General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on February 18, 2021, 02:22:33 PM

Title: AFL 2021
Post by: Bird on February 18, 2021, 02:22:33 PM
Well 28 days till we can turn the TV back on....

Early predictions are
Brisbane / Tigers final.

Geelong to just float round as usual near finals.

Blues to be mid pack above the stoners

Wobblers, Cold Ghost, Melbourne and Saints to be bottom - pick an order.

Buckley to be first coach given the sword.
Title: Re: AFL 2021
Post by: vern on February 18, 2021, 05:37:11 PM

Early predictions are
Brisbane / Tigers final.

I like these predictions! Go Tiges

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: gronk on February 18, 2021, 07:34:43 PM

Sad isn't it......if that's all you got to watch down there, I'd sell the TV..     ;D
Post by: DannyG on February 19, 2021, 06:47:31 AM
Back to I hate Mason Cox to back to back to back  ;D
Post by: Bird on March 05, 2021, 01:29:28 PM
Its going to be another long year... :(
Post by: Troopy_03 on March 05, 2021, 04:16:55 PM
Wotsa afl? half a jaffle?
Post by: Moxley on March 06, 2021, 07:42:47 PM

Early predictions are
Brisbane / Tigers final.

I bet all your predictions are wrong and the tv is  on before 28 days.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 12, 2021, 10:20:20 AM
Its going to be another long year... :(

Should i lock the thread now Bird  ;D

Post by: Bird on March 15, 2021, 07:41:07 AM
At this rate, saints wont have any players left  :cup: Means no spoon for us :D
Post by: Bird on March 22, 2021, 01:43:39 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/161655063_3787662551359136_3612258585443865280_o.jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=7BWTcLbIa3MAX9No6_n&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=e3d4f7555be546edb35b9903480f8ce4&oe=607CD5F3)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/147032859_2795144737411029_5671810579027190851_n.jpg?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=h-tcIVF_agUAX-DVANI&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=096ebc8d3f57320bb9cedd21495d6c0b&oe=607F4AC3)
Post by: DannyG on March 23, 2021, 11:39:19 AM
Wasn't it good to have crowds back!! Some high scores partly due to making the man on the mark look like a stunned mullet but also lowering the interchange. I thought it was a good round 1.

The blues looked good Thursday night Bird......probably robbed a little but we got the points so that's all that matters :)
Post by: Bird on March 23, 2021, 11:46:20 AM
Wasn't it good to have crowds back!! Some high scores partly due to making the man on the mark look like a stunned mullet but also lowering the interchange. I thought it was a good round 1.

The blues looked good Thursday night Bird......probably robbed a little but we got the points so that's all that matters :)

I want to know why we have to start every season with the annual Thursday night loss - 9 or 10 in a row now..
Instantly your team is behind the 8 ball... let us play some lemon team in the opening round...
Post by: DannyG on March 23, 2021, 12:28:01 PM
I want to know why we have to start every season with the annual Thursday night loss - 9 or 10 in a row now..
Instantly your team is behind the 8 ball... let us play some lemon team in the opening round...

Tradition mate  ;D The tide will turn back again eventually, it always does. I actually thought this year you would get us......nearly but not quite.
Post by: Bird on March 23, 2021, 12:53:19 PM
Quote from: DannyG
Tradition mate  ;D The tide will turn back again eventually, it always does. I actually thought this year you would get us......nearly but not quite.

Maybe... Nutha 5 coaches, Tassie will have had a team and lost them by then, cold ghost will also have folded.. Clarko will be running the AFL
Post by: vern on March 23, 2021, 03:19:18 PM
11 in a row actually.

The blues looked promising for 3 quarters, then ran out of legs.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on March 23, 2021, 06:16:44 PM
Im shocked he got anything... thought he'd be protected

Two dictionary definitions and help from Siri was not enough to lessen Patrick Dangerfield’s suspension at the AFL tribunal on Tuesday night with the Geelong superstar rubbed out for three matches for his high bump on Adelaide’s Jake Kelly.

Jurors Richard Loveridge, Paul Williams and Jason Johnson concluded that the impact of the hit on Kelly was “severe” and that Dangerfield should therefore miss the upcoming games against Brisbane, Hawthorn and Melbourne.
Post by: Bird on March 29, 2021, 05:56:28 PM
would have been kewl to be at the game other night.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ExeA8voUYAkSdWr?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Bird on April 02, 2021, 11:24:34 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D-wzv2SU4AAuGBQ?format=jpg&name=small)
Post by: Bird on April 03, 2021, 02:38:48 PM
(https://scontent.fmel14-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/165795183_3828620247263366_5667034608670412070_n.jpg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=G-m6NaSKez8AX8x7aBd&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel14-2.fna&oh=3292e06110ef1edae4d2d306aa3a1432&oe=608C889B)
Post by: Hairs on April 03, 2021, 04:49:10 PM
Watched the Swans game from the first second to the last, WOW.
Post by: Bird on April 03, 2021, 05:55:12 PM
Watched the Swans game from the first second to the last, WOW.
Wasnt that outstanding..

but then you see Saints losing to the bye... nothing makes sense.
Post by: Hairs on April 04, 2021, 10:04:25 AM
Wasnt that outstanding..

but then you see Saints losing to the bye... nothing makes sense.
Post by: Bird on April 04, 2021, 06:01:42 PM
Nobodys tipping all games this round.
Post by: Hairs on April 04, 2021, 06:08:18 PM
Nobodys tipping all games this round.
Just the Blues/Dockers final score.
Sheeesh.
Post by: Bird on April 04, 2021, 06:12:23 PM
Just the Blues/Dockers final score.
Sheeesh.
someone in our tippin guessed 4!
Post by: Bird on April 09, 2021, 10:44:40 PM
That was a good game to watch... even better result :)
2 for 2 so far.
Post by: Bird on April 18, 2021, 05:36:28 PM
WTF Hawks ???

some good thrashings this weekend :D
Post by: Hairs on April 18, 2021, 05:45:33 PM
Some close ones.
Hmm
Post by: Bird on April 25, 2021, 10:19:27 PM
how long does Buckley have left... and Teague...
Post by: Bird on May 16, 2021, 06:02:29 PM
How Shit are carlton.... send em to tassie....
Post by: Kangaron on May 17, 2021, 10:15:40 AM
About time.
https://youtu.be/TOXUzKeEOlQ (https://youtu.be/TOXUzKeEOlQ)
Post by: Bird on May 17, 2021, 10:31:01 AM
Quote from: Kangaron
About time.
https://youtu.be/TOXUzKeEOlQ (https://youtu.be/TOXUzKeEOlQ)

Come on, it was only the Hawks who are playing for priority picks.. like north are :D
Post by: Hairs on May 17, 2021, 12:06:45 PM
how long does Buckley have left... and Teague...
He lost another one, you'd have to wonder hey.

