General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Rodt on May 10, 2022, 09:39:28 AM

Title: Things that have annoyed me this week
Post by: Rodt on May 10, 2022, 09:39:28 AM
Two things have occurred over the last week that have annoyed me.

Car Insurance

Received the Comprehensive Insurance renewal for my daughter's car (2010 Kia Cerato) and was shocked to see that it is over $1,000. Fully understand that she is under 25 and in the insurance world is classed as high risk but you would think that considering we have multiple policies with this insurer and the fact that she has a spotless driving record that it would be a bit more reasonable. Needless to say we are looking at other options

Catalogue Specials

I am in the process of renovating an older house and am at the stage where I have removed the interior walls in the bedrooms and lounge room with a view to install insulation and then resheet. Was considering what to do about insulation when one of the hardware chains sent me a catalogue advertising some pink batts reduced from $67 down to $49. Thought this was a sign from the unknown and that this would be my pathway forward. Attempted to order 20 bags through two separate stores (in Qld and NSW) and was told the same thing being "none in our warehouse so can't order for you". I asked both stores why was there no stock if it was advertised as a sale item. No answer as they obviously didn't know. Have attempted to contact the corporate part of the organisation to ask the same question but there is no other option than that you get directed to the local store. Well I don't need to ask the local store do I as I already know their answer.
Fully understand that there is a short supply of all construction materials but why advertise something that can't be supplied?

Will go back into my box now and not engage with anyone and hopefully this week should be OK  :cup:
Title: Re: Things that have annoyed me this week
Post by: Mace on May 10, 2022, 09:47:00 AM
I can see this thread becoming very popular....  :cheers:
Post by: spadge on May 10, 2022, 10:39:14 AM
I had a similar thing happen to me at a fairly well known store for Boating, camping and fishing.  I was on the hunt for a Stand Up Paddle board for the wife for Christmas.  Received a catalog with them on sale starting tomorrow.  Woohoo I thought.  Went to the shop at 7:30am opening time. Sorry sold out... do any other stores have any?  It looks like Gympie have 1.  I am in Brisbane west mind you I tried calling them sorry we can't find it.  There might be one in Nowra.... suffice to say I took my business elsewhere.  I made a complaint to the authorities and after 4 months was offered the same deal. A little late.  The authorities said there was nothing they could do as it was in stock at the time of advertising and was advertised in good faith.  What a load of bollocks.
Post by: moeite on May 10, 2022, 12:05:05 PM
This week. Hmmmmm. Let's just keep it to today.

Kids in their 40's who couldn't organise a good bowel movement after a good feed of liquorice let alone their lives. "we need a couple of COVID-19 RAT's", "on the way down drop into Supercheap and get a couple of things". No "please" or "thanks" just a delivered expectation.
We're pensioners and have tested positive and they're happy and healthy. Grrrrr.
And now they want us to store more of their crap in our garage.....
Post by: dogbox on May 10, 2022, 12:20:47 PM
I had a similar thing happen to me at a fairly well known store for Boating, camping and fishing.  I was on the hunt for a Stand Up Paddle board for the wife for Christmas.  Received a catalog with them on sale starting tomorrow.  Woohoo I thought.  Went to the shop at 7:30am opening time. Sorry sold out... do any other stores have any?  It looks like Gympie have 1.  I am in Brisbane west mind you I tried calling them sorry we can't find it.  There might be one in Nowra.... suffice to say I took my business elsewhere.  I made a complaint to the authorities and after 4 months was offered the same deal. A little late.  The authorities said there was nothing they could do as it was in stock at the time of advertising and was advertised in good faith.  What a load of bollocks.

try buying a new car the companies are paying for a lot of advertising, but no stock to sell 
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 10, 2022, 12:52:56 PM
I can see this thread becoming very popular....  :cheers:

I see a train wreck coming up.
Post by: Kangaron on May 10, 2022, 12:55:58 PM
Collingwood.

Sent from my motorola edge 20 fusion using Tapatalk

Post by: spadge on May 10, 2022, 01:13:13 PM
Collingwood.

Isn't it what annoyed me this week????
Post by: Bird on May 10, 2022, 02:46:43 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
I see a train wreck coming up.

it was last time...
Post by: Ranger_Scott on May 10, 2022, 02:56:44 PM
Collingwood.

Why only this week?
Post by: Kangaron on May 10, 2022, 03:06:51 PM
Why only this week?
For 67 years actually, so far.

