Author Topic: Batten Down the Hatches Qld  (Read 82398 times)

Re: Batten Down the Hatches Qld
« Reply #425 on: February 23, 2022, 08:27:26 AM »
My brother has the flood at his front door in Goomboorian. Still rising at the moment.

« Reply #426 on: February 23, 2022, 09:00:54 AM »
Here is a photo he sent.

« Reply #427 on: February 23, 2022, 09:46:06 AM »
Here is a photo he sent.
how far normally is he away from the river?

« Reply #428 on: February 23, 2022, 09:59:21 AM »
I can see why the horse has a long face. I hope they stay dry, I can’t imagine the angst watching waters flood your premises and there’s nothing you can do about it.

« Reply #429 on: February 23, 2022, 10:48:17 AM »
how far normally is he away from the river?

150 metres. It’s up at the 100 year level.

« Reply #430 on: February 23, 2022, 11:04:34 AM »
150 metres. It’s up at the 100 year level.

They’ve copped a flogging this year. Just read a news report, one dead and ten missing and already numerous swift water rescues where people continue to drive thru floodwaters.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2022, 11:10:20 AM by Pottsy »

« Reply #431 on: February 25, 2022, 07:28:56 AM »
Getting a nice drink out there this morning, Jeeps ???

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR663.shtml#skip

Hope all the Swaggers on the Sunny Coast & South Burnett areas are all OK as well ???

« Reply #432 on: February 25, 2022, 01:29:09 PM »
You got your water wings on, Jeeps ??? :-\

http://www.bom.gov.au/qld/warnings/flood/lower-brisbane-and-bremer-rivers.shtml

https://www.facebook.com/SevereWeatherAustralia/

" A 5 metre rise in water levels has been recorded in the last 45 minutes at Sandy Creek Road Alert at Sandy Creek.  This is in addition to a level of 9 metres being recorded at Helidon.
Sandy Creek recorded a 3 metre spike in water levels in the 10 minutes between 11:55am and 12:05pm."

The following users thanked this post: kmcrosby78

« Reply #433 on: February 25, 2022, 02:53:32 PM »

He hasn't been online for a week....
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #434 on: February 25, 2022, 04:23:27 PM »

http://www.bom.gov.au/qld/warnings/flood/lower-brisbane-and-bremer-rivers.shtml

https://www.facebook.com/SevereWeatherAustralia/

" A 5 metre rise in water levels has been recorded in the last 45 minutes at Sandy Creek Road Alert at Sandy Creek.  This is in addition to a level of 9 metres being recorded at Helidon.
Sandy Creek recorded a 3 metre spike in water levels in the 10 minutes between 11:55am and 12:05pm."

His property is high, but not dry ie he is currently flooded in but is confident that his property will not go under.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #435 on: February 25, 2022, 07:29:25 PM »
Ya know a flood is on when,
Local cattlemen move their stock.
This arvo they moved their cattle to higher ground.
Our ferry stop operating yesterday arvo, river height gauges throughout the Clarence Valley and catchments have risen, with more predicted falls, there will be many road closures.
It's part of living in The Clarence Valley.
:)

« Reply #436 on: February 25, 2022, 08:02:18 PM »
Ya know a flood is on when,
Local cattlemen move their stock.
This arvo they moved their cattle to higher ground.
Our ferry stop operating yesterday arvo, river height gauges throughout the Clarence Valley and catchments have risen, with more predicted falls, there will be many road closures.
It's part of living in The Clarence Valley.
:)
ya need to move to Clarence Heights :)

« Reply #437 on: February 26, 2022, 06:14:08 AM »
ya need to move to Clarence Heights :)
We are living the dream in Lawrence Heights.;)
96 on Woodford Island we went through a big flood, I said to Fysh, never again, so we bought here high up on the hill.
Floods are just a part of life here, :)
Roads get cut, most people prepare well.

« Reply #438 on: February 26, 2022, 06:17:58 AM »
His property is high, but not dry ie he is currently flooded in but is confident that his property will not go under.

Yep..... we're going great.

we've now had 365mm in 36 hours, but most of it in 24 hours.

Well over 400mm for the week and no flooding and don't expect o either.

Pretty wild weather/rainfall.

« Reply #439 on: February 26, 2022, 07:22:37 AM »
Good to hear!

How about you, Beemer ???

& you as well, Pete ???