Post by: Bird on May 21, 2021, 04:34:50 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/186493270_3960593604066029_7677258667843285437_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=EF7_B5HBhGYAX9uEhN_&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=745bb33a6c3a21b5ea3986c8db1d7b72&oe=60CBA442)
Post by: Hairs on May 21, 2021, 05:14:29 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/186493270_3960593604066029_7677258667843285437_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=EF7_B5HBhGYAX9uEhN_&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=745bb33a6c3a21b5ea3986c8db1d7b72&oe=60CBA442)
Ehehehehe
Post by: GeoffA on May 21, 2021, 05:43:38 PM
An away game for Richmond is white shorts at the MCG......
Post by: Bird on May 29, 2021, 05:03:58 PM
(https://scontent.fmel14-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/190153212_10158249721539226_3238446235653765514_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=mq2_37_Jd44AX_YBUuT&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel14-1.fna&oh=f8e2c88c0f721f49d9a037f691937863&oe=60D83E10)

(https://scontent.fmel14-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/189976702_3992917780833611_4967082838538715446_n.jpg?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=Nl4TRBHc7C8AX8v9aaA&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel14-2.fna&oh=0815ab2f0c2e5ab3db097b6a7f7f11e1&oe=60D5859A)

(https://scontent.fmel14-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/191600395_3992221957569860_7288472963623573120_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=F5lbcAsY6n8AX9OpYU6&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel14-1.fna&oh=fb2ce98d61df5e47b4edae746447f00c&oe=60D86451)
Post by: Hairs on May 29, 2021, 05:08:53 PM
Fair call.
Even tho I'm a Swans supporter,
That is Funny :)
Post by: Bird on June 06, 2021, 12:12:47 PM
Good game plan :D

(https://scontent.fmel14-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/194580248_4012697092189013_5832767863110473896_n.jpg?_nc_cat=103&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=n7n4jAYD-woAX_YegE6&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel14-2.fna&oh=fd80251b8db5843c83c530f918a4f1dd&oe=60E165C4)
Post by: Bird on June 09, 2021, 01:11:44 PM
How awesome is this bloke.

https://www.theroar.com.au/afl/video/neale-daniher-shares-a-laugh-with-afl-360-panel-ahead-of-the-big-freeze-7-1131276/ (https://www.theroar.com.au/afl/video/neale-daniher-shares-a-laugh-with-afl-360-panel-ahead-of-the-big-freeze-7-1131276/)

Post by: Bird on June 09, 2021, 01:44:16 PM

This is danger signs for the Blues, we signed up the last useless ****wit they threw out the door...

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/198522896_4022939874498068_4297760863341250005_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=d_1kdmz3994AX_eEeL_&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=60ba782c777fd9cf52aef8aea7247e86&oe=60E784E7)

Collingwood needs a coach with ‘fresh ideas’: Buckley
By Scott Spits

Departing Collingwood coach Nathan Buckley says the club should look for a coach with “fresh eyes” and “fresh ideas” because he doesnt have any.

He said part of his reason for leaving the AFL club was that he couldn’t guarantee he would still want to be at Collingwood in five years from now.
Former AFL player Nathan Buckley is stepping down as the coach of Collingwood.

“Ultimately I think that we’re in a period of regeneration as a football club,” he said.

“The list turnover has begun. And I think that we can refresh really quickly. I think that the playing list can be competitive. I think that we’re competitive now. I think we can win quite quickly.

“Its obvious to all I have no phuckin clue what I'm talking about or doing, and I have the worst no winning record going which Im proud of. Wouldnt matter what list I had, I'd still be useless"

“I think the expectations externally are always a little bit lofty when it comes to Collingwood.

“That change and regeneration is in the midst of happening. The candidate who the club ended up looking for should be someone who has those fresh eyes, fresh ideas.”
Post by: vern on June 14, 2021, 05:52:44 PM
Is Bucks staying on now?

Sent from my SM-A526B using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on June 14, 2021, 08:06:39 PM
Quote from: vern
Is Bucks staying on now?
Some of the most Shit umpiring all year... we know what the AFL told them to do

(https://scontent.fmel14-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/200442612_4036974923094563_4627115985542321519_n.jpg?_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=KnNmYiDxulgAX_zCPj2&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel14-1.fna&oh=44a777393744de39ca3c9086f52db91e&oe=60DC0FFF)
Post by: Hairs on June 14, 2021, 08:11:09 PM
Ahahaha
:)
Post by: Bird on June 15, 2021, 12:15:46 PM
"Its not easy being a St Kilda supporter" says Mick age 29

(https://scontent.fmel14-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/190447952_3995985887193467_3479885814829170783_n.jpg?_nc_cat=101&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=l35bdEVZE7kAX_BOQ16&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel14-1.fna&oh=da9c58ff0fa169c0e9e91165fb64c922&oe=60DBA9FF)
Post by: Bird on June 17, 2021, 05:28:21 PM
Guilty or not?

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/live-david-mackay-faces-afl-tribunal-for-collision-with-hunter-clark-20210617-p581wp.html (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/live-david-mackay-faces-afl-tribunal-for-collision-with-hunter-clark-20210617-p581wp.html)

slow mo - he looks directly at opponent and lines him up
normal speed - oh Shit we're colliding..
Post by: prodigyrf on June 20, 2021, 08:33:43 PM

This is danger signs for the Blues, we signed up the last useless ****wit they threw out the door...

Collingwood needs a coach with ‘fresh ideas’: Buckley

I suspect Carlton and Collingwood will be in a fierce bidding war for Clarkson for next year as he'll be ready to move on now with Hawthorn's need to rebuild their list.
Post by: Bird on June 20, 2021, 08:39:58 PM
I suspect Carlton and Collingwood will be in a fierce bidding war for Clarkson for next year as he'll be ready to move on now with Hawthorn's need to rebuild their list.
Wobblers will want experienced coach - We'll want probably that female netball coach that thinks it can coach any sport..
Post by: Bird on June 26, 2021, 11:26:52 AM
deserves 4 weeks for his diving

(https://scontent.fmel14-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/199111594_4063572837101438_3328619028922922857_n.jpg?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=UkeuNNGc6B4AX8DWyYC&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel14-2.fna&oh=73869ff7ce83a73ef4f0dc4ac7c9f747&oe=60DB7F44)
Post by: Hairs on June 26, 2021, 06:05:48 PM
Incoming Rant.
WTF, some of these umpireing calls against the Swans are just wrong.
:(
Post by: Pottsy on June 26, 2021, 06:42:40 PM
Incoming Rant.
WTF, some of these umpireing calls against the Port are just wrong.
:(

Fixed it for you!
Post by: Hairs on June 26, 2021, 07:13:50 PM
Fixed it for you!
No you didn't ;)
How do you get caught with the ball, on the ground, hand ball it and it's play on.
Bit hard to win a game when even the Umps are blind.

