Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 306229 times)

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #1875 on: March 29, 2021, 05:25:39 PM »
A carton of TEDs and a chain for my AEG battery chainsaw
Winning :)

« Reply #1876 on: March 29, 2021, 05:30:30 PM »
Quote from: Pottsy
QR code’s in place in SA

Dunno bout elsewhere, but QR's to me seem a waste of time, they just take you to a URL you could type in or bookmark.

« Reply #1877 on: March 29, 2021, 05:33:58 PM »
:)

Online Pottsy

« Reply #1879 on: March 29, 2021, 06:08:29 PM »
Dunno bout elsewhere, but QR's to me seem a waste of time, they just take you to a URL you could type in or bookmark.
Ours take us to a sa gov site, logs the time of entry and location. I don’t have a problem with it, particularly if it helps tracking and remembering where you have been.

« Reply #1880 on: March 29, 2021, 06:15:35 PM »
Quote from: Pottsy
Ours take us to a sa gov site, logs the time of entry and location. I don’t have a problem with it, particularly if it helps tracking and remembering where you have been.
the one at local pub and few local lunch joints do nothing - just takes you to a URL - doesnt open it or anything

Offline DandyD

« Reply #1881 on: March 29, 2021, 06:43:12 PM »
LMAO

People have got so lockdown weary in the UK that they have stopped hoarding bog roll. Houses are probably still stuffed with them from the first time.

« Reply #1882 on: March 29, 2021, 07:09:42 PM »
Just out of interest do the other states have the covid sign in at all the shops ? NSW have this QR code that you sign in . It works pretty well but a Press conference today the Premier and chief MO were stressing more to do it to assist with track and trace . I guess there’ll be the conspiracy theorists but I find it pretty simple and appreciate I’ll get a text or call if someone infected has been where I was
QLD Gov only just recently released the official QR code.
But you have to have their app installed on your device for it to work.

Only a few places around here are using it though. Most places have their own code that like Bird said, just takes you to a website that you have to manually log yourself in.

They all ask for heaps and heaps of details and take a good 5 minutes or so to fill out. Even worse if you have a few people from the same house hold to sign in to the venue.
Most of these ones only have a sign in page, no option to sign out when you leave. ::)

I still can’t believe that in 2021 (after over a year of lockdowns and tracing efforts) we can’t have one national QR code.
You scan the code when entering and it automatically registers the time date and the phone number of the device used to scan in. Then scan the same code when you leave and it logs the same data and records your exit.

Then if they need to do contact tracing they just push a message to every phone number that was in the area of an infected person. You just get a text message telling you to go get tested.
Not sure about other states, but here after getting tested we get a text message to say we’re all clear and they ask you to reply with the number 1 to confirm you received the message.

This should be really simple and I can’t believe we still have such a manual registration and contact tracing system nationally.

« Reply #1883 on: March 29, 2021, 08:00:17 PM »
I have the NSW Services app on my phone
Login, scan the code, it fills in everything, log out when I leave.
Pubs, Clubs, RFS shed, RFS Training Centre, where ever it's needed, takes less then 30 seconds.
I'm use to doing it, no problem.

« Reply #1884 on: March 29, 2021, 08:19:26 PM »
QLD Gov only just recently released the official QR code.

Not sure about other states, but here after getting tested we get a text message to say we’re all clear and they ask you to reply with the number 1 to confirm you received the message.

Not sure about push 1 confirmation.  My Last test was on Friday and test result issued Saturday with no response required, This was my 4th test and never required to respond, 3 different testing facilities.

« Reply #1885 on: March 29, 2021, 08:26:35 PM »
Not sure about push 1 confirmation.  My Last test was on Friday and test result issued Saturday with no response required, This was my 4th test and never required to respond, 3 different testing facilities.
My last one was a while ago, but this was the text;

« Reply #1886 on: March 29, 2021, 08:34:13 PM »
My last one was a while ago, but this was the text;

It’s interesting, 2 of my tests were at the Prince Charles hospital, 1 at the Strathpine drive thru which is run by Metro North and last Friday facilitated thru a private pathology operator on behalf of the govt.

I like the Caloundra approach requiring confirmation but you wonder what they would do if you didn’t respond. It would be a different story if you were positive, they would be knocking on your door I guess.

« Reply #1887 on: March 29, 2021, 08:40:12 PM »
Pubs, Clubs, RFS shed, RFS Training Centre, where ever it's needed, takes less then 30 seconds.

Haven't logged out anywhere yet...always forget.
I go to woolies once a week...no one logs in...not one soul.
Go to the doctors...same.
Local hospital and club you have to log in...local restaurants as well....

This is only when I'm with the wife...my phone has no data so if I'm on my own, I do it the old fashioned way...fill out a piece of paper..

