Author Topic: Non LED spotlight choices  (Read 6218 times)

Non LED spotlight choices
« on: January 23, 2021, 12:53:43 AM »
My Narva 225s have failed me this week, both of them cracking on the busy where the mounts are. Great light output and spread but always vibrated on anything but good roads, no matter how tight I did the adjusting bolts.

Not keen on LEDs as I don’t like the white/bluish colour they output. Do they make them in the 4000-5000k colour temp?

Had Fyrlyts previously which I wasn’t too impressed by.

Anyone still make good halogen lights?

I don’t need long range, just good spread. My narvas were both spread beam which suited me perfectly. I would get them again if they were guaranteed not to vibrate.

Re: Non LED spotlight choices
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2021, 04:47:28 AM »
Could you use something like this to brace your Narva's?

https://www.autoelec.com.au/ipf-light-stay-bars-145mm-long-spot-light-stabilis

Offline KathyL

• Ron & Kathy's Adventures
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2021, 06:08:55 AM »
Had Fyrlyts previously which I wasn’t too impressed by.
Have you tried the FyrLyt Nemesis 9000s?  My nephew who was an interstate truck driver and still does a lot of night time driving and he swears by them - he reckons they're the best driving lights he's ever had.

https://www.fyrlyt.com/fyrlyt-best-driving-lights-led-hid
2016 Toyota FJ Cruiser
2015 Ultimate Xplor GT
Travel Blog:  Not At Home Today

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2021, 06:12:18 AM »
I've got 2 sets of Hella Rallye 4000 in the shed. Both sets have had new reflectors/inserts put in them. Currently running internal HID kits but very easy to convert back to halogen. Willing to sell them and post if needed.
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

Offline vern

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2021, 07:49:05 AM »
Very surprised you didn't like the fyrlyts, you never hear a bad comment about them, unless wired incorrectly.  I'd be looking at the nemesis 9000's as well over anything on the market.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: January 23, 2021, 09:45:25 AM by vern »

Offline Gazza00

« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2021, 09:18:35 AM »
Lightforce might be another option. Offer both halogen and LED

« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2021, 10:18:36 AM »
Lightforce LED stikers are 5000k
https://www.lightforce.com/AUS/striker-professional-edition-led

Depending on where you are in Perth, my mates at Auto One in Cannington will look after you. Just say Doc sent ya...….

Or, Autopro have a good range...…..of both Halogen and LED.

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2021, 07:26:27 PM »
Geoff that is a great option. I did think of attaching a small bracket to the bull bar hoop but it never eventuated, costly mistake haha

The Fyrlyrts were the 5000 and were on the car from new so we’re on for just under 4 years when I got them. Maybe the bulbs weren’t correct or wiring was not correct, I never looked into it. I played with the beam knob thing on the back with limited success. Not sure I can justify the 9000 lights and upgraded loom cost for the amount of night driving i do.

Those lightforce look good, would like to see them working in person before committing.

I used to have a set of lightforce 240 blitz, gave them to a mate about a year ago fir helping me out. Reckon I can ask for them back haha

I’m north of the river, I’m in no rush so will swing by when I’m in the area.

Another option is the narvas again with those brackets to secure them...

« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2021, 07:54:13 PM »

« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2021, 07:20:11 AM »
These seem pretty cheap, lightforce 170 striker $223

"with a set of COMBO or SPREAD filters it is incredibly versatile creating an ideal peripheral light pattern."

Embarrassing question time! :-[

Is it just the clip on covers that alter the spread of light ???

The Terrorist came with a pair of Lightforce spotties mounted - one is a spot while the other speads out, but the spot is left while the spread is right, & I'd prefer them round the other way. Is it just a matter of swapping the covers over ???

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2021, 08:25:17 AM »
With the strikers. Grab hold of the reflector housing and rotate, use reasonable amount of force to get started. Winding in spreads the beam, winding out makes it narrow or spot. I believe that they also make a defused that you can clip on like the clear lightforce protection covers, but I have never found them needed as they can already go very wide.

Sent from me
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2021, 08:30:23 AM »
"with a set of COMBO or SPREAD filters it is incredibly versatile creating an ideal peripheral light pattern."

Embarrassing question time! :-[

Is it just the clip on covers that alter the spread of light ???