Post by: Pottsy on June 26, 2021, 07:20:47 PM
No you didn't ;)
How do you get caught with the ball, on the ground, hand ball it and it's play on.
Bit hard to win a game when even the Umps are blind.

I’m a Portman but I did think the umpiring was pretty ordinary for both teams, other than that it was a good game, buddy showed some form.
Post by: Hairs on June 26, 2021, 07:37:17 PM
I’m a Portman but I did think the umpiring was pretty ordinary for both teams, other than that it was a good game, buddy showed some form.
:) it was a good game, players stood up, then again there were some pretty ordinary plays by players(both sides) who you'd expect to not FU as they did.
That's Footy.
Post by: Bird on June 26, 2021, 08:05:33 PM
:) it was a good game, players stood up, then again there were some pretty ordinary plays by players(both sides) who you'd expect to not FU as they did.
That's Footy.
(https://scontent.fmel14-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/197267212_4063580037100718_5540689365665889821_n.jpg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=DRxMpfyjSSMAX9Z7Ap0&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel14-1.fna&oh=18fc0aa7bf6ed7ea2843d011dc9b9a3a&oe=60DC34FA)
Post by: Hairs on June 26, 2021, 08:14:04 PM
Ahahahaha,
Cheers mate.
Post by: prodigyrf on July 08, 2021, 12:28:56 AM
WTF with Collingwood and Carlton both looking for coaches?
https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/hawks-legend-gobsmacked-by-club-s-clarko-call/ar-AALRb28
Sounds like the club and Clarko have agreed he won't be rebuilding the Hawks and an auction for his services means the Hawks won't be out of pocket for the rest of his contract.
Post by: Bird on July 20, 2021, 03:18:30 PM
Quote from: prodigyrf
WTF with Collingwood and Carlton both looking for coaches?
Teague just doesnt have any mongrel in him, and buckley... favorite son still?

The short and the short of it - neither club could afford short Clarko nor would he want to go to either rabble. - Unless Eddie came to the rescue for wobblers.

But the good news is....
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/219646442_4129731877152200_8446920023924159484_n.jpg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=n1OCccSsw-IAX-6RVTW&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=51ea8d90572c09477451219121529298&oe=60FB2F4E)
Post by: DannyG on July 21, 2021, 11:46:58 AM

But the good news is....
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/219646442_4129731877152200_8446920023924159484_n.jpg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=n1OCccSsw-IAX-6RVTW&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=51ea8d90572c09477451219121529298&oe=60FB2F4E)

Not for long mate.......we will be 12th after this weekends loss to to the cats  ;D :'( :'(
Post by: Bird on July 26, 2021, 12:36:48 AM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/224279634_4149827581809296_7543341955220751065_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=pKS-L9E2p-8AX_nEdyq&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=280a5ff138c191e464d92f2e65433938&oe=61016B44)
Post by: Bird on July 27, 2021, 11:20:29 PM
Franklin... Still leader of the AFL's protected species.. 
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/225341864_4155609397897781_2700375221230128846_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=MLX3H8GI-qIAX_iU-1i&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=58cfa5a2b3fa1a58637737e3bfd430c4&oe=61058E51)
Post by: Bird on July 30, 2021, 10:57:18 AM
Interesting... Teague would be Shitting his pants today

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/hawthorn-and-four-time-premiership-coach-alastair-clarkson-part-ways-20210730-p58ed1.html (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/hawthorn-and-four-time-premiership-coach-alastair-clarkson-part-ways-20210730-p58ed1.html)
Post by: prodigyrf on July 30, 2021, 05:23:00 PM
What on earth were the Hawks smoking with their fairy tale transition to Mitchell? LOL and Clarko can pick and choose the best club prospect now with a year's coaching salary up his sleeve already.
Post by: Bird on July 31, 2021, 06:34:08 PM
What on earth were the Hawks smoking with their fairy tale transition to Mitchell? LOL and Clarko can pick and choose the best club prospect now with a year's coaching salary up his sleeve already.
900k transfered to him according to SEN... not bad for doing nothing....
Post by: Bird on July 31, 2021, 08:15:41 PM
LOLOL

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/229783671_4167005133424874_5028484304129730670_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=E8xVAxLZEZ0AX_Qhgsv&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=5dc150304df18f3ae3e4cb9fa81bcdec&oe=61096316)
Post by: Bird on August 15, 2021, 12:32:52 PM
Gee, teh Hawks would be second guessing their decision to scrap Clarko...

Teague would certainly be gone now after that close loss...
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2021, 05:21:03 PM
The Demons surprised me last night... didnt think they were going to get there... same with the Lions to he honest.

We will sack teh coach tomorrow and - if at all possible, we will go back another 4yrs...
Post by: prodigyrf on August 22, 2021, 06:57:16 PM
For those of you who like to have a flutter on the finals here's some form science I use at season end. Percentage is a good guide to overall season form given teams have their good and bad days a narrow loss or win here and there but those points for and against all tell the overall tale. Except for the obvious they don't all play each other once but each plays 5 teams twice and not the same if looking back you played those top teams twice rather than the bottom finishers. In fact this year of the top 6 finishers Melb played the Cats and Dogs twice Port played the Dogs twice the Cats played Melb and the Lions twice while the Lions only played the Cats twice the Dogs played Melb and Port twice and Sydney none.

So what I like to do is pull out the double games points for and against and average them out (divide by two) and plug them back in as if there were only 17 games.  Here's what you get in finishing order of percentage with points F&A so you can also compare attacks and defences-

Melb  1454  1090  133.4%
Lions  1614  1255  128.6%
Cats   1454   1168  124.5%
Port   1462   1197   122.1%
Syd   1519    1259  120.7%
Dogs  1501   1259   119.2%

So make of that what you will coming into the finals and favourites for the  :cup:
Post by: prodigyrf on August 22, 2021, 09:02:49 PM
Worth recalling the top 4 finals stoushes from last year as only Richmond have been replaced by Melbourne-
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_AFL_finals_series
But this year there's no initial rest week and they're playing through and when that was the case you could virtually put your house on one of the winners of 1v4 and 2v3 winning the mug. As I recall it was only Brisbane and going back to Essendon that lost week 1 and then came back to take the flag in all those years.
Post by: lukeycat on August 22, 2021, 09:29:14 PM
The Demons surprised me last night... didnt think they were going to get there... same with the Lions to he honest.

