General => General Discussion => Topic started by: nab on October 03, 2017, 11:24:13 PM

Title: Anyone had an old Valiant?
Post by: nab on October 03, 2017, 11:24:13 PM
I've been thinking about getting an old car, something from the 70's with a V8. Probably a couple of years away yet but I like to keep my eye on the market. I'm a Ford man and have been looking at Falcons/Fairlanes but half decent ones are $20k minimum. I don't mind the old Valiants (old man had one) and they are much better value for money.

I'm all over the Fords regarding models/engines/trannys etc having owned a few back in the day but I don't know much at all about the Valiants except I like them.

Anyone had one?
What are spares parts like to find (any recommendations in WA)?
Any forums/websites to check out?
Anything to look out for other than rust?
Title: Re: Anyone had an old Valiant?
Post by: Ragman on October 03, 2017, 11:51:18 PM
had a couple the VJ ute and VM ELB Regal, the 265 six is the best motor ever made in those days.
I tried to be a holden man but in honestly the Valiants were way better in every way.

tip (pulled the ELB ignition dizzy and chucked in a std points unit easy fix.)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 04, 2017, 04:22:00 AM
The VC VIP was a very good car from back in 67. Plenty of nice trim, a tidy little 273 V8 and auto. Really nice to drive.

In the era of the 70's, there was issues with rust around the steering box mountings. Most by now would have been plated and braced, as it was a common problem. They also had fairly light power steering at highway speeds.

You could always shoot for an old SV1 or RV1 from the early 60's, the first model had the fake spare wheel cover on the boot.
Everyone reckons they look like a garbage bin lid bolted on the boot.

You'll also find, on the Aussie websites like Just Cars and the like, lots of cars for sale that have been sold years ago. When I was Caddy hunting, the number of people who said they'd asked numerous times for cars to be removed was a pain.

Don't rule out a Lefty form the good ol USA either, look under Plymouth Valiant on either Hemmings or Carsales.com.

Some good cars, way more to choose from and USAtoAUS can get it here for ya.

Oh, and left hook is piss easy to drive too.

https://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/cars-for-sale/plymouth/valiant/1948242.html (https://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/cars-for-sale/plymouth/valiant/1948242.html)
Post by: Redback on October 04, 2017, 10:33:59 AM
I had two 66/67 VC Valiants as a young lad, the standard slant 6 225 and a VIP V8, power wise not a big difference really when you drove the cars, lots of performance were available for them too, still are I think, not that they really needed them, they were alot more powerful in standard trim than the standards or hotted fords and Holdens from the era.

When looking for these search Dodge 106 also, they came in 3 variants, Ute, Wagon and Sedan, good honest car.

Post by: Coolblue80 on October 04, 2017, 05:10:08 PM
Vals are slowly climbing in price. Would help if you knew what model your thinking of. Good Pacers are out of your budget. So are any of the Chargers. Parts are easy to come by. Pentastar Parts, Elko and Hemi Performance are the main players. I'd stick with Pentastar Parts, good service and price. Good panels can be hard to find depending on the model. Get the car with the least amount of rust. Body work gets expensive when chasing rust. Mechanicals are simple and easy to work on.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: GeoffA on October 04, 2017, 07:37:46 PM
We had a CM 265 auto wagon for 13 years. Couldn't kill it.
Sunstone = Chrysler Aust speak for ORANGE
I'm a blue oval fancier, but after owning one the Vals are now a favourite.
I bought it 'cos it was 1 owner, low k's, shiny and cheap, but it really grew on me. Nothing flash, just a very honest car.
One of 3 previous drives that I regret selling....

Post by: Craig Tomkinson on October 04, 2017, 07:53:22 PM
Hi Nab, I know bugger all about them but my two brother inlaws have a few SV1s completely restored between them they are great looking old car, Criag
Post by: broncos11 on October 04, 2017, 08:01:51 PM
Steffo1 had maybe an AP6??????? back when he had shoulder length non grey hair ;D
Post by: Humphreythebear on October 04, 2017, 09:56:30 PM
Get one !
I've had fords n holdens from the mid sixties to late 70's all of my youth ( I am still youthful ...... )
Got a Val  approx 10 yrs ago , still have it !

