Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 515481 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2725 on: August 10, 2021, 09:10:13 PM »
The XU-1 Torana auction record has been smashed again
Purr Pull GTR XU-1 LJ Torana headlines a mammoth auction for Burns & Co, selling for over $300,000

https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/lj-torana-gtr-xu-1-auction-record-broken-again

« Reply #2726 on: August 11, 2021, 03:39:59 AM »
With the buyers extra costs tacked on, ya looking at around the $380,000 region.
Then there is the cost of getting it home..... i'd drive it myself, but many would transport it.

Then there is insurance premiums, rego of course, if ya going to use it.

You'd really want a Car-coon for it to live in.
Home security would wanna be good.

It just doesn't stop.

3 nice driver quality cars at @ $50,000 each and drive the friggin wheels off 'em.

« Reply #2727 on: August 11, 2021, 07:16:28 AM »
I reckon LC/LJ Torana's look odd now....too long for their width, or too narrow for their length....not sure which.

« Reply #2728 on: August 11, 2021, 02:57:27 PM »
Quote from: GeoffA
I reckon LC/LJ Torana's look odd now....too long for their width, or too narrow for their length....not sure which.

I'll take yours then.

« Reply #2729 on: August 11, 2021, 03:44:47 PM »

Compared to newer cars they are horrible to drive, small inside, but cool for a pose car….and worth a lot of money.

« Reply #2730 on: August 12, 2021, 09:46:16 AM »
I'll take yours then.

FIL law had a 4 door LJ in the late '70's. A 173 & auto. A very clean example.

He got rid of after the flexible coupling in the steering let go and he went straight through a roundabout... :o

« Reply #2731 on: August 12, 2021, 09:49:22 AM »
Quote from: GeoffA

He got rid of after the flexible coupling in the steering let go and he went straight through a roundabout... :o
I'd still take it..

They were everywhere at one point like HQ's!

« Reply #2732 on: August 12, 2021, 10:14:31 AM »

Do you know, how badly rooted that coupler would have been to fail that bad?  ???

It would've wandered all over the place farmer  Brown's cows.

« Reply #2733 on: August 12, 2021, 10:36:03 AM »
From memory, one of the pins fell out....

« Reply #2734 on: August 12, 2021, 10:42:23 AM »
From memory, one of the pins fell out....

That wouldn't help.  :D

« Reply #2735 on: August 12, 2021, 12:31:47 PM »
Loved my LJ, had a lot of fun in that car.
Got rid of the column shift and pot an opal four on the floor in it.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

« Reply #2736 on: August 12, 2021, 04:36:56 PM »
Atleast the LC / LJ Torana's wernt as bad, length x width wise and had better handling than the  same era  V6 Ford Capri ..
Bought a V6 GT Capri for the missus to punt around  and run the rego off of, till I was ready to strip the motor and box out to go into my Escort .. Bloody terrible handling, Brakes were hopeless,  went from understeer to oversteer in the blink of an eye and want to throw its arse out .. Compared to the precise handling of the Escort .

Offline DandyD

« Reply #2737 on: August 15, 2021, 06:18:12 AM »
I see this quite often on my way to work. According to the DVLA website, it’s a 1935 Austin. Presumably, with a woody shooting brake conversion some time in the past.

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #2738 on: August 15, 2021, 06:01:05 PM »
That’s pretty cool (got a pohme car😂😂)
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #2739 on: August 16, 2021, 08:45:34 AM »

« Reply #2740 on: August 16, 2021, 09:17:11 AM »
Here you go, it may be worth it after all, Jeeps! ;D

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-08-15/classic-cars-make-good-retirement-fund/100373818

There's a bit of a Catch-22 that can occur, though.
A mate has had his A9X since he was early 20s and has done up a couple more, over his life. He retired last year and as these cars are classed as assets, his pension is affected mightily. Yes, he could sell them, but as he likes to show them and have the occasional run around Lakeside circuit with them, there's not much he can do.

You wouldn't call him 'Filthy Rich' either!

« Reply #2741 on: August 16, 2021, 09:27:08 AM »
Quote from: Steffo
He retired last year and as these cars are classed as assets, his pension is affected mightily.

Wonder how many car collectors know that...

Offline Traveller

« Reply #2742 on: August 18, 2021, 01:42:10 PM »
The XU-1 Torana auction record has been smashed again
Purr Pull GTR XU-1 LJ Torana headlines a mammoth auction for Burns & Co, selling for over $300,000

https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/lj-torana-gtr-xu-1-auction-record-broken-again

I used to own one just the same as this one, had it from new. Came with cross plys from the factory (absolutely lethal), window washers that you had to pump to get any water, no radio, and the top of the doors used to start to flap at anything over 90mph. The speedo stopped at 120mph and I had the needle halfway across the odometer a couple of times. Absolutely loved it.

Not long after the XU-1 a mate picked up a Bathurst 327 Monaro for about $1400. We flogged that thing on track days, both tar and gravel. Of course we sold them both for next to nothing. Hindsight really hurts sometimes.
The following users thanked this post: Bird

Offline camdyson

« Reply #2743 on: August 18, 2021, 02:18:49 PM »
My first car was an LJ 202 coupe around 1984. Lost my licence 10 days later. Didn't even have the actual licence yet, had to show Mr Plod a receipt..... ;D :cup:
Set your chickens free

« Reply #2744 on: August 23, 2021, 08:46:20 PM »

« Reply #2745 on: August 24, 2021, 04:25:30 AM »
Those J-Zed heads are an art form for red motors to make power.

Originally developed by Joe Zullo.... hence J-Zed.
Can't remember who owns the heads these days, but the J-Zed business changed hands a few years back now.

Offline l0ckym

« Reply #2746 on: August 24, 2021, 08:18:54 AM »
I bought a Nissan Skyline GTR in 2016 - when they were still cheap.
Its 26 years old now - riding the bubble, and see what happens.
Rapidly approaching old car status..
2005 Nissan X-Trail ST
2008 Mountain Trail Camper

Offline warrenm

« Reply #2747 on: August 25, 2021, 08:33:11 AM »
Those J-Zed heads are an art form for red motors to make power.

Originally developed by Joe Zullo.... hence J-Zed.
Can't remember who owns the heads these days, but the J-Zed business changed hands a few years back now.
Originally made by Duggan, Joe Zullo  bought the rights to the Duggan head & produced under J-Zed brand.

« Reply #2748 on: August 25, 2021, 01:41:42 PM »
Originally made by Duggan, Joe Zullo  bought the rights to the Duggan head & produced under J-Zed brand.

Yeah, i'd forgotten that bit..... he did too.

« Reply #2749 on: August 25, 2021, 04:06:02 PM »
Should have tried to redo the Dunstan Rotary Valve head again with the modern materials / ceramics etc http://www.thegreymotor.com/2014/08/dunston-rotary-valve-head.html    Remember many many years ago seeing a bit of vintage footage with sound of one fitted into race boat on some documentory show..
« Last Edit: August 25, 2021, 04:13:15 PM by edz »