The Terrorist came with a pair of Lightforce spotties mounted - one is a spot while the other speads out, but the spot is left while the spread is right, & I'd prefer them round the other way. Is it just a matter of swapping the covers over ???
if they are like the 240s - yes just covers.

« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2021, 10:24:07 AM »
With the strikers. Grab hold of the reflector housing and rotate, use reasonable amount of force to get started. Winding in spreads the beam, winding out makes it narrow or spot. I believe that they also make a defused that you can clip on like the clear lightforce protection covers, but I have never found them needed as they can already go very wide.

if they are like the 240s - yes just covers.

Hmmm, thanks!

Will have to have a play & see which we've got! ;D

« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2021, 10:54:33 AM »

Not keen on LEDs as I don’t like the white/bluish colour they output. Do they make them in the 4000-5000k colour temp?

The answer to that question is yes, they do, being 4600k is the happy place.  ;D

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2021, 01:48:35 PM »
Get some IPF's and put HID's in them.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2021, 02:04:45 AM »
Never tried HID, the slow start up put me off but not really sure why.

I remembered I had a third pencil beam Narva light in the shed so I switched reflectors and now I have one repaired light. Seems like Narva sell the mounting bracket and housing as a spare part, just gotta find out who stocks them locally.

How I found my buggered light after about 15km or small-medium corrugations.

I saw this a couple days ago, I will probably do something similar but a bit more subtle.

Offline scrubber

« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2021, 09:15:09 AM »
I currently have 240 blitzes and have had them for about 12 years and have not had to replace a single thing on them including the globes.  The covers are due to be replaced as they are looking a bit sad but that's the great thing about the Light force cover system.  Pull the old covers off and the "lens" is largely still factory original.  No chips, scratches etc.  I run a clear on the right and a combo on the left.
I've been looking at my options for my other ute and I keep coming back to halogens.

HID - light colour too blue/white, do have a long range, slow on initial start up but fast from then on.  Can also reflect too much light off road signs.

LED - a "wall" of light but bugger all range especially compared to HID.  Colour too blue/white and washes out colour on the roadside.

Halogen - good range, warmer colour.  Better  colour difference on the road side. No delay coming on. 

For me it is a toss up between Light force again or Fyrelyte in halogen.

The key thing to consider I believe is the colour temperature.  Many lights run too cool in the temperature range which inhibits your ability to identify roadside hazards.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2021, 04:31:35 PM by scrubber »
“Some national parks have long waiting lists for camping reservations. When you have to wait a year to sleep next to a tree, something is wrong.” George Carlin

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #18 on: January 30, 2021, 07:18:52 PM »
On my work truck I run a pair of lightforce 140 strikers in spot mode, for range and colour and a Ironman 20” light bar for closer wide angle lighting. Enough light to cook the Roos in the long grass on the side of the road. Works well on long country runs, probably not so good for someone mostly in the city.
Lloyd

Sent from me

« Reply #19 on: February 05, 2021, 04:30:04 AM »
My lights on the truck I drive. Everything is LED. Nite Stalker 350 light bar with two spots.  :cup:

« Reply #20 on: February 05, 2021, 06:22:18 AM »
Jeez Foo, I wouldn't like to come round a bend, or over a hill, & meet you coming the other way with everything burning! 8)

« Reply #21 on: February 05, 2021, 06:56:39 AM »
I saw this a couple days ago, I will probably do something similar but a bit more subtle.

Anything with a separate chassis will see the bull bar and body moving relatively to each other, so I wouldn't brace the lights back to any part of the body.

« Reply #22 on: February 05, 2021, 08:19:02 AM »
Jeez Foo, I wouldn't like to come round a bend, or over a hill, & meet you coming the other way with everything burning! 8)

Singe your eyebrows for sure 😂😂😂

« Reply #23 on: February 05, 2021, 08:33:13 AM »
My lights on the truck I drive. Everything is LED. Nite Stalker 350 light bar with two spots.  :cup:

Do you find the big white "Keep Left" signs on passing lanes flare up a bit too much. They do with my LED driving lights. I usually flick them off till after I pass them

4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

Offline Champin

« Reply #24 on: February 05, 2021, 09:50:46 AM »
I saw someone somewhere selling 4500 Kelvin spotties they reckoned they didn't flare on the signs Soo much.

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk