General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Kangaron on September 22, 2015, 08:32:15 PM

Title: Snakes
Post by: Kangaron on September 22, 2015, 08:32:15 PM
Just a heads up that they have awoken for the season.
Plenty of reports filtering through from fellow prospectors out in the state forests here in Vic.
Title: Re: Snakes
Post by: GeoffA on September 22, 2015, 08:34:38 PM
Oh joy....

Thanks for the heads-up.

Post by: speewa158 on September 22, 2015, 08:40:12 PM
l personally have found 3 Browns in the mulch pile , 1 Red bellied Black in the grass , 1 black crossing the Goulburn river , & 1 tiger that had given up the will to live just before the mower went over it  .
Yes Dear Readers its going to be a long hot summer if the Reptilian Friends are out early   >:D
Long socks , Thick Pants & a Keen eye are the go                 :cheers:
Post by: scarpsD40 on September 22, 2015, 08:41:34 PM

l personally have found 3 Browns in the mulch pile , 1 Red bellied Black in the grass , 1 black crossing the Goulburn river , & 1 tiger that had given up the will to live just before the mower went over it  .
Yes Dear Readers its going to be a long hot summer if the Reptilian Friends are out early   >:D
you, snake in the grass;D
Post by: speewa158 on September 22, 2015, 08:45:46 PM
Gezzzzz which 1  ??? ??? ??? ???                  :cheers:
 A good snake is suicidal     >:D                          :cheers:
Post by: Pog on September 22, 2015, 08:53:43 PM
This is a photo of an Eastern Brown I ran over at Lindsay Point (NW Vic) on the 30th of AUGUST... It was -4 that morning, and I ran over this fella at about 10:00am. Obviously he was laying on the road soaking up the sun.

It looked like a normal stick, so I moved off the line slightly to miss it, and at the last minute, he slithered straight under the tyre. I went back to take a pic (with shovel in hand - just in case) but he was stuffed already.

I have seen 3 or 4 other snakes (browns) since.

(http://i1285.photobucket.com/albums/a590/pogasarus/Mobile%20Uploads/20150830_101233_zpso41nsl95.jpg)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on September 23, 2015, 05:12:09 AM
Hardly ever see a snake around here.

Not saying we don't have 'em, I just have poor eyesight.
Post by: Rumpig on September 23, 2015, 06:04:39 AM
A mate was out at Girraween National Park last week, he made special mention of the number of red bellied blacks he saw out there on his stay. So if you're headed there for school holidays, keep an eye out for them.
Post by: speewa158 on September 23, 2015, 07:18:24 AM
Has anybody got feed back on the snake rattlers you can buy    ???. These are designed to plant in the ground & vibrate to ward off the snakes  .                   :cheers:
Post by: lino6 on September 23, 2015, 08:19:13 AM
Has anybody got feed back on the snake rattlers you can buy    ???. These are designed to plant in the ground & vibrate to ward off the snakes  .                   :cheers:

We have 4 in our back yard. Since installing them we have had to "relocate" 3 or 4 snakes in the back yard including one that was about 2m away from one. If they do work, they don't at our place......

We had a snake hanging around yesterday too. Pity that with the warmer weather you get these b@satrds back...
Post by: markg66 on September 23, 2015, 08:28:22 AM
Was installing an underground cable at my place in Morayfield on the weekend and the jack hammer vibration must have woken up a little brown snake and pissed him off as well.
My lad that was standing back said he saw it go straight for my legs from behind and tried to hit me twice before it fell into the trench and had to climb out to have another go at me. I had a foot either side of the trench and saw it coming up between my legs.
I jumped over the 4 foot high pile of dirt that was next to the trench and have no idea how I got to the other side without touching it.
Post by: Kangaron on September 23, 2015, 09:44:17 AM
A mate has some of those jiggers, waste of money he says.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KyxD3YizWlM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KyxD3YizWlM)
Post by: Steffo1 on September 23, 2015, 10:03:15 AM
We have Pythons, Browns, Red Bellies, Keel Backs, Small Eyed, Red Knape, Brown Grass, Green Grass to name a few. The people who previously owned the property were reptile breeders & when they moved we're 99% certain that they released their stock!
I've got no beef with snakes but can understand others (wifey) dislike of them even if it is a bit irrational.
There's one snake in particular that I see regularly when on the ride on that is iridescent green & truly beautiful. I've never managed a pic of it as the mower's not camera friendly.
Post by: Fathom on September 23, 2015, 10:14:11 AM
We get a few every season. (Also in Morayfield . )Mainly Browns, but a few keel backs, the odd red belly. My in laws got me those noise making rattling things. They don't seem to have done any more then annoy me with their noise and rattle.  Have already seen 2 snakes this 'season'.
It's worse if the cats see them before I do... Antivenin is expensive. :(

