General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on December 13, 2021, 06:40:41 PM

Title: Whose going where for Xmas/ New Year?
Post by: Bird on December 13, 2021, 06:40:41 PM
Anyone got any plans?
Title: Re: Whose going where for Xmas/ New Year?
Post by: GeoffA on December 13, 2021, 06:52:33 PM
Lovely will be working for a couple of days between Christmas & New year.
We might be able to sneak away to a mates bush block near Ballarat for a couple of nights.
That's about the best we can hope for....
Post by: Steffo1 on December 13, 2021, 06:54:21 PM
Yep. Moreton Island for a few weeks from the 27th.
I hope all 'swaggers have a great festive season!
Post by: D4D on December 13, 2021, 07:14:24 PM
Fark that, maybe a few day trips or an overnighter
Post by: corndog on December 13, 2021, 08:29:42 PM
Off to Bright on Boxing day for 4 weeks.
Post by: Fizzie on December 14, 2021, 06:11:06 AM
Nowhere!

Had to go down to Coolie yesterday to pick up my camera after being serviced, the day that the borders re-opened.

Jeez, the terrorists took no time at all to return! :'(

The roads are already chockers with people driving at 25 in a 40 zone, & 60 on the 80k main road :'( >:(

Welcome back to a GC summer :'(
Post by: Rusty on December 14, 2021, 06:48:18 AM
Agnes water for 2 weeks on Boxing Day but do have to work the 3 days between Christmas and new year lucky it is only 1.5 hours drive home.

Rusty
Post by: NZMarkb on December 14, 2021, 07:49:50 AM
2 1/2 weeks Central North Island
Taupo, Rotorua, Hastings
DOC Camp grounds, bush camping and a few clay target shoots along the way
Staying away from the crowds and cell reception  ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 14, 2021, 08:27:10 AM
Xmas day off....the rest of the time in the shed working on the car.
Post by: austastar on December 14, 2021, 08:55:07 AM
Hey JC,
             don't  forget to have some 'you' time for looking after your self. Just imagine what 10% of the love and attention you give turning bits of rusty tin into perfect panels would do for your creaking bones.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 14, 2021, 09:03:55 AM
Hey JC,
             don't  forget to have some 'you' time for looking after your self. Just imagine what 10% of the love and attention you give turning bits of rusty tin into perfect panels would do for your creaking bones.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Yeah, i had some me time yesterday, sat around for 90 minutes scratching my arse.
Post by: Foo on December 14, 2021, 09:08:38 AM
Fork travelling anywhere this time of the year. Will ride over to my parents place for family catch-up and then ride back home.

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk

Post by: NZMarkb on December 14, 2021, 09:22:36 AM
Yeah, i had some me time yesterday, sat around for 90 minutes scratching my arse.

That's enough then
Get back to the shed and I want some photo's to see if you've been doing anything  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Seriously though it's coming along well  :cup: :cup: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Bird on December 14, 2021, 09:48:10 AM
Quote from: D4D
Fark that, maybe a few day trips or an overnighter

Its ok GG will go somewhere posh, we can go crash next to his shed.. He should have a nice pile of firewood for us... even Geoff could sneak up ;)
Post by: Hairs on December 14, 2021, 06:09:17 PM
Both of us have work, catch up with Family locally Christmas Day. New Years, no plans, probably spend it with Friends, see some fire works, or a Fire somewhere.
Fysh will be spending 14 days at Brooms Head, I'll drop out there to catchup with her and a few mates.
I owe, I owe, off to work I go.
Travel safe Swaggers, enjoy time with family & ya mates.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 15, 2021, 04:59:14 AM
Its ok GG will go somewhere posh, we can go crash next to his shed.. He should have a nice pile of firewood for us... even Geoff could sneak up ;)

Always welcome

Post by: Rodt on December 15, 2021, 11:46:02 AM
Heading to Qld for a bit over a month catching up with family and friends that we have been barricaded from seeing for a fair period this year
Post by: MarkGU on December 15, 2021, 11:32:40 PM
3 whole weeks at Brooms Head,spending time with the kids and catching up with friends who we see every xmas time from all parts of the country.

Bring it on  :cup:
Post by: Steffo1 on December 16, 2021, 09:02:40 AM
3 whole weeks at Brooms Head,spending time with the kids and catching up with friends who we see every xmas time from all parts of the country.

Bring it on  :cup:

'Good Luck' with the fishing, Mark, and just remember:

Post by: wakychapmans on December 16, 2021, 10:26:08 AM
Anyone got any plans?
if we are very very lucky...

and if the Getaway is finally finished in time... (that's still in question with a week to go)

we'll be heading down to Gembrook to visit the inlaws.

If the van is finished... then we might do a 3 day return trip and test it out.