We will sack teh coach tomorrow and - if at all possible, we will go back another 4yrs...
Being a blues supporter I wish the board would go Teague wasn’t the problem it’s been a basket case 2 years of footy with the rona there’s been glimpses of quality footy just not enough of it. If Lyon ends up our coach we are cooked pricks never won anything. They tried it with Pagen and Malthouse and both of them failed to deliver. It won’t happen but I’d prefer them to let Teague finish his contract and if they don’t deliver then don’t renew it. Contracts for coaches these days aren’t worth the paper they are written on.

Post by: Bird on August 22, 2021, 09:38:18 PM
Being a blues supporter I wish the board would go Teague wasn’t the problem it’s been a basket case 2 years of footy with the rona there’s been glimpses of quality footy just not enough of it. If Lyon ends up our coach we are cooked pricks never won anything. They tried it with Pagen and Malthouse and both of them failed to deliver. It won’t happen but I’d prefer them to let Teague finish his contract and if they don’t deliver then don’t renew it. Contracts for coaches these days aren’t worth the paper they are written on.
yea playing tennis with coaches doesnt work. but tealeaves doesnt have any mongrel in him at all. No anger... Saw the Lions coach give his players a bolloxing at 3/4 time and a whole new team came out to play...

By the time we are competitive, all our good players will have left or retired due to old age
Post by: vern on August 23, 2021, 08:17:30 PM

I remember when tigers supporters wanted the same with Hardwick, look how that turned out

Post by: prodigyrf on August 24, 2021, 11:39:32 AM
Maybe LLoyd's right if Clarko wants a year off seeing as how he's being paid by Hawthorn for a holiday and recharge the batteries-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/more-sports/caro-staggered-at-lloyd-s-unfathomable-teague-call/ar-AANDwMF
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2021, 12:00:31 PM
Quote from: prodigyrf
Maybe LLoyd's right if Clarko wants a year off seeing as how he's being paid by Hawthorn for a holiday and recharge the batteries-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/more-sports/caro-staggered-at-lloyd-s-unfathomable-teague-call/ar-AANDwMF

I cant believe they are dragging out their 'review'... or will they get the review and as usual -- do the opposite to what it recommends.
As Vern said, some clubs have stuck by their coach and succeeded - look at Melbourne this year - and Hardwick before that...

Maybe ???
Post by: prodigyrf on August 25, 2021, 06:37:02 PM
Seems Clarko is taking the year off so what should Carlton and Collingwood do now if they're reasonably confident he might want to coach again in 2023?
https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/clarkson-confirms-break-from-afl-in-2022/ar-AANIczs
Decisions decisions....always bloody decisions.
Post by: Bird on August 25, 2021, 07:03:34 PM
Clarko was never going to coach either team... that was just the media bullShit.

Tealeaves will stay at the blues, and nobody cares about wobblers :D
Post by: Bird on August 26, 2021, 09:55:16 AM
interesting timing of the Ross Lyon interview on tele last night....

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E9rK7q6XIAMC_-o?format=jpg&name=small)
Post by: DannyG on August 26, 2021, 11:18:28 AM
interesting timing of the Ross Lyon interview on tele last night....

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E9rK7q6XIAMC_-o?format=jpg&name=small)

Poor Form. He was going ok and doesn't deserve to be sacked. I guess they want a known quantity to lead the coaching so they can eliminate that department as the issue.

Its not a club that would inspire a coach to build success. Its not easy and requires a lot of cogs in the wheel to come together for you....oh and the right players help!!
Post by: Bird on August 26, 2021, 12:10:11 PM
Quote from: DannyG
Poor Form. He was going ok and doesn't deserve to be sacked. I guess they want a known quantity to lead the coaching so they can eliminate that department as the issue.
Coach always wears it.. easier to pay out 1 than 2 dozen Shit players.

Its not a club that would inspire a coach to build success.

After seeing how the last few have been treated - since Ratten, who'd go near the place.

Its not easy and requires a lot of cogs in the wheel to come together for you....oh and the right players help!!
Someone needs to answer why we have so many long term injuries to the same players each year.
Post by: Pottsy on August 26, 2021, 12:19:28 PM
Finish 13th and you get sacked, wouldn’t want to be 14 thru 18. You’d be getting a bit twitchy.

Ps I see Gladys beatBuddy to 1000.
Post by: vern on August 26, 2021, 04:54:28 PM
Finish 13th and you get sacked, wouldn’t want to be 14 thru 18. You’d be getting a bit twitchy.

Ps I see Gladys beatBuddy to 1000.
We finished 12th, Hardwick better start packing his bags

Post by: Bird on August 26, 2021, 05:55:32 PM
The main issue is - what coaches are out there?
Lion and clarkson.
only 1 wants a job.
Post by: Kangaron on August 26, 2021, 09:01:05 PM
We (North) finished last.
Very happy with our coach.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Post by: vern on August 26, 2021, 09:03:44 PM
The main issue is - what coaches are out there?
Lion and clarkson.
only 1 wants a job.
Buckley

Post by: Bird on August 27, 2021, 10:07:55 AM
Buckley

We've already suffered enough with another dud reject from them who I reckon was a plant from Eddie.. last thing we need is that.
Post by: vern on August 27, 2021, 08:05:56 PM
We've already suffered enough with another dud reject from them who I reckon was a plant from Eddie.. last thing we need is that.
Well, it looks like it could be on the cards

Post by: Pottsy on August 28, 2021, 06:05:22 PM
I wanted Sydney to win today but it wasn’t to be, Buddy looked disinterested, didn’t chase and just whinges when the balls not delivered the way he likes. Time for him to retire.
Post by: Bird on August 28, 2021, 06:09:00 PM
I wanted Sydney to win today but it wasn’t to be, Buddy looked disinterested, didn’t chase and just whinges when the balls not delivered the way he likes. Time for him to retire.
with the money hes on why would he be interested. Good to see green trying out for the next olympics diving team as usual.... and shoulder charging an umpire will get him nothing. another member of the protected species

(https://i2.wp.com/www.alltherooms.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/parque-Glorieta-Rodolfo-Sanchez-Taboada-Mazatlan-By-robcocquyt.jpg)
Post by: Pottsy on August 28, 2021, 06:56:46 PM
Tobys response, I was in the moment.

I so wanted Sydney to beat GWS.
Post by: Bird on August 28, 2021, 07:02:11 PM
Quote from: Pottsy
Tobys response, I was in the moment.
In the moment... it was after he elbowed the swans dude in the face... He will get charged with headbutting Tobys forearm..
The umpire will get fined for being in Lord Tobys way.

I so wanted Sydney to beat GWS.
so did most of the planet.
Post by: lukeycat on August 28, 2021, 07:57:55 PM
In the moment... it was after he elbowed the swans dude in the face... He will get charged with headbutting Tobys forearm..
The umpire will get fined for being in Lord Tobys way.
so did most of the planet.
Green seriously has to be the most talented dumb footballer in history lol when will he learn.