If pigs could fly... Imagine how good their wings would taste.
Post by: scarpsD40 on September 23, 2015, 10:55:11 AM
I've discovered that snakes don't seem to like the noise of a chainsaw. Not saying I carry it everywhere, but there have been ocassions I wish I did......
Post by: speewa158 on September 24, 2015, 06:42:05 AM
l don't like you carrying a chain saw especially when you have your Hocky mask on    >:D   :cheers:
Post by: scarpsD40 on September 24, 2015, 06:45:41 AM
First world problem apparently
Post by: callmejoe on September 24, 2015, 09:26:32 AM

Think i might say " Fake". not snake.
Post by: Kangaron on September 24, 2015, 10:15:31 AM
Think i might say " Fake". not snake.

Spot on

http://m.snopes.com/fauxtography-animals-worlds-largest-snake/ (http://m.snopes.com/fauxtography-animals-worlds-largest-snake/)
Post by: Wazza999 on September 24, 2015, 11:34:02 AM
Years ago while working on an oil exp crew south of Rolleston in central Qld I stood on a taipan. :o I wasn't looking at the ground as I was scanning the fence for a spot to put in a gate. After recoiling in fright (a polite way of describing my reaction), it became apparent by the kinks in it that the D8 I was acting as support for had stood on it first. I was working alone so would have been cactus.  I know it's not pc now-a-days and the way I stomp around in the scrub I seldom see snakes, but the pre-brushcutter brush hook that was used in north Queensland to hand clear undergrowth was a great device, much better than a shovel, spade or golf club, curved like a sythe and sharpened both sides there was plenty of room for error and a good slicing action. I can still remember when a red bellied black got into our living room when I was a little boy. Mum chucked the cat on the lounge chair and joined it pretty soon after, meanwhile Dad was running around with a golf club. Any thing else would have made even more of a mess of the polished floor than the golf club did!
Post by: Moggy on September 24, 2015, 01:03:42 PM

It's worse if the cats see them before I do... Antivenin is expensive. :(

Geez what sort of cat have you got?

I didn't even know that cats were venomous

Post by: Trailer Bloke on September 24, 2015, 01:07:45 PM
Last weekend I found a Red Belly in my lawn mower catcher didn't know it was there until I emptied it in the bin it was one pissed off snake lucky my wife's uncle worked at the Australian Reptile Park he came and relocate it.
Post by: Fathom on September 24, 2015, 05:43:16 PM

Geez what sort of cat have you got?

I didn't even know that cats were venomous

Very rare cats that's are getting rarer every snake season. :)

If pigs could fly... Imagine how good their wings would taste.
Post by: dales133 on September 24, 2015, 05:54:21 PM
Wouldnt necessarily believe that article especially as they start it saying the amazons in Africa. ..Thier research or in tile to suspect to say the least
Post by: scarpsD40 on September 24, 2015, 06:29:52 PM

Wouldnt necessarily believe that article especially as they start it saying the amazons in Africa. ..Thier research or in tile to suspect to say the least
but it was on the internet, so must be true;D
Post by: dales133 on September 24, 2015, 06:31:41 PM
Ahhhhh those silly south Americans think there in south America! Its Africa, Google said
Post by: peter01 on September 24, 2015, 06:36:39 PM
A mate has some of those jiggers, waste of money he says.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KyxD3YizWlM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KyxD3YizWlM)

We have a number of these outside our perimeter wall at work probably 3 within 10m of my office, Returned to my office ready to pack up and someone was outside stopping people walking past the corridor as they had seen a snake go into my office, quick call to our “snake handler” and all good, needless to say I moved the next day !!!

was much bigger in real  life
Post by: Colmano on September 24, 2015, 10:30:25 PM
Errrrrrrrrrrrr hate 'em  :'(
Post by: tracker on September 25, 2015, 03:51:38 AM