It's my favourite car , has been everywhere , is not pretty but wears it well .
Slant 6 , poo brown , cream vynil roof - doesn't get any better .
1969 VF VIP .
Post by: glenm64 on October 04, 2017, 10:38:04 PM

770 two door coupe running a 318. A Mexican if you can find one.
Tell me this aint a sweet ride.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171004/1b1148cd0591d2fcdb4e3110804fc6f5.jpg)

Or if you can find one a CH or CJ Chrysler by Chrysler 2 door.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171004/56354e056c646df2b1d98b02b72f4c0e.jpg)

Post by: edz on October 04, 2017, 11:22:20 PM
Saw one of those Val coupes on a truck going up the highway  yesterday [  part done " complete "project car by the looks ] Thought it had the CL / M type front clip on it though . There was also a Mazda 929 / RX-4 coupe [ Looked a complete period survivor car, mags,  spoilers  etc  ]  and an out of place early 2000's  model falcon .
Post by: shakey55 on October 05, 2017, 04:13:35 AM
I learnt to drive in an AP5 - push button automatic

A bloody long time ago

Post by: MDS69 on October 05, 2017, 05:42:09 AM
If you are on Facebook then join a page called unfinished projects. The Val pops up from time to time but usually "projects" but sometimes a complete or near complete car.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 05, 2017, 05:48:10 AM
Holy Crap.... the HQ sedan is a bit rough around the edges.  ;D
Post by: glenm64 on October 05, 2017, 07:20:24 AM
Mopar Market
http://www.moparmarket.com/classifieds_list.php?type=regular&category=Cars (http://www.moparmarket.com/classifieds_list.php?type=regular&category=Cars)
Post by: MarkGU on October 05, 2017, 08:05:35 PM
My Speedway Valiant.
Won point score 4 out of 5 years.
3rd in state tittles out of 35 cars.
Lap record at Lismore Speedway.

Post by: lloydus67 on October 05, 2017, 08:55:44 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171005/f16c8900a5472a428b6a2af278bc5a21.jpg)
Always wanted one these tbh

Post by: vern on October 06, 2017, 05:11:11 AM
Out of all the cars from the 60's and 70's i have owned (30odd) i miss my CL770 charger, factory 4 speed and 265 hemi, and my VG coupe with 318 i built into a reasonable 13sec sleeper the most

Post by: NewieCamper on October 06, 2017, 07:40:52 AM
770 two door coupe running a 318. A Mexican if you can find one.
Tell me this aint a sweet ride.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171004/1b1148cd0591d2fcdb4e3110804fc6f5.jpg)

Had one of those for a while, but with a 360. Really enjoyed it.

I'd reckon body parts would be harder to find but finding engine parts shouldn't be too hard, especially performance bits.
Post by: Beachman on October 06, 2017, 08:25:44 AM
I learnt to drive in the 4 door version of the above car with a the 6 cylinder. It needed at least a litre of oil and one of the engine mounts broke, so the motor was leaning on the inner guard for 12 months, but didn’t affect its performance and shamed many Fords/Holden’s leaving the lights. 
Post by: Mace on October 06, 2017, 09:26:12 AM
Anything with 2 doors (except a ute)  will be big $$.  I sold my VG Pacer Coupe 10 years ago, it would now cost me 3 x the dosh to buy in back.

A lot of people ask big money for them, however it is possible to buy a reasonable Val to use daily  from anywhere between $8 and $10k.  This would cover anything from a AP5/VC thru to the final CM's.

There a a couple of good FB pages that I have seen a few come up on:

Valiant VE VF VG -fans of the Aussie A Body

farm wrecks rusty relics & old car sales australia

Valiant cars

This sale was a reasonable result considering it was a non matching numbers vehicle.  If it had retained its original V8 it may have gone for 2 - 3 times the price.

https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/2017-shannons-melbourne-spring-classic-auction/XD9775X07D9IGYB3/ (https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/2017-shannons-melbourne-spring-classic-auction/XD9775X07D9IGYB3/)

Happy Hunting.

Post by: Bird on October 06, 2017, 09:30:13 AM
Quote from: Mace
This sale was a reasonable result considering it was a non matching numbers vehicle.  If it had retained its original V8 it may have gone for 2 - 3 times the price.

https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/2017-shannons-melbourne-spring-classic-auction/XD9775X07D9IGYB3/ (https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/2017-shannons-melbourne-spring-classic-auction/XD9775X07D9IGYB3/)
That looks very nice! Any idea how much it went for?

this went for $7k which I reckon is cheap
https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/2012-shannons-melbourne-autumn-classic-auction/BK591Y38QW579E50/ (https://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/2012-shannons-melbourne-autumn-classic-auction/BK591Y38QW579E50/)
Post by: Mace on October 06, 2017, 10:26:22 AM
That looks very nice! Any idea how much it went for?

It made $6000.

$7k for the matching numbers AP5 is good value, some are seen selling for $10 - $15k.

