Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 302934 times)

Offline JusyApples

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #225 on: March 22, 2020, 05:09:57 PM »
The only winner here is the long term dole bludger.

Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

« Reply #226 on: March 22, 2020, 05:13:42 PM »

Those who are eligible are able to apply through myGov to access the funds before 1 July for the first $10,000 and have three months after this date to access more. These funds will not be taxed and will not affect Centrelink or Veterans' Affairs payments, with an expected cost to the budget of $1.2 billion.

I don't understand how it will cost the govt anything...accessing super  may not help the super funds bottom line, but the govt doesn't finance or run the super funds ?

« Reply #227 on: March 22, 2020, 05:16:05 PM »
I don't understand how it will cost the govt anything...accessing super  may not help the super funds bottom line, but the govt doesn't finance or run the super funds ?

Not paying tax to get it out

« Reply #228 on: March 22, 2020, 05:18:54 PM »

The way super has been disappearing lately they will be flat out getting much..

« Reply #229 on: March 22, 2020, 07:18:47 PM »
The only winner here is the long term dole bludger.

I'm not sure I'd call them winners but those who rely 100% on government assistance are certainly going benefit.  An extra $550 per fortnight for what, to stimulate the economy, even though all but the essentials are going to be closed?
I haven't seen the details yet but I hope pensioners are getting the same increase!

« Reply #230 on: March 22, 2020, 07:51:08 PM »
Not paying tax to get it out

Yes, but it's a tax they wouldn't get for many years to come in most cases. Don't worry, in the future, they'll get it back...and more !!

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #231 on: March 22, 2020, 09:33:41 PM »
I'm not sure I'd call them winners but those who rely 100% on government assistance are certainly going benefit.  An extra $550 per fortnight for what, to stimulate the economy, even though all but the essentials are going to be closed?
I haven't seen the details yet but I hope pensioners are getting the same increase!
Long term dole bludgers are the winners $1500 in stimulus payments and double the Centrelink payment for sitting on their ass their whole life.
While the working class taxpayer who have forked out year after year get 0

Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

« Reply #232 on: March 22, 2020, 09:47:37 PM »
The "essential" bit is the confusing part at the moment, previously, the Fed gov referred to it as including work and school, looks like the states are using it in a different context.

Looks like pubs clubs cafe's etc where people meet are a given to close. Supermarkets, doctors, pharmacies etc are a given to stay open. But there is so much grey inbetween the black and white cases that need clarity. Here in Qld we seem to have decision shy Premier, so I suspect we will follow the other eastern states but it might be about a week behind.

Looks like Scomo has bought some clarity to it tonight, he was looking a bit tired but I think he is doing pretty well on the whole, starting the national cabinet with the Premiers was a good move to de-politicise the issue, it's a different Scotty than we saw with the bushfires. They seem to be making rational decisions based on the expert advice while the media seem to be trying to whip up a frenzy.
The following users thanked this post: Spada, paceman

« Reply #233 on: March 23, 2020, 05:55:01 AM »
Looks like Scomo has bought some clarity to it tonight, he was looking a bit tired but I think he is doing pretty well on the whole, starting the national cabinet with the Premiers was a good move to de-politicise the issue, it's a different Scotty than we saw with the bushfires. They seem to be making rational decisions based on the expert advice while the media seem to be trying to whip up a frenzy.

« Reply #234 on: March 23, 2020, 06:49:09 AM »
Take $10k out today, and in years to come when you retired your $100k+++ worse off. Who picks up the short fall? 

« Reply #235 on: March 23, 2020, 08:11:30 AM »
Take $10k out today, and in years to come when you retired your $100k+++ worse off. Who picks up the short fall?

Taking $10,000 out today is probably a good thing seeing as we have lost 10% in a month.  No different to the GFC.....Super took a big whack but recovered and recovered very well.  Super is a long term strategy and will work out in the long run.