Don'd forget the glasses for the old keen eyes mate..... :o :o :o

Cheers Tracker...... :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on September 25, 2015, 06:40:31 AM
Cant see through glasses too much  :cheers: in them  as it should be  :cheers:
Post by: Trailer Bloke on September 29, 2015, 11:28:44 AM
Red Bellied Black at Narara train station.
Post by: Annieandandy on September 29, 2015, 01:38:02 PM
Yep they are on the move. Out of 15 dogs at the dog park this morning, it had to be my kelpie that found this snake
Post by: Scolers on September 29, 2015, 04:31:34 PM
A few brownies starting to make themselves known ar ound here ... glad the wife did a snake handler's course a few months ago ...  ;D

Scol.
Post by: speewa158 on September 30, 2015, 06:38:31 AM
So what did they do with said  " Big Snake " after it was killed  ??? ??? ???     :cheers:
Post by: Wazza999 on September 30, 2015, 09:27:36 AM
So what did they do with said  " Big Snake " after it was killed  ??? ??? ???     :cheers:
Progressive BBQ?
Post by: chillipepperz on September 30, 2015, 09:12:29 PM
One of our cats caught a 2' long brown snake on Monday. Freaked my wife out! Damn cat was playing with it as they do, grabbing it and letting it go and grabbing it again. Always holding it behind the head. Wife had to throw a stone at him to get him to drop the snake. The cat is now locked up in the 8M x 3M snake proof cat emporium at the back of the house. Same thing last year but he had killed that one and brought it to the back door, so proud.

Cheers!
Andrew
Post by: Scolers on October 01, 2015, 08:05:20 AM
One of our cats caught a 2' long brown snake on Monday. Freaked my wife out! Damn cat was playing with it as they do, grabbing it and letting it go and grabbing it again. Always holding it behind the head. Wife had to throw a stone at him to get him to drop the snake. The cat is now locked up in the 8M x 3M snake proof cat emporium at the back of the house. Same thing last year but he had killed that one and brought it to the back door, so proud.

Cheers!
Andrew

That's hilarious ... think I'll change my view of cats after reading that!

Scol.
Post by: patroldude on October 01, 2015, 10:08:07 AM
Snakes up our way must be drinking some strange water, or smoking some weired smoke or something - they keep running / sliding into rakes!!! Beats me
Post by: Big Damo on October 01, 2015, 10:21:57 PM
Don't have a problem myself with snakes but I still put a sign up out the front saying "snakes not permitted in the back yard"
some dumb browns snakes 2 years back couldn't read and had to be relocated to the safety of my wheelie bin possibly with or without a head.
Must have had some education down at snake school cause there hasn't been any since
Post by: achjimmy on October 02, 2015, 05:13:47 AM
There's no rhyme  or reason but we have had more snakes in our front lawn area and drive than out the back in the bush. Probably just see them more. In all but one case I have always left them alone and they have gone there own way. I am always aware of the fact that the majority of people bitten are people trying to handle or kill a snake.
Post by: KiwiAngler on October 02, 2015, 08:35:01 AM
Man catches King Brown by hand !! - has some bad language so don't let kids view

https://www.facebook.com/fortafyfans/videos/1029603430467332/ (https://www.facebook.com/fortafyfans/videos/1029603430467332/)

Post by: Steffo1 on June 24, 2016, 04:34:14 PM
An old thread but still applicable.
The balmy Qld weather has seen a late return of our carpet pythons this year. They normally return for a kip around the end of May but have just shown up the last couple of days. Unfortunately for them I have wired up their access into the ceiling of the granny flat, where they have spent the last several years winters, as they were getting too big & when relieving themselves, it would run down the ceiling boards & onto the floor. I have created a nice little area in one of the garden sheds for them & so am slowly relocating them there. Hopefully, over time, they will come to learn that this is their new hibernation area. It's amazing how they all knew to head back to the same place!
The 1st couple are about 6ft but the 3rd, by watching it between the deck posts, which are 8 ft (2.4m) apart, would have been easy 9ft. Floor to top of hand rail is 1200mm.
Post by: Bird on June 24, 2016, 04:47:10 PM
An old thread but still applicable.
The balmy Qld weather has seen a late return of our carpet pythons this year. They normally return for a kip around the end of May but have just shown up the last couple of days. Unfortunately for them I have wired up their access into the ceiling of the granny flat, where they have spent the last several years winters, as they were getting too big & when relieving themselves, it would run down the ceiling boards & onto the floor. I have created a nice little area in one of the garden sheds for them & so am slowly relocating them there. Hopefully, over time, they will come to learn that this is their new hibernation area. It's amazing how they all knew to head back to the same place!
The 1st couple are about 6ft but the 3rd, by watching it between the deck posts, which are 8 ft (2.4m) apart, would have been easy 9ft. Floor to top of hand rail is 1200mm.
(https://tstotopix.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/whacking_day.jpg)

