Author Topic: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)  (Read 158885 times)

Offline NewcastleKnight

Re: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)
« Reply #25 on: March 10, 2010, 10:41:17 AM »

A peg puller is worth its weight in gold. If they were hard to get in, they'll be harder to get out.

I made my own combination peg hammer/puller by buying a cheap carpenter's hammer and cutting off one of the "claws".  The tool can now be used to drive pegs and the single claw can lever out recalcitrant pegs.

I have seen a similiar thing to this but what they did was tape a solid tent peg on to the hammer so the crooked end faced the bottom of the hammer.  Then you can use the hammer to hit the pegs in and spin it around and have a peg puller.

Offline OffRoadDave

• If I think I can build it I will!
« Reply #26 on: March 10, 2010, 10:49:54 AM »
Another tip, take spare lynch pins for your trailer hitch if it needs them, my last trip out a stick or something popped it off, thankfully I stopped to air up otherwise I never would have noticed it missing.

Offline toad

« Reply #27 on: March 10, 2010, 11:04:08 AM »
 Try and take items that have multiple uses. I use a camp oven lid lifter as a peg puller. A shower tent doubles as a loo shelter.
The wife cooks AND cleans! :cup:
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #28 on: March 10, 2010, 11:04:58 AM »
Your a brave man Toad.!

Offline olddigger

« Reply #29 on: March 10, 2010, 12:21:27 PM »
Never mind brave, I just hope he's got private health insurance!

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #30 on: March 10, 2010, 12:38:46 PM »

A peg puller is worth its weight in gold. If they were hard to get in, they'll be harder to get out.

I made my own combination peg hammer/puller by buying a cheap carpenter's hammer and cutting off one of the "claws".  The tool can now be used to drive pegs and the single claw can lever out recalcitrant pegs.

I have seen a similiar thing to this but what they did was tape a solid tent peg on to the hammer so the crooked end faced the bottom of the hammer.  Then you can use the hammer to hit the pegs in and spin it around and have a peg puller.

I just bought this weekend the Colman tent peg hammer/remover.  Fantastic little jigger...!  Works a treat...!

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

« Reply #31 on: March 10, 2010, 12:40:53 PM »
Another tip, take spare lynch pins for your trailer hitch if it needs them, my last trip out a stick or something popped it off, thankfully I stopped to air up otherwise I never would have noticed it missing.

Also to add to this, always insure the saftey chain/s are not long enough that the tongue slides out of the hitch, cut links out until the tongue won't come out if the pin is out.

Offline Dettie

• Glamping around Oz in my Gorgeous CT
« Reply #32 on: March 10, 2010, 12:44:55 PM »
The good old daggy but worthy 'Stable table' from K-Mart works for us at meal time or working on a laptop. Very comfy :)

Dettie

Offline toad

« Reply #33 on: March 10, 2010, 01:27:37 PM »
The good old daggy but worthy 'Stable table' from K-Mart works for us at meal time or working on a laptop. Very comfy :)

Dettie
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

« Reply #34 on: March 10, 2010, 01:52:22 PM »
Try and take items that have multiple uses.
The wife cooks AND cleans! :cup:

And you thought I had a death Wish

Offline kranky al

• theeee winaaaaaaar
« Reply #35 on: March 10, 2010, 01:52:41 PM »

Also to add to this, always insure the saftey chain/s are not long enough that the tongue slides out of the hitch, cut links out until the tongue won't come out if the pin is out.

baz - does this allow full articulation of the ct without binding the chains? - i just had a look at mine and couldnt see how that would work when the trailer was going on a steep downhill when the 4by was on a steep uphill - or if they were rolled at 20 degrees on opposite angles

/
_________/
if nissan made a prop plane using the zd30 - would you fly in it?

if fishing were easy it would be called "your mum"

www.pixelpac.com.au

« Reply #36 on: March 10, 2010, 02:11:30 PM »
When setting up 1st detatch camper from tow buggy and send the other 1\2 with all the kids in to town or exploring it is easier for 1 person to set up rather than trying to set up and entertain the kids at the same time , beer o'clock comes alot quicker . Also spray and wipe in the trigger bottle works a treat with greasy , dirty hads no need for water it wipes off with a towel , I leave a bottle in car incase of repairs on the side of road and 1 bottle in camper .