It all gets down to what someone wants to pay.  People want to have a reminder of their childhood and pay over the top $$

Post by: Bird on October 06, 2017, 10:27:06 AM
It made $6000.
Less than I thought :) Maybe there are some bargains to be had in Old Val's if you pick the right one
Post by: Mace on October 06, 2017, 10:33:03 AM
Less than I thought :) Maybe there are some bargains to be had in Old Val's if you pick the right one

Yeah, but take your time and wait until they come up.

Last week down in Hobart an XP Falcon sedan  came up on Facebook.  I would have called it in fair condition.  Registered until a month ago, driveable, minimal rust. Paint was faded, but if your into patina, it was fine.  It was offered for $4500.  It sold in the time it took for me to show it to the missus and then send a message to the poster. Literally two minutes.  Sometime things like that come up, but you need to have the $$ ready.  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on October 06, 2017, 12:00:34 PM
Yeah, but take your time and wait until they come up.

Last week down in Hobart an XP Falcon sedan  came up on Facebook.  I would have called it in fair condition.  Registered until a month ago, driveable, minimal rust. Paint was faded, but if your into patina, it was fine.  It was offered for $4500.  It sold in the time it took for me to show it to the missus and then send a message to the poster. Literally two minutes.  Sometime things like that come up, but you need to have the $$ ready.  :cheers:
agree totally - bargains always come up when you have no cash around too :(

So you learnt from this - don't worry about the missus approval next time just do it!   ;) ;) ;)
Post by: Bird on October 06, 2017, 12:50:34 PM
Quote from: nab
I'm a Ford man and have been looking at Falcons/Fairlanes but half decent ones are $20k minimum.
like old holdens?
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/dirty-creek/cars-vans-utes/ej-eh-holden-windowless-panel-van/1160272902/ (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/dirty-creek/cars-vans-utes/ej-eh-holden-windowless-panel-van/1160272902/)
Post by: Coolblue80 on October 06, 2017, 03:30:28 PM
(https://i.imgur.com/mK2mD6O.jpg)
(https://i.imgur.com/M2XfuM7.jpg?1)
Here's my old Val. Sold it about 3 months ago. This sold for 19k.
(https://i.imgur.com/pKHqt8k.jpg)
I nearly had this Pacer in the shed but I missed it because I sat on it to long. Sold for 10k. I had plans of doing a full mechanical resto on it but leave the body the way it was.
Cheer, Mike.
Post by: rusty gates on October 06, 2017, 05:45:35 PM
I know it's not a Valiant, but I've got one of these.....
Post by: fc_holden on October 06, 2017, 06:18:26 PM
should have read whole of thread before replying 😔
Post by: nab on October 06, 2017, 09:56:31 PM
Awesome pics guys!

If I was ready to buy I would jump on something like this at $14k. Any reason not to? An equivalent ford would be $25+. Or maybe a CM. Not into the early 60s models. Some nice 6s for under $10k but for me it has to be a V8, had plenty of 6s in the past...

https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Chrysler-Valiant-1967/SSE-AD-4811554/?Cr=30 (https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Chrysler-Valiant-1967/SSE-AD-4811554/?Cr=30)
Post by: galah on October 07, 2017, 07:02:25 PM
no, for the older valiants, the 265 is the engine of choice.

We towed a rally car on an A frame with a valiant ute with a 265.   Going to the rally, with just tools in the back, the ute was crap.  No traction anywhere.  Coming back, with a rally car locating the rear end on the a-frame, that ute would overtake anything!

Then it got a bit older and less cared for. I recall burning 20 litres of oil driving from Sydney to Brisbane.  2 or 3 stops to refill the oil for each fuel stop..
Post by: Coolblue80 on October 07, 2017, 07:12:34 PM
Awesome pics guys!

If I was ready to buy I would jump on something like this at $14k. Any reason not to? An equivalent ford would be $25+. Or maybe a CM. Not into the early 60s models. Some nice 6s for under $10k but for me it has to be a V8, had plenty of 6s in the past...

https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Chrysler-Valiant-1967/SSE-AD-4811554/?Cr=30 (https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Chrysler-Valiant-1967/SSE-AD-4811554/?Cr=30)
That is Sh#t. A VIP is supposed to be classy. That is anything but.
Post by: glenm64 on October 07, 2017, 07:15:30 PM
Unless its a pacer or six pack its gotta be a 318, or a 340 if you want to get a bit more serious.
Post by: Mace on October 08, 2017, 09:14:08 AM
That is Sh#t. A VIP is supposed to be classy. That is anything but.