Post by: Pottsy on May 10, 2022, 03:41:10 PM
Two things have occurred over the last week that have annoyed me.

Car Insurance

Received the Comprehensive Insurance renewal for my daughter's car (2010 Kia Cerato) and was shocked to see that it is over $1,000. Fully understand that she is under 25 and in the insurance world is classed as high risk but you would think that considering we have multiple policies with this insurer and the fact that she has a spotless driving record that it would be a bit more reasonable. Needless to say we are looking at other options

Catalogue Specials

I am in the process of renovating an older house and am at the stage where I have removed the interior walls in the bedrooms and lounge room with a view to install insulation and then resheet. Was considering what to do about insulation when one of the hardware chains sent me a catalogue advertising some pink batts reduced from $67 down to $49. Thought this was a sign from the unknown and that this would be my pathway forward. Attempted to order 20 bags through two separate stores (in Qld and NSW) and was told the same thing being "none in our warehouse so can't order for you". I asked both stores why was there no stock if it was advertised as a sale item. No answer as they obviously didn't know. Have attempted to contact the corporate part of the organisation to ask the same question but there is no other option than that you get directed to the local store. Well I don't need to ask the local store do I as I already know their answer.
Fully understand that there is a short supply of all construction materials but why advertise something that can't be supplied?

Will go back into my box now and not engage with anyone and hopefully this week should be OK  :cup:

Hi Rodt. Understand your frustration at the item advertised being out of stock, but having spent 35 plus years dealing with the major hardware chains at a wholesale level, the catalogue you are working with now was put to bed anywhere between six to nine months ago dependent on the chain. That combined with the lead times on product manufacture being anywhere up to twelve months it’s sometimes are real juggling act for bot the wholesaler and retailer. Add the events of the past two years and you have a real cluster f….k.
Post by: austastar on May 10, 2022, 05:41:54 PM
 Re car insurance.
Have you tried bundling all your policies into one portfolio? It saves the company a bit in management, and can cut the premium total by quite a bit.
If you are shopping about for value for $, it gives you a bit more bargaining power to have a multiple policies potential as their desired customer.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: MDS69 on May 10, 2022, 08:45:28 PM

Yesterday I received in my email a catalogue from SCA. They advertise Bowdens Wheely Clean for $5.00 a bottle, a run out item. Dropped into a nearby store for them to say they don’t have it. Called another store who also didn’t have it and checked their system to then tell me the nearest 30 stores in Sydney didn’t have any either.
Post by: Troopy_03 on May 11, 2022, 05:58:11 PM
Hi Rodt. Understand your frustration at the item advertised being out of stock, but having spent 35 plus years dealing with the major hardware chains at a wholesale level, the catalogue you are working with now was put to bed anywhere between six to nine months ago dependent on the chain. That combined with the lead times on product manufacture being anywhere up to twelve months it’s sometimes are real juggling act for bot the wholesaler and retailer. Add the events of the past two years and you have a real cluster f….k.

Not to mention that many of the decently discounted specials, they only order in small numbers. What happened to me a while back with S'Cheap when they had a compressor on sale, and I was first inline on the morning of a catalogue sale date, And got told.. Sorry sold out.. When I asked how that could be, I'm first in through the door? The counter guy just shrugged. So I asked how many they ordered in for the sale, and he said two, and were showing one in stock... He walked back to the shelf where they were with me, none there. But we found one of them hidden behind stuff on a different shelf. The other one was probably purchased by staff.
Post by: Rodt on May 11, 2022, 07:31:51 PM
 Re car insurance.
Have you tried bundling all your policies into one portfolio? It saves the company a bit in management, and can cut the premium total by quite a bit.
If you are shopping about for value for $, it gives you a bit more bargaining power to have a multiple policies potential as their desired customer.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

We actually do, go figure. The daughter is researching on her own and she reckons she can get the same coverage for about $700. I think I need to revisit all of my insurances
Post by: Hairs on May 14, 2022, 05:46:27 PM
Why do insurance mobs offer better deals for New Costumers, rather then long term ones?
I was under the impression it costs more to bring in new clients, than keep existing.
Or has that business model changed?

Post by: moeite on May 14, 2022, 05:54:18 PM
Why do insurance mobs offer better deals for New Costumers, rather then long term ones?