Post by: edz on December 17, 2021, 08:08:03 AM
Apparently I have too much holiday time acrued, and need to take holidays .....
 Ok then I'll have two weeks off over Christmas new Years ..Nup you can have the first week, we need you to work New Years eve onwards .. GR8  ::)
Ohh well one week is better than none .  Grandsons 6th Birthday on the 23rd, so off to Corindi Beach for two days ..  8)
Post by: Bird on December 17, 2021, 04:05:00 PM
Quote from: edz
Apparently I have too much holiday time acrued, and need to take holidays .....
 Ok then I'll have two weeks off over Christmas new Years ..Nup you can have the first week, we need you to work New Years eve onwards .. GR8  ::)
I've had similar discussions here..  although managed 24th Dec to 10th jan.. Just need someone to tell me where to go
Post by: bmwfreak on December 17, 2021, 04:25:28 PM
Just need someone to tell me where to go

Leaving yourself open there Bird 🤣
Post by: Foo on December 17, 2021, 04:48:15 PM
Leaving yourself open there Bird 🤣

:laugh: :laugh: Are saying that someone might say.........go have sex with himself?  :angel: :laugh: :laugh:

Post by: MarkGU on December 17, 2021, 09:47:24 PM
'Good Luck' with the fishing, Mark, and just remember:

still beats being at work  :cup:
Post by: Bird on December 22, 2021, 08:54:02 AM
hope nobody in Vic wants to go interstate...

Australians needing a Covid test are preparing for another day of lengthy queues with some centres reaching capacity before they even open for business.

https://www.news.com.au/national/chaos-as-covid-testing-clinics-hit-capacity-close-lines-before-opening-time/news-story/04c379c190c5da414c37d33338191f30 (https://www.news.com.au/national/chaos-as-covid-testing-clinics-hit-capacity-close-lines-before-opening-time/news-story/04c379c190c5da414c37d33338191f30)
Post by: moeite on December 22, 2021, 10:17:20 AM
We've done a big tip this year which was brilliant. Right now we're doing a bit of "map staring" to work out where our next adventure will take us. All we've come up with so far is a couple of small trips - perhaps a week around Omeo or a week or so at Kiata (near Nhill) or a week on the Murray somewhere. We're going nowhere during the school holidays though.
This country is so bloody big that we're spoilt for choice in a big way.... :D :D
We'd really like to see a bit of FNQ and go back to Marble Bar though.... Maybe an idea for June through to September.... :D
Post by: Spada on December 22, 2021, 11:53:21 AM
Same place we go for every Christmas... 2000 acres of private property that we don't have to share with anyone else at Mt.Barney  ;D

We both have to work between Christmas & new year, but the camp is only an hour from home so we can go out for the 4 days of chrissy, come home for the 3 days work, and then back out for the New Year long weekend  8)
Post by: jwb on December 22, 2021, 12:36:57 PM
Noice Sharon! :)

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Post by: Spada on December 29, 2021, 07:48:41 AM
back at work today after 4 days of this, will be back out there Friday Night for another 3 days  8)
Post by: edz on December 29, 2021, 08:21:12 AM
Looks absolutely terrible Spadz ..I wouldnt put up with that
Post by: Bird on December 29, 2021, 09:18:03 AM
Quote from: Spada
back at work today after 4 days of this, will be back out there Friday Night for another 3 days  8)
thats cruel....
Post by: 2Strokeit on December 29, 2021, 09:46:27 AM
Back to the family home for Xmas day. It's been a bitter sweet trip that we have to repeat in 2 weeks time.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211228/0f2d3a871d870bb63300ecacc31b98cd.jpg)
Post by: Bad Scott on December 29, 2021, 07:55:47 PM
Stuck in WA. Locals here are awesome. Xmas Eve, Xmas day, boxing day, the two public holidays, non stop drinks and food(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211229/a3ffaa95d4debc04f71bda847de5d1ca.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211229/3edbc981c9ce7bbf3037900af1c03571.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211229/0b4e31cadc2d310a54ec7af59fd73b11.jpg)

Sent from .............. Somewhere in Australia

Post by: Bird on December 29, 2021, 07:57:28 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211229/0b4e31cadc2d310a54ec7af59fd73b11.jpg)

I so want a couple of them glasses for me bar LMAO!
Post by: DandyD on December 29, 2021, 08:50:31 PM
Stuck in WA. Locals here are awesome. Xmas Eve, Xmas day, boxing day, the two public holidays, non stop drinks and food.

We should have been spending this Christmas and New Year back in WA. Instead, we are off to sunny Wales. The pub will be open but Omnicron restrictions mean we will have to sit outside and it has to shut at 10pm on New Year’s Eve.

Looking on the bright side, it’s slightly better than last year when we were confined to our houses.
Post by: Bad Scott on December 29, 2021, 08:53:02 PM
I so want a couple of them glasses for me bar LMAO!
So do I

Post by: Fizzie on December 30, 2021, 06:47:36 AM

But you actually had to share with somebody else! :o
Post by: Spada on December 30, 2021, 10:46:09 AM
But you actually had to share with somebody else! :o

True Fizzie, but at least we get to choose who with  8)

Having said that though there was a heap of traffic come through the camp on Sunday Arvo. The property has Nat Park on 3 of the boundaries and the owner has an agreement with the rangers that they can use the property to access the back of the bush walking tracks and walk in campsite for maintenance. Someone swimming at the lower portals injured themselves on Sunday arvo so there was 4 SES cars, a police 4wd, and a 4wd ambo all come through for the rescue (RFS had to leave their truck at the gate and hitch a ride in with the SES). Its 4km each way to walk from the National Park carpark to the portals using the bush walking track, but using the 4wd track through the property we camp at we can drive to within about 200m of the portals. Sometimes for entertainment we like to upset the hard core bushwalkers that have trecked in for a swim by rocking up in thongs with an esky   >:D