« Reply #37 on: March 10, 2010, 02:57:17 PM »
Always keep a spray bottle with water in it and give the zips, the main big zip a quick spray when setting up and then packing up. You'll find the zip slides really well like this and dries with no after effects such as WD40 etc that collect dust. I also use a small tent peg to help zip and un zip the tarp. Makes it easier to pull it around the corners

Offline rossow

« Reply #38 on: March 10, 2010, 03:23:47 PM »
Fishfinder,
I'd have to disagree with you on that one.
We give the Kids jobs to do.
5 and 3.  Their jobs include.

Setting up the folding table and chairs.
Get poles out of pole box for us and put them back when we pack up.  (usually one at a time... keeps em busy)
Roll ropes up. fetch pegs etc... All the small jobs and it really does help.

We had to pack up last trip without them as they were off playing with their cousins, and I really noticed not having my pole picker-upa-rer.  I reckon it added time to the packup cause they wernt doing their jobs.

It also gives them some ownership of the holiday!  my 2 c anyway!

Rossow.

Offline V8100

« Reply #39 on: March 10, 2010, 04:33:20 PM »
if I have been camping om the coast I always spray poles with wd 40 as I pack up.

eddy
2010 Navara d22(gone)
2004 jayco swan
2003 V8 cruiser

Offline idlegossip

« Reply #40 on: March 10, 2010, 04:39:49 PM »
A couple of tips from us:

When we pull up, our first rule for the kids is to go and pick up as much firewood as they can while we set up the camper.

Always put the hitch pin somewhere were you will remember where it is once you have packed up and ready to connect to the vehicle, instead of scratching your head for 1/2 an hour wondering where you put it. :-[ :-[ :-[

Offline bja

« Reply #41 on: March 10, 2010, 04:48:01 PM »
No matter how calm the weather is when you set up , what the forcast says and even if only for one night PUT THE GUY ROPES ON THE ANNEX

As George W Bush said

"There's an old saying in Tennessee — I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee — that says, fool me once, shame on — shame on you. Fool me — you can't get fooled again."

« Reply #42 on: March 10, 2010, 06:31:48 PM »
Toad, which hospital can we visit you in?

Offline Myfault

« Reply #43 on: March 10, 2010, 08:31:48 PM »
I find that if I do a local trip it is easier to leave in the morning, set up myself and then have everyone arrive in the afternoon. 
This way it is one big 'myfault' when they arrive, instead of a dozen 'myfaults' as I obviously have no idea what I am doing when setting up.

Offline ART by MICKEY

« Reply #44 on: March 10, 2010, 08:41:26 PM »
If the mozzies are bad, hang a couple of those mozzie rubber personal bands to the screen, so everytime you go into the camper and out the mozzies don't follow you. Not anything riveting, but just a helpful thought.
Mickey
Mickey

Offline nick 08

« Reply #45 on: March 10, 2010, 08:59:55 PM »
We use some cheap solar garden lights (Bunnings $15-$20) around camp great for seeing in the middle of the night and finding the way up the dunes to the toilet when you have had to many :cheers: and lost your torch
08 Triton GLX R with all the gear
Trackabout Deluxe tourer camper

Offline ART by MICKEY

« Reply #46 on: March 10, 2010, 09:10:21 PM »
Yes the solar lights are a great idea..We use them also...
Mickey

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #47 on: March 10, 2010, 09:48:34 PM »
+ 2 on the solar lights at the edges of the tent and guy ropes.

They also come in handy when you have a bunch of kids and want to play storm the castle in the dark...they have to "storm the solar light" instead!  ;D

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

Macleod

« Reply #48 on: March 10, 2010, 10:14:00 PM »
My tip - buy 1 or 2 of those fold up buckets.  We have a small one we keep with water in with a bit of liquid soap to wash our hands during the day.  It was also used by the other half at Xmas to keep his yabbies in so I had to buy another .... it too got used for bait (but I did reclaim it to do some clothes washing!).  They fold up flat and come in a number of different sizes and are very handy & versatile!

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #49 on: March 11, 2010, 07:52:42 AM »
Always keep a spray bottle with water in it and give the zips, the main big zip a quick spray when setting up and then packing up. You'll find the zip slides really well like this and dries with no after effects such as WD40 etc that collect dust. I also use a small tent peg to help zip and un zip the tarp. Makes it easier to pull it around the corners

GREAT Idea...!  I must try this one next time.  Not that our zips are hard to use but occasionally when putting up the annex walls, the first bit seems to bind up.  Thanks...!!!

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com