The same question could be aimed at energy and telecommunications companies. Annoys the hell outa me... ???
Post by: Brisbane Puff on May 14, 2022, 06:19:27 PM
We actually do, go figure. The daughter is researching on her own and she reckons she can get the same coverage for about $700. I think I need to revisit all of my insurances
That all sounds a bit dear.. For what it's worth, we have always been with Shannons.. 1 Audi A6, 1 XR6 falcon ute, The LDV mega tub with around $10000.00 modifications agreed value, 1 1967 Camaro.. = just under $2000.00 a year
Post by: Hairs on May 14, 2022, 07:03:48 PM
The same question could be aimed at energy and telecommunications companies. Annoys the hell outa me... ???
Yes, we're Screwed.
Post by: HEM19X on May 15, 2022, 11:03:38 AM
The Rain......
Post by: Bird on May 15, 2022, 11:10:00 AM
Political ads on TV, radio, youtube etc  full of Shit. Wouldnt it be nice if once you heard them once you could OPT OUT of having to listen to them again
Post by: lloydus67 on May 15, 2022, 11:36:24 AM
Give it a week and we will all have opted out of them

Sent from me
Post by: Bird on May 15, 2022, 05:32:00 PM
Give it a week and we will all have opted out of them

Sent from me
I dont think I'll last that long...
Post by: Foo on May 15, 2022, 06:43:25 PM
Work, end of story!  >:D Oh wait, it has been for the last few years. Bring on retirement I say and I can have a life of my own and not be fatigued all the time and enjoy life, just like Jeepers.  ;D

Post by: DandyD on May 16, 2022, 05:34:21 AM
My wife won something on eBay with the minimum bid. She arranged with the seller to collect this afternoon. Got there and the house was all shut up with all the blinds drawn. Nobody in. Hung around for an hour and a half but nobody turned up. No responses to messages.

My guess is that he wasn’t happy with the price they went for.

An afternoon and a load of petrol wasted.  >:D
Post by: Hairs on May 17, 2022, 03:29:57 PM
Third flood this year,
Wasn't big, but bigger enough to close roads.
No more rain for awhile please.
Post by: Marcus73 on May 17, 2022, 05:08:46 PM
Customers…. All they do is want want want. Like I haven’t got other things I’d rather be doing

Post by: Pottsy on May 17, 2022, 05:56:45 PM
Customers…. All they do is want want want. Like I haven’t got other things I’d rather be doing

Argh, yes, but without em you’d be stuffed!
Post by: xcvator on September 29, 2022, 11:51:23 AM
Sitting on the phone for 15 minutes (twice) waiting for somebody , anybody at Super 4wd center to answer my call.  >:( >:( >:( >:(   Went else where and got great help.
Post by: lloydus67 on September 29, 2022, 02:23:24 PM
Sitting on the phone for 15 minutes (twice) waiting for somebody , anybody at Super 4wd center to answer my call.  >:( >:( >:( >:(   Went else where and got great help.
Lol they have never claimed to have the highest quality products or great customer service
Just cheap(ish)

Sent from me
Post by: Bird on September 29, 2022, 02:39:14 PM
Quote from: xcvator

its only in Dandebong... 20mins and ya there :P
Post by: Troopy_03 on September 29, 2022, 03:14:26 PM
Going through rental property statements and realising that the real estate manager billed me $650 for rubbish removal from someone elses property.. plus a couple of other little niggles re smoke alarm checks and water efficiency checks needing to be done by certified tradesmen... grrrr.

I need a rental property manager manager....
Post by: loanrangie on September 30, 2022, 12:29:06 PM
its only in Dandebong... 20mins and ya there :P

But who wants to go to Dandenong by choice.
Post by: loanrangie on September 30, 2022, 12:33:07 PM
Advertising stuff on faecplant, cleaning up and giving stuff away so i place some ads and put details and pickup location in the ad.
 First couple of replies " where is pickup from ? ", me -  its in the ****ing ad. Whipper snipper that needs work, first reply " working ok ? ", me - no that's why its free !
**** me never again, rather chuck it out than deal with ****wits all the time.
Post by: Bird on September 30, 2022, 02:33:40 PM
Quote from: loanrangie
But who wants to go to Dandenong by choice.
This is true :P

Quote from: loanrangie
Advertising stuff on faecplant, cleaning up and giving stuff away so i place some ads and put details and pickup location in the ad.
 First couple of replies " where is pickup from ? ", me -  its in the ****ing ad. Whipper snipper that needs work, first reply " working ok ? ", me - no that's why its free !
**** me never again, rather chuck it out than deal with ****wits all the time.
This is also true..
Post by: HEM19X on October 01, 2022, 02:51:20 PM
Ordered some items from eBay... it has now been four months, numerous messages, always get a "please be patient" or "delivery will be soon" reply... have now asked for my money back.
Post by: Wolfie on October 01, 2022, 03:44:44 PM
Brought a boot liner for a Pajero Sport. They sent me one for an Audi S5. Took a month to get my money back.
Post by: MarkGU on October 01, 2022, 06:21:37 PM
Brought a boot liner for a Pajero Sport. They sent me one for an Audi S5. Took a month to get my money back.
Did you pay thru paypal?
I have received a couple of refunds fairly quickly thru them after a seller didnt send accurate item that was advertised.

