Author Topic: Dick Cepek Tyres  (Read 4340 times)

Offline @fnq4now

Dick Cepek Tyres
« on: July 26, 2012, 08:19:48 PM »
Hi. I'm interested to hear from anyone who has experience with Dick Cepek tyres. I'd planned on going BFG'S AT's but they are now OOS until after we leave on our big lap. Keen to hear from people re performance, mileage, and which model tyre they have eg: FC2, Mud Country, Crusher etc. Our first 15,000 km will be 40% off road then about 20% offroad. Trying to gage which profile will suit us best.
"The problem with common sense is that it's just not very common."

Re: Dick Cepek Tyres
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2012, 08:27:19 PM »
I've got them on my trailer - FC2...

I got the idea of them from AJ - Pres of Whyalla club at the time, he used them for years on his patrol through the Flinders without issue.

He came up to the high country, and they clogged savagely in the clay mud

I'd be confident running them on my Patrol... I have heard in another thread on here that they may not be out for much longer, so confirm that first.

Next to my old MTR's.

On teh trailer.

Offline Rotgut

« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2012, 08:49:38 PM »
FC-2's on the work Patrol ute for 50,000k. Good tyre. Still heaps of tread.

Offline stevo

• I used to have a handle on life........but it broke
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2012, 09:56:25 PM »
Soninlaw had the FC2's when we travelled thru the Flinders and Cameron corner area a few years back. He didn't get a mark on them in the gibbers and my BFG at's were chipped horribly. I thought they were no longer available but if they are i would definitely go for them.
Isuzu MU-X Coronet caravan
The hearse does not stop at the bank on the way to the cemetery.

Offline rodw

« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2012, 06:39:11 AM »
Yes, they are good gear. I had them for a while but traded them out for some muddies to play but was very happy with them.

« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2012, 07:17:37 AM »
Aren't Dick Cepek made by Mickey Thompson?

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
Dick Cepek Tyres
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2012, 08:20:01 AM »
Aren't Dick Cepek made by Mickey Thompson?

Who also make coopers.
NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

time

« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2012, 08:54:36 AM »
I've been running FC IIs (285X75X16, 33") for 4 years, around 50.000 ks. They have seen mostly gravel and desert sand, with the occasional rocky bits.

The only issues I have had are, one tyre split around the bead, about 1/3 of the way around the tyre, one (a back tyre) lost a couple of lugs and was showing cracks at the base of a number of other lugs and its mate was also showing cracks at the base of a number of lugs. To their credit the local distributor agreed to a 50% credit on replacement tyres for each "damaged" tyre.

When replaced you could also see the old tyres had a number of small cracks running down the centre of the tread. Looked a bit like an old perished tyre. Given that the tyres had never been run flat, or below 18psi on sand, they looked like they had!

Offline cucinadio

« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2012, 12:07:24 PM »
one of the best tyres i've used, they even wore out my D1 land rover... ;D
My 130 HCPU camper build - (now sold) http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=6733.msg240757#msg240757

Offline JU5T1N

« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2012, 10:52:08 AM »
Who also make coopers.
1 factory with many doors

Nissan whore:
Nissan Patrol GUramax (Stripped by ADC)
Nissan Skyline R33 GTR V-spec 480awkw
Nissan Skyline R34 GTR M-spec 830awkw (NOW SOLD)

Offline JCD

« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2012, 12:03:50 PM »
I've had two sets of FC11's (9 tyres for a total of 135,000kms) and would say they are a good
- slightly aggressive - AT. Only bad comment would be that two of mine developed cracks as mentioned above at the end of their life and the two punctures I had (in total) were on the top edge of sidewalls.

To be fair to the tyre, I have been through some nasty country - heavily loaded - with them and saw other (well advertised) brands not cope as well as the FC11's.

The vehicle is an HZJ105 Landcruiser.

Must admit; I have switched to Toyo Open Country M/T's and - so far - extremely impressed with
them.

Cheers John