I tend to agree, a nice car let down by poor taste.

Its in the ballpark $ wise, and if its a genuine 318 matching numbers car will increase in value if returned to original.

Dont take the recommendation it has to be a 265 too seriously, there are some really nice 160hp 225 slant 6s out there from earlier years, and Mopar 273 and 318 V8s are becoming rarer.
Post by: Coolblue80 on October 08, 2017, 10:49:21 AM
I tend to agree, a nice car let down by poor taste.

Its in the ballpark $ wise, and if its a genuine 318 matching numbers car will increase in value if returned to original.

Dont take the recommendation it has to be a 265 too seriously, there are some really nice 160hp 225 slant 6s out there from earlier years, and Mopar 273 and 318 V8s are becoming rarer.

Yep. And as they get older and fewer are around, I think originality is where it's at. By all means modify them if you want, but do it in a way that can be returned to original.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: nab on October 08, 2017, 07:16:31 PM
I am all for original, original sale papers and logbooks would make me drool! In the one I linked to, I imagined returning it to stock would be removing the rear black stripe, 2x bonnet scoops and standard wheels. I can look past the wheels and stripe but the bonnet scoops are awful.

Gotta be a V8 too, 6s are not on the shopping list although some are quite tempting.
Post by: Paddler Ed on October 08, 2017, 07:41:30 PM
Fix motor and tyres and run with patina?

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/inverell/cars-vans-utes/valiant/1160580721 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/inverell/cars-vans-utes/valiant/1160580721)

(https://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTIwMFgxNjAw/z/n7IAAOSwfCZZx0v~/$_20.JPG)
Post by: GrumpyOne on October 12, 2017, 07:45:22 AM
My first car was a 1966 VC AP6, with a slant 6.

Sold it to my cousin for next to nothing buy an XE Falcon and regret it everyday since. He subsequently killed it as a paddock basher!!

Have recently become interested again and have convinced the better half that I need one.  Just gotta find something half decent.
Post by: Humphreythebear on October 12, 2017, 01:08:59 PM
There was a really neat one for sale in Shep recently - check Gumtree ....Not mine i just look ....a lot !

I have no more room till i build or extend my shed .
Post by: nab on January 30, 2021, 03:20:58 AM
Bit of a thread dig (found the thread looking for something else) but thought I would update.

Finally got myself a chrome classic March 2020. Valiant prices had taken off, anything Aussie was stupid money, add a V8 and price jumps exponentially again. Ended up with a 1975 Mercedes 280S. Fantastic condition, all original, runs and drives great. Previous owner spent $14k doing things like tyres, bearings, oil leaks, brakes etc etc so all the hard work was done. Only a 6cyl but for $7.5k I couldn't say no!!!

(https://i.imgur.com/nJ97Mu2.jpg)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 30, 2021, 04:02:54 AM
It looks good too.

They drive nice too.
Make sure you use a mechanic that knows those ol girls.

If I owned that, i'd get a guy to do some white wall stripes on the existing tyres or fit a set of proper white wall tyres.

A set of whites would really make the car pop.
Post by: noel_w on January 30, 2021, 10:18:37 AM
Steffo1 had maybe an AP6? ??? ??? back when he had shoulder length non grey hair ;D
Back in the dinosaur days  :laugh:
Post by: Coolblue80 on January 31, 2021, 07:48:51 AM
Bit of a thread dig (found the thread looking for something else) but thought I would update.

Finally got myself a chrome classic March 2020. Valiant prices had taken off, anything Aussie was stupid money, add a V8 and price jumps exponentially again. Ended up with a 1975 Mercedes 280S. Fantastic condition, all original, runs and drives great. Previous owner spent $14k doing things like tyres, bearings, oil leaks, brakes etc etc so all the hard work was done. Only a 6cyl but for $7.5k I couldn't say no!!!

(https://i.imgur.com/nJ97Mu2.jpg)

I do like the early Mercs. I do like original cars but I would love to do an engine conversion on one. LS or N/A Barra. Nothing outrages horsepower wise, just a bit of modern poke.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: MarkGU on January 31, 2021, 08:16:20 AM
Back in the dinosaur days  :laugh:
Steve had Hair?????
Post by: nab on January 31, 2021, 11:20:30 AM
I do like the early Mercs. I do like original cars but I would love to do an engine conversion on one. LS or N/A Barra. Nothing outrages horsepower wise, just a bit of modern poke.
Cheers, Mike.

It’s not n the cards if this motor carks it. Neighbour has a ba falcon he doesn’t use anymore and was going to take it to the wreckers, I got first dibs when he gets rid of it....