Brissie itself is well & truly copping it atm with 200-300mm overnight! :o

Looks like it may be our turn down here later today ???

Stay safe everybody!

The following users thanked this post: bmwfreak

« Reply #440 on: February 26, 2022, 08:40:40 AM »
Yep..... we're going great.

we've now had 365mm in 36 hours, but most of it in 24 hours.

Well over 400mm for the week and no flooding and don't expect o either.

Pretty wild weather/rainfall.

That's good.   :)

Keep an eye open around your area for a white Triton ute with a short canopy and green tatchet strap on top. Some lowlife bottom dwelling maggots stole it in the early hours of Thursday morning.  >:( >:(

« Reply #441 on: February 26, 2022, 09:02:00 AM »
Your truck get pinched?

THIS IS 2011.... NOT TODAY.
Our place and Wivenhoe with the water all the way to the top.

That's our place at the tip of the pen. The lagoon is the lower/right portion of the photo, with Atkinson's dam behind us in the top of the photo. That's a SEQ Water channel right beside us that connects the two. TODAY....The gates on the lagoon are open and its running hard, Atkinson's dam is at 70% and will be full this afternoon, but has a natural spill, so can't back onto us. You can see in the photo, the area i call the black forest and when i say, we back onto Atkinson's dam, i mean, we back onto it.

« Reply #442 on: February 26, 2022, 09:49:17 AM »
I've often wondered why they dont pipe line the flood waters out west... yes ti would cost Shit loads but its better than wasting it... once its done it would pay for itself for drought ravaged places in central..

If you were hoping the wet weather might finally be on the way out, we have some bad news. Meteorologists have said it could be soggy until April.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2022, 09:54:31 AM by Bird »

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #443 on: February 26, 2022, 10:04:16 AM »
Hi Fizzie

We aren’t getting anywhere near the numbers that are falling closer to the coast. Yesterday was a big one, relatively speaking, with 86mm falling. East and south Nanango have both gone under to some extent, but nothing too severe yet. We live on a hill, so will never be impacted by anything less than Noah proportions😂, thanks for asking🙂
« Last Edit: February 26, 2022, 10:13:04 AM by bmwfreak »
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #444 on: February 26, 2022, 11:22:49 AM »
Watched the live higgins site thing this morning. (just a little while ago)

It would seem, we have the potential for a further 500 to 700mm yet to come.

Shit is getting serious now too, had to postpone the roll cage in the Zephyr because the ground is too wet to get it out.

« Reply #445 on: February 26, 2022, 12:25:02 PM »
A few photos of our block with the South Pine in flood, currently around 2 metres below the workshop floor level which if the surveyors got it righ is 450mm above 100 year flood level.
Edit buggered if I know why the 2 photos turned sideways, will see if I can fix later.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2022, 12:35:46 PM by rags »

« Reply #446 on: February 26, 2022, 01:43:02 PM »
Ha ha ha.... this is pretty rare.
The flat footed, blonde crested, yellow coated, short arsed, Norwegian duck.
So very rare to see one in the wild in Australia.

« Reply #447 on: February 26, 2022, 02:06:16 PM »
Jeez, a raincoat!!! :o :o :o

Now you're really gonna cop it! >:D

« Reply #448 on: February 26, 2022, 03:35:34 PM »
Not as much as the Sunny Coast by a long shot, but 446mm here in 48 hours and if you include the 60 we got early in the week, we've cracked in so far for a whopping 506mm of rain.
AND NO FLOODING.....yet.
Out here, around an even 1,000 to 1,200 would cover the whole year.

« Reply #449 on: February 26, 2022, 04:10:02 PM »
Your truck get pinched?

THIS IS 2011.... NOT TODAY.
Our place and Wivenhoe with the water all the way to the top.

That's our place at the tip of the pen. The lagoon is the lower/right portion of the photo, with Atkinson's dam behind us in the top of the photo. That's a SEQ Water channel right beside us that connects the two. TODAY....The gates on the lagoon are open and its running hard, Atkinson's dam is at 70% and will be full this afternoon, but has a natural spill, so can't back onto us. You can see in the photo, the area i call the black forest and when i say, we back onto Atkinson's dam, i mean, we back onto it.

No, my ute, the maggots drove through the fence.  >:( >:(

Don't know why, the pics are pixelated here now.  ???

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

« Last Edit: February 26, 2022, 04:11:33 PM by Foo »