Post by: Bird on August 28, 2021, 08:40:11 PM
Quote from: lukeycat
Green seriously has to be the most talented dumb footballer in history lol when will he learn.
he doesnt have to.
Edit: they jsut reported if they consider it deliberate - its 10 weeks... hahahahaha More chance of the umpire getting 10 weeks.

Demons are having a cake walk...  They'll probably make the grand final before letting their fans down
Post by: lukeycat on August 28, 2021, 09:29:38 PM
Back in the day they gave Williams 9 weeks for pushing an ump whilst looking at the bloke he wasn’t happy with which wasn’t the ump hahah oh how times have changed

Post by: GeoffA on August 29, 2021, 06:25:17 PM
Woof...
Post by: Bird on August 29, 2021, 08:02:52 PM
Woof...
that was so good to see...

Like to see Dogs Melb final ,but wont happen
Post by: GeoffA on August 29, 2021, 08:12:51 PM
Like to see Dogs Melb final ,but wont happen

I think you underrate Melbourne  :P

Nah....I thought the Gliders would win today, but what do I know?

I can't see the Dogs beating Brisbane, but anything can happen now....
Post by: prodigyrf on August 29, 2021, 09:43:43 PM
I reckon the bookies have it right now without the end of season rest week-
https://www.sportsbet.com.au/betting/australian-rules/afl/afl-premiership-winner-2021-5456172
Put even bets on Melbourne and Port to win the flag and I reckon you'll get a payout. Still there's covid could wreck any team's chances and with a wet year the Dogs might do some damage if inclement weather favours their matches.
Post by: Bird on August 30, 2021, 03:24:40 PM
Find this surprising thought they'd want an experienced one after the last lemming.

Collingwood are preparing to unveil their new coach as early as this week, with triple-premiership winning Brisbane Lion Craig McRae firmly in the frame for the role.

According to industry sources, Richmond assistant coach Adam Kingsley is now out of the running, and as reported by The Age on August 27, McRae was considered the clear front-runner for the role after West Coast assistant Jaymie Graham was informed he was no longer in contention.

After Graham was informed that he was out of the race, the Magpies’ field was narrowed to Port Adelaide assistant coach Michael Voss, Richmond assistant Kingsley, and McRae.

Any appointment will need board approval before it’s announced.

McRae’s premiership coach Leigh Matthews recently said the former midfielder was an ideal fit.

“The school teacher training is good training now for any kind of management type of role,” Matthews told 3AW.
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2021, 12:40:34 PM
Back in the day they gave Williams 9 weeks for pushing an ump whilst looking at the bloke he wasn’t happy with which wasn’t the ump hahah oh how times have changed

Greene found guilty
Howie reads out jury’s findings: “Greene had a full view of the umpire...he was looking straight at the umpire. The umpire was stationary. Jury finds Greene’s conduct was disrespectful, demonstrative and aggressive.”
Post by: xcvator on August 31, 2021, 12:42:05 PM
 :cup: :cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cup: :cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cup: :cup:

https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/toby-greene-judiciary-hearing-live-updates/news-story/dcddf6541e66ba852a237efdb967385d (https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/toby-greene-judiciary-hearing-live-updates/news-story/dcddf6541e66ba852a237efdb967385d)
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2021, 12:56:31 PM
6 weeks?? Wont happen...  The Hird comparison is embarrassing... Hird didnt walk through an umpire.

Gleeson’s submission to the jury: “You’ve found that he has intentionally breached the rule.

“You have rejected his repeated insistence that his act was not intentional.

“Your submission should say to anyone who plays the game ‘do not do this.’”

Gleeson says Greene must be suspended for no less than six weeks.

Ihle agrees that “general deterrence looms large.”

Ihle arguing that an appropriate sanction would be a “severe financial penalty.“

Ihle says a fine of $20,000-$25,000 would be appropriate. He compares it to James Hird’s fine for comments about umpire Scott McLaren in 2004.
Post by: lukeycat on August 31, 2021, 01:04:20 PM
Will be interesting to see what the sanction is he is already sitting on 8 weeks suspended from memory and at 16 total you get deregistered and that includes all leagues etc. Obviously the AFL caveat that with they have absolute discretion. Has happened to a few people at local level footy over the last few years. I umpire local footy since i was 16 and Id be really disapointed if a player did that to me and at local level they would throw the book at them. Players have been given life bans for similar acts not that it will happen here. Its no good for the game and trying to get young kids to umpire and keep umpiring is hard enough when you have one of the games most talanted players behave that way. I think they will make an example of him this time around.
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2021, 02:01:34 PM
Protected species like Franklin.
22 prior charges (only talking on field here) with just 8 weeks suspension in total.

Weak as piss.. 3 week suspension.
Appeal???  Im betting they will be popping the champagne corks tonight after that slap with the wet celery

Greene or Franklin could walk on the ground with a mace and start clubbing people and they'd get a fine.
Post by: MDS69 on August 31, 2021, 03:50:27 PM
Greene is a flog. This below is copied from the article reporting what he said to the umpire

“The high drama continued as the hearing unfolded with the panel being played audio from the umpire’s microphone capturing Greene’s angry words before the contact.

“He took a f***ing dive,” Greene said after a free kick was given to Sydney near the end of the third quarter.”

The funny thing is this is exactly what Greene did as the clock was winding down to full time. He milked a penalty and pretended to be dazed as he lined up for his free kick but as soon as the hooter went he was jumping all over the place.
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2021, 03:58:10 PM
Quote from: MDS69
The funny thing is this is exactly what Greene did as the clock was winding down to full time. He milked a penalty and pretended to be dazed as he lined up for his free kick but as soon as the hooter went he was jumping all over the place.
Thought i was the only person who noticed that.

(https://forum.wordreference.com/attachments/hit-the-nail-on-the-head-jpg.17044/)
Post by: vern on September 01, 2021, 04:40:49 PM
https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/text-message-whinge-reveals-eddie-mcguire-and-sons-denied-entry-into-wa-for-afl-grand-final-c-3839079.amp

Poor bloke

Post by: xcvator on September 01, 2021, 07:39:54 PM
https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/text-message-whinge-reveals-eddie-mcguire-and-sons-denied-entry-into-wa-for-afl-grand-final-c-3839079.amp

Poor bloke(https://emoji.tapatalk-cdn.com/emoji6.png)

Must have been a bit of a shock to Eddie McEverywhere to find he wasn't an "essential service"  ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on September 02, 2021, 03:00:01 PM
This doesnt leave much choice....

Ross Lyon has reportedly pulled out of the running to become Carlton’s new AFL coach.