(https://d3gqasl9vmjfd8.cloudfront.net/a8d3638b-7baa-4579-a49b-3cbfd9eb3ada.png)
Post by: me217 on June 24, 2016, 09:54:50 PM
i found this little fellow in my project boat.
(https://s26.postimg.org/d4vgy1h2d/IMAG4431.jpg) (https://postimg.org/image/d4vgy1h2d/)

got him out safely, he would of been about 7 foot long. carpet python.
he's now chilling in the cane field.
Post by: Fizzie on June 25, 2016, 09:06:13 AM
This was in the news earlier this week:
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-06-21/python-found-mission-beach-bedroom-north-queensland-monty/7530776 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-06-21/python-found-mission-beach-bedroom-north-queensland-monty/7530776)

Being woken up by a noise at 4am to find a 5m Scrub Python in your bedroom!  :o - as they so nicely put it "All hell broke loose"!
Post by: Bushman on June 26, 2016, 09:55:08 AM
only good snake is a dead one, hate the bastards!  BUT I leave them to the professionals to take care of luckily have never been an issue around home "TOUCH WOOD"

Dear Mr Snake
Please take note, that if you invade my personal space your time on this planet will became to an end sooner than you think.
Post by: D4D on January 29, 2017, 07:10:35 AM
Found this guy dead near my backdoor this morning, about 50cm long. Anybody know what variety it is? We have tiger snakes around here so I assume it is a baby tiger.

(http://blkmav.com/stuff/snake.jpg)
Post by: lino6 on January 29, 2017, 08:58:15 AM
Found this guy dead near my backdoor this morning, about 50cm long. Anybody know what variety it is? We have tiger snakes around here so I assume it is a baby tiger.

(http://blkmav.com/stuff/snake.jpg)

Looks like braided hydraulic hose! If it had a red belly it might be easier to identify.
Post by: D4D on January 29, 2017, 09:04:34 AM
Looks like braided hydraulic hose! If it had a red belly it might be easier to identify.

Apparently it is a baby brown snake, only the most angry/deadly snake in AU and a bite from a baby can kill an adult...
Post by: Bird on January 29, 2017, 09:20:02 AM
Its dead = its a good one.
Post by: listo on January 29, 2017, 09:36:35 AM
Been at our new joint for 2 weeks & shot one in the shed already. Won't be shifting sprinklers with out a torch out here!
Post by: achjimmy on January 31, 2017, 06:53:18 AM
Apparently it is a baby brown snake, only the most angry/deadly snake in AU and a bite from a baby can kill an adult...

Our baby browns are definetly brown not black or charcoal. Often have a black mark or diamond on their head too.
Post by: Troopy_03 on January 31, 2017, 01:58:42 PM

Looks more like a black tiger snake, from the darker head and slate grey body.

http://www.ozanimals.com/Reptile/Black-Tiger-Snake/Notechis/ater.html (http://www.ozanimals.com/Reptile/Black-Tiger-Snake/Notechis/ater.html)

Post by: Pete79 on January 31, 2017, 02:22:28 PM
Just another reason to hate those angry little buggers.
Eastern browns come in a whole range of colours other then brown....

