Author Topic: Last Taxi To Darwin  (Read 13017 times)

Last Taxi To Darwin
« on: August 06, 2015, 12:56:52 PM »
Just came back from seeing the new Aussie movie, ‘Last Taxi To Darwin’.  What a brilliant movie.  Great Australian scenery and I am sure all travellers will recognise the locations and iconic pubs.  Another superb performance by Michael Caton as well from all the actors/actresses.  Do yourself a favour, go see it at the movies!  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:   Kevin
The following users thanked this post: DaveR

Re: Last Taxi To Darwin
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2015, 01:31:21 PM »
How much was the fare ???   ;D

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2015, 01:54:48 PM »
yea heard a review on this last night on SEN .. sounds awesome..
Then I reckon Michael Caton is very underrated actor...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdzkJL37db8
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/entertainment/movies/review-last-cab-to-darwin-starring-michael-caton-warms-the-heart/story-fni0bv7o-1227471254147

On at the Dromana Drive in  -> http://www.drivein.net.au/index.htm
« Last Edit: August 06, 2015, 02:10:06 PM by Bird »

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2015, 02:14:16 PM »
Just came back from seeing the new Aussie movie, ‘Last Taxi To Darwin’.  What a brilliant movie.  Great Australian scenery and I am sure all travellers will recognise the locations and iconic pubs.  Another superb performance by Michael Caton as well from all the actors/actresses.  Do yourself a favour, go see it at the movies!  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:   Kevin

Yup the old staple, the Daly Waters Hotel makes it in there.
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2015, 04:38:14 PM »
Are the following used more than once;

Sheila, strewth, flamin heck, coldie, clacker, shazza, nipper or 'on me pat malone'?

:D

« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2015, 05:40:16 PM »
Are the following used more than once;

Sheila, strewth, flamin heck, coldie, clacker, shazza, nipper or 'on me pat malone'?

:D
you forgot... Drier then a dead dingos donga.... in that lot also  ;D

« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2015, 05:41:23 PM »

« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2016, 10:59:32 AM »
Forgot about this.. would still love to see it..

Love Michael Catons acting.

Wonder if its on DVD or available anywhere

http://www.lastcab.com.au/lastcab.com.au/Home.html

« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2016, 11:07:28 AM »
Forgot about this.. would still love to see it..

Love Michael Catons acting.

Wonder if its on DVD or available anywhere

http://www.lastcab.com.au/lastcab.com.au/Home.html

Got it on DVD bruce

« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2016, 11:11:11 AM »
Got it on DVD bruce
I'll have a copy thanks :D I mean can I keep that offsite storage copy for you at my place?

« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2016, 11:15:58 AM »
I'll lend you the DVD. :D But you'll have to wait till I'm back from interstate. (4 months)

Offline stevem

• SKM Design
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2016, 11:28:21 AM »
Brillient movie - took the missus and kids plus my parents to see it at the movies. Brought my old man a copy for chrissy... and unbeknown to me they got me a copy for chrissy for me too :)

One of those flicks like Red Dog, The Castle etc that are great Aussie flicks you watch over an dover and not tire of seeing.

« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2016, 11:39:52 AM »
Brillient movie - took the missus and kids plus my parents to see it at the movies. Brought my old man a copy for chrissy... and unbeknown to me they got me a copy for chrissy for me too :)

One of those flicks like Red Dog, The Castle etc that are great Aussie flicks you watch over an dover and not tire of seeing.
:cup: :cup: some good movies there too.. :)
yea that's how I read it.. not one bad review

Watched Sunday too far Away few days ago.. another awesome Jack Thompson movie.0
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0073765/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2016, 11:52:51 AM »
Yep, Michael Caton, "Brilliant" Still watch re runs of "The Castle" and "Strange Bedfellows" with Paul Hogan. Two of my favourite old classics. Will look foward to seeing this new one. :cup:

Offline cetacean

« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2016, 04:13:31 PM »
Great Aussie Movie, plenty of familiar places en route :cup:
Mazda BT50, Trakmaster Sturt X-- Country, Stacer 369 Seasprite

« Reply #15 on: February 24, 2016, 04:34:09 PM »
Watched Sunday too far Away few days ago.. another awesome Jack Thompson movie.0

Yep...excellent fillum... :cup: :cup:

The shearer's wife's lament....."Friday too tired, Saturday too drunk, Sunday too far away....."

Enjoyed Last Taxi as well.

Offline Moggy

« Reply #16 on: February 24, 2016, 04:48:32 PM »
Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr the internet is your friend for this movie

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2016, 06:54:42 PM »
Saw it when it came out then bought the DVD  for the beater half, great movie
The pommie nurse was quite cute too :angel:

« Reply #18 on: February 25, 2016, 09:14:15 AM »
Saw it when it came out then bought the DVD  for the beater half, great movie
The pommie nurse was quite cute too :angel:
This one?

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #19 on: February 25, 2016, 09:16:31 AM »
Yep, a great Aussie movie. I've got it on DVD too.

Unfortunately, and rather ironically, the lead actress in this movie was refused a ride in several taxis in Sydney because she was an Aborigine
http://www.abc.net.au/triplej/programs/hack/secret-river-taxi-discrimination/7140958
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #20 on: February 29, 2016, 06:52:01 PM »
Fun little movie and available on Foxtel Movies on demand until Weds 2nd March
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

« Reply #21 on: January 14, 2017, 09:20:02 PM »
Quote from: stevem
So has anyone seen the new "Red Dog" movie???
Thoughts?

« Reply #22 on: January 14, 2017, 11:23:28 PM »
Yep, a great Aussie movie. I've got it on DVD too.

Unfortunately, and rather ironically, the lead actress in this movie was refused a ride in several taxis in Sydney because she was an Aborigine
http://www.abc.net.au/triplej/programs/hack/secret-river-taxi-discrimination/7140958

Funny can't imagine too many dinky Di Tru blue taxi drivers in Sydney!

« Reply #23 on: January 14, 2017, 11:24:22 PM »
Thoughts?

Was going to last evening but the 44c put me off.

Offline xvprado

« Reply #24 on: January 15, 2017, 06:10:04 AM »
Thoughts?

Yep, first rate, very different to the first, but ties together a great story....and a few life lessons that are worthwhile
Highly recommended

Take a tissue.....for the boss of course
Glen
Hawkesbury Valley, Sydderney
2015 200 TD VX & Mountain Trail LXV4.7