The Age is reporting the former St Kilda and Fremantle coach has told Blues hierarchy he does not intend to take part in the club’s search for David Teague’s replacement.

https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/ross-lyon-pulls-out-of-carlton-coaching-race-as-club-changes-process-c-3852734 (https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/ross-lyon-pulls-out-of-carlton-coaching-race-as-club-changes-process-c-3852734)
Post by: Kangaron on September 02, 2021, 05:31:54 PM
Must have been a bit of a shock to Eddie McEverywhere to find he wasn't an "essential service"  ;D ;D

Wonder Why Gil MacLaclan's wife was deemed to be essential?
Post by: Bird on September 02, 2021, 07:04:16 PM
Quote from: Kangaron
Wonder Why Gil MacLaclan's wife was deemed to be essential?
part payment for letting WA have the final?
Post by: Bird on September 03, 2021, 09:42:32 PM
Giants ??? Giant what?

Wish they'd show Greene's face in the crowd
: D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Pottsy on September 04, 2021, 08:59:52 AM
Yep, they rattled out an extensive list of injured and suspended players, so what, most teams at some stage go thru exactly the same thing. They just weren’t able to curb Hawkins and Cameron.
Not sure the Cats will roll Melbourne.
Post by: vern on September 04, 2021, 09:12:28 AM
But, if greene and hogan were on the field, i think it would have been the other way around. Perhaps this will sink into Tobys thick skull.
Agree, i think Melbourne will be hard to beat

Post by: Pottsy on September 04, 2021, 09:51:05 AM
Yeh, if you were Greene’s team mates you wouldn’t be particularly happy with his continual brain farts, just brings to much unnecessary negative coverage to the team.
Post by: prodigyrf on September 04, 2021, 09:57:43 AM
You won't win a game of footy if you can't take contested marks in your forward half but on that showing the Cats will be a practice match for the Dees before the GF. Too many old legs now and the Dees will punish their miskicking when not under pressure. Not the Cats of old in that regard and their fans want to pray for a wet one to have a chance of another GF methinks.

A more serious contest with the Dogs and Lions tonight that could go down to the wire but I expect Port will be playing the Lions on those adjusted percentages.
Post by: Bird on September 04, 2021, 09:29:25 PM
Great game so far... think the umps lost their mind in the last few mins of the 3rd..
Post by: xcvator on September 04, 2021, 10:15:42 PM
Go Bullies :cup: :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on September 04, 2021, 10:37:33 PM
Woof woof....
Post by: GeoffA on September 04, 2021, 10:38:26 PM
A more serious contest with the Dogs and Lions tonight that could go down to the wire but I expect Port will be playing the Lions on those adjusted percentages.

Time to give those percentages away.... ;D
Post by: prodigyrf on September 05, 2021, 12:30:44 AM
You might want to concentrate on the first part of the sentence and bear in mind the percentages are a guide. The last match of the minor round was a final between the Port and the Dogs that saw a dramatic change of places between the Dogs and Lions so back for a rematch in Adelaide. No cheap premiership for any of the top 4 finishers as they have to beat the other 3 or any team good enough to beat them coming up. Lions or Dogs it's the same deal for Port trying to hold up the mug but there's not not been much between them at the business end of the season and Mad Monday awaits another 2 teams next week  :'(
Post by: GeoffA on September 05, 2021, 08:59:24 AM
You might want to concentrate on the first part of the sentence and bear in mind the percentages are a guide....

Where's the fun in that??... :P
Post by: Bird on September 05, 2021, 11:10:22 AM
 :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/241139039_2944340492491452_8841669730700366209_n.jpg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=7rbSS5Z0afQAX-4WcSJ&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=2c39e0d8da45ec95ae4e5777334d96d3&oe=61595B89)
Post by: prodigyrf on September 05, 2021, 02:45:48 PM
Where's the fun in that??... :P

The funny part for Port fans was the Dogs just 'resting' Bontempelli in the dying stages of a do or die arm wrestle final so he could come up OK against Port next week instead of Weightman. Just like we'd 'rest' Travis Boak in similar circumstances.
Still it seems the Dogs are the proxy for the Lions in the Prelim against Port now but there can be penalties like Georgiades and Fantasia every time you play a final and Covid hasn't played a part yet. Still think the Dees have one hand on the cup already  :cup:
Post by: prodigyrf on September 10, 2021, 07:31:26 PM
Well it's on to pick the best 2 to fight it out for the mug. The Dees and Port with the week off have to make sure they're not jumped early by the teams match hardened and having to play catch up thereafter. With Port unchanged and the Dogs injury shuffles there's no excuse for them at home.  Although Adelaide's been fine and warm all week there could be rain for the match which won't suit the tall's marking and Port players won't like a reminder of being beaten in the wet by the Tigers last year.

One thing you do find regularly with one sided interstate crowds is the home sides don't get the same ticky touch ones as Brisbane fans would appreciate last week. The umps mean well in keeping the whistle neutral but it's human nature for them to end up resisting the marginal calls for the home side with the crowd constantly screaming ball, holding the man, in the back with every ticky touch contest. Still if you keep far enough ahead of your opposition on the scoreboard that doesn't matter.

Bottom line now if you're not good enough to win a Prelim there's no prizes for second a week later and that will hurt more.
Post by: Bird on September 10, 2021, 10:28:57 PM
Meow ??? BD would have smashed the TV by now
Last 3 times a team has won like this in a prelim, they have gone on to lose..

Gawn... game of his life.

But storm Shit on Manly too so WOOHOO!!
Post by: Bird on September 10, 2021, 11:23:02 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/240518008_547965446449771_1050810804911362332_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=WFYO4TkKSG4AX-sbQE4&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=08ecfed687c4bf3c4924ff695cdd3bbb&oe=613F5F48)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/241507161_10159441361708416_7057889206202874505_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=iEJDV2Zksd0AX8FK2R6&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=b0f4b7f2a4eb07571b6a66b9bd0d86c3&oe=6160DE3A)
Post by: prodigyrf on September 11, 2021, 09:08:46 AM
Dees? Simply awesome and they won't put the cue in the rack in the last quarter of the GF thinking about next week. Port had the Cats measure at home but not like that and the Dogs are on a par with them. Still while they're both alive the dream lives but one of them is going to have to show some real form tonight if they're to present a challenge in the GF.
Post by: Bird on September 11, 2021, 11:32:03 AM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/241327123_4289731197818933_1336448175586550115_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=xI0rnrqsyZIAX80oAzA&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=ad55c77f3862f918aa78b3cd80c1be29&oe=6141A81A)
Post by: vern on September 11, 2021, 02:29:27 PM
Ha(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210911/174922d7cbb5db4550d73647a040ddaa.jpg)

Post by: Bird on September 11, 2021, 05:16:25 PM
Ha(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210911/174922d7cbb5db4550d73647a040ddaa.jpg)

Kosh is annoyed he hasnt been allowed into the state LMAO
Post by: vern on September 11, 2021, 05:54:29 PM

Kosh is annoyed he hasnt been allowed into the state LMAO
Sounds like they will tear us apart, poor Koshy. Maybe he can watch it with Eddie

Post by: xcvator on September 11, 2021, 10:14:30 PM
Go Bullies
Post by: GeoffA on September 11, 2021, 10:22:45 PM
Like to see Dogs Melb final ...