Post by: Wolfie on October 01, 2022, 08:03:58 PM
Yep, used PayPal. Dream car were useless, once it was escalated with PayPal it only took a week. Like you I've found PayPal good for refunds a few times.
Post by: Foo on October 02, 2022, 11:19:11 AM
Blowing the hydraulic line for the clutch on the truck on the last for the week, with only the back trailer tipped and then needing to hook up again and drive through two major round abouts back to the depot.

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Post by: Hairs on October 02, 2022, 12:08:22 PM
Americanism taking over :(
Last week it was AFL commentators using the term 'Big Dance' when referring to the Grand Final, Now commentators referring to the NRL Grand Final, as 'The Big Dance'
:(

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

Post by: Steffo1 on October 02, 2022, 12:37:02 PM
Americanism taking over :(
Last week it was AFL commentators using the term 'Big Dance' when referring to the Grand Final, Now commentators referring to the NRL Grand Final, as 'The Big Dance'

Yep. Been going on in cricket for a while, especially with M. Waugh commentaries. If he was on radio, you would think you're listening to a baseball game. Gilly throws them in too.
Post by: Bird on October 02, 2022, 04:04:46 PM
Quote from: Foo
Blowing the hydraulic line for the clutch on the truck on the last for the week, with only the back trailer tipped and then needing to hook up again and drive through two major round abouts back to the depot.

That's annoying if your not on hourly ;)  Then again... clutch ??? :p

Mate says most newer trucks are auto/semi these days.... the old spicer and rangers are gone ???
Post by: Hairs on October 02, 2022, 05:19:19 PM
Yep. Been going on in cricket for a while, especially with M. Waugh commentaries. If he was on radio, you would think you're listening to a baseball game. Gilly throws them in too.
Watching the NRLW GF this arvo, most commentators referred to their match as the Big Dance. :(
Well Played Newcastle.

Post by: Bird on October 04, 2022, 08:53:27 AM
Quote from: Hairs
Watching the NRLW GF this arvo,

so you were the 1 person....
Post by: paceman on October 04, 2022, 09:41:39 AM
so you were the 1 person....

it was an excellent game.  the skill level and quality has improved exponentially in 18 months.

runs rings around the AFLW.
Post by: Bird on October 04, 2022, 09:51:27 AM
Quote from: paceman
runs rings around the AFLW.
that wouldnt be hard... lol...

Post by: Steffo1 on October 04, 2022, 01:20:58 PM
I nearly got anally gimleted by good ol' Toyota today. I needed to replace the crank battery tray in the 'cruiser tilly. I couldn't find a 2nd hand one, so contacted a Toyota dealer.

$285 for a piece of composite, cardboardy stuff. This is just the flat tray, no brackets.

Went on line and got one (Genuine) for $150. Still a ripoff for what you get, but at least I can sit down without bleeding.
Post by: Foo on October 04, 2022, 04:10:28 PM
That's annoying if your not on hourly ;)  Then again... clutch ???

Mate says most newer trucks are auto/semi these days.... the old spicer and rangers are gone ???
This one is a single plate. I hate semi auto clutches, it's full auto or manual for me. It's ridiculous how many Klms that you get out of them now, I was around the million J's before, not bloody 638000klms.

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Post by: xcvator on October 05, 2022, 09:18:39 PM
WTF is a semi auto clutch ? are we talking trucks or nympho's ?
Post by: Brij on October 05, 2022, 09:44:10 PM
WTF is a semi auto clutch ? are we talking trucks or nympho's ?

Manual gearbox, but gearstick is replaced with computer controlled actuator on top of box.
Early versions retained clutch pedal for taking off and manurvering around yard.
I think all have now done away with clutch pedal, and use computer controlled actuation there as well.

About only manual box left is Roadranger, which also has an automated version as well.
Post by: Bird on October 05, 2022, 09:53:17 PM
This one is a single plate. I hate semi auto clutches, it's full auto or manual for me.
its been many years since I went up the road..  I'd be lost in a new auto/semi truck.... manual all the way for me thanks...

