Author Topic: Camping must haves  (Read 7532 times)

Offline Alana.Gordon

Camping must haves
« on: October 06, 2014, 04:02:03 PM »
Looking for everyone's ideas on those camping must haves
The things that mKe camping just that ill bit easier
Can't wait to hear everyone's must haves

Offline mr smith

Re: Camping must haves
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2014, 04:18:47 PM »
My led lights 5m roll from china $8
WeeberQ
My bushman fridge

Offline Streetkid

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 04:23:41 PM »
Beer
Happy Customline owner

Offline kalex

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2014, 04:32:11 PM »
Fridge for cold beer, chainsaw for hot food.

Offline staghornflat

« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2014, 04:39:30 PM »
A fire

And good company
2017 200 Cruiser
2010 KK limited edition

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2014, 05:03:13 PM »
The family!

« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2014, 05:05:02 PM »
Beer , camp fire , chair
pencil & paper to write down all the stuff you should have bout along to make things better
did l mention Beer , campfire , chair               :cheers:

« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2014, 05:06:07 PM »
Just to confirm  Beer . 1 of my better ideas  :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2014, 05:25:14 PM »
Time and space

Offline Big Damo

• I work only for the holidays
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2014, 05:31:04 PM »
My O Grill
Good wine
Plenty of beer
and a comfortable bed
Check these off and it is a great time camping
Damo

XR6 and Lifestyle Extenda Elite

Offline peter01

• live the -
    • http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2014, 05:31:14 PM »
My "better half"
so I know what i'm doing wrong, what I could be doing better and to point out all my faults !!!!
2014 GLXR Triton
2015 Blue Water - FF Darling camper

Our blog:     http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/

Offline lyn4680

« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2014, 05:36:03 PM »
Space x 2.  Just finished packing for 10 days on Stradbroke and the amount of cr@p we're taking is nuts.  Especially considering we managed to camp for 9 weeks around Europe with only 2 backpacks

« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2014, 05:37:06 PM »

My "better half"
so I know what i'm doing wrong, what I could be doing better and to point out all my faults !!!!
absolutely. Do you want mine too?  Surely 2 opinions are better than 1!

Offline peter01

• live the -
    • http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2014, 05:43:10 PM »
absolutely. Do you want mine too?  Surely 2 opinions are better than 1!

Seriously not !!!! I struggle with 1
2014 GLXR Triton
2015 Blue Water - FF Darling camper

Our blog:     http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/

« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2014, 05:45:59 PM »
Sorry What Did You Say  ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???                     Get me a  :cheers: Wench  :laugh: :laugh:

Offline komaterpillar

« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2014, 06:16:17 PM »
Somewhere dry and warm to sleep, some way of staying dry yourself and getting dry when you get wet. Vehicle side and rear awnings are great.
ALL THE GEAR, NO IDEA  ;D

The British Tug

The Chinese Trailer

« Reply #16 on: October 06, 2014, 06:21:22 PM »
must haves for me would be...
a reliable vehicle to get you to and from where you are going
something comfortable to sleep in and on (could be a swag, tent, camper or caravan...it doesn't matter to me so long as you're getting out there), aswell as something that keeps you warm in bed when it gets cold (you be the judge of what this is...lol)
decent shade from the sun and cover from the rain, both when sleeping and during the day....nothing worse then getting everything wet when camping or baking in the hot sun
something to keep the food and drinks cold...we had an esky for years that worked fine, these days we have a fridge
some good night time lighting, LED lights for us now with the camper though a simple gas lantern did the job for us for years when all we had was a tent
a comfortable chair to sit in and something to cook on (fire or stove i don't care as both work fine)

after that the rest aren't essential / must haves...more like luxuries / stuff we think we need to enjoy the outdoors more but likely don't really need. We had just as much fun camping years ago without all the stuff we take away now, so who is / was doing it the right way...me now or me back then?. At the end of the day it doesn't matter, it's just good to get away and relax one way or another.

Offline Elky

« Reply #17 on: October 06, 2014, 06:38:29 PM »
we tented for 10 years ($150 tent) and only had the basics, then at chrissy i lashed out and bought a engel and agm battery in a box, that was so friggin awesome not to be worrying about ice! then we got one of those korr led light kits.....what a difference i must say! stopped bringing the gas bottle and lantern

so i would say a fridge and lighting make things much better! of course we now have a cub camper so sleeping is much better these days
2010 TTD Landcruiser, i have added stuff but can't remember what! Slowly gettin quicker at setting up the brumby but breaking camp is another matter....

« Reply #18 on: October 06, 2014, 06:59:31 PM »
No neighbors, at least 5 k's from the next camper/dwelling.

« Reply #19 on: October 07, 2014, 08:10:55 AM »
You need to be comfortable. Camping for so many people means a bad nights sleep where you get wet when it rains and can't enjoy yourself, but it should be far from true.

I find anything that makes your camping experience a pain needs to be change. Good quality sleeping equipment is a must; nothing is worse than waking up with a sore back every morning!

I've learnt that trying to save money on cheaper products almost always comes to bite you in the backside; you are much better off buying a decent item in the first place

Good lighting is a must too - LED's are amazing. Solar is awesome if you can get it, as it opens up so many options for electronics

« Reply #20 on: October 07, 2014, 08:23:49 AM »
Bog roll

Offline Paul Mac

• Bolwell Edge
« Reply #21 on: October 07, 2014, 01:37:59 PM »
Interesting topic.

I've been asked to look into an online merchandise website for camping products. What would be the 5 most popular/necessary items you would want to take camping.

Interested to learn what you would want to pack and take away with you.

Beer/wine/spirits/food and the like are givens..... :laugh:

« Reply #22 on: October 07, 2014, 03:08:41 PM »
i reckon rumpig just summed it up.

« Reply #23 on: October 07, 2014, 09:14:02 PM »
We just car camped our way from Noosa to Uluru and back, total 7000k's. We took:

40 litre Engel Fridge.
2 x 2 man tents
2 burner stove with the small coleman gas bottles.
105 litre water bladder that sits between the  front and rear seats of the car
some led lights
sleeping bags for 4
pillows.........pillows suck to carry.
4 x $5 chairs from bunnings cause they are smallish and easy to carry

We each had the equivalent of a coles zip insulated bag for clothes and stuff, as well as one for the kitchen stuff and one for the bathroom stuff, including microfibre towels.

We needed a small rooftop basket with a gear bag to store some of it and the dry food was stored in the drawers in the back of the car.

This was for 14 days on the road. Worked well..................next time I will work out how to take less though.

What ever you do just have fun.

Cheers Nomad.