Author Topic: Stuck at Muttaburra with flat ignition key  (Read 4067 times)

Offline KeithB

Stuck at Muttaburra with flat ignition key
« on: October 02, 2021, 05:37:27 PM »
We are camped at Muttaburra in NW Qld on a Saturday arvo with a 2008 200 Series and the batteries in both of our ignition keys are flat. They are supposed to be 3.0-3.4 volts and ours are 2.85 and 2.65 and neither of them will talk to the car.
Can anyone offer any advice on this?
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

Re: Stuck at Muttaburra with flat ignition key
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2021, 05:41:52 PM »
Change your  batteries yearly &
ALWAYS CARRY SPARES!

Sorry couldn't help myself;(
I hope it gets sorted soon!

Ps
Aren't you supposed to get a 1 start by placing fob against the button.???

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: KeithB

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2021, 05:44:12 PM »
Wave down any travellers in a similar car and
ask if they're carrying a spare battery or borrow their fob battery!

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2021, 05:51:01 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHyqPfqyajM

Seems the battery could be a CR1632 or CR2032. Best to check before buying replacements.
CR2032 are very common. Servo's and lots of other shops probably have them.

Modern technology is wonderful....until it isn't....
« Last Edit: October 02, 2021, 07:56:50 PM by GeoffA »

Offline corndog

« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2021, 05:57:41 PM »
Some engels fridges take that battery. If you have one you might be lucky. Fridge temp might not work but you remote will. Think of what you have the uses a battery. Camera maybe. Glucose meter.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2021, 06:05:36 PM by corndog »

« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2021, 07:56:03 PM »
You don’t need batteries in the fobs to operate the 200 series.
Use the actual key in the fob to lock/unlock the car and to start it, hold the fob over the start button until it beeps then push the start button as usual.

Used a fob like this for a week once.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2021, 07:58:39 PM by gronk »
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, KeithB

« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2021, 08:29:10 PM »
I was in Muttaburra last week, how long have you been there Keith.

Offline KeithB

« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2021, 08:29:21 PM »
Turns out we have a flat starter battery as well, which has confused the diagnosis. It's on charge all night and will try again in the morning. Plus buying spare batteries. The immediate
solution was to go down to the pub with the couple in the caravan next door. That seems to have worked rather we[ll.
Many thanks
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

Offline KeithB

« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2021, 08:32:05 PM »
I was in Muttaburra last week, how long have you been there Keith.

Just arrived this arvo and staying tomorrow night.  Where are you now? Would be nice to catch up.
Keith.

« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2021, 08:43:15 PM »
I am back home now, But you are welcome to stop here if you come up to Herberton though.

Offline KeithB

« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2021, 09:33:37 PM »
John,
if we can get the beast running, our plan is to head north and then across to the Atherton before heading south. I'll PM you when we get sorted and have dates. it would be lovely to meet you.
Keith

« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2021, 09:43:41 PM »
What caused the starter to flatten?

Offline KeithB

« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2021, 10:09:59 PM »
What caused the starter to flatten?
Dunno. We'll have a look in the morning after its been charged. I suspect a crook cell or something similar. I can always jump it off the auxiliary batteries - if I can get the tailgate open to find the jumper leads.
Keith

« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2021, 10:10:50 PM »
Dunno. We'll have a look in the morning after its been charged. I suspect a crook cell or something similar. I can always jump it off the auxiliary batteries - if I can get the tailgate open to find the jumper leads.
Keith
sounds strange you only got there today and its dead.. Hope its something  simple..

« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2021, 07:19:14 AM »
Had a similar experience years ago.
Turned out to be a bad battery connection...

Another time, more recently in a different car...
Drove 200m up the street. Stopped to adjust something (forget what).
Went to restart it....computer says no....
Dead battery...

They're funny things.
How old is your start battery?
« Last Edit: October 03, 2021, 07:37:43 AM by GeoffA »

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #15 on: October 03, 2021, 07:29:34 AM »
sounds strange you only got there today and its dead.. Hope its something  simple..
Our 2019 LC started normally to take us up the road 21km. Came back from shopping 20mins later and car wouldn’t start. RACQ called and he checked voltage - 12.7. OK, he said, start it. He called out stop after 1-2 secs. He said he could smell the electrolyte where it was boiling, and the cranking amps was 68 CCA.
Basically the OE 2 year old battery was rooted. A new battery was installed by the RACQ guy.
Like all my batteries, it was always on trickle when parked in the garage.

Toyota weren’t interested, telling me that to get any sort of pro-rata warranty after the initial 12mth, I would have had to have brought the vehicle into their workshop for their technicians to test, prior to anyone else ‘interfering’ with it.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #16 on: October 03, 2021, 11:27:29 AM »
Bring back the crank handle I say

« Reply #17 on: October 03, 2021, 02:10:51 PM »
Our 2019 LC started normally to take us up the road 21km. Came back from shopping 20mins later and car wouldn’t start. RACQ called and he checked voltage - 12.7. OK, he said, start it. He called out stop after 1-2 secs. He said he could smell the electrolyte where it was boiling, and the cranking amps was 68 CCA.
Basically the OE 2 year old battery was rooted. A new battery was installed by the RACQ guy.
Like all my batteries, it was always on trickle when parked in the garage.

Toyota weren’t interested, telling me that to get any sort of pro-rata warranty after the initial 12mth, I would have had to have brought the vehicle into their workshop for their technicians to test, prior to anyone else ‘interfering’ with it.
would have been fine if it was a nissan ;)

« Reply #18 on: October 03, 2021, 03:49:20 PM »
would have been fine if it was a nissan ;)
Exactly…. No need to start them if they’re on a flatbed

« Reply #19 on: October 03, 2021, 03:53:11 PM »
Exactly…. No need to start them if they’re on a flatbed

But the fuel economy is excellent 😂😂😂

« Reply #20 on: October 03, 2021, 04:06:49 PM »
You can open the door with the key inside the fob. If the car will not start with the start button hold the fob on the dash unit just above the key and you may have some luck when you hit the start button.

I also carry 10 or more spares as they fit the tyre monitoring system

Another trick is to also make sure your tail lights are working when you put your foot on the brake. If the fuse has blown the circuit will not supply power to the start button. Dont ask me how I know and how long it took to find such a simple fault

« Reply #21 on: October 03, 2021, 04:24:59 PM »
So - its the morning.. what did you find?

« Reply #22 on: October 03, 2021, 04:46:28 PM »
.... gone back to the rubbity-dub??

Offline KeithB

« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2021, 04:13:36 PM »
Thanks everyone for your help. Our two fob key batteries were at 2.65 and 2.85 volts respectively instead of 3.0 volts. But that was not enough to cause the problem. They worked fine, both but do need new batteries.

The problem was a flat cranking battery which was down to 6 volts. I think one of us left the ignition on for several hours after we had lowered all of the windows while parked. Neither of us is owning up at this stage.

Anyhow, the night before last I put it on charge and it settled down to 12.8 volts over the next day. It started fine this morning and we have headed out of Muttaburra and are now camped at Hughenden.

Tomorrow I'll get the cranker checked as it might be buggered and see about some fob batteries.

Thanks again for all the advice.
Keith

Offline vern

« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2021, 04:47:34 PM »
But the fuel economy is excellent
It is for what it is.

Sent from my SM-A526B using Tapatalk