I see many tippers around where the unit changes gear with teh bloke not moving a muscle both hands on wheel... love to know how the truck knows you want to go up a gear and your not slowing down
Post by: Foo on October 08, 2022, 01:39:46 AM
its been many years since I went up the road..  I'd be lost in a new auto/semi truck.... manual all the way for me thanks...

I see many tippers around where the unit changes gear with teh bloke not moving a muscle both hands on wheel... love to know how the truck knows you want to go up a gear and your not slowing down

Pretty much the same as a car auto box. I've driven two fully auto's and they are great in traffic but they had like a two stage go pedal. If you didn't stick the boot in all the way, they wouldn't kick down quick enough and then they would throw a fault code and lock you into the one gear, because the torque converter would overheat. Then you would need to stop, turn off the motor and restart again. >:D You couldn't even change in manual mode. ::) I preferred manual mode when going down steep grades, rather than relying on the auto.

Post by: Brij on October 08, 2022, 10:55:18 AM

Pretty much the same as a car auto box. I've driven two fully auto's and they are great in traffic but they had like a two stage go pedal. If you didn't stick the boot in all the way, they wouldn't kick down quick enough and then they would throw a fault code and lock you into the one gear, because the torque converter would overheat. Then you would need to stop, turn off the motor and restart again. >:D You couldn't even change in manual mode. ::) I preferred manual mode when going down steep grades, rather than relying on the auto.

Automated Manual Transmission like found in most HD trucks these days or normal auto slush box like in garbage truck or concrete agi?
Post by: Foo on October 08, 2022, 12:24:23 PM
Automated Manual Transmission like found in most HD trucks these days or normal auto slush box like in garbage truck or concrete agi?

Don't know anything about the garbo trucks, other than they can run with the PTO engaged and not blow them apart.

There are fully auto boxes and the semi auto that require a manual clutch for when you stop. The fully auto have no half splits.

Post by: Champin on October 08, 2022, 12:25:42 PM
The Volvo I drove was just like driving a car. You can just leave it alone or you have the option of changing manually by the buttons on the shifter. Just like a sequential car trans. It also had a power button which changed the shift parameters in the box. I would say Volvo has the best auto trans on the market. Kenworth would be the worst.

Sent from my SM-X200 using Tapatalk

Post by: nab on October 08, 2022, 01:00:56 PM
Don't know anything about the garbo trucks, other than they can run with the PTO engaged and not blow them apart.

There are fully auto boxes and the semi auto that require a manual clutch for when you stop. The fully auto have no half splits.

You mean upcoming F1 drivers? 100% foot to the floor all the time, either pedal too!!!!
Post by: Foo on October 08, 2022, 01:59:26 PM
The Volvo I drove was just like driving a car. You can just leave it alone or you have the option of changing manually by the buttons on the shifter. Just like a sequential car trans. It also had a power button which changed the shift parameters in the box. I would say Volvo has the best auto trans on the market. Kenworth would be the worst.

Sent from my SM-X200 using Tapatalk

Yeah back when I drove a FH 500, they were well ahead of other Autos.

Post by: Banjo16 on October 10, 2022, 04:21:05 PM
I must have missed the memo but it appears indicators are now optional😡😡
Post by: NZMarkb on October 10, 2022, 05:19:51 PM

No that's been around for a while now
I think it's covered in the BMW/Audi/VW handbook  8)
Post by: Bird on October 10, 2022, 05:38:06 PM
Quote from: Banjo16

So is sitting on the speed limit in your electric car... maybe they are trying to save the battery
Post by: Hairs on October 11, 2022, 06:36:17 PM
Some Bloody FB Market Olace users ???
They advertise an item, in my case a pair of Tyres that I've been chasing for awhile.
Bingo, just what I'm after, ad still active.
Message the seller, SOLD, this was 3 days ago
Start organising freight/costs.
BAM, get a message back from seller, 'these were sold 2 days ago'
WTF didn't you mark it as sold?
Thanks for nothing.

Post by: RebsWA on November 09, 2022, 02:09:43 PM
Just trying to get a band aid out of its sheath. Grrr.
The packaging is just not user friendly for oldies.
Post by: Bird on November 09, 2022, 03:16:02 PM
Quote from: RebsWA
The packaging is just not user friendly for oldies.
I'd add instructions to most things being in 2 point font so nobody can actually read them