« Reply #236 on: March 23, 2020, 08:43:26 AM »
clear ya cookies and it resets, or use another browser ;)

Turns out that "incognito" works as well 8) (accept you then also get ad's included, as apparently uBlock stops working? :'()

« Reply #237 on: March 23, 2020, 08:47:15 AM »
The "essential" bit is the confusing part at the moment, previously, the Fed gov referred to it as including work and school, looks like the states are using it in a different context.

Looks like pubs clubs cafe's etc where people meet are a given to close. Supermarkets, doctors, pharmacies etc are a given to stay open. But there is so much grey inbetween the black and white cases that need clarity. Here in Qld we seem to have decision shy Premier, so I suspect we will follow the other eastern states but it might be about a week behind.

A bit trivial, I know, but one that I'm wondering about is the BGS ???

There's been lot's of comments about people staying home & working in the garden, doing odd jobs & so on, but where are they going to get the gear from ???

I know a hardware store isn't really "essential", but it's also a tradie's supply store so that would make it essential for them, but as Hairs has said, is anybody getting tradies in to do anything, & can they even come into your house to work ???

Lot's more answers needed here! ::)

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #238 on: March 23, 2020, 08:55:12 AM »
my wife is a pre-school teacher in NSW.

she suffers from very bad asthma and is diabetic.

While many have pointed out that children (for the most part), don't get very sick from the virus... (and very few die)

a lot of people are forgetting that they are nature's perfect little incubators, carriers and dispersers.

my wife is terrified of getting sick with this. But if she tells her boss that she isn't going to work... then she won't be paid. If the state or federal gov' *close* the schools (officially) then the council that employs her will pay her.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #239 on: March 23, 2020, 09:10:49 AM »
A bit trivial, I know, but one that I'm wondering about is the BGS ???

I stocked up yesterday.
A slab of beer and a visit to the BGS for a few items for projects if needed.

« Reply #240 on: March 23, 2020, 09:18:21 AM »
    This is from 2007.

Interesting list of authors.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #241 on: March 23, 2020, 09:33:34 AM »
Of more concern

Carlton & United Breweries had issued a statement on Sunday night warning of the loss of thousands of jobs in the brewing industry, as well as there being "no beer" available in Australia for at least three months if beer was not given exempt status.

« Reply #242 on: March 23, 2020, 09:34:33 AM »
Of more concern

Carlton & United Breweries had issued a statement on Sunday night warning of the loss of thousands of jobs in the brewing industry, as well as there being "no beer" available in Australia for at least three months if beer was not given exempt status.
Moonshine

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

« Reply #243 on: March 23, 2020, 09:37:28 AM »
Moonshine

how did ya go.. jump the border?

First comment on the booze thing

The immune system will really benefit from getting on the sauce.
Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow we die.

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #244 on: March 23, 2020, 09:40:03 AM »
how did ya go.. jump the border?

First comment on the booze thing

The immune system will really benefit from getting on the sauce.
Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow we die.

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Not yet. Gotta commission a big change we did over the weekend then Packing up all my gear and heading home. I'll be over the boarder by tomorrow midday.

« Reply #245 on: March 23, 2020, 09:43:42 AM »
Quote from: SJindustries
Not yet. Gotta commission a big change we did over the weekend then Packing up all my gear and heading home. I'll be over the boarder by tomorrow midday.
Where ya crossing so I can give em the heads up . :D

CTL

« Reply #246 on: March 23, 2020, 09:45:40 AM »
Essential as at 20 March.  Will change without doubt.

Offline tedota

« Reply #247 on: March 23, 2020, 10:00:20 AM »
Be interesting to see if the shopping centres themselves end up being shut just leaving the supermarket part open. Be a hundred people or more in these places all hyped up and crashing into each other with all the hoarding happening at the moment.

« Reply #248 on: March 23, 2020, 10:02:20 AM »
Where ya crossing so I can give em the heads up . :D

This reminds me of a thread a few years ago when the interstaters were coming over the border to deliver some gear

« Reply #249 on: March 23, 2020, 10:14:48 AM »

This reminds me of a thread a few years ago when the interstaters were coming over the border to deliver some gear

hahahahahahh was thinking the same LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
was the first night I met forum members out there too