesnt have a spare at home, but has the code..

The car was locked and all. Somehow he managed to get the car open so has access to supplies.

As I understand it he needs his missus to go get a key cut  using some code - which she needs to find at home, then coded to the car - which requires the car which is in the campground nowhere near civilization...

When we left his mate had taken off up the mountain on a kids minibike to get phone signal and things were progressing..

Not the best weekend but brilliant weather :)

... but just a reminder to  1 - have a spare key at home, 2 if your on a trip with others, give someone else a spare and you take their spare..

Offline HKB Electronics

• www.hkbelect.com
    • HKB Electronics
Re: Do you carry a spare key camping
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2022, 05:53:15 PM »
yep, spare keys for car in camper, spare keys for camper in car. Locator tags attached to all sets of keys.
HKB Electronics, manufacturer of the Alternator Voltage Boosters
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, MrHorsepower

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2022, 06:55:31 PM »
Yep, key with super magnet attached, wrapped in black tape, and hidden in the chassis.. But I lost the last one when I had the side step replaced after a bingle with a cow. Didn't realise it til a few months later and I went to check my spare key was still there.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2022, 07:27:11 PM »
The missus carries a fob in her handbag…I carry the other fob when I use the 4wd, so we have both fobs when camping.
Keyless cars are VERY expensive to replace both fobs if lost….2 to 6K…!!

Offline boobook

« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2022, 07:35:46 PM »
I have a keyless FOB, which has a physical key inside it to manually open the doors.

I got a spare physical key cut with no FOB. That is hidden outside the car where no one will find it. That gets me in the car but wont start it.

Inside I have a FOB with the battery removed, hidden where no one will find it. That starts the car.

People would have to find 2 well hidden hidden keys to steal the car.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2022, 07:38:50 PM by boobook »
The following users thanked this post: rags, Cookie120

« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2022, 07:54:01 PM »
Had a flat fob battery whilst camping on the LWE. Fortunately had a spare.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2022, 08:31:26 PM »
Hi Bird great advise, Yep I lock myself out of my old 80 a few times a year, But for years I have a spare Key tie-wired in secret stop underneath on the chassy, craig

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2022, 09:17:08 AM »
Had a flat fob battery whilst camping on the LWE. Fortunately had a spare.

You know they will start and function almost normally without the fob battery !

You would need the physical key to open the door, but you hold the fob over the start button, depending on vehicle, a beep or a light, then press the start button as usual.
I used my 200 series for a week with a flat fob battery once.
The following users thanked this post: boobook

« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2022, 11:41:50 AM »
Hi,   Errr, not my experience with the Defender.  The fob also de-activates the security system. It will sound the horn for about ten one second beeps, crank but not fire.
There is a bypass for this, but involves a sequence of actions with the key before disconnecting the battery for a minute or so.

« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2022, 02:33:34 PM »
Hi,   Errr, not my experience with the Defender.  The fob also de-activates the security system. It will sound the horn for about ten one second beeps, crank but not fire.
There is a bypass for this, but involves a sequence of actions with the key before disconnecting the battery for a minute or so.

Have you got a start button or still need the key ?

« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2022, 07:33:32 PM »
   Normal key start.

« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2022, 09:16:07 PM »
   Normal key start.

ahh, different system !! I was referring to start button cars !!

« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2022, 02:54:16 PM »
I always make sure I have 2 working transponder keys but that might be a problem for some with older cars should they lose or have one die on them-
https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/exclusive-new-car-key-battery-laws-mean-replacing-old-sets-might-not-be-possible-will-cost-industry

If you lose both modern security keys/fobs it can cost you really big bucks with some cars requiring replacing Body Control Modules and the like along with dealer only resetting.

Having used Alchin mobile locksmiths in Adelaide a few times for replacing the son's missing spare MN Triton key (key in ignition with lock and unlock buttons on the transponder head so nothing fancy) it works like this. A remaining working key accesses the BCM or ECU security to allow both it and a new key to accept a new random code to access the car. In other words should you find the lost key it will no longer work unless all 3 keys are recoded with a new random again.  It's why you never want to play Russian Roulette with only one key or fob.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2022, 03:23:21 PM »
Quote from: prodigyrf
If you lose both modern security keys/fobs it can cost you really big bucks with some cars requiring replacing Body Control Modules and the like along with dealer only resetting.
With the security system on some Honda bikes its $1100 requiring bike to dealer, + Honda AU involved....

Do you carry a spare key camping
« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2022, 04:45:06 PM »
After reading this…for our trip to Tassie I plan to have a spare Chev key in the van and spare van keys in the Chev!

TBH I hadn’t thought about this dilemma till now!!!

Online Fizzie

« Reply #15 on: June 19, 2022, 07:42:16 AM »
Mrs & I both have car keys & a full set of van keys whenever we go away.

« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2022, 08:11:15 AM »
I carry a couple of spare CR2032 button batteries in the console.
They seem to be commonly used in lots of different remotes.

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #17 on: June 19, 2022, 11:14:37 AM »

When I had my 80 series cruiser I didn't bother to carry a spare key - short of loosing the key there was no other issue with starting the car. Now with my disco I always carry one of my spare keys while travelling in case the FOB stops working

« Reply #18 on: June 19, 2022, 12:46:52 PM »
Spare key taped and wired up under the Hurralux, only trouble is remembering where . Only needed to look for it once so far though .

« Reply #19 on: June 20, 2022, 10:54:07 PM »
With the security system on some Honda bikes its $1100 requiring bike to dealer, + Honda AU involved....

Yes some fancy cars can be dearer than that as I explained and wakey wakey in general-
https://rac.com.au/car-motoring/info/replacing-car-keys
Make sure when buying a used vehicle the vendor can demonstrate two working security keys/fobs and if only one then check the replacement cost with a dealer before haggling over the price. Can be a nasty shock for the uninitiated and a foolish temptation to run with only one.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #20 on: June 20, 2022, 11:15:55 PM »
Precious things car keys nowadays so they're worth investing in at least your mobile phone number on them as I'd certainly ring the number if I found a set so you could arrange to pick them up from me  :cup:
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/352715995674

Online Fizzie

« Reply #21 on: June 21, 2022, 07:31:57 AM »
they're worth investing in at least your mobile phone number on them

Not a bad thought!

I've got a nice shiny MySwag bottle opener on mine, so may get my number engraved on it ;D

« Reply #22 on: June 21, 2022, 08:58:16 AM »
how and where are people attaching the spare key to the underside of the vehicle?

« Reply #23 on: June 21, 2022, 10:57:25 AM »
Quote from: paceman
how and where are people attaching the spare key to the underside of the vehicle?
Not a fan of the idea, too scared of it gettin wacked by flying rocks or losing that one ... but not sure what other options there are.

Bloke in the club has his in a small metal box, and tyre wired inside the chassis rail somewhere... Hes had it there for a long time now without issue, but then again I havent asked him if hes checked its still there LOL!

Offline Rowlie

« Reply #24 on: June 21, 2022, 07:26:31 PM »
Hiding / securing / secreting a key under or on your vehicle will almost certainly compromise your claim if your vehicle is ever stolen.

Just saying!!