Woof, Woof, Woof....
Post by: prodigyrf on September 11, 2021, 10:51:35 PM
Well I did say one of them is going to have to show some real form tonight if they're to present a challenge in the GF and that's certainly given the Dees something to think about. It all looks so easy when you're getting your hands on the ball at clearances and it's bouncing your way. Well done Dogs.
Post by: Pottsy on September 12, 2021, 08:34:33 AM
I’m a Port supporter and I have to say they were pretty disappointing last night, again they let a team jump them and they were caught chasing all night. They are not a top four side, the results flattered them this year, they are still too inconsistent to be a real contender.
Another twelve months under the belts of some of the youngsters will make a difference.

Looking forward to the big dance, I hope Melbourne get up.
Post by: xcvator on September 12, 2021, 10:48:08 AM
I’m a Port supporter and I have to say they were pretty disappointing last night, again they let a team jump them and they were caught chasing all night. They are not a top four side, the results flattered them this year, they are still too inconsistent to be a real contender.
Another twelve months under the belts of some of the youngsters will make a difference.

Looking forward to the big dance, I hope Melbourne get up.

NNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Post by: Bird on September 12, 2021, 10:56:16 AM
 Instead of playing ‘Never tear us apart’, Port Adelaide have asked INXS if they can play ‘Disappear’…especially before the start of a final.

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/241240240_1473344459703000_5965175519625707216_n.jpg?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=po8eSMlkw8wAX--FcZc&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=db66ace8e2e8a463a35de01c93efb6e8&oe=61616B69)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/241813499_4293129454145774_4610689990201443994_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=DyDoVfb69bwAX8cRpav&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=073838d0d9c7eaa9a4d53ba6b85c2ceb&oe=61420961)

(https://www.jokejive.com/images/jokejive/e7/e74752e6ab2fb6f41ecca1c10880efc6.jpeg)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/240687705_4600786523306227_1198898586692692968_n.jpg?_nc_cat=104&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=eXZNU76fgNAAX-pjD2r&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=8f9a706852aa23a41cce17875efdc394&oe=6164B93B)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/241777213_10158514922661728_3179143274579744190_n.jpg?_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=shN9jtuu94UAX8tS6jK&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=e67568fc86c6c7495a3e35f52392ea82&oe=6161AF00)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/241187827_4313414895445604_6057617801138358952_n.jpg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=gFFFXpe2y3YAX8puYsr&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=297cd46d21a3ac406e1044fe194d498c&oe=6162AAD5)
Post by: Bird on September 12, 2021, 07:50:18 PM
this bloke hates life

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/240912620_2944987635760071_1349629015050166202_n.jpg?_nc_cat=106&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=973b4a&_nc_ohc=ClhTGX5Kb90AX9yJWiz&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=8ce883a88dceb246eae41395155ceea4&oe=6164F352)
Post by: Bird on September 23, 2021, 01:34:09 PM
So Carlton have a coach. I think hes a good bloke and will do well...

It seems 100% like it was your not first choice, not second, not third, not fourth... but Shit we ran out of options, you'll do.

No way to treat anyone let alone a coach of a Shit footy team with unrealistic expectations of finals next year..

or is the plan to hold off until Clarko decides to make a return, then Voss will get the pork sausage?

Post by: vern on September 23, 2021, 03:50:52 PM
So Carlton have a coach. I think hes a good bloke and will do well...

It seems 100% like it was your not first choice, not second, not third, not fourth... but Shit we ran out of options, you'll do.

No way to treat anyone let alone a coach of a Shit footy team with unrealistic expectations of finals next year..

or is the plan to hold off until Clarko decides to make a return, then Voss will get the pork sausage?
And we have a new assistant coach, interesting to see how Teague goes.

Post by: Bird on September 23, 2021, 04:31:23 PM
And we have a new assistant coach, interesting to see how Teague goes.
He has a better record than Voss ... :(
Post by: GeoffA on September 24, 2021, 06:28:59 PM
DOGGIE, DOGGIE, DOGGIE......... ;D

Should be a good game, but no guarantees with GF's...

Post by: Bird on September 24, 2021, 06:44:05 PM
DOGGIE, DOGGIE, DOGGIE......... ;D

Should be a good game, but no guarantees with GF's...

expecting a close game or a massacre?
Post by: GeoffA on September 24, 2021, 06:59:30 PM
expecting a close game or a massacre?

Yes...
Post by: Bird on September 24, 2021, 07:18:30 PM
Quote from: GeoffA
Yes...
same... will be good to see thousands of shattered fans :)
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2021, 08:14:24 PM
Gee the dogs didnt get off the bus in the first.. started lookin like another walk over

but doing well now..
Post by: Pottsy on September 25, 2021, 08:33:45 PM
Cracker game.
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2021, 08:42:10 PM
1/2 time would be better if I could actually hear the lead singer... could hear everything but him.
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2021, 08:50:54 PM
Was Gawns kick in second a goal? sure looked like it to me
Post by: gronk on September 25, 2021, 08:55:37 PM
Cracker game.

Is this the best they dish up ? I thought it was pretty scrappy until 1/2 time??
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2021, 08:59:23 PM
Is this the best they dish up ? I thought it was pretty scrappy until 1/2 time??
havent watched much footy for while have ya ;) this is the norm now.... :(

Dogs got this easy now.Game over.
Post by: Pottsy on September 25, 2021, 09:21:03 PM

Might need to re think that Bird, I think this one will go down to the wire if this quarter is anything to goby.
Post by: gronk on September 25, 2021, 09:22:05 PM

Been a while since I watched a whole game.  I thought you just said the Dogs have got this ??
Post by: Pottsy on September 25, 2021, 09:23:27 PM
Might need to re think that Bird, I think this one will go down to the wire if this quarter is anything to goby.

Maybe I need a re think!!!!
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2021, 09:25:44 PM
first and third to demons
second and last to hounds
Post by: vern on September 25, 2021, 09:27:19 PM
first and third to demons
second and last to hounds
Hope not

Post by: Pottsy on September 25, 2021, 09:30:49 PM
My team went out to the Bulldogs but If I had to pick a winner I’d like the Demons to get up, been a while since they held up the cup.
Enjoying this game between the two best sides all year. Looking forward to the final quarter, can the doggies mount a challenge?
Post by: Pottsy on September 25, 2021, 09:41:04 PM
Six minutes in and the cues in the rack.