(http://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/3ac00bfe28e0e9146133fd9929235ab2)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 31, 2017, 04:54:14 PM
You'll be having nightmares tonight by the sounds of that.  ;D
Post by: Onion on January 31, 2017, 05:19:27 PM
We saw this guy at the bottom of the street in Oct last year. I reckon he was 8 feet. Fortunately he looks like a python.
Post by: lukeycat on January 31, 2017, 06:20:22 PM
We saw this guy at the bottom of the street in Oct last year. I reckon he was 8 feet. Fortunately he looks like a python.
Gotta say I'm a big fan of pythons they are great at controlling vermin
It's amazing where you find snakes we have dealt with a bunch of tiger snakes on the project I've been working on in Port Melbourne angry little buggers we had one about 3 foot long striking the bucket of a 30 tonne excavator lol was a battle he wasn't going to win so he was relocated to somewhere a little less hazardous we even had a contractor cope a dry bite from a tiger snake. I'll post some pics of a dead tiger snake I scared a few people in our site office with

Post by: nab on January 31, 2017, 06:39:23 PM
I saw this bugger last week on the south east coast of WA. He was dark grey and about 200mm long. Any idea what type it was?

(http://i1380.photobucket.com/albums/ah189/jstanovic/MB%20snake_zpsq5gi5cko.jpg) (http://s1380.photobucket.com/user/jstanovic/media/MB%20snake_zpsq5gi5cko.jpg.html)
Post by: cheif carlos on February 03, 2017, 05:03:46 AM
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/53318-2/IMG_0177a_1_.JPG)

Sorry for the photo but didn't get one of it but found one of these moving mulch at my parents place, my father thought it was a juvenile black as one about 300mm long but didn't think it was I thought it was a blind snake, so picked it up with a shovel and put it in the state forest over the back fence.
Cute little snake look like a big worm. After looking into them it looks like we have a rare snaking the area
Post by: sharkcaver on February 03, 2017, 11:08:37 AM
Very hard to tell from the pic Nab, but I would suggest dugite.

Much like the meter and a half job stopping us from descending Callcup a couple of weeks back:

(http://i966.photobucket.com/albums/ae147/sharkcaver/2017%20Yeagerup/DSC_0912_zpsgujhq6lu.jpg) (http://s966.photobucket.com/user/sharkcaver/media/2017%20Yeagerup/DSC_0912_zpsgujhq6lu.jpg.html)

A few years back, camped up at Alexander Bay, I spotted the body of a Tiger about 10 meters away at the start of the natural bushland. I grabbed the camera, but he slithered into the undergrowth, and whilst I looked carefully for it, it was not seen again. I only saw part of his mid section. It was at least 1/2 a beer can in girth. Must have been one hell of a Tiger.
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 03, 2017, 11:09:46 AM
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/53318-2/IMG_0177a_1_.JPG)

Sorry for the photo but didn't get one of it but found one of these moving mulch at my parents place, my father thought it was a juvenile black as one about 300mm long but didn't think it was I thought it was a blind snake, so picked it up with a shovel and put it in the state forest over the back fence.
Cute little snake look like a big worm. After looking into them it looks like we have a rare snaking the area

It's commonly known as a Legless Lizard, and is harmless.
The only problem with these though, is that it gives young kids the wrong impression if they see you pick one up. Had to have a long talk with the grandson about that, after he watched me re-locating a couple from a veggie patch I was digging.
Post by: sharkcaver on February 03, 2017, 12:49:09 PM
A very good way to ID lizard V snake. Lizards have stripes or bands that run parallel to the body. Snakes have stripes or bands perpendicular or irregular. However, if in doubt, and you are not sure, leave it alone and practice proper precaution.
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 03, 2017, 07:35:54 PM
I may have posted this story somewhere on the site before, but I can't find it, so here goes.

Quite a few years back I found a blue tongue lizard in the back yard that was covered in ticks. They had burrowed under his scales, and he even had some down his ear holes. I rang the local wild life rescue mob to see if they knew how to get rid of the ticks, especially the ones down his ear holes. I chatted to the nice lady at the wildlife rescue, told her where I was and what the problem was, and she said:

"Just pick the ones off the body, grasping the head with a pair of fine nose tweezers. The ones down the ear canals, drip some warm olive oil down the ears and they should die."

"OK" says I, "I'll give it a go"

Her next question was: "Can you tell the difference between lizards and snakes?"

I thought to myself, she must think I'm an idiot, if I can't tell the difference between a blue tongue and a snake. "Yes I think I'm pretty confident I can"

"Good she says, would you mind going up the road from you, to mister @%$#%. He thinks he has a snake behind the door frame in his laundry, but isn't sure. Would you have a look and let me know, because we don't have anyone here at the moment who can go"

"Yeah, I suppose I could go and have a look" I said, a tad nervously.

