Author Topic: 200 Series diesel has cacked its dacks  (Read 33322 times)

Offline KeithB

200 Series diesel has cacked its dacks
« on: August 14, 2020, 06:49:23 PM »
We left first thing this morning on our first proper trip with the Glamper and headed west from Sydney to Orange, planning to spend our first night at Parkes. But then, about 5km short of Orange, the engine in our 200 series with 230,000 km on it blew up.
It blew so much pale grey smoke that we thought the van had caught fire. Looks like a busted piston or turbo or something. We lost 4 litres of oil in the time it took to slow down and pull over. Had it trucked to the local Toyota Dealer and the van towed to a caravan park.
We have rented a car to see the local sights while it gets fixed. but I am consulting my grief counsellor about the possible invoice.
At least the Glamper went well.
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

Re: 200 Series diesel has cacked its dacks
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2020, 06:56:50 PM »
Well Keith, that's obviously not very good. :'(

Hope it turns out to be something less serious than the initial diagnosis.

Losing 4lt of oil is ominous, though...

The following users thanked this post: KeithB

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2020, 06:57:30 PM »
Oh dear  :'( :'( :'(
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2020, 06:59:56 PM »
Your reminding me of Job, Keith. A man of many trials.
Hope its not as $$ as it sounds.

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2020, 07:04:44 PM »
Oh no, hope all is not too bad.

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2020, 07:17:56 PM »
Ouch,your overdue some good luck. Let’s hope it’s not too pricey and a relatively quick repair.

Offline MarkVS

« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2020, 07:45:40 PM »
Not good Keith..... :-[
Enjoy the sights while you’re there and not worry about the car until you have to..
2020 Patrol Series 5
2015 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

2013,2015,2017 National Meet
Survivor 2013 McGirr Across the Gulf trip
2014 McGirr Cape trip
2016 Duggie Savannah trip
2018 McGirr Kimberley

For every situation you have 3 choices. Live with it, change it, or leave it. But only pick one

« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2020, 08:24:45 PM »
Bloody hell I reckon you ran over a black cat or smashed a few mirrors in ya life!!!!!! As above about time something went to plan for you.

Any symptoms or issues before this happened? Who did the servicing?

« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2020, 08:26:44 PM »
Oh crap, that doeznt sound good mate. Hope it isnt as bad as it sounds.

« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2020, 08:29:41 PM »
Bugga, hopefully you can sort without much pain. Maybe a visit to the Village Bakery for a pie, vanilla slice and coffee will be a bit of good medicine while you wait.

« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2020, 08:31:55 PM »
Oh man, that sucks.

« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2020, 09:39:13 PM »
Bugga , my guess would be turbo failed and is feeding oil into the cylinders . Hope all is fixed and your journey is continued .

Offline KeithB

« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2020, 10:20:46 PM »
I just wrote a long a detailed post about the whole thing and it vanished into space. Just to summarise:
The vehicle has been well maintained for the last 100,000km that I have owned it and has been serviced by a Landcruiser owner mechanic who I have used for many years with 5,000km oil and filter changes.
My wife said she heard a funny noise before the smoke came. We did have oil pressure after a 3 litre top up and no smoke under 1500rpm for the few moments that we ran it.
The local people were fantastic and way too kind for words.
Nothing will happen till Monday.
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2020, 10:49:22 PM »
One day soon you are actually going to get away and nothing is going to break/go wrong. Until then, hope this speed hump isn't anywhere near as bad as it sounds.

« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2020, 07:27:24 AM »
Can only agree with the rest of 'em, Keith - sooner or later, things are going to start going right for you!

Good luck with Monday!

« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2020, 07:44:04 AM »
Sorry to hear this KeithB. Good luck on Monday

« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2020, 10:31:59 AM »
Quote from: KeithB
. We lost 4 litres of oil in the time it took to slow down and pull over.
this bit is strange... thats a Shit load of oil to lose in that amount of time unless you were doing warp factor 12..
are you sure it hadnt lost it before? or had it serviced recently and he forgot to top it up? was there oil in the exhaust or covering the trailer?
any noises apart from what your missus heard with/before smoke? any sort of signs? loss of power?
any rattles or noises after starting again with the oil top up in it?

« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2020, 12:26:02 PM »
Not good Keith, lets hope its something easily fixed and no permanent damage ..All the best .
Turbo oil feed line or return line failure [  turbo shaft seal maybe ]  . oil filter loose and blew the  seal [ possible ] . Had an oil pump pressure releif valve jam once and blew the oil filter apart ....    Fookin Big Hole  in sump [ But you would hear thors  hammers belting away ] ..
About all I can think of that would dump that much oil that quick

« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2020, 02:37:11 PM »
  I feel for Keith and the possibility of a big bill. The engine blowing up could have happened at any time...just unfortunate that it happened whilst he was heading off on a holiday.  I,ve been nowhere (apart from 2 weeks to Gladstone for a memorial service) because of this bloody virus.   I personally would definitely not have headed off on a holiday  whilst a request had been issued to stay put. NSW are now in a bit of strife and I think all travel (non essential) should be stopped.  People are just not taking this virus seriously enough. Many southeners camped up here in Qld at the moment that definitely do not want to head home...who can blame them?   Very stressful times for all, some more than others and we just have to think of each other and not ourselves.  Keiths done nothing illegal and was doing what all of us want to do...get out and live!!

« Reply #19 on: August 15, 2020, 02:49:03 PM »
Thread tidied up to keep it on topic. Let us know how you get on Keith

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, plusnq, tryagain, sharkcaver

Offline KeithB

« Reply #20 on: August 15, 2020, 02:55:47 PM »
this bit is strange... thats a Shit load of oil to lose in that amount of time unless you were doing warp factor 12..
are you sure it hadnt lost it before? or had it serviced recently and he forgot to top it up? was there oil in the exhaust or covering the trailer?
any noises apart from what your missus heard with/before smoke? any sort of signs? loss of power?
any rattles or noises after starting again with the oil top up in it?

I am ignoring the so-called COVID experts as we have always kept well within the rules and been especially careful. We got a lot of funny looks down at the shops as we were the only ones with masks on and walked out of several stores where the social distancing was not up to scratch. We had planned to do bush camping for the entire trip.

Back to Bird's points.
The 5,000 km service was done 1000km ago and we don't burn oil between changes.
My mechanic is a Landcruiser man with his own 200 Series who has done our work for many years. He did a super big service at the end of March in expectation of our lap a few weeks later. The low mileage since then was a consequence of us staying at home.

I had put the POWER button on to gun it up some uphill overtaking lanes in S5. But it blew on a gentle downhill slope.
No oil on the van or the Stone Stomper. Just grey-white smoke and plenty of it.
After putting a few litres of oil in it had oil pressure and no smoke at under 1500rpm with no engine knocks. Mind you, we only gave it two 30 second runs before it went onto the tilt tray.
It sounds turbo related to me.
Keith

« Reply #21 on: August 15, 2020, 05:22:26 PM »
Quote from: KeithB
It sounds turbo related to me.
Keith
that would be a win i reckon.
any turbo upgrades for em :D  >:D >:D  ;D

« Reply #22 on: August 15, 2020, 06:08:10 PM »
that would be a win i reckon.
any turbo upgrades for em :D  >:D >:D  ;D

Heaps available but they dont really need them, heaps of power available as stock

The following users thanked this post: de7158

« Reply #23 on: August 15, 2020, 06:22:23 PM »
Yeah sounds turbo related . Turbos and injectors are really the only things that can usually give grief if there well maintained . Keith I live in the blue mtns , I am tied up with commitments till Thursday but after that if you need your trailer towed back or a lift let me know mate .

« Reply #24 on: August 15, 2020, 08:53:32 PM »
Heaps available but they dont really need them, heaps of power available as stock

never enough.