Well done Melbourne.
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2021, 09:43:18 PM
Whose ya best on ground so far??

It'll probably be Dusty, if not Fritch? Cant be gawn, hes been ok but not best, Petraka? Oliver?
Post by: Pottsy on September 25, 2021, 09:51:00 PM
Petraka
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2021, 09:55:14 PM
shame they havent shown teh dogs coaching box..

**** that squeaky woman commentator is annoying
Post by: vern on September 25, 2021, 09:56:01 PM
Wish it was Dusty, but Petraka for me

Post by: Bird on September 25, 2021, 09:58:02 PM
Have to feel for Nathan Jones.... All those years in a Shit team....
Post by: gronk on September 25, 2021, 10:09:35 PM
Petraka

Hey, even I know his names spelt Petracca…….and only watched one game all year.  ;D ;D

Might be another year after that !!     :-[
Post by: Pottsy on September 25, 2021, 10:43:54 PM
Hey, even I know his names spelt Petracca…….and only watched one game all year.  ;D ;D

Might be another year after that !!     :-[

You say potato, I say chippies. ;D
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2021, 10:56:48 PM
Wonder how neale daniher is feeling right now...

How good is this!!!  :cup: :cup: :cup:

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FAIbWHrVcAYr8yv?format=jpg&name=small)
Post by: GeoffA on September 25, 2021, 11:05:11 PM
Of all the people that should have been there, he'd be at the top of the list....
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2021, 11:12:22 PM
Quote from: GeoffA
Of all the people that should have been there, he'd be at the top of the list....
agree 1o0% 
I'd say a close second would be Ron Barassi
Post by: Kangaron on September 26, 2021, 10:58:47 AM
The offer was made but he declined.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Post by: prodigyrf on September 27, 2021, 04:47:26 PM
"You have to obviously do your best to acknowledge what's happened and be realistic and be truthful," Bontempelli said."But I think the honest reflection is it just wasn't us today..."

Well Bont the last 3 finals that matter were nothing like their Round 23 clashes so what happened? Do Port get the best Mad Monday award for a 71 point margin compared to 83 and 74 points?
What happened is the AFL decided first to introduce the centre square and then more recently some more rules not least the 6-6-6 rule-
https://www.afl.com.au/news/121022/know-the-new-rules-6-6-6-50m-penalties-kick-in-rule-explained

So if your opposition gets their hands on the ball and a clear run from centre it will be a training run kicking goals with the skills AFL footballers have nowadays and there's bugger all you can do about it but get that sinking feeling. Yeah I know we thought 8 goal runs was rhubarb rhubarb but welcome to 11 goal runs and 16 out of the next 17 goals with run around footy.
Me I'm liking local amateur footy more and more as AFL is all about having the best first and second ruck nowadays and even then they don't want to be 5% off and the other team's 5% on.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 28, 2021, 06:55:31 AM
can i lock this thread now Bird  ;D

Post by: Bird on September 28, 2021, 09:35:18 AM
163 days till round 1 :D
Post by: Pottsy on September 28, 2021, 12:50:54 PM
163 days till round 1 :D
That assumes we are not in the middle of a major covid outbreak and lockdowns.
Post by: bmwfreak on September 28, 2021, 06:14:57 PM
That assumes we are not in the middle of a major covid outbreak and lockdowns.

I didn’t think it made any difference to the high profile groups/people that wanted to do stuff. They had to fly somewhere different to normal, but were able to continue on with their lives (and earnings) pretty much uninterrupted. All of the state government politicians who pandered to the sporting bodies and film makers, while enforcing lockdown on the rest of the population, should be stripped of their pension entitlement and made to isolate for 10-12 months.
NB I am in total agreement with the lockdown measures that non NSW governments have taken (and NSW was ONLY guilty of waiting too long), but most of them have been guilty of turning a blind eye to celebrities and accommodating highly commercialised sporting bodies for their own benefit.
Post by: vern on September 28, 2021, 07:20:15 PM
I'm glad they were able to play, for the benefit of my entertainment

Post by: Bird on September 28, 2021, 07:47:46 PM
I'm glad they were able to play, for the benefit of my entertainment

agree... would have been a boring weekend otherwise... was just as good watching it the second time
Post by: Bird on October 07, 2021, 03:06:20 PM
 :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

GWS Giants star Toby Greene will miss the first five weeks of the 2022 season after the AFL successfully appealed the initial three-match suspension handed down for his “ump bump” and another three games were added to his ban.

https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/gws-giants-star-toby-greene-learns-fate-after-afl-appeals-board-hearing-into-ump-bump/news-story/dea1a8decf8a83aef5aa63a543e1ab8d (https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/gws-giants-star-toby-greene-learns-fate-after-afl-appeals-board-hearing-into-ump-bump/news-story/dea1a8decf8a83aef5aa63a543e1ab8d)
Post by: vern on October 07, 2021, 05:27:06 PM
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

GWS Giants star Toby Greene will miss the first five weeks of the 2022 season after the AFL successfully appealed the initial three-match suspension handed down for his “ump bump” and another three games were added to his ban.

https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/gws-giants-star-toby-greene-learns-fate-after-afl-appeals-board-hearing-into-ump-bump/news-story/dea1a8decf8a83aef5aa63a543e1ab8d (https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/gws-giants-star-toby-greene-learns-fate-after-afl-appeals-board-hearing-into-ump-bump/news-story/dea1a8decf8a83aef5aa63a543e1ab8d)
Thats 14 weeks in total so far for toby, his next suspension could be his exit from the afl all together

Post by: Bird on October 07, 2021, 05:53:24 PM
Thats 14 weeks in total so far for toby, his next suspension could be his exit from the afl all together

Your getting me all excited.

Although I wouldn't put it past the AFL to change the rules for him
Post by: vern on October 07, 2021, 07:22:38 PM
Your getting me all excited.

Although I wouldn't put it past the AFL to change the rules for him
I can see it now, 2022, tigers win the flag again, toby gets the boot! Its going to be a great year for football

Post by: Pottsy on October 07, 2021, 07:35:06 PM
I can see it now, 2022, tigers win the flag again, toby gets the boot! Its going to be a great year for football

Somebody tell him he’s dreaming. ;D
Post by: vern on October 07, 2021, 07:38:27 PM
Somebody tell him he’s dreaming. ;D
Well its not going to be Port, we all know that

Post by: Bird on October 07, 2021, 08:01:39 PM

.... and after an 0-3 start to season, Carlton looking for a new coach... again
Post by: Pottsy on October 07, 2021, 08:22:41 PM

That cut deep Vern, I will now go and drown my sorrows with a bottle of something deliciously alcoholic.