So I went up to old mate up the road, and he has half the door frame ripped out around his back/laundry door, with a a 15mm gap between brickwork and timber. I told him that the lady had asked me to have a look etc, and he said go for your life. I got bitten by a tiger snake in the middle of my back lawn 2 years ago, so I'm not going anywhere near it. His lawn was like a golf course green too.

I wandered up and gingerly took a peek through the gap, and saw a curved shape, black satiny sheen, with feint diamond shaped markings on it. It also had what looked like cement dust clinging too it. It definitely looked snakey, but there was something a bit strange about it. Seeing as the bit I could see, was nowhere near where the head would be, I got a bit of wire about 500mm long and gave it a gentle poke (as you do). Nothing happened, except the skin felt a bit strange. there was too much give in it. I gave it a few more jabs, just to make sure it wasn't sleeping, and still nothing happened. I got a little closer, and noticed that the skin sort of wrinkled or folded when I poked it too...

This is what the snake skin looked like, or very similar.
Post by: GUEY on February 04, 2017, 06:52:57 PM

This is what the snake skin looked like, or very similar.

If that is what I'm pretty sure it is, I had a bloke on a job site refusing to get out of his car till a piece on a roll was taken away years ago
Post by: Brisbane Puff on February 04, 2017, 11:15:59 PM
While not a current story, I thought some may get a laugh out of it..

To set the scene, I was currently serving in the army. Just got back from a near two year posting in Malaya. During that time I developed a hate for snakes as they seem to have been everywhere in the Malayan jungles. Worst case was when my company harbored up after dark and later that night we found that we had settled amongst a nest of cobras. Still makes my blood run cold, but that is another story..

Anyways, I had 3 weeks leave before being posted to Vietnam and my life long mate was a manager of a station out far west Queensland so decided to visit him for a week or so.

The homestead was an original building on about 6 foot stumps with a verandah all around. 6 bedrooms plus a screened sleep out so all the hands sleep there when they were mustering and branding, as was the case when I arrived. The only electricity for lighting was from an old 32 volt generator in a shed about 60 feet from the homestead. So the agreement was that the last person up at night had to walk out and shut the lister diesel off.

So this night after dinner, we were all out sitting on the verandah yarning and drinking home made green ginger wine. Eventually the talk got around to the fact that there were a lot of snakes around that season and that they had quite a few in the house yard of late. As the wine was consumed the stories got larger and the size of the snakes got bigger.. And so it went until I noticed that everyone had slipped off and I was the last one awake. So after finishing my last drink I thought it may be time to hop over and shut the generator off. And that's went things went to all hell.

Now there were no lights on the verandah but there was just enough moonlight to see where I was going so off I went, but as I walked around the corner of the verandah I saw a long black form on the floorboards. I stopped dead and squinted at it and it seemed to give a bit of a qiuver. Bloody snake I thought, on the verandah, libel to get in the house I though, deep down wishing I hadn't had the last couple cups of wine. So I slowly backed back around the corner and made for the kitchen door looking for a torch of some kind, hoping some one was still up but the place was silent. Couldn't find a torch, but I noticed the 12 gauge sitting beside the doorway. Grabbed that and off I went.

Got around the corner and the bloody thing was still there, and in the moonlight I could now see that the thing was draped up over the verandah rail. I kept very still til my eyes sort of focused and then I could see that the bloody thing was climbing up the verandah post.
S...T, it was huge.. So there was only one thing to do, so I let it have one barrel and it dropped to the floor and as I looked, it gave a quiver, so I let it have the other barrel.

Anyways, there were shouts and a hell of a hollabaloo and someone came out with a hurricane lamp... And that's when I found out that I had shot my mates best stock whip to pieces..

I think that maybe the worse part was that the two cattle dogs sleeping under the house were unfit for work for the next two days. Every time they heard a stock whip they would run for distant places.. Maybe it worked out well in one way.. I was not allowed to turn the genny off at night..

Post by: kylarama on February 05, 2017, 08:07:14 AM
One of my mates was completing a throne session, went to flush and noticed something under the rim of the bowl. Gave it another flush and a snake stuck its head out! Closed the lid and called a snake catcher mate.

A 5 foot brown snake was removed from the toilet.

He had a serious toilet phobia for the next 18 months.