Offline bob65

« Reply #1888 on: March 29, 2021, 08:44:44 PM »

This is correct.

In NSW use the service nsw app. No need to log in to the app or anything, just use the QR scanner with it.

Scan at the venue, the app has saved your details if you tell it to.

The only details you need for it is name and contact number

Sent from my SM-G998B using Tapatalk

« Reply #1889 on: March 29, 2021, 08:49:45 PM »
Victorian government QR works okay.

Scan and my phone automatically saves my first name and phone number.
Although not many people use it.
Other places have there own if it more than a click or 2  I don't bother either. 

« Reply #1890 on: March 29, 2021, 10:29:35 PM »

In NSW use the service nsw app. No need to log in to the app or anything, just use the QR scanner with it.

On my wifes phone, at a venue, just open the camera and scan...nsw service app comes up, log on and press check in.

If you don't have to log onto the app, maybe the app is already open ?

Offline bob65

« Reply #1891 on: March 29, 2021, 11:03:17 PM »
On my wifes phone, at a venue, just open the camera and scan...nsw service app comes up, log on and press check in.

Nah, the app is not open until you open it.

Should have said that you don't have to be lodged in to service nsw to use the scanner.

I have just gotten a new phone, I will have to try scanning with the camera to see if it opens the nsw service app scanner. My last phone didn't but this phone has all the bells and whistles

« Reply #1892 on: March 30, 2021, 06:55:37 AM »
The services NSW app works well for some .. Working the entry points of a venue :  about 50% of peoples phones cappable of connecting to Service NSW dont work with the service NSW QR code .. Have to log them manualy on an Ipad and its a complete pain in the arse, two staff  literaly doing hundreds of entries each shift .
Even my  brand new smart phone wont connect ..   downloaded the app, scanned the QR, worked once and wont log in again .. Tried all the fixes Service NSW said to do,  still no worky .. Gave up, still waiting for there IT  to get back to me with a fix, as they said they would. Its only been 3 months .

« Reply #1893 on: March 30, 2021, 07:09:29 AM »
The wifes old i phone 6s plus works fine......open camera, point at logo, opens service nsw app, type the password number in, press check in.

Or open service nsw app, type the password, scroll to covid check in screen, scan the logo, press check in.

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #1894 on: March 30, 2021, 08:45:02 AM »
 supposed to be compulsory.
[/quote]

They can't make it compulsory
Unless they are going to issue smart phones to those that don't have them
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #1895 on: March 30, 2021, 09:18:52 AM »

Once you have logged your details once, the app just recalls your details without having to login (enter a password) in the app.

You can test it here:
https://www.nsw.gov.au/covid-19/rules/check-in/first-time-qr-code-users#mobile-phones-that-can-scan-qr-codes

Scroll down to "1 Find a poster with a QR code" that will open to give your a test QR Code. Scan it via the app (no need to log in)
Follow the directions and you're done.

Works just fine on my old Samsung Galaxie S5 (Android 6?)

Test QR Code:

4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #1896 on: March 30, 2021, 09:25:06 AM »

3 day lockdown for greater Brisbane might upset some peoples plans for Easter. Just means we'll get away at sparrows fart Friday morning instead of Thursday arvo.

Cant imagine what the shops will be like this afternoon  >:(

Im sorry but I think youre grounded...  8 new cases in Qld, 5 from Byron Bay..

https://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/live/2021/mar/30/australia-news-live-brisbane-covid-lockdown-andrew-laming-coalition-labor-qld-nsw-victoria

« Reply #1897 on: March 30, 2021, 10:06:47 AM »
Im sorry but I think youre grounded...  8 new cases in Qld, 5 from Byron Bay..

https://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/live/2021/mar/30/australia-news-live-brisbane-covid-lockdown-andrew-laming-coalition-labor-qld-nsw-victoria

Ahhh crap..... It's not just Easter, we're supposed to be on 2 weeks leave  :'( looks like we may be canning that  >:( :'( :'(

« Reply #1898 on: March 30, 2021, 11:16:45 AM »
Yes it is nervous times, after having to cancel our 8 week Kimberly adventure last year, we rescheduled a 5 week NT trip departing 23rd of April.. Really hope this  gets under control quickly..

« Reply #1899 on: March 30, 2021, 12:21:19 PM »
Once you have logged your details once, the app just recalls your details without having to login (enter a password) in the app.

Test QR Code:

The app remembers your details, but when I click on the service nsw app, it wants the password ( passnumber to be precise ) to enter the site.

If I use the camera, the QR code makes it go to the service nsw site, but still need a passnumber !!
« Last Edit: March 30, 2021, 12:23:00 PM by gronk »