Author Topic: 2022 (WAS 2021) Myswag.org National Meet 30/9-03/10/2022 Discussion Thread  (Read 45916 times)

Lady on another forum, is in Huon area in Tas, & mentioned that it was -6 there this morning!!! :o

Hope you've all got your winter woollies, especially the people heading down from up here! ;D >:D

Lady on another forum, is in Huon area in Tas, & mentioned that it was -6 there this morning!!! :o

Hope you've all got your winter woollies, especially the people heading down from up here! ;D >:D

Got our thermals ready to go  ;D

Not long now Crew....  (re-posted from the attendance Thread)..

An update.

Sites 1 - 5 at Myrtle Park have been booked.  Each site is big enough to cater for 3 or 4 campers.  These sites are nearest to the amenities block, but the furthest ones from the entrance....

Thanks to DannyG for pestering Launceston City Council to get them to open their booking system.

Camp fees for the weekend will be per CT (including a firewood levy):

1 night   $25
2 nights  $40
3 nights  $50

This is per couple.  No charge for billy lids....  Singles half price....

jillsy will let us know in a further post when she has set up a store link for payment...

The proposed weekend schedule looks like:

Friday Night BBQ (donation) delivered by Brett & Jill.
Saturday guided beach drive from Bridport to Bellingham led by Vaughan.  Vehicles will need to air down and have some form of basic recovery gear.  Vaughan will add to later.
Saturday Night DannyG has indicated that he can bring his smoker to prepare a meal.. Thinking about a $10 cover charge per member to cover costs.  others can toss up a salad...?
Sunday, Again, Vaughan has indicated that he will lead a casual cruise to the Pub in the Paddock @Pygena.  Members would then do their own evening meals.
Monday depart as you wish.

Comments on the above are welcome.

Cheers, Mace.

« Last Edit: August 14, 2022, 04:59:02 PM by Mace »

Offline VKPrado

With drives planned for the Saturday and Sunday of the event I thought I would give a small indication of what is planned and to see how everyone has their veichle set up.

Saturday- The plan is to drive from camp and head through both natural and plantion forrest on both well graded gravel roads and secondary tracks. This will lead us to the coast where a run along the beach and through some sand dunes will take place.
As long as between us all we have a good selection of recovery gear as the track off the beach can be a bit difficult if totally dry. I will ensure that the last vehicle in the convoy has a UHF so we can keep everyone together.
If anyone is not comfortable with the idea of the beach run I can give them directions where to meet us.
After the beach it is back onto the black top where we will be going through a seaside village and then a large town where fuel/ food/ car wash can be found before heading back to camp.

Sunday- Gravel roads/ tracks making our way to visit some water falls, the Pub in the Paddock  :cheers:, cheese tasting. The trip back is on farm tracks and gravel roads,

Happy to answer any questions with regards to this either before the event or around the camp fire at the event.
The following users thanked this post: Mace

   We will probably just mind the camp, the camper on the back would be too squeezy on the Bellingham track as well as me driving below convoy speeds.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

   We will probably just mind the camp, the camper on the back would be too squeezy on the Bellingham track as well as me driving below convoy speeds.

Mate, Im sure knowing this crew there will be multiple seats free in other vehicles for you and SHMBO to come along with on the day to share the adventure if you choose to leave Landy in camp.

Trips like this are not always about where you go, but who you share it with....  I think your presence would be  a great addition on the day.. Let's discuss around the campfire on Friday night.

« Last Edit: August 19, 2022, 10:27:55 PM by Mace »

. I will ensure that the last vehicle in the convoy has a UHF so we can keep everyone together.

mate we are UHF equipped.

I will go rear gunner if need be,  Ok, a Jeep, but they have never not got us home...

« Last Edit: August 19, 2022, 10:56:39 PM by Mace »

35 days to go!!!

Offline VKPrado

SO much to do with so little time.

Offline Niley

Any recommendations where we should camp up the night before boarding the SoT. Departs 930 sunday so looking to get there 730-800.

Niley
Landcruiser Prado & ?????

Any recommendations where we should camp up the night before boarding the SoT. Departs 930 sunday so looking to get there 730-800.

Niley

How big is the set up

Offline Niley

Re: 2022 (WAS 2021) Myswag.org National Meet 30/9-03/10/2022 Discussion Thread
« Reply #161 on: September 01, 2022, 09:29:06 AM »
GG,

15ft Hybrid, 7m overall including DB. Probably pull up at the Big4 in Melbourne.

Niley

« Reply #162 on: September 01, 2022, 10:47:24 AM »
Quote from: GGV8Cruza
How big is the set up

The front yard might be a tad full this year GG :D

« Reply #163 on: September 01, 2022, 12:18:38 PM »

Niley
What date?

Sent from my Pixel 6 Pro using Tapatalk

« Reply #164 on: September 01, 2022, 02:29:12 PM »
Bridport to Bellingham - YouTube vid.  Our planned Saturday excursion.

Not my vid, taken from a local  FB Group I'm on.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4bEAaSwDRE

Ill leave it to Vaughan to comment further.  Im guessing there are various routes around/thru the dunes (aka Chicken runs..)  :cheers:
« Last Edit: September 01, 2022, 02:30:44 PM by Mace »
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

Offline VKPrado

« Reply #165 on: September 01, 2022, 06:30:39 PM »
Well we have just paid for three nights, raffle tickets and a stubby holder  :cheers:

« Reply #166 on: September 01, 2022, 07:54:51 PM »
What's the good firewood in Tassie called?  Where can I get it from

« Reply #167 on: September 01, 2022, 09:08:41 PM »
   I have seen bundles of it for sale  near popular sites, but never bought it. We just collect it as needed. Anything eucalypt, not pine or wattle.

« Reply #168 on: September 02, 2022, 09:45:10 AM »
Quote from: SJindustries
Where can I get it from
https://firewoodfactory.com.au/

Offline Niley

« Reply #169 on: September 02, 2022, 02:11:26 PM »
What date?

Thanks Scott, were just going to pull up at the Big 4 for the night

« Reply #170 on: September 02, 2022, 02:42:58 PM »
Thanks Scott, were just going to pull up at the Big 4 for the night

More than welcome in Harkaway if you want, the more the merrier

Offline VKPrado

« Reply #171 on: September 09, 2022, 09:22:06 PM »
Well tomorrow (Saturday) is route checking day. Heading out to ensure the proposed Saturday route for the National Meet is clear of an trees. Also after seeing the size of Brett and Jillsy vehicle, need to ensure the scrub is cut back enough  ;D or if there are alternates  8)

The Sunday route is very much following well graded roads so no need to pre run it.

I realise that  :worthles: but don't want to give away to much of the mystery.
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

« Reply #172 on: September 10, 2022, 09:41:07 AM »
   I have seen bundles of it for sale  near popular sites, but never bought it. We just collect it as needed. Anything eucalypt, not pine or wattle.

any good locations for cutting ones own supply?

« Reply #173 on: September 11, 2022, 08:40:46 AM »
Getting closer.... ;D ;D

« Reply #174 on: September 11, 2022, 08:57:28 AM »
This time next week, getting coffee in Devonport  ;D