Old article here.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/toilet-trip-ends-in-snake-shock/news-story/54ad8ccfb92fab86e3927783486d56e0

Post by: achjimmy on February 05, 2017, 08:59:19 AM
One of my mates was completing a throne session, went to flush and noticed something under the rim of the bowl. Gave it another flush and a snake stuck its head out! Closed the lid and called a snake catcher mate.

A 5 foot brown snake was removed from the toilet.

He had a serious toilet phobia for the next 18 months.

Old article here.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/toilet-trip-ends-in-snake-shock/news-story/54ad8ccfb92fab86e3927783486d56e0 (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/toilet-trip-ends-in-snake-shock/news-story/54ad8ccfb92fab86e3927783486d56e0)

We were only discussing this last night at a diner! Geez that would scare you to death I reckon
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 06, 2017, 11:52:30 AM

If that is what I'm pretty sure it is, I had a bloke on a job site refusing to get out of his car till a piece on a roll was taken away years ago
Yep, black polythene? dampcourse. Had me a bit concerned at first too.
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 06, 2017, 12:21:58 PM
Another funny? situation a couple of years ago. I was wiring up a dual battery system on a truck, and needed a 500mm length of 0B&S battery cable to finish the job. Some of the blokes working at this place were a bit untidy, and used to chuck usable off-cuts of cable in a pile under one of the benches. I wandered over and was sorting through the pile, when one of the bits of cable wriggled.. It was a 500mm to 600mm baby red bellied black snake.

I nearly chit mesself. The snake was deeper down in the pile, so I thought... maybe I could encourage it to scarper out the door, which was close by, if I gave it a gentle poke with something (as you do lol). I gave it a poke with a piece of yellow-tongue edging, that we used for a draw wire, and it disappeared into the end of a piece of 20mm dual wall heat-shrink, that was also laying in the pile. Seeing that the heat shrink was folded over on the end, and the tail just hanging out the opening of the tube, I decided to pick up the tubing, hold the folded end down, and relocate it out the door myself.

One of the other blokes, who was working under one of the trucks, saw me mucking around near the bench and asked what I was doing. I got a snake, I told him. Yeah sure, it's just a piece of heat shrink.. he says, so I took it over to show him the tail hanging out the end of the tube. As I crouched down near the truck, the snakes head popped out, where the tail had been. Buggered if I know how he chucked a you turn in the skinny tubing, but I dropped it in fright, and the snake took off to join me mate under the truck. He let out a bit of a squeal, and came bolting out swearing his head off. If it wasn't such a potentially dangerous situation, it would have been p!ss funny. (well it was pretty funny talking about it later) I copped a bit from the OH&S guy (and rightly so  :-[)

But, it adds to the theory (truth actually) that most people get bitten by snakes when trying to kill or capture them.
Post by: Steffo1 on February 07, 2017, 10:39:36 AM
Found this little fella in the top shed this a.m. A Red Naped Snake. No threat to humans. The leaf in the pic is about 75mm long  :D
Sweet hey?
Post by: Streetkid on February 07, 2017, 10:41:00 PM
Found this little fella in the top shed this a.m. A Red Naped Snake. No threat to humans. The leaf in the pic is about 75mm long  :D
Sweet hey?

I stepped over one of these the other day when I was out running, had to stop for a closer look as I thought it literally looked pretty deadly, bit of googling and it is pretty harmless. Had never seen or heard of them before that.
Post by: Brisbane Puff on February 10, 2017, 10:03:06 PM
See what I mean... >:( >:( >:(
While not a current story, I thought some may get a laugh out of it..

To set the scene, I was currently serving in the army. Just got back from a near two year posting in Malaya. During that time I developed a hate for snakes as they seem to have been everywhere in the Malayan jungles. Worst case was when my company harbored up after dark and later that night we found that we had settled amongst a nest of cobras. Still makes my blood run cold, but that is another story..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRlvOLffupo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRlvOLffupo)
Post by: Fizzie on October 30, 2021, 10:24:29 AM
Probably not a bad idea for a refresher on what to do (& what NOT to do!)

https://www.abc.net.au/news/science/2021-10-30/snakes-venomous-how-to-survive-a-bite/100406488 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/science/2021-10-30/snakes-venomous-how-to-survive-a-bite/100406488)
Post by: corndog on October 30, 2021, 05:34:37 PM
I worked with some of the biggest snakes in my industry.